Skip to content

Resting

Thanks to James Ruff, sorry James I can’t find your blog, I have found what I needed to know so I can do the photo that I took in the hall the other day.

I am hoping you can see why I really wanted to do this image.  It was just a fantastic scene.  When I opened the door and saw this inside my insides sang.  I was so happy, did you get that.  It was so amazing.  This lounge suite was just sitting on the floor.  It wasn’t arranged in any way, yet it looked perfect.

So, the laws covering photographing private land, well, it seems if you are on private land and you are asked to stop taking photos then you have to stop, however, the photos you have already taken are yours and you can use them, as I have.  That is in Australia, I have no idea what the laws are in other countries, but it made it possible for me to take these photographs, so thank you very much James, I really appreciate your comment and link.  Having said that, if the owners would like a copy of this image, I have no problem with that.

It was lovely to finally work on the image, though I did so with some hesitation.  I really wasn’t sure what I was going to go.  I have started saving the different stages a little differently, I now save them as jpegs and as photoshop files.  That way if I need to go back to a different stage then I can go back to the psd file and I don’t have to do everything again.  It has made it all much easier.

There is the original image, I really wanted the end image to retain much the same feel, but I wanted to bring out the textures in the floor and the walls.  I tried to highlight the cracks in the walls.  The edited image is darker, but I like that.  I’m not totally sure about the mantle or the window, and when I do some more work on this, I think they are the areas I will work on.

I went to the Melbourne Art Fair today, I took lots of photos, so tomorrow I will work through those images and prepare some for you with my views on the Art Fair.

83 Comments
  1. phrenzel #

    This is a major WOW work of art, well done.

    August 5, 2012
    • Wow, what more can artist ask for, thank you.

      August 6, 2012
  2. Another great job 🙂

    August 5, 2012
    • Thank you, always like to hear that. 🙂

      August 6, 2012
  3. I know exactly what you mean about your insides singing. Great image!

    August 5, 2012
    • Isn’t it wonderful. I love that feeling, sad it doesn’t happen all the time, but then again, it wouldn’t be as special if it did. Thank you.

      August 6, 2012
  4. James Ruff #

    No worries Leanne! Glad I could help!
    my blogs at; jamesargh.wordpress.com

    August 5, 2012
    • It was much appreciated, thanks, and I put you in there.

      August 6, 2012
  5. Wow…how exciting, to find it waiting for you like that. The original stands on its own as a great shot (it looks stage-lit!), and with all the work you did to the final image, you have a totally different feel, and a SECOND great piece.

    August 5, 2012
    • I know, it was just perfect, I can remember the feeling when I opened the door. I just couldn’t believe what I was seeing. I was so happy. Thanks for that, nice thing to say, and for once I don’t mind that you like the original as well. 🙂

      August 6, 2012
  6. The original could stand as shot. But your re-work is just great! Keep shooting!

    August 5, 2012
    • Thank you Steven, I think you are right. I will keep shooting. Thanks again.

      August 6, 2012
  7. Oh this is terrific; nicely done Leanne. I can see this image printed in a large format and hung pride of place on any wall.

    August 5, 2012
    • I hope you are right. I might use it when I approach some galleries. I love it and I am so happy I did the image.

      August 6, 2012
  8. hutchphotography2020 #

    Amazing work.

    August 5, 2012
  9. Just love it

    August 5, 2012
    • That is a comment I love to see, thank you.

      August 6, 2012
  10. Fantastic work, Leanne! What a perfect scene for your style – it’s got just the right atmosphere of melancholy and emptiness. Love it.

    August 5, 2012
    • Yes, perfect for my style, it was a great opportunity, the lighting was perfect. Thank you.

      August 6, 2012
  11. Lay Atmaja #

    Whoa, Leanne, I’m always impressed of your works!

    August 5, 2012
    • Thank you, that is a lovely thing to say.

      August 6, 2012
  12. Tricia's Blogs #

    To see where you have taken this image is quite fantastic. What I noticed first was the difference in the texture of the walls.

    August 6, 2012
    • I am glad you noticed the walls, I did a lot of work on those. Thank Tricia.

      August 6, 2012
  13. Amazing indeed! I love it. The tones are fabulous. Great capture.

    August 6, 2012
    • Thank you so much, I really appreciate this, so glad to hear when someone likes the work.

      August 6, 2012
  14. Great shot, Leanne! The original is perfectly lit as it is, but as always you gave it your own style in pp. Very well executed!

    August 6, 2012
    • Thank you so much, it is great to hear that you enjoyed what I did to the image. Thanks again.

      August 6, 2012
  15. Thanks for liking my photos, Leanne. I love your work here. Beautiful. I am just starting with photography and have quite a bit to learn. 🙂

    August 6, 2012
    • You’re welcome, we all started there, and we all learned, just takes time. Thanks for stopping by mine as well. 🙂

      August 6, 2012
  16. This is gorgeous. Love it.

    August 6, 2012
  17. Very interesting, what you’ve done so far, Leanne! This is one of those shots I could work on over several days, continually coming back to it to make it more and more perfect. Great work and KEEP GOING!

    August 6, 2012
    • It should be good, there are a couple of things I would change, and perhaps this is something I need to start doing, that is working on some images more. Thank you so much.

      August 6, 2012
  18. really loving your abandoned building series! thanks for sharing!

    August 6, 2012
    • I am really liking it too. Can’t wait to do more. Thank you.

      August 6, 2012
  19. a strawberry patch #

    Wow! Stunning!

    August 6, 2012
    • Thank you so much. What a nice thing to say.

