Skip to content

Counter

This has to be very quick today, I am so sorry, I am meant to be packing to go away for the weekend, but here I am still working on my blog.  Someone, sorry I don’t remember right now who, commented yesterday on the shops and couldn’t understand what was wrong with them.  They are lovely to look at but on the inside the building is falling apart.  I have a photo of the counter for you.

I can’t really talk about this too much, except to say that I have done this in much the same way, though I have tried to emphasise the counter and the view outside, my mum lives down that road. I don’t know if this has worked, but I don’t mind it. Though I did do it quickly, so maybe with time I might consider doing less or more to it, time will tell.

 

It is always interesting to experiment with the images, but sometimes it can be very time consuming.  The original image is the first of the bracketed shots.

I am struggling with what to say today.  I really don’t want to go to Wangaratta to do the cycling this weekend.  It is becoming very disappointing.  People want me there, but then I don’t make any money from it and I end up losing money.  I am starting to think that it might be time for me to pull away from it.  I really want my field trips to be successful.  I think advertising them is the problem.  I need to work that out.

Sorry, a bit of a nothing post today.  I am feeling very rushed.  Maybe tomorrow will be better.

45 Comments
  1. Excellent in door shot!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

    July 27, 2012
  2. Fabulous results on your photo project, once again.

    July 27, 2012
    • I will admit that I was pretty happy with this one too. Thank you.

      July 28, 2012
  3. Excellent POV.

    Have a wonderful weekend.

    July 27, 2012
    • Thank you Mirjam, great that you like it. I will try to, hope you have a good weekend too.

      July 28, 2012
  4. Really nice shot with a great feeling of isolation. Hope things pick up – I’m sure they will.

    Thanks for sharing.

    July 27, 2012
    • Thank you Bill, yes, hopefully, though I doubt it. I find the cycling community quite strange, and I think it is time for me to move on. No point doing stuff when it is costing me money and I don’t recover the money.
      I am glad you like the photo, thanks again.

      July 28, 2012
  5. Enjoy your weekend away 🙂

    July 27, 2012
    • Haha, I don’t think that is going to be possible, but I am staying with some lovely people so that is good. 🙂 Thanks anyway.

      July 28, 2012
      • Hope you manage to get some time to relax though

        July 28, 2012
  6. Don’t apologize, sweetie…you have a life and a business outside of blogging. It’s a good shot…I like what you did with the light coming through the big windows.

    July 27, 2012
    • Thanks Marie, I love how you always seem to understand. It is a busy time, it doesn’t help that I really don’t want to be here. I just want it all over. No more cycling.

      July 28, 2012
  7. Love this one. Have a good w/e.

    July 27, 2012
  8. Great photo, Leanne. Those sorts of places are so interesting to walk around in, never know what you might find. And certainly not a nothing post. Your telling your readers how you are doing, and we care about that. It’s one of those reasons we come back. If your losing money then good business sense says bail! I hope you feel better soon. 🙂

    July 28, 2012
    • Thanks John, it is so nice to know that people care. I just felt very rushed doing it and I don’t like doing that. Though I suspect the next post will be the same.
      I think you are right, it is time for me to get out, or at least cut right back what I am doing. I think I won’t be doing as many events this summer. Thank you. 🙂

      July 28, 2012
      • 🙂 😉

        July 28, 2012
  9. I’ve nominated you for the “One Lovely Blog Award”. If you would like to participate, just write a post, including a link back to my blog, then 15 other blogs you would like to nominate, and then 7 things about yourself. Here is my post that nominated you: http://marantophotography.wordpress.com/2012/07/26/one-lovely-blog-award-for-me/
    If you aren’t interested or have already done this before, no worries, just know that I really like your blog! Cheers!

    July 28, 2012
    • Thank you so much for this. I really appreciate it. I have been getting so many and I don’t know what to do. I was thinking of just thanking everyone, and letting everyone know who you, but not nominating others, do you think that would be OK? I think it would take me days to nominate people. I do love it that you think my blog is worth though and thank you from the bottom of my heart. 🙂

      July 28, 2012
      • I would not be offended if you don’t participate. I took mine as an opportunity to list a few blogs that I enjoy, since I had been meaning to write a post like that anyway. I just like your blog, I’m happy to just take your “thanks” and leave it at that 🙂

        July 29, 2012
      • Oh, and by “taking your thanks” I just meant that we could leave all this in the comments section and you don’t have to mention me at all in a post. Just thought I would clarify that 🙂 I’ll stop babbling now.

        July 29, 2012
  10. Actually this is a very difficult shot with the light coming through the door and window and the heavy shadows inside the shop. The light reflecting off the floor also adds to the difficulty.
    We all have ‘other’ lives than blogging and we all have times when time is against us or we just don’t have much to say. I spent most of this evening going through your old posts and I don’t think it was a waste. I haven’t uploaded any photos or blogged today because I just don’t feel like doing it. Actually I need to go and delete a blog that I no longer use 🙂
    Have a great weekend!

    July 28, 2012
    • So Paul, does that mean you didn’t like the image? That is OK if you didn’t, I don’t have any problems with that. My husband hates most of what I do. I wanted your focus to end up outside the shop, in the street, so your eyes look around and then you leave the shop with your eyes. I don’t know if I explain it very well. The shop is closed.
      I really want to blog everyday, I am worried the moment I stop doing it everyday, then I will stop blogging. I have another blog, for my garden, and I keep thinking I will do some stuff on it, but I never do. I need deadlines, and my deadline for this is everyday. It is important right now, it gives me a focus and I need that. This probably isn’t making any sense, but it does to me. I am glad you have been going through my blog, have you looked at some posts from the beginning of the year, they are so bad. I laugh when I see them now.
      YOu have a good weekend as well.

      July 28, 2012
      • Quite the contrary. I do like the photo. I was just thinking of the problems I have encountered where there is so much light and shadow.
        I am only starting to play around with my images and trying to teach myself how to use the software.
        I really hope you keep to your resolve to blog everyday!
        I still need to get to doing that myself.

        July 30, 2012
  11. Your image is the perfect analogy of all things have their time 🙂

    July 28, 2012
    • Thank you EllaDee, think you are absolutely right.

      July 28, 2012
  12. Especially love the ‘rustic’ feel of it all!

    July 28, 2012
    • Thank you, I was hoping for that.

      July 31, 2012
  13. LeBlogDuSpectateurSentimentale #

    I love your way to make something interesting from something apparently insignificant. This is inspiring. Cheers!

    July 28, 2012
    • Thank you, I have been trying really hard to be able to do that. I am so happy that you like what I am doing. Thanks again

      July 31, 2012
  14. “in a digital world, it is never the subject.” thanks for sharing your work 🙂

    July 28, 2012
  15. the light is transcendent, and the red… oh my. all that’s missing are hopper’s interlocutors.

    July 29, 2012
    • What a massive compliment, I love Hopper, he is one of my inspirations. Thank you so much.

      July 31, 2012
  16. You’ve certainly turned this one into a ‘silk purse’, Leanne! Love the warmness of ‘Mum’s street’!

    July 29, 2012
    • Thank you, I was a bit worried I might have made it too warm, but I really wanted your eye to travel in the shop and then out, like you had left the shop. 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  17. Ooo awesome 🙂

    August 1, 2012
  18. Beautiful photo- great light and detail!

    August 1, 2012
    • Thank you. I am glad you like what I have done to the image. 🙂

      August 1, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Shopping « Leanne Cole's Photography Field Trips

Comments are closed.

