Skip to content

Silence

This lane way in Melbourne is usually one of the busiest in Melbourne.  Everyone who knows Melbourne knows this lane, even my phone knew what it was when I said the name into it.  It is Degraves Street.

I took this image a while back when I did some early morning shots of Melbourne during a field trip. Degraves Street is normally buzzing with people and you don’t usually get to see it empty.  It looks so short, but it isn’t really.  It looks really strange when you see it like this, there are usually lots of tables and chairs down the middle up the end.  They are there but they aren’t set up.  Like I said normally there are people every where.  When you see the original you will see that I didn’t get rid of everyone.

When I processed this image, I wasn’t really sure what I was going to do.  I didn’t do a series of bracketed shots, so this is all I had to work with. One of the first things, hopefully, that you will notice is the sky in the image, I have changed it.  There is no sky in the original image.  I know if I had done some bracketed shots I would have got some sky, but instead I went to my cloud file and found one I thought I could use.  It wasn’t that hard to do, but don’t look closely.  I should spend more time doing this sort of thing.

You will also notice that there are a couple of people in this image.  I managed to get rid of them.  I did add a blur layer and when I was deciding what to unblur, I decided to do the things that I thought would lead your eye down the lane.  I warmed up the building at the end, so hoping that draws your eye down as well.

I didn’t do much else, putting that new sky in was time consuming and the masking took me ages as well.  It isn’t perfect, far from it, but it is okay for today.  I wouldn’t mind going in again on another early morning and trying to get some bracketed shots.

I have finally caught up on everyone’s blogs, and I have answered all the comments, well, I had up till a few hours ago.  I feel like I can breath now and not be so rushed.

62 Comments
  1. Nice work – these type of images are alway interesting as you are recording a time of day or scene that most never see!

    August 1, 2012
    • It is very definitely a rare scene, but really ties in with a lot of my work. Thank you.

      August 2, 2012
  2. Great processing! The blur layer and your choices on what to show in focus really make the image ‘pop’. Very cool.

    August 1, 2012
    • Glad you like the image, It can be hard to work out what to do, most of the time I just go for what feels right. thanks

      August 2, 2012
  3. Nice work! I’d love to learn to do that someday….having a Cloud File wouldn’t be a problem here! 😉

    August 1, 2012
    • It isn’t really that hard, it is sort of just layering and deleting bits. clouds are great, we have the same thing here, lots of clouds. How’s the weather going over there. Thanks Marie. 🙂

      August 2, 2012
      • More normal than it has been…some rain, some heat, a few nice, cool and dry days….with any luck, we’re back on track!

        August 2, 2012
      • That is good to hear. It is still cold here, looking forward to spring.

        August 4, 2012
  4. The way you captured this alley is “stunning”!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

    August 1, 2012
    • Thank you Nonoy Manga, glad you like it.

      August 2, 2012
  5. I love what you did with this, the signs and the supports for them are kind of surreal looking too. Well done!

    August 1, 2012
    • The supports for the signs are great, so Harry Potter like, I love them. Thank you John

      August 2, 2012
  6. A classic Leanne Cole shot: darkness centering onto light.

    August 1, 2012
    • Really, thank you Paul, what a great compliment.

      August 2, 2012
  7. These images are stunning. I really would love to go to Melbourne and may be getting my wish granted later this month 🙂 I love the signs, the street looks very “European”
    x

    August 1, 2012
    • Thank you, Melbourne is a great place, I hope you get your wish. Someone else said that too, thank you.

      August 2, 2012
  8. Little Brown Tomato #

    WOW Leanne. WOW.

    August 1, 2012
  9. Pat #

    I love the edited version of this shot! Beautiful work.

    August 1, 2012
    • Thank you Pat, always good to hear that the edited version is better.

      August 2, 2012
  10. nettrobbens #

    Thanks for stopping by and liking my post. What a beautiful site you have! I love photography as well. I can’t wait to browse the rest of your photos.

    Best,
    N

    August 1, 2012
    • It was a pleasure to visit your blog. Thank you for the great words about my blog. Photography is wonderful isn’t it. Thanks again.

      August 2, 2012
  11. Beautiful work! I love how you edited it, and adding that blur really makes it stand out even more, I never thought of doing that. Thanks for the inspiration!

    August 2, 2012
    • I must admit I don’t really know where I picked that up but it is a great little trick. You should give it a go. Thank Gracie.

      August 2, 2012
  12. amb #

    I’m a morning person, so I really love this shot! You’ve captured the feeling of my favourite time of day

    August 2, 2012
    • I love mornings too, it is a great time to take photos, very peaceful. Thanks for stopping by.

      August 2, 2012
  13. I like it…. I didn’t even notice that the sky was an addition…fits perfectly….

    August 2, 2012
    • That is great, if you didn’t notice the sky that I must have done it ok then. Thank you so much.

