Skip to content

Trees

Back home from the Junior States now.  It was a good weekend, I enjoyed the company, and today I was riding around on the back of the motorbike today.  Having someone along makes it nice, also good to have someone to talk to.  Bruce is great on the motorbike and I feel so confident riding on the back.

As we were riding I noticed some trees, and I asked him to stop.  I took 3 quick shots, for a HDR.  Then he rode up a little more, and said, “I think this is better”.  He was right, here is that image.

Of course, it is edited a lot.  I desaturated it, I found the blue sky and the bright green grass in the foreground a little distracting.  I will post the original in a minute.

I did process this much the same way, but I added one layer that I don’t normally add, that was an inverted image layer.  I like the effect it gives.  I was doing it a while back, but felt I was using it too much, so stopped.  You have to decide from time to time what is best, and just because you do something to one image, doesn’t mean it is going to work for everything.  I think that is something I am starting to understand.  Each image needs to be treated differently.

There is the original image for you to do the comparison.  I have cropped the image, I really didn’t like the bit of road in the bottom left corner.  The rest is blurred layers, detailed layers, and they are put on top of each of other. They have been blended a lot.

I think I was trying to recreate something similar to the post on did on that scraggy tree, let me see if I can find the link, here is one Scraggy and Craggy, there was also a second post with that tree, Cottages of Spirits.  I don’t think these trees look anywhere near as good as that other one, but it was fun trying to reproduce a similar image.

Anyway, that is enough from me, I need to log back into Ubuntu so I can start uploading photos from the weekend.

66 Comments
  1. Wow! That looks so eerie. Well done 😀

    July 29, 2012
    • Thank you, just the response I was hoping for. 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  2. amazing edit…

    July 29, 2012
    • Great that you like it, thank you.

      July 31, 2012
  3. Fabulous capture…the art is in seeing not only what is in front of you and your lens, but knowing where you will take it in the (digital) darkroom…
    I’m learning so much from you 🙂

    July 29, 2012
    • It is funny, I don’t usually have any idea when I start, well I have no more than a vague idea. I just love playing and seeing what is possible.
      How nice of you to say that Marie, it is a pleasure to help you learn. I am blushing now. 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  4. I found the trees more beautiful after you processed. The original is lovely but dare I say a predictable scene but what you have done creates an atmosphere and drama which draws you in. Its quite beautiful. Its like it emphasizes their structure by dulling all the noise around them. Thks Leanne

    July 29, 2012
    • Wow, what a wonderful thing for you to say, I really like this. Thank you so much.

      July 31, 2012
      • ur welcome, I only spoke the truth. C u again and thanks for coming to my blog. I’m really grateful as I’m very new to it and it encourages me.

        August 1, 2012
  5. Stephanie #

    It’s really quite amazing how the original pic got transformed into the final showpiece….wow….

    July 29, 2012
    • I find it amazing myself sometimes. I love playing and love seeing how far I can go. Thank you Stephanie.

      July 31, 2012
  6. A great transformation! Love the darker mood.

    July 29, 2012
    • Thank you Sheila, that is great, always good when people like my work.

      July 31, 2012
  7. Wish I could go on a field trip with you!

    July 29, 2012
    • I do too, how much fun would it be? 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  8. I like this image very much Leanne – in fact, it gives me the anwer to your recently posed question about what of your work we like in terms of you entering some competitions. I’m drawn to your photos of nature more than the more “industrial” looking shots of buildings. That says more about me than it does your photos, I’m sure, because all of what I’ve seen of yours is super, but there it is.

    July 29, 2012
    • Oh stop it, you are going to give me a big head, haha.
      I think we are all drawn to certain types of images. I’ve never been a big fan of the big landscape, but I love buildings. One thing that has changed is people, I used to love photographing them, but not so much anymore.
      Thank you so much.

      July 31, 2012
  9. Dark & dramatic!

    July 30, 2012
    • Just the description I was hoping for, thanks.

      July 31, 2012
  10. I love the instant mood change the edit has given this. It’s like an apocalyptic before and after compare/contrast with the cast of, The Walking Dead standing just out of view.

    July 30, 2012
    • Perhaps I should have put some silhouettes of people in it, that might have been more interesting. It great that you like how it was edited, your description is what i was hoping for, thank you.

      July 31, 2012
  11. Nice. I love the processing on this shot.

    July 30, 2012
    • Thank you, I really pleased you like it.

      July 31, 2012
  12. It’s amazing how much different it looked once you had edited it. That’s what I’m always telling people: Any photo can be stunning once you put it through photoshop! 😉 Hehehe

    Anyway, this is truly beautiful. Thank you for sharing it!!

    July 30, 2012
    • Maybe not any photo, but certainly an ordinary image can made extraordinary, though I do believe having a vision is important. I am really happy that you liked it, thank you. 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  13. Oooh, love this a lot, Leanne! It’s perfect in B/W…cold, and a little creepy, too!

