Skip to content

Forgotten

The Mallee gave me so many fantastic images, and there are still more to go, but I am starting to run out.  It is a shame, though I suppose it means I will just have to go back sometime.  I spent about 4 hours on this, and I think I went too far.  I remember having a tutor at Uni that used to say that sometimes you have to do that.  I like aspects of it, but I think it is probably too much.

This is the other room in that house from the post called Home.  I did the main room in it last week, I think, and this room is from that room.  It had a lot more light in it, and was much more a junk room.  It took me ages to work out what that was hanging over the old stove, can you work it out?

There is the original.  It is the first image of the bracketed shots that I did the HDR for this image.  I had to do a lot of fixing, I don’t know what I was thinking when I shot the photo at this angle, very strange.  I didn’t like it, so I straightened it and made it more natural.

I have done lots of layers, I did an extra blur layer, and I don’t know if it was a good idea.  I also added a detail layer and then used the mask to get rid of quite a bit, so that only the rubbish on the ground is detailed.  It doesn’t look like a photo anymore, and I don’t know if that is good or bad.  I am undecided about this one.  I think I did go too far with the processing this time, maybe I need to sleep on it and look at it again tomorrow.

I have been asked by a few people about doing some tutorial type posts, however, I don’t know how many of you are really interested in that.  I probably won’t show exactly what I do, but I am happy to do some simple things, and maybe a few of the steps that I do.  It isn’t that I don’t want to show you how I do what I do, but more because I do things differently each time.  So hands please, put your hand up if you would like me to do some lessons, though I would like to know what you would like to learn.

So here is a poll so you can tell me what you want.

So for those of you who can’t figure out what that is in the middle, it is an old bed, one of those old fashion ones, I remember those, vaguely.

59 Comments
  1. can’t decide which I like better, the original or the retouch. it’s like looking at 2 different things. perhaps the latter IS a bit over the top (as you say), but it’s still beautiful – almost like an old master’s painting.

    August 2, 2012
    • I still can’t decided whether I like it or not. There are qualities in it that I absolutely love, but other things I’m not sure about it. I think you have it with the painting comparison, maybe that is what it is for me, does it look too much like a painting? And if it does is that bad? Thank Joanna.

      August 4, 2012
  2. Yeah…you lost the contrast between the bed and the wall in the final image…I think that’s what “bugs” me about it (for lack of a better way to describe it) There are so many cool textures in the original, it would be hard to highlight them all 😉
    Hope you can get back there soon – it’s a treasure.

    August 2, 2012
    • I am starting to plan my trip now. Would be great to get back up there to see what else I can find.
      There are many things I think that I did in this image that I can take away and do with others, so I probably just need to sit down and go through what I thought worked and what didn’t. Thanks Marie, thanks for you honestly.

      August 4, 2012
  3. Nice atmosphere again; personally it’s a bit too far in losing detail and becoming too much of a painting, still like it though!

    August 2, 2012
    • That is a funny thing isn’t it, too much of a painiting? I’m trying to decide if that is a bad thing, or if it should remain very photographic. I know there isn’t a right or wrong, but I have to be happy with it. Maybe I will get it printed and see what it looks like then. Thanks Rondje, I appreciate your thoughts on this.

      August 4, 2012
  4. I voted ‘yes’. I wouldn’t say you went too far, it looks like a painting to me, looks really nice!

    August 2, 2012
    • Thanks John. And thank you again, I still haven’t made up my mind about it, but no doubt I will eventually. I was just saying that I think I need to get it printed. Will let you know how it turns out.

      August 4, 2012
  5. It’s hard to believe it’s a photograph, it looks more like an “illustration” or painting. But even the original stretches in that direction–it seems unlikely and fantastic, as in derived from a fantasy. I find both of them very interesting, and the processed one more beautiful–that’s the one I would want on my wall. I don’t think caling it like a painting is a problem, so I wouldn’t say “going too far.” It’s lovely.

    August 2, 2012
    • I think that is the part I can’t decide on Paul, it is okay for it to look like a painting, or should it remain photographic? Should I see if I can do some others like this and see what happens? I do like how you have described it though. Thank you Paul, great thoughts, and given me lots to think about.

      August 4, 2012
      • I understood that was what you meant by “too much”–that it no longer looks like a photograph. I guess if you hung a show of your work and that one stood out in a way that broke the overall presentation, then looking like a painting might be a problem. But by itself it looks like good art. And it still reads very much like a Leanne Cole piece of art, so I think “not too much” in that sense. For sure, try going too far on some others. 🙂

        August 4, 2012
      • That is very true Paul, in a show all the work would need to have some sort of common element and look similar. I might have to try doing it to some others. 🙂

        August 4, 2012
  6. I prefer the new one – and I voted yes to the tutorials 🙂

    August 2, 2012
    • Thanks Mondrak, good to hear, so now will have to come up with some, do you know what you would like to see? 🙂

      August 4, 2012
  7. I don’t think you went to far. It is beautiful and the colors so warm and historic.

