Skip to content

Melbourne Art Fair 2012

The Melbourne Art Fair is meant to be a show to show off all the top galleries of Australia.  It a place where they all come together to show off their artists and an opportunity for the general public to see some work by some people that you might not otherwise see.

I did take my camera, besides the art show it was also an opportunity to go into one the most beautiful buildings in Melbourne.  The Royal Exhibition Building, built in 1880 for the Melbourne International Exhibition and is only one of two buildings in Australia that are on the World Heritage List.  It isn’t open a lot, so it was a great opportunity to take some photos of the inside, and to see what was happening in the world of art.

This is just inside the main entrance and it is looking back towards the entrance, I think.  Sorry, once I got inside I did get a bit lost.  Normally they have another entrance open for people, and this one isn’t.  I had to keep reminding myself inside that it was different.  I did look at the art, though the $30 entrance fee, I felt was a little rich, though having said that, there were lots and lots of people there.

This is in the middle of the four annexes.  They all go off this central dome.  In the middle there was a food area with some very bright yellow tables.There is a mezzanine floor all the way around and you can look down on what is happening below.  This is basically the same shot as the one before, but it is more left and up.  Can you see those yellow tables and you can see down one of the annexes.  The detail on the inside is just so amazing.

The is the central dome in the middle of the building.  Can you see what I was talking about.  There is detail everywhere.  It is almost like they couldn’t leave any surface untouched.  I can understand why it gets used for TV shows, two I can think of straight away, the Antique Roadshow when it came to Melbourne, and Master Chef.

This is taken from one end of an annex and you can see all the way down to the other.  You can see the stalls for the various galleries.  I hope you agree, a pretty stunning building.  I would really like to go in there one day and photograph it with no one in it.  I hope I get an opportunity for that one day.

I haven’t really talked about the art and what we saw.  I have to say, I was a little disappointed.  You know when you go to something like that, you aren’t going to like everything, but you do expect that something will grab your attention.  That there will be some artist of some work that you want, or want to be like.  I walked around and thought, I have seen it all before.  My friend, Yvette, who came with me was surprised that there weren’t any big names there, which is true, there weren’t many artists I recognised, or that could just be because I haven’t been paying attention lately.

I didn’t take photos of the art really, I didn’t feel comfortable doing it, though lots of people were.  I don’t know, I just didn’t think it was appropriate.  Though I did take photos of one piece.

I had to photograph this.  As soon as I saw it I knew whose work it was.  I remember when he showed his first elephant.  He was one of my tutors at Uni, Geoffrey Ricardo.  His elephants are amazing.  I couldn’t believe the size of this.  I tried to get other shots, but it was so hard with all the people.  I had to crop someone out of this one.

So, what was my take on the show.  I am glad I went and really happy that I saw what was happening.  I did go around and anyone who had photos I grabbed a card, with the idea of contacting them about my work.  Was it worth the 30 bucks to get in, I don’t know about that.  Then again, it only happens every two years, so I suppose I shouldn’t complain.

71 Comments
  1. That seems a lot of money to pay to get into an art fair. Especially these days.

    August 6, 2012
    • Pretty typical here, I’m afraid to say, if it is art, then it costs a lot.

      August 7, 2012
  2. Impressive exhibition, I agree the entrance fee was steep, but then again I don’t know what’s happening in Oz.

    August 6, 2012
    • It is an interesting thing to go to, and great to see. Oh well, if you want to see it you have to pay, that’s it really.

      August 7, 2012
  3. amazing building interior. Must’ve been a sensation being there. Lovely post

    August 6, 2012
    • It is amazing, I would love to go in there when there is nothing in there though. Thanks

      August 7, 2012
  4. I love this building, especially the dome. I love long shots of buildings with lots of people or in this case stalls, and I know how hard they are to take effectively – these are wonderful!

    August 6, 2012
    • Thank you Paula, it is an incredible building. I like it that you liked how I photographed it.

