Skip to content

Bridges

What a day.  I was starting to think it was going to be another day of not getting any photos.  It rained and rained this morning.  It was almost too heavy to consider taking photos, so we did a little shopping, had a lovely lunch of Yum Cha at Lucky Chan on South Bank.  By the time lunch was finished, so had the rain.  I had thought we would travel back towards the city, but instead we headed down river, I saw some stuff I’ve never seen before.

I have seen photos of this bridge, the Webb Bridge, but this is the first time I have seen it for real.  It was so amazing.  The lines, the curves, a fantastic subject to photograph.  It was great, the only thing that made it not great were the people walking around.  I want to go back another time and do some more photos, but perhaps at a different time of the day.

The above photo is not one of my art photos, I’m sure you have worked that out.  this image is more a record shot for me, it documents what I saw.  It is a 4 image HDR image that I did with Photomatix Pro.

I did play around with it.

This just wouldn’t work for me.  I don’t know what it was.  I think you will see this again on one of my Fridays of reworking.  I like the idea, but perhaps it was not the right image.  Maybe I am too tired and felt too rushed.  I probably should have prepared something else so I didn’t have to worry too much about today.

I think I might finish it there, if that is okay, I’m starting to fall asleep.  I did get lots of photos, so there will be more.

59 Comments
  1. Fascinating structure!
    Get some sleep, girlfriend…tomorrow is another chance!

    August 18, 2012
    • I did Marie, thanks, it is an interesting bridge.

      August 19, 2012
  2. Little Brown Tomato (LBT) #

    That is definitely a cool bridge. Looking forward to the future of this photo and what you’ll do with it. Hope you get some good rest too. 🙂

    August 18, 2012
    • I did get some rest, thanks. I haven’t decided about this photo yet. Maybe it should be left and the beauty of the structure should shine through. I don’t know. Thanks LBT

      August 19, 2012
  3. Debbie de Juan nee Keating #

    What an awesome bride! Oh the possibilities….

    August 18, 2012
    • Thanks Debbie, it is pretty awesome, it was a great find, I will have to go back.

      August 19, 2012
  4. Abstract, great!

    August 18, 2012
    • Thanks John, I was hoping for that.

      August 19, 2012
  5. I love that bridge. It is so different to the other bridges over the Yarra, all twisty and turny.

    Have you walked over the other side, near the ANZ building and down the Collins St extension?

    August 18, 2012
    • It is an amazing bridge. I did walk over to the other side, though we walked back so we could get back to the river, then followed it back on the other side. I do want to do more exploring down that end, it is really interesting what they have done down there.

      August 19, 2012
  6. richman22 #

    Wow, I’ve never seen a bridge like that. I too am looking forward to seeing more photos, after you get some sleep 🙂

    August 18, 2012
    • It is an unusual bridge. I do have more photos and will show them during the week. I got lots of sleep, thanks 🙂

      August 19, 2012
  7. I recognize Photomatrix Pro work. :)) Teach me hoooow. 😦

    August 18, 2012
    • Haha, I did a tutorial on it last Monday called HDR images my way. Hope that helps.

      August 19, 2012
      • Really? :)) I tried Photomatrix Pro with single images. Looked better. I did one with the rose. Check it in my blog. The Blooming Rose. That’s an HDR image even though it doesn’t look like one. :))

        August 19, 2012
      • I can’t find what you are asking me to look at, can you give me the link?

        August 19, 2012
  8. People do get in the way of the picture, don’t they? Beautiful bridge, and I’m a connoisseur of beautiful bridges.

    August 18, 2012
    • Yes, they do, they get in the way a lot actually. Glad you love our bridge, I will show some photos of it this week.

      August 19, 2012
  9. I love bridges too and love changing the photo to black & white!

    August 18, 2012
    • Bridges can be wonderful structures. I don’t know about the changing to black and white though.

      August 19, 2012
  10. what a cool bridge!!!

    August 19, 2012
  11. Beautiful bridges.!

    August 19, 2012
    • Thanks Stefan, it is beautiful.

