Skip to content

Everyone in 17 Dolls

At the end of the post yesterday I mentioned that I was going back to Heidelberg Theatre Company to watch rehearsals of Summer of the Seventeenth Doll, though I went to take photos really.  There has been more set building, and that means there is more to the set.

I am hoping you can see how it has grown.  There are sides, and it is starting to take shape.  There are stairs out the back as well.  This is how everything was last night at the start, but by the end of the evening some things had been moved.  Pieces of furniture do start off in one place and as the cast try to make it work, well, sometimes some things have to be moved, last night it was the table, it ended up more on the left.

There are five of the cast members.  There are two members that I haven’t seen before in this image.  I will go through and introduce them all now.  I didn’t have all their names last time.  (I told you the director would send it when I mentioned that I didn’t know)  From the left, Tina Bono as Pearl, Gavin Williams as Roo, Jodie Symes as Olive, Dan Haberfield as Barney, and Lena Minto as Emma.

Here are Olive and Roo getting into character already.  You can see blocking is still happening and scripts are definitely still being used.  It is nice to see them trying to put in actions where possible, it gives a sense of growth to the play.

I couldn’t resist this image, they were all waiting backstage for their entrance, and I snuck around the corner to snap this, I don’t even think they were aware that I was doing it.

Again, here is another shot of nearly everyone in the play, Bubba is missing.  I will introduce the guy second from the right soon.

A bit of time was spent on some action that happens between Roo and Barney.  I hope Dan is already acting, would be good if he was really being hurt.

The last of the introduction, well except for one.  Here is Bubba on the left played by Anna Rodway and she is talking to Johnnie Dowd who is played by Joel Evans.  They are the final two in the cast.

Looks like a great cast and from what I’ve seen it should be a fantastic production.  I was able to see the second act last night, now just the third to go.  I don’t know the play at all, but I am looking forward to seeing what happens.

This is Paul King, the Director.  He put himself right in the way of the camera, so I thought, yep, he wants a photo.  I think it turned out quite well.  He is probably going to kill me for using it here.

The only other person that was there last night was Bruce Moorhouse, he is the stage manager and seems to be Paul’s right hand man during rehearsals as well.

It is interesting doing it again, I am finding that I feel more comfortable and I am finding my way around doing it as well.  Not sure when I will be going back, but hopefully when I do there will be more done to the set and the cast will be feeling more comfortable in their roles.

So if you are thinking you would like to see the play it starts on the 13th of September and runs for three weeks, you can book online at the theatres website.

31 Comments
  1. Wonderful images…
    Yes, that face says, “Take My Picture!” (And it’s a good one – just full of confidence!)

    August 9, 2012
    • I haven’t heard anything so I am assuming he like it. I definitely thought he wanted an image. Thanks Marie

      August 10, 2012
  2. I’m enjoying watching this from scraps upwards

    August 9, 2012
    • It can be a great experience, it is wonderful to see how it develops. I am glad you are enjoying it.

      August 10, 2012
  3. Little Brown Tomato #

    How neat to get an insiders/behind-the-scenes view. Thanks for taking us into the world of theatre. What fun!! 🙂

    August 9, 2012
    • I am glad you like it, I hope you find the journey enjoyable as well. It is always good fun. 🙂

      August 10, 2012
  4. Got here via Ivon’s blog reccomendation-look forward to following you!

    August 9, 2012
    • That is great, I am glad you found me through the recommendation. I hope you enjoy what I do.

      August 10, 2012
  5. Yes, I love watching this process unfold through your pictures. Ace!

    August 9, 2012
    • Thanks Richard, that is great to hear.

      August 10, 2012
  6. Michael Brooks #

    Thanks for the pictures. Looks like a really interesting production.

    August 9, 2012
    • I hope it is, no it should be great, I am really enjoying it so far, so it should be good. Thanks

      August 10, 2012
  7. It’s great to see someone who gets out and photographs everyday occurrences. Good job and good photos

    August 10, 2012
    • Thank you, glad you like that.

      August 10, 2012
  8. Ah, this brings back great memories of so many rehearsals I sat through. Great shots, Leanne…especially the one of Paul King! And, even under worklights, your colors are true! Looking forward to more, and somehow, I’m sure to find a copy of the play at the Chicago library.

    August 10, 2012
    • I shot these photos using camera raw, not something I normally do and then I processed them in camera raw, it was an interesting experience and one I could get hooked on, I was able to do far more to the images. Apparently it doesn’t read well, or so I heard, but it may be the only way to see the story, it is very Australian. Let me know if you find a copy.

      August 10, 2012
      • Back in 1980, I did my last semester at the university where I took three courses from the same Theatre instructor (2 in Theatre History and 1 Play Reading). Consequently, I read 53 plays that semester, managing to keep them all straight. Matter of fact, the professor told me I was the only person to make it through three of his courses…ever…and I received As and A+! If I can find it, I’ll surely read it…and shall let you know when that happens. Right now, I’m tackling Stieg Larsson’s “The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest”, translated from the Swedish. Believe me, it’s heavier than reading a Chekov play!

        August 11, 2012
      • You are probably right, will be easy for you. 🙂

        August 11, 2012
  9. I often think that rehearsal shots are much more interesting and revealing about the play itself (as well as the rehearsal process) than the full dress rehearsal ones used front-of-house, and always enjoy it when they are included in programmes. Lovely shots, Leanne. Looking forward to more. Early in my career I worked with the original Olive, June Jago, and though too many decades have passed for me to recall what she said, I do remember her telling me about it.

    August 10, 2012
    • What a fabulous story, that is fantastic. I have heard of the play before, I have never seen it, and didn’t really know much about it, it is great to learn a lot about a very Australian play. It is great to hear you want to see more images, thank you so much.

      August 10, 2012
  10. eduscrawl #

    I like the photos a lot, and I’m sure ignoring the camera helps the cast get used to staying in character *s* Your comment about them not knowing you were there in one photo is a good thing, you’ll have caught them being more natural. The text compliments the photos beautifullly, explaining things to help provide more insight into the photographs. well done. *s*

    August 10, 2012
    • I think the idea of taking the photos is so the cast can see what they look like in the roles. I don’t know if it helps, but I certainly enjoy it. Thank you.

      August 10, 2012
  11. I really enjoy your blog and admire your prolific posting….along with the photos. I would love to join you for a field trip, but it would be quite a field trip just to get there…! The Exhibition Hall from a couple of days ago certainly looks as if it would be perfect for some of your HDR expertise.

    August 10, 2012
    • Thank you, I love blogging and I find it helps me to keep trying to get better. I think if i didn’t have it, I probably wouldn’t take as many photos. I would love if you could join one as well, but I understand what you mean. That building is magnificent and perfect. Thanks again.

      August 10, 2012
  12. I like the way you capture people.

    August 10, 2012
    • Thank you Melinda, great to hear that.

      August 10, 2012
  13. I love the picture of Olive and Roo getting into character. What a great shot.

    August 10, 2012
    • It is great when the actors actually start actually, in the beginning the blocking can take over, but slowly the actual acting takes over and there will be lots more shots like that. Thanks

      August 10, 2012
  14. Super exciting!! I love the behind the scenes shot, very clever and I just love everything! HAHA!

    August 13, 2012
    • I quite liked that one too, I might try getting more shots like that. It is interesting what they do in the wings while waiting to go on. Thanks Amanda, you are so nice. 🙂

      August 13, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Setting Moves « Leanne Cole's Photography Field Trips

Comments are closed.