      August 7, 2012
  5. Seem a lot of money to gain entrance but it is a magnificent building.. maybe the organizers were trying to cover a cost for the hiring of the building, and this is the reason for the $30. The elephant looks marvelous and I would have like to see the whole thing… lovely blog… hope you get an in for your photos cause you are good…

    August 6, 2012
    • I don’t know what the reason was, I suspect they charged that much because they could. It was lovely to see it inside and with my camera. Thanks

      August 7, 2012
  6. Love the elephant! Amazing. I would like to see it in person myself! 🙂

    August 6, 2012
    • It was amazing, and it was so big, a lot bigger than me, I think it was the size of a real elephant. Maybe one day you will. 🙂

      August 7, 2012
  7. Pat #

    Great shots. The building is really beautiful. I agree that the elephant is really a special work of art!

    August 6, 2012
    • Thanks Pat, It is a great building, and yes, that elephant is special.

      August 7, 2012
  8. Great shots and post, Leanne.

    August 6, 2012
  9. Great building! How cool to be able to spot that elephant across the room and know who did it, not just because of his reputation, but because you know him personally…

    August 7, 2012
    • It was pretty cool, his work has got so good since I saw it last time. Thanks Marie 🙂

      August 7, 2012
  10. TBM #

    Not a cheap event. The building is fascinating, too bad the artwork didn’t grab your attention.

    August 7, 2012
    • It wasn’t cheap, but the building was great, and it does happen, maybe next time there will be something that grabs me. Thanks

      August 7, 2012
  11. Really beautiful photos!

    August 7, 2012
    • Really glad you liked them, thank you.

      August 7, 2012
  12. Reblogged this on Ozone Zone Books and commented:
    Being so far away from australia, in canada, we have no chance to visit this Fine art Show. So, we go for the next best thing – to see photos and comments by fine Austrailan photographer Leanne cole, who visited it. Thank you, Leanne, for your interesting post!

    August 7, 2012
  13. Little Brown Tomato #

    The photo before the elephant (the end of the annex) is stunning and beautifully composed. Sounds like a fun trip. 🙂

    August 7, 2012
    • Thank you, it was an interesting shot to do, and I was happy with it, It was great to be out with my friend. 🙂

      August 7, 2012
  14. What a fantastic roof space.

    August 7, 2012
    • I know how amazing is that ceiling? 🙂

      August 7, 2012
  15. You will have your art work displayed there one day – you are good enough.
    I was quite taken in by the wooden floors! Imagine having to polish them 🙂
    But a great venue.

    August 7, 2012
    • Thanks Paul, not sure about that, but it would be great. I had similar thoughts about the floor as well. They are so lovely. 🙂

      August 7, 2012
  16. Perfect post! Thanks!

    August 7, 2012
    • What a great thing to say, thanks.

      August 7, 2012
  17. What a glorious building! I can see why it outshone the art.

    August 7, 2012
    • It certainly did on Sunday. Thanks

      August 7, 2012
  18. Fay #

    Thanks for stopping by my blog 🙂 The Royal Exhibition Building is so gorgeous and so are your photos!

    August 7, 2012
    • You’re welcome and I am glad you liked the building, it is a great building. Thanks 🙂

      August 7, 2012
  19. In tomorrow’s post I will nominate you for the Inspiring Blog Award. Congratulations.

    August 7, 2012
    • That is really nice of you thank you very much.

      August 7, 2012
  20. Margy Rydzynski #

    Really interesting gallery. I see what you mean about the architecture and the work in the ceilings. I found the gallery partitions very interesting as well. I don’t think I’ve seen a setup like that here in the US.

    It makes me want to visit Australia, just to see that building! Thanks for sharing your photos.

    August 7, 2012
    • It is a great show, a great way to see a lot of art from lots and lots of galleries all in one place. You must have art fairs like this in the US, I find it hard to believe, they are good.
      The next one will be in two, maybe I can show you around when you come, haha. 🙂

      August 7, 2012
      • Margy Rydzynski #

        We have plenty of art fairs, but not the setup that I saw in the photos. That was interesting, and different!

        August 8, 2012
      • I didn’t think it would be only be an Australian thing. I think the building helps make it very different.

        August 8, 2012
  21. oh I wish I could have gone to this art convention, the architecture is really beautiful.

    August 7, 2012
    • It is great, I don’t get to go in it very often. It is wonderful when you can. Unfortunately it is only open when there is a fair or something on. The next one is on in two years, you could come to that.
      Thanks

      August 7, 2012
  22. Great photos. I’m glad you paid the $30 so the rest of us could benefit…Thanks! I’m glad to see inside the Royal Exhibition Building through your lens. I’ve been outside and wandered around the grounds, but it was closed when I visited Melbourne a few years ago. Now I know why!