    August 3, 2012
    • Thank you Robyn, perhaps I really do need to have another look. 🙂

      August 4, 2012
  8. Wonderful! You’ve made it look much like a van Gogh!!!

    August 3, 2012
    • Wow, what a compliment, thank you.

      August 4, 2012
  9. Tricia's Blogs #

    Photography is art — this one is like a painting! Amazing that you can do that. I voted yes, I’d love to know your secrets 🙂

    August 3, 2012
    • Thank you Tricia, maybe pushing it a long way was a good thing. Maybe I should experiment some more. I don’t know if I am ready to reveal all my secrets, but happy to reveal some. Haha. 🙂

      August 4, 2012
  10. I’d lovel to hear how you do this!

    August 3, 2012
    • I will have to see what I can do, thanks.

      August 4, 2012
  11. I voted yes – I want to see how you make a picture look like it’s rotting – fantastic image, today, Leanne!

    August 3, 2012
    • Thank you Richard, it was an interesting process, learned some new things myself.

      August 4, 2012
  12. Just a quick call….. but I had to say ……. this is pure art…. your technique is flawless and your discernment is poised……. get your portfolio together and head for some major galleries…

    August 3, 2012
    • It is funny you should say that, I got the Art Almanac and quite a few galleries are calling for submissions for next year, so I might have to look into it. Thanks John.

      August 4, 2012
  13. I have to say I love them both, even the angle of the first (original) photograph … and I don’t think you went too far with the second one either; it’s like a painting, and I love the rust colours! =D

    August 3, 2012
    • Thank you, I suppose it is important to have a good image to start with, I like the original, but only as a starting point. Being like a painting has been a common comment, which I am starting to think isn’t a bad thing.

      August 4, 2012
  14. To me, it looks more like a painting than a photo now, but I don’t see anything wrong with that. I rather like it pushed to the limit. As a series, it might be a nice demonstration of how far you can go with it. The original is nice too, though. I would be interested in reading the tutorials.

    August 3, 2012
    • Thank you Jennifer, I think you might be right, that there is nothing wrong with it. It was an interesting process, I tried some new stuff, so now will have to see if I can remember it. The tutorials, I will have to see what I can do. I will have to start with some simple stuff first I think, see how we go from there. Thanks again.

      August 4, 2012
  15. This is amazing!

    August 3, 2012
  16. The technique reminds me of what Trey Ratcliff uses to process the photos he takes around the world.

    August 3, 2012
    • One lot of software I purchased was because of seeing his work. His stuff is great, though he goes for a different look to what I am after, nothing wrong with that. Thanks Steve.

      August 4, 2012
  17. Thanks for liking my post. Melbourne (and Victoria) is such fertile ground for photography. I lived there for a couple of years and came back to Perth with boxes and boxes of slides that have yet to be digitised. for more of my other images check out katinimages.com

    August 3, 2012
    • I will check them out. It is a great place for photography, the hard part is deciding exactly where to go. I would imagine Perth would be fantastic as well, and areas around it. Thanks for visiting me.

      August 4, 2012
  18. You’ve managed to transform an ordinary image into a work of art which is just amazing. That said, the original has a raw appeal to me. I like the mix of subtle colours & harsh light 🙂

    August 3, 2012
    • I think there is probably something very different about both images, the original has more of what it was actually like, where as the processed one is more about a feeling, or atmosphere. They are both very different,yet the same. Thanks:)

      August 4, 2012
  19. This is a wonderful image. You are very talented Leanne!

    August 3, 2012
    • Thank you Brian, thanks for compliment. 🙂

      August 4, 2012
  20. I agree with most everyone else here, I love it, I love most everything you do, it looks like an oil painting now and if that is alright then you didn’t go too far. And yes I am dying to know some of your techniques!

    August 3, 2012
    • Thank you Tonya, that is always good to hear. I think it was an interesting experiment and maybe I should try some more. Thanks for letting me know about the tutorials. 🙂

      August 4, 2012
  21. This is what I was talking about in my post ‘Art or Fraud?!’ where the manipulation is so extreme it moves beyond photography where the photo/s are only a step in the creative process. Which one do I like? Difficult to decide as they are both so different!
    I’m voting ‘yes’ – I’d like to understand how you get the dark look and ‘localise’ the light and colour.