      August 2, 2012
  14. Love photo. It’s great to read about your creative processes and thinking along the way as well! Also thanks for the like on my blog a while back. Always appreciated 🙂 Keep up the good work!

    August 2, 2012
    • No problem Joel, thanks for coming over to mine as well. Glad you like what I am doing, that is always good, thank you so much Joel. 🙂

      August 2, 2012
  15. Gorgeous! 🙂

    August 2, 2012
  16. The processed image is intriguing. Degraves Street looks like it’s returning from another realm, and in the process of reassembling it’s molecules to start another day 😉

    August 2, 2012
    • You would know Degraves Street, I think you are right, it is like that, so weird. I think if I saw this photo from someone else I”m not sure I would guess that is what it is, the signs are the only thing that would give me a hint. Thanks EllaDee

      August 2, 2012
  17. Thanks for coming by and the “like”…your photos of Australia give me a glimpse of a place I’ve never got to visit! Thanks for sharing…

    August 2, 2012
    • You’re welcome Joni, glad you are enjoying the glimpses that I am giving you. Thanks

      August 2, 2012
  18. Great work Leanne.
    I’m not a Melbourne-ite so am not familiar with the area..
    I like what I see though.
    Love that blue sky… it makes the red and blue signs pop and takes my eye to the top of the building (in focus) at the end of the street.

    August 2, 2012
    • Thank Robyn, I think it is one of those places that the locals really know, and it gets lots of visitors each day. Great to hear you like what I have done, thanks again.

      August 2, 2012
  19. Hello! I’ve nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! Here’s a link to it, if you’d like to go there: http://remissionary.wordpress.com/2012/08/01/wins-day-twice-blessed/
    Have a blessed day!! (This is a beautiful photo, by the way)

    August 2, 2012
    • Thank you so much for this, I have left a comment on your blog.

      August 3, 2012
      • I just read it! Thanks so much!!

        August 3, 2012
  20. Nice image, Leanne. I love shots taken in the early hours. And warming up the building at the end definitely brings your eye in that direction 🙂 ~ peace, Jason

    August 2, 2012
    • Thanks Jason, I had hoped that would happen when I did that. Early morning is the best time, especially for shots like this, I really want to do some more. 🙂

      August 3, 2012
  21. It’s a great shot to begin with, if only for the emptiness and historical value, Leanne. Love the ‘warm-up’ on the far building…am not quite liking the heaviness of the blur on the closer buildings (both sides); however, I understand what you’ve done and why…which makes the final quite a fine image!

    August 3, 2012
    • I know what you are talking about with blurring, I really didn’t do it well and might redo the image altogether. It is very messy and I wasn’t really happy with it. So it is okay what you said. I agree with you. I think the warm up at the end was a great idea as well. Thanks 1000nd.

      August 3, 2012
  22. Nice image! I like the way the signs are in focus, but there’s a mist approach to the rest of the image! 🙂

    August 3, 2012
    • Thank you, though not sure if the last part is good or not, I probably was a bit heavy with the blur, I think I rushed it too much. 🙂

      August 3, 2012
      • Still far better than I would have been able to accomplish, haha! 🙂

        August 3, 2012
  23. The picture has great feel to it. The framing is wonderful and the proportions are near perfect.

    August 3, 2012
    • Thank you Nikhil, always great to hear that. I am so glad you liked it.

      August 3, 2012
  24. great original and processed images! definitely rare to catch Degraves so empty – almost like getting Trafalgar Square with only a handful of people (but managed that on Christmas Day a few years back…). I don’t think the blurring is too heavy – helps to make the facades older than they really are!

    August 3, 2012
    • I never thought of doing images on Christmas day, that would be a great idea, the streets would be empty. That’s good that you like the blurring, it is a bit rough though, I would have to fix it up if I was to print it. Thanks

      August 4, 2012
  25. Excellent.

    August 3, 2012
  26. I love it ..looks so peaceful

    August 3, 2012
    • It was, very peaceful, thank you.

      August 4, 2012
  27. Beautiful! Love how you made the photo soft, but you were able to focus on the words on the sign, really great 🙂

    August 5, 2012
    • Thanks Amanda, The signs are fantastic. Glad you like it. 🙂

      August 8, 2012
  28. jeseris #

    I knew the street as soon as I saw the photo! One of my favourite restaurants is down this street on the left…Lovely photo.

    August 7, 2012
    • You have to tell me what the restaurant is. The last time I went to the place I normally go it was closed for renovations. I love the art store down there as well. Thanks

      August 8, 2012
      • jeseris #

        I don’t know if it is still open (I have been away for 18 months now) but Il Tempo – the cutest italian restaurant with a special lunch menu. Lovely! 🙂

        August 11, 2012
      • The name sounds familiar, I will have to check it out the next time I am in the city.

        August 11, 2012

Comments are closed.

