Skip to content

17 Dolls

After the play Earnest finished I thought that would be it for my involvement at the theatre, but the other night I got an email from the director of the next play, Paul King, he is directing Summer of the Seventeenth Doll, an Australian Classic.  He liked the photos I did of Earnest, so would like me to do the same for his play.  So I am going back to Heidelberg Theatre Company to take more photos of a play.  Of course, you know what that means, you get to see the photos as well.  I hope you don’t mind.

This happened at the beginning of the evening.  Paul is the man sitting at the table on the right.  The cast are sitting on the theatre seats and they are all looking at the plan of the set.  Paul is really organised and they all know where everything is going to be on the set.

The set is going to look something like this.  Though having seen some of Paul previous sets, I am expecting big things.  He does some beautiful sets.  Some of the best ones I’ve seen, besides mine of course, have been designed by Paul.

This is a photograph of a set for the play that was produced by someone else.  The set for this play is similar, but there will also be lots of changes as well.  The play is set in the 1950’s so it should be a interesting set, a step back in time.

There are seven characters in the play, but only 4 were present, which added some interesting and entertaining times.  The Rehearsal was so much fun and I laughed a lot, certainly not the way it is usually.  This is Pearl, well the character Pearl.  I loved how Tina started getting into character straight away, using her pen as a cigarette.  Being a play from the 50’s there is bound to be smoking in it.

I felt for the character Emma last night, she was trying to stand in for the part of Olive, plus do her own, and confusion reigned all around.  It was great to see Lena there, and will be good to catch up with her over the next few weeks.

This young lady is playing Bubba.  She also stepped in to play Olive when Emma was on stage.  It was so hard to get images of them last night, their heads are always bent down over their scripts, which is really normal for the start of rehearsals.  I don’t know when they started, but I am pretty sure this was only the second or third, and the first one on the set.

This is the character Barney.  I would like to introduce everyone properly, but I don’t know all their names yet.  I should have asked Paul for a cast list, maybe if he reads this, he might send me one.  I tried so many times to get a shot with his head up, and this is about the only one that I could use.

It is different this time with this play.  I remember the photos of Earnest being like a building site, whereas this one didn’t seem that way.  I don’t know if it because the previous set hasn’t been completely decontructed yet, or whether things have been put away more.  Paul did organise the set rather well, and there were things every where, rather all the vital things that they will need were all in place.

Here is everyone on stage.  There is furniture in all the places.  The very tall man downstage is paul, he is telling everyone where they need to be. The guy in the background on the right of Paul is the stage manager I believe.  He was also filling in for one of the actors who hasn’t been cast yet.

The play starts in six weeks.  I don’t know how often I will get down there to take photos.  Hopefully at least once a fortnight, but I might try for once a week.  Again, you will see how the play develops.  This is a different play and from what I’ve seen so far, should be really good.  It is a great play, though I have only seen the first act, I can’t wait to see the rest of it.  Hope you are ready for another play.

36 Comments
  1. Absolutely brilliant. Well done for being asked to do the photos. I look forward to seeing them all

    July 31, 2012
    • Thanks Mondrak, I was really surprised and really pleased myself. It is a different play so should be good.

      August 1, 2012
  2. That face! The young man, Barney, I mean…great catch, very intense!

    July 31, 2012
    • Haha, let me tell you a story about that image. He was wearing a cap, and I kept trying to get a shot of him, I think Paul realised and told him to take the cap off, and then I finally got one. It took me about 5 minutes to get that one. Thanks Marie.

      August 1, 2012
  3. I’m glad to see that your previous experience with the play you just finished shooting didn’t dampen your spirits. You may have discovered a niche that will keep you in the company of other creative people and expand your photographic reach. Best of luck….

    July 31, 2012
    • I think my last experience was partly or mostly my own fault, I got carried away, I have no illusions this time. Paul understands what my position is and totally agrees. It would be nice to get paid to do it eventually though. It is a great experience, and I am happy doing it again, though don’t think I would like to do it all the time.

      August 1, 2012
  4. Tricia's Blogs #

    And will there be a contract and payment so there is no confusion this time? 🙂 Hope so! Good for you for being asked to photograph the play! I know you enjoy that.

    August 1, 2012
    • Thanks Tricia, but alas no pay or contract but there is an understanding that is better. The photos won’t be available for sale, and they are just a record of the play. I do enjoy it, but wouldn’t like to do it for every play. 🙂

      August 1, 2012
  5. Lovely cast portraits, Leanne…I look forward to your images of this production (though I am not familiar with the play)!

    August 1, 2012
    • Thank you, it is so different doing portaits when they are in character. Lovely though. If you click on the plays name at the start it is a link to wikipedia with a description of the play.

      August 1, 2012
  6. Congratulations, Leanne – I can totally see why you’ve been asked back. Love your cast photographs.

    August 1, 2012
    • Thanks Richard, I believe I was asked back because he liked that I left them as theatrical shots. I didn’t pretend they were anything else.

      August 1, 2012
  7. Hi Leanne, thanks for liking my post. I’m strictly an amateur when it comes to taking photographs but it’s fun and I like experimenting with the different settings. Good luck with this new assignment. I agree with speeddemon about being surrounded by creative people, what a great environment to work in.

    August 1, 2012
    • Hi yourself, and it was no problem. We all started as amateurs so you are in a good place, and if you continue experimenting you know where you will go. Good luck. It is a lovely environment to be in.

      August 1, 2012
  8. Look forward to seeing future pictures as the play evolves.

    August 1, 2012
    • Thank you, they should be good, well if I can photograph them well.

      August 1, 2012
  9. Congratulations on being invited back as photographer – well done! =D

    August 1, 2012
    • Thank you, I did feel very honoured, it is always great when someone wants you do something that they think you are good at.

      August 1, 2012
  10. Checked out your web page. Amazing.

    August 1, 2012
    • Thank you, lovely of you to say.

      August 1, 2012
  11. Congrats!!

    August 1, 2012
  12. Glad to hear you jumped back in the water. Once again you & the director appear to have some fabulous faces & personalties to work with.

    August 1, 2012
    • Yes, we do EllaDee. Hopefully this will be a much smoother ride this time. Looking forward to it.

      August 1, 2012
  13. Do you use manual focus or auto focus?

    August 1, 2012
    • I use auto focus, I am afraid my eyesight isn’t good enough and I don’t have enough patience for manual.

      August 1, 2012
  14. Liz #

    Absolutely I’m ready for another play – really enjoyed these portraits too.

    August 1, 2012
    • That’s good Liz, it is good to hear you liked them.

      August 2, 2012
  15. Wonderful stories in these images. I think this has to be better than street photography – the people are already used to being watched and they are performing for the public!

    August 3, 2012
    • You also get to capture them as they are making expressions, and the more you watch the play then you learn when the good moments are and can get those. I hadn’t thought that about the comparison with street photography, it is interesting. Thanks

      August 4, 2012
  16. great portraits..

    August 3, 2012
  17. I love the process that you captured 😀

    August 4, 2012
    • It was good to go back, and take more photos, it is hard to work out which ones to use when you first go. Glad you like them. Thanks Amanda 🙂

      August 4, 2012
      • Oh yeah I bet it’s hard! I take so many pictures of everything and when I load them all I’m shocked at how long it takes to me go through each one! HAHA

        August 4, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Setting Moves « Leanne Cole's Photography Field Trips

Comments are closed.

