Skip to content

Restructure

This blog is very important to me, and it is great that so many people like it, but I have been feeling like I should have more structure to it.  So I have decided to try, well see how it goes, if I do some things a little different, one of those things is to go through my old images and try re-working one of them on Friday’s.

This is the image that I decided to try working on again.  I was really happy with this image when I first did it, but when I did it and first posted it in the post Some That Was, But Isn’t Now I wasn’t doing the processing that I am doing now.  When I decided to change what I was doing, or the structure of it, I thought I might start with this one.

I was surprised that what I do now, didn’t really change the first image that much, though I do think the textures in the wood have been brought out more.  I think the structure of the building is lighter.

Another thing I thought I might try is doing a list of what I have done, well some of  it.  I do have to apologise, but I still feeling uneasy about giving it all away.  I think if I was really successful at this, then I wouldn’t have a problem, but right now, I just want to protect some of what I do.  I hope that doesn’t annoy you too much.

Method

  • Photomatix Pro, 3 image HDR
  • Photoshop Camera Raw
  • a Texture Layer masked with the HDR
  • Masked so only the building has any texture
  • A new layer of the same image was applied and a blur was added
  • This was masked and only some parts were left blurred
  • The image was opened in Topaz Adjust 5 where it was desaturated
  • Some warmth was added which gives the sepia tone.
  • Then the image was given a vignetting.

What do you think?  I thought doing it this way would be better for me as well, a better record.

On another note I approached Topaz Labs and asked if I was going to be tutorials if they would be interested in giving my followers a discount on their products.  I have been pleasantly surprised to get an email back that they would give you a discount if you wanted to purchases their products.

So I am pleased to announce that you can now get a 15% discount on any of their products that are available at the Topaz Labs Store, just add the item to your basket and put in the discount code LCPFT.  I really hope some of you will take up this opportunity.  They also have great webinars on their products which are free and help you work out how to use them.

I will add the code to the new page I have added on Software.  I have also approached the people who make Photomatix Pro, but I haven’t heard anything from them.

I hope you all like the restructure, I just want to make it better for me as well.

94 Comments
  1. Kjackson00 #

    I felt the same way as you. I was getting this feeling of just throwing art up and calling it a day…. great work and also great motivation for self and others! 🙂

    August 10, 2012
    • Thank you, I hope you don’t call it a day, though sometimes we just need to take a break. 🙂

      August 11, 2012
  2. Hi Leanne,

    You might be too critical of your own work. The first picture is fine, but then you compare it with the second picture and maybe the second one is marginally better. We do strive for perfection, but what is perfection? I took a few shots last night and I liked the look of a road that was dark and tree lined. I took the shot and it turned out spooky. People liked it! Everyone likes different things too. I find anything unusual is popular, which is just as well because I photograph the unusual!

    August 10, 2012
    • One thing I have really learned from this blog, is how different peoples taste can be. I was curious with the image to see if different processing would change the image, and it didn’t really. Thanks Mike

      August 11, 2012
  3. I enjoy your work for the results YOU get. I wouldn’t worry too much about people trying to copy; after all, that’s the best form of flattery, isn’t it? Anyway, keep shooting!

    August 10, 2012
    • Thank you Stephen, I will see what happens. I will keep shooting.

      August 11, 2012
  4. I like that you are giving a run through of your processing. I think that helps others see possibilities for processing their own images. The original was good but your rework enhanced the picture. I like the additional detail in the structure and the new tone of the image. Great job.

    August 10, 2012
    • I thought that run through would also help me to record what I had done, so in a year or two when I look at the image I will know what I have done. I am glad you liked what I did to the image, it is interesting to do and will do another one next week. Thanks

      August 11, 2012
  5. Jack Brewis #

    Outstanding Leanne

    August 10, 2012
  6. I love your work Leanne, it is remarkable and so inspirational. Both of the images are beautiful and show the wonderful nuances of mood that processing can achieve.

    Being uneasy about sharing your processing ‘recipies’ I can understand, but the satisfaction and pride in being able to help others develop and grow their skills must be a wonderful feeling. I’m an avid fan of Kim Klassen – a Canadian artist/photographer and regularly subscribe to her online courses so that I can learn to create and use photographic textures. From a business point of view, if you’d like to take a peek at her website you can find her here: http://www.kimklassencafe.com/

    It was so kind of you to negotiate and share a discount with Topaz Labs; I have looked at purchasing before and will certainly be taking up the opportunity now – thank you.

    August 10, 2012
    • Thank you for your comments Elissa, you have some great points here. I have taken a quick look at the link that you have sent me and it does give food for thought. I hope you do take advantage of the offer. I hope I can use it as well, I want to be able to get some more.

