Skip to content

Hallway

The first day of the Junior States is over.  I got some fantastic photos, and I can just say, that it depresses me that probably almost no one will buy them.  I love how well they turned.  I was very fortunate and get my hands on a 150-500mm lens to do the time trial,  I was able to get some really good shots.  I was thinking of doing a post and showing some, but I don’t have the time to do that now.

I did prepare something yesterday for you.

Next to that shop that I showed yesterday is the house that the guy who owned the shop lived in.  It is an amazing house and I had hoped to show more images, but, well I really don’t like the way I photographed it.  I don’t know what I was thinking, I took so many photos with the camera on the ground, and I don’t like them.  I should have done taken shots with the camera at different levels.

There are a lot of mistakes in the this image.  I really rushed it.  I didn’t rush the image yesterday, but did the post.  Today, I have an image that I rushed to do for you, but have more time for the post.

With this image, I liked the length of the hallway, and then there are the textures on the walls and the ceiling.  There is so much pressed tin in this place.  If you were after some, there is plenty of it.

The processing has been done much the same as it always has, but I didn’t try and push it too much, and I didn’t do a lot of it.  I just did the minimum I thought I could get away with.  Sorry, I feel I am cheating you all.  Really, it just isn’t a good image.  I wish the camera was up just another two feet.

 

67 Comments
  1. Ham'G #

    Well Leanne I think your hallway is fantastic! That pressed tin on the ceiling is something and the lovely skirting boards – your photo shows these to advantage in that amazing angle you have used – what atmosphere. And nothing to do with photography – but we went to a new restaurant out in Willow Grove (just a little district in the middle of nowhere) and it has pressed tin all around the bottom half of the walls!! And hope you sell heaps of photos from today.

    July 28, 2012
    • Thank you, I really thought the angle would be too weird. That pressed is so amazing, the house is full of it. Shame people don’t really use it anymore. I think it should be used more, it is so decorative. Must have been pretty amazing seeing it in a restaurant.

      July 31, 2012
  2. Helen #

    I’ve really enjoyed your indoor photographs. This one I like because your eye travels up the picture, and the texture of the roof is very striking.

    July 28, 2012
    • I was convinced that everyone would hate this image, that the angle was all wrong, but it has been so good hearing comments like yours, I like how you describe it, thank you Helen.

      July 31, 2012
  3. I love pressed tin ceilings…wonder why people stopped using them?
    I think your image works pretty well. You got the lighting adjusted so that the eye is drawn to the tin ceiling and light fixture, but I think I know what you mean about wanting something different. Another reason to go back, eh? 😉

    July 28, 2012
    • I have no idea, but like you do wonder why they stopped using them. Maybe considered too old fashioned.
      Definitely another reason, hopefully I will be able to get back in. Would be good to try some other angles, it is something I really need to do when I am there. 🙂 One day I will get it right.

      July 31, 2012
  4. omigod did you do this for me? I love it, it’s fabulous, so thoughtful 😉

    July 28, 2012
    • Yes, EllaDee, especially for you, haha. 🙂 Thank you, do you really like it? 🙂

      July 31, 2012
      • I love old houses, old things. The way you’ve processed the images takes it from 2D to a place where it has that feel of an old house that has stories to tell. Yes, I really like it. It’s different, warmer, not so decayed as your other interiors & so retains echoes of possibilities rather than just what’s been left. The G.O. however, saw it strictly at face value & said “too much work”… 😉

        July 31, 2012
      • I think the difference with this place is also because it hasn’t been empty for as long as the others. I must say I think your G.O. is probably right, too much work.

        July 31, 2012
  5. Leanne, I like this image! But I know that feeling of, “if only I had”. I hate that feeling.

    July 28, 2012
    • It is a terrible feeling, but then again, maybe it is good because then you know you can do better and you strive for that. I am so glad you like the image, thanks.

      July 31, 2012
  6. B #

    You are awesome!!! I really like all of your images I’ve browsed through thus far….well done!

    July 28, 2012
    • I don’t know about that, but thank you so much.

      July 31, 2012
  7. Well, I think the low vantage point is perfect 🙂

    July 28, 2012
    • Interesting how two people can things differently. I think it shows too, that I don’t always know what is best either. Thank you Noeline. 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  8. Looks like a construction zone, a work in progress? Very old materials in it’s construction. Much light coming in from under the door. Makes you wonder who has walked the hall over the years, a trip back in time.

    July 28, 2012
    • I think it would be more appropriate to add a de before contruction. I don’t know that many have walked the hall, except for the owners of the shop. My understanding that before the previous owner the guy who had owned the stored for many, many years. I don’t know anymore than that I’m afraid, we will have to make up our own 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  9. Oh yes, love the perspective! 🙂

    July 28, 2012
    • Thank you Zelmare, it is different, not so sure myself. 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  10. I like your comment about feeling like you didn’t get what you wanted from a shoot. Sometimes I come back from a photo shoot and I wonder what I was thinking when I see the images on my monitor. When that happens I am so disappointed at myself and wonder why I took the approach I took. I think it happens to all of us but I really don’t like the feeling that it leaves me with.