      August 19, 2012
  12. I love any structures as object for my camera too … I think you did a pretty good job, but sometime it just don’t work … and you did the right thing leave it .. and come back with a clear head and fresh eyes.

    August 19, 2012
    • It can be the right thing, and I really should remember not to images when I am really tired, though I can’t help thinking that it would be best to leave it a record shot, rather than an art image. Thanks Viveka

      August 19, 2012
      • Sometime is the photos that we don’t put any afford into .. or adjust – the best ones. You’re so welcome.

        August 20, 2012
  13. Really don’t know what to say here, Leanne…I suppose I might favor the original, yet the structure itself calls for your ‘process’, which makes it look creepier, even stranger than the original. Again, it’s one of those shots I would play with…a lot!

    August 19, 2012
    • Yes, please like the original more, haha, I don’t really like the one I played with, and like you said, I think it needs more playing, and will attempt that, but not right now. Thanks.

      August 19, 2012
  14. Nice bridge. Really like architecture photography. Great post.

    August 19, 2012
    • It is a great bridge. I love architectural photography as well, I am teaching a class on this next weekend, I should show them these images. Thanks

      August 19, 2012
  15. Cool site! Enjoyed looking around today.

    Blessings……

    August 19, 2012
    • Thank you and thank you, hope you enjoyed my blog.

      August 19, 2012
  16. Ahh, Wbb Bridge! 🙂 It’s a very nice bridge to take photos of, especially in the evening when it is all lit up.

    August 19, 2012
    • I have seen some great shots of it at night, it is probably not something I would do, doesn’t really go with the theme I”m working on. Could be a good place to take people for a field trip though.

      August 19, 2012
  17. Really nice shots – like it

    August 19, 2012
    • Thank you Hellboy, great to see.

      August 19, 2012
  18. I like original image of Webb Bridge and the that fact you go with unusual angles where most of us would miss when we walk by. It’s great work.

    August 19, 2012
    • I think you are right, I like it as well. I am always looking for strange angles, I must do a post on that one day. Thanks

      August 19, 2012
  19. Vey cool bridge, and photos. I always think the other people walking around are not great!

    August 19, 2012
    • Thanks EllaDee, was the bridge there when you were in Melbourne? I don’t know how old it is, not very I would have thought. No other people are not great, we had to wait at times for people to nick off. Haha. 🙂

      August 19, 2012
  20. Love this…excellent work

    August 19, 2012
    • Thank you Beverley, I really appreciate your thoughts.

      August 22, 2012
  21. Really cool bridge, Leanne!

    August 19, 2012
    • It is isn’t it, I’ve been trying to find it for a while. Thanks.

      August 22, 2012
  22. I really like the composition.

    August 20, 2012
    • Thank you, I always try to find different ways to photograph places.

      August 22, 2012
  23. Wow that is strange looking haha! Really cool structure and I love what you did to the picture 🙂

    August 20, 2012
    • Thank you Amanda, it is funny bridge, looks great when you are there with it, fantastic.

      August 22, 2012
  24. Amazing

    August 20, 2012
  25. myphtography #

    what a nice photo! thanks for visiting my blog!

    August 20, 2012
    • You’re welcome and thank you for visiting mine as well.

      August 22, 2012
  26. I really like what you did to this photo. Very gritty but beautiful at the same time.

    August 21, 2012
    • Thank you, that is wonderful, thanks for your comments, always appreciated.

      August 22, 2012
  27. Excellent choice in subject! Just a thought, your first original capture is perfect. The angle, subject, composition, and exposure are all great. I believe you could leave this one alone and have a perfect piece worth hanging. I love it.

    August 21, 2012
    • I agree with you I think, actually yes, I knew it when I did it, that the structure is the story and I should leave it there. Had to have a go to see if I could do anything else, but I think you are totally right. Thank you .

      August 22, 2012
      • You are more than welcome. I run into some of the same issues. I get so excited about the things I learn in Photoshop that I forget sometimes the story is the subject. I really enjoy your perspective 🙂

        August 24, 2012

Comments are closed.