      August 11, 2012
  7. ☆ MagicAperture #

    As always, you are very generous with your explanations and techniques. Well done on being a sponsor for Topaz. I can’t imagine you’ll get a similar response from photomatix though.

    August 10, 2012
    • Thank you for that. It has been great what Topaz have done, and I was thinking much the same as you about Photomatix, but I got a response today and looks like we will be able to negotiate something which is fantastic.

      August 11, 2012
      • ☆ MagicAperture #

        Well done!

        August 13, 2012
  8. Nice work – as always!
    I’ll just echo the others; you can tell your ‘recipe’. All good cooks use other’s ideas as a jumping-off point, a way to learn, not to make an exact copy…

    August 10, 2012
    • I like that comparison, cooks, I might do it eventually, I do basically give it all away. I have had experiences of others copying what I do and it wasn’t nice at the time. Thanks Marie

      August 11, 2012
  9. It’s great of you to share – I have learned a lot from others doing just that. It seems that you have found your style and it is wonderful! I recently had someone ask me about my processing on a certain photo and I was happy to share, because I have had so many people do the same for me! I do not feel that my style is totally developed yet; I am still working on that, but I hope that one day a lot of people will be asking me about it 🙂 And you do know that artists are their own worst critics, right?

    August 10, 2012
    • Artists are terrible at critiquing their work, that would be me. I will be comfortable doing it eventually, though every time I do a image, I do things differently. I have an idea of what I want to do. Thanks Joylene. 🙂

      August 11, 2012
      • I have the same problem. It’s just that I want to try everything to see what I like best!

        August 16, 2012
  10. Paul Cahill #

    Completely understand wanting to rework images. I do it all the time. I like the results you got with this one.

    August 10, 2012
    • Thank you Paul, I am glad I did it and I am looking forward to doing more.

      August 11, 2012
  11. Well I admit to not knowing half of what your processing steps meant – perhaps all even. I take my pictures, I throw them through Picasa sometimes and there you go. Perhaps I will move into processing one day but generally I don’t pursue things where I feel out of my depth for understanding (I don’t even fully understand my camera after almost 2 years!).
    That being said, I love your photos, love how generous you are with showing and sharing the process. I think that loving what you do is obvious in your work and I’m glad I get to experience it through your blog.

    August 10, 2012
    • I love that Paula, especially what you said about your camera. I think we all have to do what we want and get out of it what we want. I want more from photography than to just take photos, and it has taken me a long time to realise that. I am glad you like what I do on my blog and you are right, I do love what I am doing now. Good that you can see it. Thanks Paula. 🙂

      August 11, 2012
  12. I find that my processing is contantly evolving…and that is one of the things about photography that I love… composing the shot, and processing the shot can be different all the time.

    I really like the light in the second one…it has a great mood.

    August 10, 2012
    • It has been great to see that people seem to like the second one more.
      I agree with you about the processing, I find the same thing, I find new things to do and forget some things. It is great to see what you can do. Thank you Jane.

      August 11, 2012
  13. They are both good, each one capturing a slightly different mood. For me, the second one gives off a slightly sinister feel.

    August 10, 2012
    • I was happy with the first image when I first processed it, but I wanted to see what it would be like if I tried some new things to it, and I think it worked better. I don’t mind the sinister feel, haha. Thanks.

      August 11, 2012
  14. You are so disciplined! I enjoy following your photography.

    August 10, 2012
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you.

      August 11, 2012
  15. I like the sepia tone to the picture, I think it lifts it up. 🙂

    August 10, 2012
    • Thanks Zelmare, I was unsure of doing it straight B&W or whether to do it with this tone, it was good to do. 🙂

      August 11, 2012
  16. Oh my Goodness! You are Amazing!! I love photography and have a camera. Did you get that? I have a camera a simple camera that I found (well I think it’s pretty nice) and it means the world to me! We travel in the ministry and I so love documenting our journey. Thank you for sharing your love with us!

    August 10, 2012
    • I don’t know about amazing, but I have spent a lot of time on my photography. I get it, you have a camera, that is fantastic, sounds like you really enjoy your camera. That is brilliant. Thank you as well.

      August 11, 2012
  17. Tricia's Blogs #

    Great old falling-apart building, you captured it perfectly! I like both the b/w and sepia, but I think my fave of the two is the black and white this time.

    August 11, 2012
    • That’s okay Tricia, I don’t think there is really enough of a difference between the two, so you liking the first one is fine. It is nice. It is great building. Would love to go back sometime. Thanks

      August 11, 2012
  18. Is it better or is it different? Very inspiring blog, thank you.

    August 11, 2012
  19. I too find the processing to be a world of it’s own. Sometimes the same image can be processed in a new way that imparts added meaning or even a different meaning to photo. I like that you share your processing steps with us too.