    August 7, 2012
    • Always happy to help others, haha, 🙂 The inside is so cool, if you ever come back, try and see if a fair or exhibition is on so you can go inside. I just walked around looking at the building, maybe that is why I didn’t any art that grabbed my attention.

      August 7, 2012
  23. What a stunning building!!! Like the slightly quirky elephant too. 🙂

    August 7, 2012
    • Thanks Zelmare, it is stunning, and the elephant was amazing. 🙂

      August 7, 2012
  24. Outstanding photos but I can’t read a word – it’s next best thing to invisible 😦

    August 7, 2012
  25. Really enjoyed this virtual tour from my dining room table. Felt like I was there with you, Leanne. Love the dome & elephant. Looks like a fun event. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

    August 7, 2012
    • Thank you Sarah, glad you enjoyed the tour. 🙂 I think the dome and elephant are great too. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

      August 8, 2012
  26. Based on my experience with taking pictures in art galleries and shows, painters are usually happy to have their work photographed, as long as you ASK them first. This also seems to be rule with most artists in art exhibits. Artists that don’t wan’t to have their work shot are artists that produce original decorative pieces like lamps for example because they don’t want their design concept to be stolen and imitated.

    August 8, 2012
    • I think it is important to ask permission, though having said that I didn’t do it for the elephant, though remembering what the artist is like, I didn’t think he would mind and the people from the gallery saw me doing it and didn’t ask me to stop, though I was prepared for that. I have helped introduce Geoff Ricardo to a lot of people I hope, so they can’t be unhappy about that. but I really know what you are talking about. A lot of people take photos so they can do it themselves.

      August 8, 2012
      • Just an hour ago I ran into a classic situation requiring permission when I wanted to take pictures of flashy watches displayed at one of the stands in the hallways of a shopping mall. The employee said no problem but the manager interjected to say that the owner doesn’t want pictures taken. I reassured the apologetic manager that I understood that many shop owners don’t want their inventory to be photographed because others could start selling/designing the same. Oh well…

        August 11, 2012
      • The world of photography is a tricky one, so many rules and regs.

        August 11, 2012
  27. Stunning shots, Leanne, of an even more stunning building! Thanks so for the great tour!

    August 8, 2012
    • Thanks 1000, it is a really stunning building, glad you enjoyed the tour. Thanks again.

      August 8, 2012
  28. Hi Leanne! Thank you for the like on my blog post. It brought me to your blog and I did so enjoy the Art Fair. Your photos are gorgeous!

    August 8, 2012
    • Hi yourself, you’re welcome it was my pleasure to visit your blog, great to hear you enjoyed the art fair. Thanks Susan.

      August 8, 2012
  29. I stared at the ceiling picture for too long of a time. Best two minutes of my life. The place is gorgeous! If only buildings were made still made like this one!

    August 8, 2012
    • What a lovely thing to say. That sounds great, thank you so much.

      August 10, 2012
  30. The entry fee does seem rather expensive but what a glorious building – lovely to see the interior. Much thanks for liking my recent post about my work at the Edinburgh Festival.

    August 8, 2012
    • It was a bit expensive, but if people are willing to pay it, then they can charge that I suppose. It is a fantastic building, and it is a shame you have to pay money to be able to just look at it, or rather so much. No problems liking your work, that is what makes blogging so good, encouraging one another. Thanks for coming to my blog.

      August 10, 2012
  31. Someday I shall make it over there and see this too thanks for the post Love art in all forms

    August 9, 2012
    • I hope you get to do that. Thanks for your thoughts, art is great in all forms.

      August 10, 2012
      • I am wild about color and many different forms of art to be sure. My son is a an artist as well

        August 10, 2012
      • Sounds like a great relationship, I wish my daughters were more into it.

        August 11, 2012
  32. what a beautiful building!

    August 9, 2012
  33. Oh my gosh what a beautiful place! I love the second to last picture! Really great views 🙂

    August 10, 2012
    • I think that image really gives a great view of the size and scale of the building, glad you liked it. 🙂

      August 10, 2012

Comments are closed.

