Skip to content

Hardship

The title of this post is probably more about how I feel about this image, than the hardship that the cottage may have felt.  Sometimes, you see an image and think, yep this is going to be a great image, but when you start working on it, there is something that just makes it almost impossible.  Well that is this image for me.

This is from the stone cottage that I photographed in the Mallee, I put an image of it in a post called Stone.  We got to the cottage around 1pm, and I think it was the wrong time of day to get an indoor shot.  There was so much light coming through the window, and with how dark it was inside, it just didn’t work.  It doesn’t look that bad in this image, but when you see the original you will know what I mean.

The middle of the floor was really hard, the bright sun was hitting the middle of the floor and was too bright.  I had to do a lot of work to change it.  In the end I had to find the darkest one of it and mask it in.  It was harder than I thought.

I have also tried to highlight that chair in the corner and the chimney.  The processing is similar to what I did for the interior I did two days ago.  I didn’t push it as far this time.  I am glad that it worked more this time, though the golden glow is missing a lot more.

I woke up early this morning with the idea of going out to take photos, but when I got up, I realised, I didn’t know where to go, I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted to do.  Then it started raining, so probably best that I didn’t go.  I do have some plans, hopefully tomorrow morning, will see.  I am going to see the Melbourne Art Fair tomorrow at the Royal Exhibition Building, so I might take my camera to that, maybe I can do a post on that.

60 Comments
  1. Helen #

    I find this picture has an abstract feel about it.

    August 4, 2012
    • Thank you Helen, I hadn’t considered that, but you could be right.

      August 5, 2012
  2. AiM #

    Another nice image! Where do you find these places?! I never seem to be able to find much up here in Qld!

    August 4, 2012
    • Thanks AIM, I had help finding them. It is great to know locals. I used to think the same, I feel very lucky to have been able to photograph them.

      August 5, 2012
  3. I really like how all the color seems to radiate out from that spot on the ground.

    August 4, 2012
    • Thank you Jennifer, that is interesting, it is like a hot spot.

      August 5, 2012
  4. You have a lot more patience than I do. That blow out in the middle of the floor would have discouraged me. I wouldn’t have guessed it from the final image, though–that I like.

    August 4, 2012
    • It did for a long time Paul, I tried working on it a few weeks ago, but I couldn’t decide what to do, so I left it, this was my second or third attempt at it. I am glad you like my persistence, thanks.

      August 5, 2012
  5. viewstodifor #

    Beautiful work w/ the processing! Thx for sharing the original image, too. That makes it really easy to see how much work went into the final image :). I think I may start doing that in my posts (some of them, anyway). Thx again .. keep up the good work!

    August 4, 2012
    • It seems to be a popular thing to post the original, I can’t decide if I am just trying to show off how much work I have done, haha 🙂 It is an interesting thing to do. I show it so people can see how much work I”ve done, but then people think it is there for them to compare which is better, which isn’t the idea. Don’t be discouraged would be my advice. Thank you as well. 🙂

      August 5, 2012
  6. If only the walls could talk….this room seems to have so much to say!

    August 4, 2012
    • It would be interesting wouldn’t it Paula. I often wonder who lived there, what was their lives like.

      August 5, 2012
  7. I love what you did with it…truly impressive. This is (I think) the most different original/finished image set I’ve seen you post

    August 4, 2012
    • Pat #

      Nice work. Once upon a time, it was someone’s cozy home.

      August 4, 2012
      • Thanks Pat, yes once, no idea who they were though.

        August 5, 2012
    • Thanks Marie, it was certainly one of the ones I spent the most time on. I have been saving things a little different and going back over stuff is easier, that helps.

      August 5, 2012
  8. You did a fine job here. I think the light coming in from above adds to the sense of abandonment. The chair looks as though it is molded into the wall, part of it. The rounded fireplace would have been very nice in it’s day. Wonder how old this place is, how long it’s been let to decay.

    August 4, 2012
    • Thanks John, I have no idea about any of the things you asked about. It is certainly very different to all the other abandoned homes that I saw while I was there. It has been built with a lot more care. I don’t know how old it is though.

      August 5, 2012
  9. I like your comment about waking up early and then realizing you didn’t have a destination. I woke up early and the same thing happened.

    Great job recovering the lighted area. Very nice tone to this image.

    August 5, 2012
    • It is terribly when that happens isn’t it. I think I need to make a list of places I want to go and then depending on the weather, I won’t have an excuse.
      Thank you, it was hard work getting that area back.

      August 5, 2012
  10. Very cool!

    August 5, 2012
  11. Love the final image and especially how you transformed the center circle of light. Gorgeous.

    August 5, 2012
    • Thank you Robyn, that is great to hear. It was a challenge and almost put me off doing the image altogether.