      August 6, 2012
  20. Amazing work on an amazing find!

    August 6, 2012
    • Thank you Bonnie, I am so happy you like it.

      August 6, 2012
  21. Yes, this is fabulous what you did with this one, Leanne.

    August 6, 2012
    • Thank you Sid, I am really happy with this one as well.

      August 6, 2012
  22. A very contemplative piece. I could see myself writing in a setting like this… me and my muse. 🙂

    August 6, 2012
    • It is a very quiet space. It was so lovely. I liked it when I was left alone in this place. Thank you.

      August 6, 2012
  23. Thats some magnificent work there. You already know how highly I regard your photography and talent for editing, but this finished photo really shows the depth of your skill. Truly great stuff.

    August 6, 2012
    • Thank you Dave, I was so happy with how this turned out, though have a fabulous image to start off with helps.

      August 6, 2012
  24. Awesome shots ♥ thanks for stopping by.

    August 6, 2012
    • Thank you and you are very welcome.

      August 6, 2012
  25. Helen #

    I really like it. It looks so peaceful.

    August 6, 2012
    • LOst in time, maybe, but yes, very peaceful, thank you Helen.

      August 6, 2012
  26. I love how you have edited the photo – the darkness and texture make it really moody – love it!

    August 6, 2012
    • Wow, what a great comment, thank you so much for this.

      August 6, 2012
  27. Hi Leanne, I came across this site after you liked one of my posts. I have to say you have some amazing images here.

    August 6, 2012
    • Visiting other blogs is a great thing to do, so you are welcome, and thank you so much for visiting mine. Glad you like my work.

      August 6, 2012
  28. Nice job! Believe me I’m not one to offer much advice since I am fairly new to photography. That said, if you do work on this image again I would leave more of the light on the back wall. Based on the light on the floor, the window behind the chairs should cast the same light on the wall. Or, reduce the brightness in the window and on the floor. Again, just something that caught my eye.

    I’ve been enjoying your posts and pictures. They have me hoping I can find a place to explore with such rich atmosphere. Thanks for sharing…

    August 6, 2012
    • I removed the light on the back wall because it was a little too distracting. That said, when I looked at the work on the blog, I think I would do the window differently, it stands out a little too much. I want the focus to be on the light on the floor that leads you to the lounge suite. Hey your eye caught something good, and I agree.

      You never know what you will see when you start thinking about it. I was lucky on this particular day, it doesn’t always happen for me either. Thank you as well.

      August 6, 2012
      • I think you are right, change the window, maybe lower the exposure and then the image will ‘feel’ better with the highlight on the floor. I remember reading in a book by David duChemin about how the mind will pick up on inconsistency within an image. I stared at your picture for quite a while before I commented.

        August 6, 2012
  29. Yes, I see it. I get it. I feel it. Beautiful.

    August 6, 2012
    • Thank you, always to get see when people get it. 🙂

      August 8, 2012
  30. I love the lounge suite, the flower pattern, their color, and the gently abundant light that add a touch of class.

    August 6, 2012
    • I think the lounge suite was perfect for this scene. Thanks Steve.

      August 8, 2012
  31. Like this……moody and atmospheric!

    August 7, 2012
    • Thanks Mark, great to hear that is what you thought.

      August 8, 2012
  32. ohhh…love that.

    August 7, 2012
    • Thank you Lissa, great to hear.

      August 8, 2012
  33. yip, this one works for me, well done!

    August 7, 2012
    • Glad to hear that. Thank you.

      August 8, 2012
  34. Joy #

    Really nice work – you have a great eye for aesthetics!

    August 7, 2012
    • Thank you Joy, what a lovely thing to say.

      August 8, 2012
  35. Leanna those are lovely night shots, each one of them is taken with great finesse and presented so exquisitely well

    August 7, 2012
    • Thank you that is great to hear.

      August 8, 2012
  36. TBM #

    Great atmosphere!

    August 7, 2012
  37. Nice one Leanne!

    August 7, 2012
    • Thanks Zelmare, appreciate it.

      August 8, 2012
  38. Oooo I don’t know why, but I think this one is one of my favorites out of your soft shots. Maybe it’s the couches, but it’s just beautiful 🙂 Tell a story I think

    August 10, 2012
    • Thank you Amanda, I am with you, it is one of my favourites, I was so glad that I was 🙂

      August 10, 2012
  39. If I could, I’d have a print of this on my walls. What an absolutely gorgeous shot, and I love what you’ve done with the original.

    August 13, 2012
    • I do from time to time put some images up on my website for people to buy if they wish, but I am not quite finished with this one yet. It will go up when it is done. It is lovely for you to say that, thank you. I don’t have any up, I should. I have started getting some printed. Thank you so much.

      August 13, 2012
  40. Hi Leanne, thanks for the like on my last post. Oddly enough it was just after I had read Ferg’s “Blomage” to your work that I finally decided to get back into writing my blog and sharing my work. I really like the way you share your methods. I try to do this myself a little. I’m planning to go back over some of my work this year and do something similar. Regards, Joshua

    August 17, 2012
    • Hi Joshua, Ferg’s “Blomage” was so nice, and I feel so honoured that he did it. How nice that you find my blog helpful, is that the right way of saying. I don’t really share the info on how I do the images for everyone else, I sort of do it for myself, it is a fabulous way to record what I do and it is also great that other people get a lot out that as well. I hope you do what you said, it is very rewarding. Thanks for coming by Joshua.

      August 17, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. A Blomage: Episode 1 – Leanne Cole « thisisferg
  2. Resting ReWork « Leanne Cole Photography

Comments are closed.