    July 29, 2012
    • You are right, it does happen to all of us. I think you just have to think about next time and make sure you do it differently. I think when I go back I will try a lot more angles and more than one perspective, a plan, now waiting execution. Thanks. 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  11. It must happen to all of us! Don’t worry though– whether or not you have images that you like is not necessarily what this moment may have been about– it is the experience of doing, of getting better, of learning. We do not grow from perfection, rather from “mistakes” ~ peace, Jason

    July 29, 2012
    • Thanks Jason, that is so true. We learn and grow. I think sometimes not getting the image you were hoping for means you have to go back. There are a lot of places I would photograph differently, or will when I go back.

      July 31, 2012
  12. Reblogged this on Conceptual Art.

    July 29, 2012
  13. Elise M #

    Ive only just started following your blog and I’m inspired to try some bracketing for making HDR images (I shoot with D90). I’m curious to know how you layer your bracketed shots; do you have a tutorial on the blog post for reference, or do you just merge photographs in PS?

    Tonight, I’ll be shooting a maternity shoot at sunset in a gathering of trees on a hilltop. I’ve imagined (since following your blog) how an HDR image of this would look and I’m deadset on trying it out. Suggestions? Thanks!

    July 29, 2012
    • The D90 is a good camera and if I wasn’t doing the cycling, that is probably what I would have got firstly. I started out doing my HDR’s in Photoshop and it is a great place to first start learning. Though, as I got more proficient at it, I purchased Photomatix to do them, which I am so happy with. There are other programs out there that can do them as well. I looked at HDR Efex Pro 2, but only got a trial version and didn’t really play with it much. I have heard it is good, but I liked the results of Photomatix more. Though if Efex wanted to give me one to try and see what I thought, I wouldn’t say no.

      A maternity shot is not something I would try with HDR, though, if you can have a go why not. I think portraits are more about getting the person and not the whole scene, but that could just be me. Please let me know how it went.

      July 31, 2012
      • Elise M #

        Well, I bracketed a few shots, planning on trying them in HDR. I actually Googled how to make an HDR image with bracketing and read about PS and Photomatix. Well, I haven’t purchased PM but did try using PS.

        The shots I got did not work well with HDR because of the way I shot with the light. However, I did go out the next day for a shoot I’ve been kicking around about “Who Am I?” and those frames worked really well with PSs HDR merge.

        I am so glad I’ve found your blog and you have inspired me to try something new. I’m interested in seeing what I can come up with for this symbolic representation of who I am, and will be trying a lot of the HDR images for this project.

        I’ll let you know when I post my first HDR blog. It won’t be soon for this project though, as it is one that I have to build upon. Perhaps I’ll just post a single image. 🙂

        August 1, 2012
      • Well done. Not all subjects are good for HDR, I’ve tried a few things and some are just disasters. I am glad you did find something. Just remember when you are doing the HDR, not to add saturation, I think that is a mistake a lot make. Also be careful with the lighting, try changing it so you don’t get that halo effect. That is what I have found anyway.
        I haven’t done a HDR in ps since I got Photomatix, maybe I should have another go and see what it is like now that I know what I am doing more. See, you’ve inspired me as well. Please let me know, I would love to see what you do.

        August 1, 2012
  14. Deliciously creepy!

    July 29, 2012
  15. The low vantage point of this shot is what gives it the edge! Love it

    July 29, 2012
    • Yes I do to It is Beautiful

      July 29, 2012
      • Thank you so much, always good to hear.

        July 31, 2012
      • Your welcome Leanne

        July 31, 2012
    • Thank you roxyboots, glad that you like it and the vantage point. Perhaps I was wrong. haha 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  16. I hate when I second guess everything. But that is exactly how I learn. 🙂 I think it is a cool shot. Looks like a great place with lots of detail.

    July 29, 2012
    • It is a bit creepy actually, I wouldn’t like to go there on a dark night and I certainly wouldn’t want to live there. 🙂 I think second guessing is how we all learn. Thanks Angelia

      July 31, 2012
  17. I think it has a lovely feel and totally takes me in.

    July 29, 2012
    • Thank you very much. It is great to hear that.

      July 31, 2012
  18. Reblogged this on Marsha Lee and commented:
    Leanne Cole has a unique style of photography, and loves old buildings. She teaches photography in Melbourne, Australia.

    July 29, 2012
    • Thank you Marsha, that is nice of you.

      July 31, 2012
  19. Liz #

    Really glad you’re pleased with your cycling photos. Perhaps time to have a think about how you’re going to ensure the right people see them? Sorry couldn’t resist a gentle prod. As for the hallway – I like it but I also know what you mean about forgetting to try things from different angles. I have a tendency to take heaps of shots all from the same perspective and then kick myself for doing it.