    July 30, 2012
    • Yep that is what I was going for, thank you.

      July 31, 2012
  14. When I compared both images my first thought was at a glance you wouldn’t necessarily realise they were the same sudject. I like what you’ve done here… somehow reduced the landscape to it’s elements and exalted them in a dark way… is the best way I can describe it… I am only viewing via laptop but for some reason I have a feeling this would look great printed.

    July 30, 2012
    • I hadn’t thought of printing it EllaDee, I do love your description. I have been getting some fantastic ones. It is always great to turn some everyday into something completely different. Thank you so much.

      July 31, 2012
  15. Reblogged this on Conceptual Art.

    July 30, 2012
  16. Surreal.

    July 30, 2012
  17. Did you ever see the artwork for Adore, the Smashing Pumpkins album? Your work reminds me of it 🙂 http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/_/299075/The+Smashing+Pumpkins.jpg

    July 30, 2012
    • No I hadn’t, it looks great. Thank you for sending me the link. I get what you mean. Thanks 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  18. Luv the treatment 🙂

    July 30, 2012
    • It certainly had an interesting effect. Thanks

      July 31, 2012
  19. Hi Leanne! Your site and breathtaking photos serve as a source of inspiration for me and for other bloggers. As such, I would like to share The Very Inspiring Blogger Award with you 🙂 Please feel free to stop by and pick it up if you like 🙂 http://ngtolentino.wordpress.com/2012/07/29/the-very-inspiring-blogger-award-80/

    July 30, 2012
    • Thank you so much for this, it is always so wonderful when people think your site is worthy of an award. I really appreciate it. Thanks again. 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  20. I like the trees and agree with other people it was a good edit. I looked at the original (I really appreciate the way you post the originals) and thought that track is so distracting, I would crop that out – and went back to the edit, and so you had. In fact, you even told us in case we hadn’t noticed!

    It was a change to see a B&W one and a good change too.

    July 30, 2012
    • Thank you, I am really glad you liked it. Yes, the track/road was too destracting, and it is much better without it. I made the image almost B&W, because the sky was so blue and the grass so green, that it was giving the wrong idea. It seemed better to desaturate the image. Thanks again.

      July 31, 2012
  21. Really intense – I love it. 🙂

    July 30, 2012
    • Intensity is good, thanks. 🙂

      July 31, 2012
  22. Reblogged this on Sherry's Space and commented:
    That is a beautiful shot, I love it

    July 31, 2012
    • Thank again Sherry, glad you like the shot.

      July 31, 2012
  23. Tricia's Blogs #

    I enjoy black and white photography, trees and dark moody photos, so this one is all three! And it was fun to click on your links and go back to some photos of before I started following your blog…. that Scraggy and Craggy tree was so interesting!

    July 31, 2012
    • Those previous trees, is almost where all this kind of started. It is great to go back and see what I was doing and what I am doing now. You should look at the images for last December, I cringe when I look at them now.
      Thank you Tricia, so glad you like this image.

      July 31, 2012
  24. The desaturated version gave me some some eerie yet nostalgic feeling. The two pictures really conveyed way too different ambiance! Nice photo, by the way.

    July 31, 2012
    • It was a good shot to get, and I”m glad I asked Bruce to stop for it. It is interesting to see how different you can make the shots. Thank you.

      July 31, 2012
  25. Very atmospheric. Nice capture. http://www.marksimmsphotography.com

    July 31, 2012
    • Thank you Mark, I am so glad you like it.

      July 31, 2012
  26. NICE WORK

    July 31, 2012
  27. I love how your processing turned out, it’s very dramatic !
    I really like how you explain what you did to each photo, and I agree, each photo needs its own treatment.

    July 31, 2012
    • Thank you, I like hearing that. It is really important to remember that each one is different. I am glad you like how I write about my photos. Thanks for the visit.

      July 31, 2012
  28. I’m learning.

    August 1, 2012
    • As we all are, as you learn you learn to do. It is great. I love learning to do new stuff. I hope you learn some stuff from here.

      August 1, 2012
  29. Great! You’re right, the black and white is a dramatic improvement! You’ll have me looking at things differently now. And thanks for stopping by at OPreach and liking so often.

    August 1, 2012
    • Thank you, it is nice to know what I do helps other people. You are welcome, it is a good thing to see what others do.

      August 1, 2012
  30. Gabriel | 加百利 #

    Lovely 🙂

    August 3, 2012
  31. Ooo love those trees 🙂

    August 4, 2012
    • The trees were amazing, there were quite a few there. Thanks Amanda. 🙂

      August 4, 2012
  32. leo brady #

    Reblogged this on realreality productions – boston, ma.

    August 5, 2012
  33. The trees are beautiful and haunting. A lovely shot. Your work is wonderful and I’m honored you liked my post on A Garden of Lights. All the best to you.
    Steve

    December 15, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Love, Happiness and Awards « floatingwiththebreeze

Comments are closed.