    August 3, 2012
    • I just went back and had another read Noeline and I left you a comment. If anger seems to come from the page, it isn’t at you, I get really frustrated with that argument, I don’t get it. It is like saying we shouldn’t use electric lights, because candles have been used for centuries, even though electric lights are better. I would have thought it would be better to use whatever was available to make it better. To help you express what you want the image to express. It is rather a strange argument, 150 years ago they would have been Luddites. Sorry about the rant. Thanks for your thoughts.

      August 4, 2012
      • Don’t worry about the rant – no offence taken. I find it an interesting discussion because from the basic ‘manipulation is good/bad’ stand there are so many different points of view. Personally, like you, I think it comes down to want you want to express – how you do it isn’t important.
        …….. for a romantic meal I think I’d rather have candles 🙂 🙂

        August 4, 2012
  22. smilingtoad #

    Oh my I’d love to go to this place and shoot, fascinating! I rather like both images. Colours are groovy! Aye tutorials would be lovely. Anything you share in a tutorial I am sure I will benefit from.

    August 3, 2012
    • It is a great place, I can’t wait to go there again. I want to go for longer next time. Looks like I am going to have to come up with some tutorials, seems an overwhelming voting towards yes. Thanks.

      August 4, 2012
  23. At first I was going to comment that I agree with your ‘going to far’ statement but the more I view the image the more I like it. The colors are what stand out for me. Very nice. The blur layer helps direct the eye. Interesting. Will have me looking at my own processing a little different…

    August 3, 2012
    • The blurring is a great tool. It can be used for some great stuff, and exactly what you said. I agree with what you said about the image, I am still finding it hard to work out which one I like, I think it needs to be printed, then I will decide. Thanks.

      August 4, 2012
  24. viewstodifor #

    Hi there .. I think the final processed shot looks amazing! Even if it’s not what you were initially going for, I think it definitely stands in its own as a really nice piece of art.

    It’s OK to end up with something outside of what you’re used to .. Happy accidents can sometimes push us in new creative directions :). Keep up the experimentation & good work.

    Also, I would definitely be interested in any mini tutorial you cared to share with us. Thank you!

    August 4, 2012
    • Thank you, it has been nice to hear what people have thought about it, I still can’t decide. It was good to push it, and it was interesting. I will keep it up thanks. I think there is a lot who want the tutes, so I might have to work on some. Thanks again. 🙂

      August 7, 2012
  25. Another picture that looks like a painting 🙂 Love it! Yes, it would be fun to see how you do certain things, but if it takes too much time then no worries 🙂

    August 5, 2012
    • Thanks Amanda, I am so glad you like it, though I’m still not sure about it myself, 🙂 I am going to have to find some things to do tutorials about now, 🙂

      August 7, 2012
  26. Love your work! Old buildings is one of my favorite subjects.

    August 5, 2012
    • Aren’t you lovely, thank you, I love them as well.

      August 7, 2012
  27. I definitely vote “yes!” to some tutorials.

    I’m sure you don’t want to give all your secrets away, but I’d love to gain some insight into how you add some nice sharpness to certain areas but leave some “dreamy” within the same photo. I’m guessing it’s a mixture of different layers/masks treated in different ways, but I’d be interested to know which actions work best for each. I’ve figured out how to get a good dreamy quality, but I haven’t quite mastered sharp lines without introducing a lot of noise. I have some work-arounds, but they’re still not exactly what I’d like to achieve. Anyway, I think you do that quite successfully and any little tidbits would be wonderful!

    August 6, 2012
    • That has been a problem I’m having, I aren’t really ready to give away everything I do, I think if I was successful and making money, then it wouldn’t be a problem, but I am happy to do some tutorials on some things, bits and pieces. You are the only one who has said what you would like, so maybe I can start with that. Thank you for that.

      August 7, 2012
  28. Hi Leanne,

    I believe it really depends on who your audience is and what you’re trying to achieve. But at the end of the day, if your happy with it, then that’s all that matters.

    I voted yes btw. I am not sure if it’s too late or not lol but I’m intrigued to see what your process is. I understand the basic gist to HDR but haven’t develop my own technique so I’m interested in seeing what yours is.

    Cheers

    August 10, 2012
    • Thank you James, I wasn’t really happy and I think I will do it again one day.
      Of course it isn’t too late, looks like I will have to do some tutorials now, many people said yes, I just have to work out where to start. I will do one on how I process a HDR at some stage as well. I hope you won’t be disappointed.

      August 10, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Forgotten – ReWorked « Leanne Cole's Photography Field Trips

Comments are closed.