    July 29, 2012
    • I bet you couldn’t resist it. You know I have had the photos up for two days, and I have had lots and lots of people looking them, well over two hundred views, and only one sale. It is so frustrating. People see them, but they don’t want to buy them. I can’t figure it out.
      I am kicking myself now about that. It frustrating not to have taken other angles. Though, because I did it so much this time, I probably won’t do that again, I am, usually, very good at learning from my mistakes. Thanks Liz

      July 31, 2012
      • Liz #

        That is weird – especially now that I’ve seen how good the images are. Hmmm. Could you sell some to Cycling Victoria? I have to say I really don’t get why you’ve not had more sales – unless its just the kids looking when you need the parents to.

        July 31, 2012
      • I have no idea, it is very strange. I think there is more going on, but it isn’t paying its way anymore, I think I probably need to move on. Cycling Victoria pay for my car expenses, so I can’t make them buy images as well. I have tried handing out cards to everyone, I get advertised on CV’s website. Everyone knows me, they just don’t want to buy photos. There much be something about me.

        July 31, 2012
  20. Excellent work with the light! You might not be totally comfortable with the picture, but I get a good feeling when I look at it. It signifies the ‘Hallway’ very well!

    July 29, 2012
    • It would seem from many of the comments, that my view is not shared by everyone, and I suppose that just goes to show that I can be wrong about some of my images. Thanks

      July 31, 2012
      • You know what, ‘welcome to the club’! There have been many occasions on my photoblog when I posted an image which took great effort to shoot, create and build a good perspective (which made it a favorite in my books), and not many seemed to even notice it. Then I posted some pictures which I thought weren’t great at all, and they got rave reviews! It puzzles me no end :). And I’ve talked to many photographers having this conundrum. Probably that’s what makes creativity, especially photography, fun!

        July 31, 2012
      • It is so strange. If I am entering some work I always ask other people, because I know I won’t get anywhere with what I like, It is so strange. I have had the same thing happen over and over. 🙂 Thanks Nikhil. 🙂

        July 31, 2012
  21. Amazing, work ! Can totally see your passionate. I love that Hallway picture it would make for a good shot in a horror film. lol

    July 29, 2012
    • It would be a great place for a horror film. Thank you, glad you think my work is amazing, haha. 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  22. Just a few thoughts about selling your photos….. its never easy. If you are wanting to sell ‘art’ shots which is your main interest, then you need some exhibitions….. themed would be best, so try local and city galleries. You certainly have an individual style so with some persistence you should find a gallery happy to take your work. Show your work in libraries, cafes, bookshops etc as well. Buy a set of frames, get some mounts cut and keep at it. A web sales set up might bring in some interest. Find a local art & craft group that holds exhibitions, convert your garage into a gallery, see if there are artists studios available to rent…. especially if the other artists hold open days, or rent an empty shop, or better still ask the owner of an empty shop if you can brighten the place up to make it more attractive to sell or let. Then put your card or poster in local shops. The more exposure you can create the better your chance of selling. Prices…… don’t be greedy, its better to sell more for less that only selling a few at a high price, then when demand rises, so can your prices. At the moment you are a serious and creative amateur. You could become a pro, though everyone with a camera, thinks they are a photographer, so there’s a lot of competition…….. so aim high, with particular emphasis on presentation, and go for your strengths….. mood, low light, urban and rural decay, and continue refining your style and subject matter……. a series with a ghostly child in those old properties for example…….. you can do it…..
    Best regards, John.

    July 29, 2012
    • Wow John, great comment. I have a Fine Art Degree from a very good uni here in Melbourne and I have had some previous work in some top name galleries, however, that work was not photographic and was along similar lines. I have some plans for exhibiting my work, but all in good time.
      The complaining was about the images I take of cycling. I am finding that no one wants to buy those. I was selling quite a few, but not anymore. I don’t know why and I am starting to think it is time for me to give that part away. It costs money to go to these events and then there is the time. It is cost effective, so don’t think I can continue. I would really like to concentrate on getting my field trips up and running and doing some teaching. Get some work into some exhibitions is also up there.
      I do really appreciate what you had to say John, thank you.

      July 31, 2012
  23. Little Brown Tomato #

    Though I haven’t seen your full collection; this is among your finest. I love the tones. Beautiful !

    July 30, 2012
    • Thank you so much, I am hoping the work is getting better and better.

      July 31, 2012
      • Little Brown Tomato #

        Not that your older work is bad AT ALL but you are definitely perfecting your craft. I can see it with every image. 🙂

        July 31, 2012
      • I hope so, I have no idea where I will go with it.

        July 31, 2012
  24. Reblogged this on Sherry's Space and commented:
    This is a great shot, I love the way you captured it

    July 31, 2012
    • Thank you Sherry, always great to hear when someone likes it.

      July 31, 2012
  25. I actually love this image, I feel like I am part of it, a trapped person crawling on the floor trying to escape something…really atmospheric!

    July 31, 2012
    • I love that description, I would never have thought of that. Thank you so much for this.

      July 31, 2012
  26. I love the textures in this photo! Thanks so much for visiting my humble blog 🙂

    July 31, 2012
    • You are welcome Rose, and thanks for visiting mine. Thanks for liking the image.

      July 31, 2012
  27. Oooo I love those angles! Great capture 😀

    August 1, 2012

Comments are closed.