    August 11, 2012
    • It is interesting about different processing. I find I have to have an idea of what I am after and different styles mean different processing. I am glad you don’t mind me telling you how I do it. Thanks

      August 11, 2012
  20. eduscrawl #

    To start with, I like both images. The black and white, I think, shows the corrugated iron better, making it look more metallic. While the slight sepia toning improves the tones on the wooden part and I prefer the trees in the sepia version but like the black and white sky better. The sepia toning loses some of the detail in the hillsides but not enough to make the photo bad.

    I can understand why sharing your processing details can be uncomfortable, and so only share those that your comfortable with, or if you want to challenge yourself, slightly uncomfortable with. I’m still struggling to learn to process my images, the ‘training’ images work wonders but transferring it to images I’ve taken? Not so good, so don’t rush and share what you feel you want to, after all it is your blog!
    As you mentioned recording at least some of the processing like this gives you a chance to look back later and see how you’ve changed it, or not.

    If you feel a need to change your blog then you should, as your skill and interests evolve your blog will evolve with it and I doubt that any of your followers would complain about that.

    August 11, 2012
    • Thank you for all of this, I agree with it all. I will share some, and I like how giving the description for exactly the reason you said. Thanks for this again.

      August 11, 2012
  21. The first one is a great B&W. The second simply is a different tone and has a different feel. Both are excellent. I think it’s simply a matter of preference. 🙂 Personally, if viewed alone, I might choose the B&W. If I were displaying it with other soft images, I’d probably choose the second. The second is a more natural tone for the subject … if that matters. 🙂

    August 11, 2012
    • Thank you George, I know exactly what you are talking about. 🙂
      I am not sure I know which one I would choose.

      August 11, 2012
  22. Little Brown Tomato #

    Wow Leanne – THANK YOU for the Topaz discount! What an offer! I clicked on the link…. now to choose which one. 😀 Choices, choices. Thanks again!

    August 11, 2012
    • Did you choose one, I when with Topaz Adjust, though recently got the fxlabs, and I might have a look at the noise reduction and maybe B&W, will see. I might just dive in and get them all, would be good to experiment. Thanks, I am glad you like that I was able to get that for you.

      August 11, 2012
      • Little Brown Tomato #

        So many options to choose from. I’m so glad you gave recommendations because I wasn’t sure where to start. I definitely need photo editing software. Thanks so much! Will let you know how things go…

        August 11, 2012
      • If you don’t have any photo editing software at all, I would say get FXlabs, it is good place to start and works as a stand alone product and then you can add to it. It has some basic stuff. That is what I would recommend. All the others need Photoshop or something else to use as a plugin.

        August 11, 2012
  23. Reblogged this on jbcultureshock and commented:
    Love these shots and, funny enough, the title of the blog has ‘photography field trips’ in it, which I talked about yesterday. What do you think of these photos?

    August 11, 2012
  24. Leanne, I’m sure you’ll eventually figure out the look you want. I’d be surprised if most people didn’t think that it was a great photograph..

    August 11, 2012
    • Thank you, I don’t mind this one, though I don’t know if I would say it was a great image, there are a lot problems with it and if printed you would be able to see them.

      August 11, 2012
  25. I think your second approach is great, Leanne! I would also really like to see the color version. And thanks for the discount code, I’ve been planning to try the Topaz software for quite some time.

    August 11, 2012
    • I considered leaving it in colour, but the only colour was the grass and some of the tree, it was a little to distracting. I think if the grass was brown it would have been different. I hope you take up the offer for the Topaz product, I was so happy that they made the offer. Thanks Lorrin

      August 11, 2012
  26. Hi! it’s Jackie from Swerving For Butterflies, bringing you an award! I have nominated you for the Sunshine Award! To find out more about the award and to accept go to my blog: http://swervingforbutterflies.com/.
    Congratulations!

    August 11, 2012
    • Thank you so much Jackie. I have left a comment on your blog.

      August 11, 2012
  27. I really enjoyed seeing both versions of the photo. Each is strong in its own right.

    August 11, 2012
    • Thank you Stacy, that is great to hear.

      August 11, 2012
  28. The second pic is better.

    August 11, 2012
    • Thanks for your thoughts, I’m still undecided.

      August 11, 2012
  29. I like both of these pictures, but I think I like the second one a little more. I’ve never done processing, so I don’t really understand what it entails. At any rate, I admire your desire to want to share some of what you know.

    August 11, 2012
    • I love the processing as much as the photo taking. When I go out and take photos, I am always thinking about how I can use the image and what I can do with them in processing. Thanks for your thoughts.

      August 11, 2012
  30. Thanks Leanne. I enjoy reading your blog but I am not about to copy your ideas but recognize your generosity in sharing. I hope you can trust that though you may find there might be people who abuse your trust, generally we are all here sharing and learning from one another and not just in photography. Good on you for overcoming this fear and sharing anyway. PS I use lightroom if I am going to process my photos.

