Skip to content

Gothica

Melbourne has an eclectic mix of buildings.  I suspect like many cities.  There are so many different styles.  I don’t know if it is because we don’t have any faith in anything Australian and most buildings seem to be done by overseas Architects, or whether it is a result of us being a multi cultural society.  I think it is the first.

One of the aspects of this, of course, is that everyone can find a building that they truly love, and the image today is of one such building.  It is without a doubt one of my all time favourite buildings.

The Manchester Unity Building.

It sits, in all its gothicness, on the corner of Swanston and Collins Streets, and it is great to look at from the old city square.  If you look at the image “Empty” from a couple of days ago, then you can sort of see it, though the tree is right in front of it.

This is not the original image, I have played with it a bit here, no actually quite a bit.  Though nothing I did would make the top light.  It is a shame really.  I think it would be better to go back some time to take more images when the light is better.  It is the first time I have tried to photograph it.  I never think the first time is the only time.  The first time is only ever practice.  Work out what you would do different next time.

I was happy, that was again, I managed to get a shot with no people in it.  Which is pretty amazing for 8 o’clock in the morning, even on a Sunday.  It is another empty city image.  This intersection and the one from yesterday are probably some of the busiest intersections in Melbourne, so to get them free of cars, and people is incredible.  I am pretty happy with myself.

As for the processing, well, I have done much the same as previous images.  Lots of layers, blurring, detailing, fading and blending.  It is becoming interesting to see what I can do.  The original image is a HDR, processed with Photomatix, and the post editing has been done with Photoshop and Topaz Adjust.

I played with more textures,  Not as many this time.  I like the grunge effect that the textures can give the image.  I think, though, that I need to be careful, it would be so easy to go overboard, but it is fun playing with the textures and layering them and then blending them.

I hope you are all starting your own texture directories.  Mine is coming together slowly.  It is interesting to see what effect sunlight shining onto water and used as a texture can give you.  I have my clouds directory, now the textures, and I think the next one I need to work on is my lighting one.

I’ve also been meaning to tell you about my other blog, you can find it here if you are interested, I’ve been taking photos with my phone and processing them in instagram and every now and then I post some on this blog.  I put some up the other day of the city.

Here, as usual, is the original image.

32 Comments
  1. I like how you’ve “gothed” this image. I just love Melbourne, and have many favourite buildings visually, the Princess Theatre, St Pauls Cathedral, the Palais at St Kilda… the little building on St Kilda pier… so I’ve also followed you on blogspot, not sure how it works but have given it a shot 🙂

    June 21, 2012
    • The little building on St Kilda Pier that burnt down, and then they rebuilt it, but you can’t tell it is a replica. Amazing. I love all those buildings. Though I have never photographed the Princess Theatre. You will have to come down and go on a field trip one day.
      I don’t use the blogspot blog much, but it seemed a good place to put the photos I take with my phone. Thanks Ella.

      June 22, 2012
  2. Love your editing here! It works really well with the building, which is also gorgeous, BTW. 🙂

    June 21, 2012
    • It really is one of those buildings you want to photograph. I should go in and take some photos. Glad you like the editing. Thanks 🙂

      June 22, 2012
  3. Great building, and I love the second version best…

    June 21, 2012
    • Thanks Marie, It is great, it was also fun to play with. It has given me ideas of what to do next time.

      June 22, 2012
  4. Liz #

    It is a fabulous building, now I want to go and look at it again. I like what you said about the first time you photograph something it is only ever practice – so true and yet I’d never thought in those terms before.

    June 21, 2012
    • I wonder if they do tours of it. I would love to see what is right up the top, it looks so interesting. I always want to go back to places, with the knowledge of what it is that I am photographing. I do well with first time.

      June 22, 2012
  5. I love your manipulation of the photo!

    June 21, 2012
    • Thank you Bonnie, seems a few like it more than the original.

      June 22, 2012
  6. The difference between the original and the modified images is amazing. Very nice! The largest cities near me are Flint and Detroit in Michigan. The both have a wide variety of building design, more so in Detroit as it is far larger than Flint.

    June 22, 2012
    • Thank you John, good to know that I did make a difference to it.
      I think it a reflection of cities then, they are all haphazard, so to speak. I don’t know that that is a bad thing. Thanks for letting me know.

      June 22, 2012
  7. Great editing again – the first image is my favourite of these. What a wonderful building – it’s so extreme.

    June 22, 2012
    • Yes, and where it sits means it gets lots of attention. You can’t miss it. I think if I went back I would try to photograph it different, maybe do a series of shots to capture it and then put them together in photoshop, rather than trying to get the whole building in one image.

      June 22, 2012
  8. Wow, this is my first time visiting your blog, and it looks like I could learn a lot from it. I really like this image, and the edited version is great. I don’t have Photoshop and rarely do much editing at all of my images (besides cropping)…so it might be good to learn and try.

    June 22, 2012
    • Glad you like what you see. I am afraid, I think every image needs some editing, even if it is just changing levels or adjusting curves. You don’t need photoshop for that. My first editing software was GIMP, which you can download for free from the internet. Please feel free to ask any questions. Anytime. 🙂

      June 22, 2012
  9. pretty impressive… love this!

    June 22, 2012
    • Thank you, helps when you have a great building to start with.

      June 22, 2012
  10. What a spectacular building – and shot!

    June 22, 2012
    • It always so easy when the building is great. It is so interesting. Thank you.

      June 22, 2012
  11. Beautiful building! I just love your pictures so much lol

    June 23, 2012
    • Thank you Amanda, I have really enjoyed these as well.

      June 23, 2012
  12. I really like the romantic / impressionistic editing of the second photo! It adds another layer to this already magical building.

    June 24, 2012
    • Thank you so much. It is always nice to receive praise. I really appreciate you taking the time to tell me.

      June 24, 2012
      • No problem–if I leave a comment I want it to be meaningful and not just a word like “great”, etc. Take care…

        June 26, 2012
  13. Never been to Melbourne…would love to go there someday…. Great shot! 🙂

    June 27, 2012
    • It is a lovely place, and if you like photography, there is a lot to photograph here. Thanks.

      June 27, 2012
      • I’m passionate about photography but I’m not one of those with an SLR camera…I have an old,battered Digital camera and I do all I can with it 😀

        June 27, 2012
      • Then I would suggest that that is your challenge. See what you can do with that camera, push and try different things. There is lots of software out there that can help you as well. Should be fun. 🙂

        June 27, 2012
      • Yup I use photoshop to help me with the editing. 🙂

        Your work is inspiring…I’ve been motivated once again 😀

        June 27, 2012
  14. Hi Leanne. I have stumbled on your images of the Manchester Unity Building… WOW… what a talent. Your wish to photograph the most private quarters of this building can be realised. Please allow me to introduce myself, my name is Dr Kia Pajouhesh, Chairman of the MU Building and Managing Director of Smile Solutions which occupies the mezzanine, the uppermost two floors and the tower of this majestic building. I look forward to hearing from you.

    October 20, 2012
    • Hi Kia, I would love an opportunity like this and would really like to talk to you about it. Do you have an email address? My email address is leanne@leannecole.com.au

      October 21, 2012

Comments are closed.