      August 5, 2012
  12. you have got a great eye for the detail ……
    this might have been a difficult one , i can see that , but you did an incredible work on it …
    🙂

    August 5, 2012
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you. I think sometimes leaving an image and then thinking about it for a while helps a lot. It was better that I that with this. 🙂

      August 5, 2012
      • yeah you always learn more from your previous works , they are the track records from which you can always see your improvement .
        🙂

        August 7, 2012
  13. Once again, you step closer to van Gogh! I can only imagine the hard work on this one…but you’ve conquered the difficulties…very, very well!!

    August 5, 2012
    • Thank you, I am starting to feel so much more confident with what I am doing and I am so happy with what is happening. Thank you so much for the encouragement.

      August 5, 2012
  14. I so agree! They are no longer photographs but works of art!

    August 5, 2012
    • Thank you Bonnie, great to hear. I like them being art.

      August 5, 2012
  15. Nice capture. There is a mood you produced that make this an image that must be looked at more than once.

    August 5, 2012
    • Thank you, what a great comment, I love it.

      August 5, 2012
  16. I like the unedited picture better. It gives a much stronger feeling of life. And I love the fireplace.

    August 5, 2012
    • Really, I am shocked, that empty light blown out space in the middle would drive me nuts if I had to settle for that. I think it is a bad image for that reason.

      August 5, 2012
      • I don’t see it as an empty space. To me it is a bright pool of light and it brings the room to life. Toned down, it is a dead space. Interesting how we react differently. 🙂

        August 5, 2012
      • It is interesting, for me the image was all about that chair that has just been left there, and some of the other bits and pieces. 🙂

        August 5, 2012
      • A case of every picture tells several stories perhaps.

        August 5, 2012
  17. Looks like Ikea could help this room.

    August 5, 2012
    • Yep, some glass in the window, maybe a massive clean up and then who knows. Love it, thanks 🙂

      August 5, 2012
  18. I never ceased to be amazed at the changes you make in your pictures. And the pictures you find to take. How hard it is to find such needy places!!! So artistic!!! Enjoy the story about the pictures as well.

    August 5, 2012
    • Thanks Marsha, it is great when you have some fantastic images to take. I love being able to do this. I enjoy all aspects of it. When I think of the stuff I was doing at Uni, well, this is so much better.

      August 5, 2012
      • You might do a piece on improvement – your before types and after. Art is so subjective, others might enjoy your other pictures, and the story of your photographic journey might be a book some day. Who knows?

        August 6, 2012
      • Yeah who knows, I just hope there will be something to write about.

        August 8, 2012
  19. Hi Leanne, I agree with the last commenter.. A great job and yes very artistic.
    I really like this image too… as I did (I think with the) last one your referred to.
    Such extremes. You did a fantastic job with bringing that middle back… it looks fab.
    Were you dodging and burning too, as well as masking? Just curious 🙂

    August 5, 2012
    • Thank you Robyn, I always love comments like this. 🙂
      Your curious, that’s ok, no I didn’t do any burning and dodging, I picked the image from the bracketed shots that had that spot in the middle the darkest and then I put it under the image I was working on, applied a mask and cut it in. Does that make any sense? 🙂

      August 5, 2012
      • Yep totally makes sense… again great work!!

        August 6, 2012
  20. Oops sorry bad spelling 😛

    August 5, 2012
  21. Thanks for visiting my blog Leanne. It brought me over here where I got to see all the interesting work you do. This image has quite a surreal edge to it which I find quite haunting.

    August 5, 2012
    • You are very welcome, and thanks for visiting mine. I hadn’t thought of it like that, interesting description. thanks

      August 5, 2012
  22. We seem to share a passion for empty, abandoned buildings falling into ruin. The owner of my local bookshop was talking about the house and shop next, which is decaying. She hates it. But I love the textures and colours, and took lots of photographs.

    August 5, 2012
    • We certainly do, any building that is falling apart and abandoned and I am instantly attracted. They are wonderful. I don’t understand why people can’t see the beauty in them. Thank you.

      August 5, 2012
  23. Stacy Gilmour #

    I love this picture, i’m often drawn to abandoned buildings, ruins and places that seem to have been forgotten. I love thinking about everything those walls and floors have seen (if that makes sense!) and all the people who have memories and experiences attached to the place 🙂

    August 7, 2012
    • I totally understand what you are saying. I think buildings like this are really interesting and for the reasons you said. Thanks Stacy/

      August 8, 2012
  24. Great work! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    August 7, 2012
    • Thank you and you are very welcome.

      August 8, 2012
  25. amazing, i love this picture!

    August 8, 2012
    • Thank you, can never tire of hearing comments like this.

      August 8, 2012

Comments are closed.