    August 11, 2012
    • I think when I start doing the tutorials I will start off with some simple stuff to begin with. I get the impression that most who want to learn from me, don’t necessarily know how to use some of the programs I do. We will see how it grows from there. I have Lightroom, but don’t really use it, but I suspect that what I do you will be able to apply, shall we see? Thank you.

      August 11, 2012
  31. Leanne, I just love your outdoor shots, this one is no exception.. Congrats! 🙂 ~ Jason

    August 11, 2012
    • Thanks Jason, it was a fantastic find. 🙂

      August 12, 2012
  32. Another great shot! Like your structure idea.

    August 12, 2012
    • I think it will be of great benefit to me as well, I hope anyway. Thanks Richard

      August 12, 2012
  33. Love what you’ve done here, Leanne…bringing out so much more detail helps the image, gives it strength. Also, the vignette is beautifully and brilliantly executed, takes some emphasis off the sky and places it on the structure. Great work!!!

    August 12, 2012
    • I like vignetting for exactly that reason, I can decide what I will be the point of focus. I wanted the cottage to stand out. I think the second attempt did bring out a little more detail. Thanks.

      August 12, 2012
  34. I love vintage photographs and effects. <3333

    August 12, 2012
    • I like the effects, that feeling that it has been left. Thanks

      August 12, 2012
      • Yes! Uhm. Did you do a Fine Arts course?

        August 12, 2012
      • Yes, I did a Bachelor of Fine Arts at the Victorian College of the Arts here in Melbourne, very swanky place, or so they told me.

        August 12, 2012
      • Yes! Uhm. My bad, something’s wrong with my other comment. Uhm. Do you think even if I’m not into a Fine Arts course, there’s a way I could be a professional photographer or graphic designer?

        August 12, 2012
      • I think so, I approach it from a different direction. I don’t know about a graphic designer, also I am in Australia, so I don’t know how it works any where else. I think it is easier if you have some qualifications, but there are many professional photographers with none. I think it takes dedication and really knowing what you are doing. Hope that helps.

        August 12, 2012
      • I’m from Brisbane so that’d be alright. Alright. Thank you! 🙂

        August 12, 2012
  35. Love this one!

    August 12, 2012
  36. Leanne,
    Your images are beautiful. I understand why you keep reworking…my poems are never done for me…I hate that it often keeps me from sending them out anywhere, let alone putting them on my blog.
    We appreciate everything you share!

    August 13, 2012
    • OMG you are describing me exactly. I know I should send some images to some galleries, but I am afraid they will be sent back and I’ll be told they aren’t good enough. Then again, I will be accepted if they never see the work. You should put them on your blog and we will both send our stuff somewhere, deal?

      August 13, 2012
  37. Lee A Jackson #

    Love the black and white one. The atmosphere that has been created in reworking it just adds so many new levels to it! Wonderful!

    August 13, 2012
    • Thank you so much, I don’t do this very often, but I think I should, especially some of my older stuff and re-do some ones that I didn’t think really worked the first time.

      August 13, 2012
  38. OSM……..Pic

    August 13, 2012
  39. loved the edit! 😀

    August 13, 2012
    • Thank you, always good to hear. 🙂

      August 14, 2012
  40. Congrats on all that you’re doing Leanne 🙂 You are so talented and I can’t wait for your work to spread out around the world, and I know it will. I love what you did with that older photo of yours, really pretty colors 🙂

    August 16, 2012
    • I don’t know about that, I love how everyone likes it, now I just have to work out how to make it pay so my husband will stop hassling me to get a job. 🙂 I am hoping that something will happen. I enjoyed redoing the image and am looking forward to doing another tomorrow. Thanks Amanda, 🙂

      August 16, 2012
      • Oh my goodness you do have a job! Photography is a lot of work, and I can see how much time and effort you put into it 🙂

        August 17, 2012
  41. poetrycurator #

    I think it’s really neat that you explain your process to the readers. It really helps. I find that I have a hard time remembering everything I do to photos when I’m just playing around, so it would be difficult to document every step. much appreciated. Great work!

    August 26, 2012
    • I have a sort of pattern to it all, things change a little, but I find putting it on the blog means that later on, I know what I have done to the image. It is a great record for me. I wouldn’t certainly forget if I didn’t do it straight away. Thanks

      August 29, 2012
      • poetrycurator #

        It’s nice to learn your methods. I am trying new things everyday. I especially like Paint Shop Pro. I have yet to try GIMP you mention.

        August 29, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Coincidental Blogging « That Photo Blog
  2. Image Redo « Picture Day

Comments are closed.

