Skip to content

Backstage

It was back to the theatre today.  I knew they were doing some costume fittings and I wanted to be there for it.  It wasn’t quite what I was expecting, not really sure I knew what to expect, but still, I did get to see some of the ideas.

Here are all the possibilities for the ladies.  All the dresses, most of them originals from the 1950’s, are hanging here in the dressing room.  Sizes will be worked out and then which dress will suit which one.

Here is a fitting in action.  Jodie is trying on one of the dresses and being fitted by Wendy and Di to see if it fits and will be OK.

I didn’t really get any other photos of the costume fittings.  I did, however, take a lot of shots today from backstage, so I have photos for you today from a perspective that only the actors and backstage crew ever really see.  I am not going to talk about them, so here they are.

This last picture is Paul, the director, going over notes with everyone on stage during one of the breaks.  It was a long rehearsal today, but I think they got a lot done.  I have now seen almost all of the play.

I won’t be going back for almost two weeks now.  I am going to wait until books are down and they do a full run.  There will be a lot more of the set done as well.  I hope you have enjoyed this different view of the play.  I might do more of this, especially when the stage manager is back stage directing it all.

I am also going to put up some extra photos on facebook, so look out for them.

44 Comments
  1. Backstage seems so much fun, albeit all the hard work. 🙂

    August 19, 2012
    • It can be hard work, but it is a lot of fun too. You really do get a different perspective. 🙂

      August 22, 2012
  2. Great perspective…I love the shot looking through the ‘bones’ of the set (3rd from the end)

    August 19, 2012
    • What a great description. I guess they are the bones. Thanks Marie

      August 22, 2012
  3. My favorite place–backstage–is where I spent many years during rehearsals…making certain scenery was safely installed (actors and, especially dancers, have difficult walking backstage!)

    Great shots, Leanne; as usual, you’ve conquered the problem of shooting under work lights!!! Kudos!

    August 20, 2012
    • I love being back stage when I was stage managing, but too much time is needed to do that now. I like dropping in every now and then instead. I suppose that is one of the rolls of the SM, I had forgotten about that.
      Thanks 1000, I having been learning some new tricks in PS. 🙂

      August 22, 2012
  4. Oops–that would be “difficulty”!

    August 20, 2012
  5. What a wonderful series! I’ve always been captivated by the ‘life’ behind the stage… out of the spotlight. Not to say I did’n’t enjoy being ‘front and center’, but there is a life and a mystery in the wings and catwalks that is every bit as compelling as that displayed to the audience.

    I wouldn’t mind going through some of those dresses! 🙂

    August 20, 2012
    • It is good to hear that you are enjoying the theatre photos. I thought it would be good show the behind the scenes, though it will be better to do it later before the show starts, things backstage really start happening then.

      I don’t you are the only one who would like to go through the dresses. They are pretty amazing.

      August 22, 2012
  6. Great shots 🙂

    August 20, 2012
  7. awesome work Leanne, as usual!

    August 20, 2012
  8. Little Brown Tomato (LBT) #

    Definitely like that first photo! Grabs my attention and draws me in. Gals and clothes. 😉

    August 20, 2012
    • OH yes, it is fantastic place to visit if you like old clothes. 🙂

      August 22, 2012
      • Little Brown Tomato (LBT) #

        😀

        August 22, 2012
  9. I love Jodie’s dress.

    August 20, 2012
    • That dress Jodie is trying on is so beautiful. Actually quite a few of them are.

      August 22, 2012
  10. Reblogged this on Keshiamfowler's Blog and commented:
    really nice post !!

    August 20, 2012
  11. Great back stage images – I love knowing what goes on behind the scenes, and costume fittings looks like dress ups to me 🙂

    August 20, 2012
    • The backstage never looks quite what you expect, the backstage area always seems to have ghosts of past plays everywhere. Costume fittings really are grown up dress ups, I love seeing the faces on the actors when they see what they will be wearing, especially period plays.

      August 22, 2012
  12. what a wonderful blog 🙂

    August 20, 2012
    • What a wonderful thing to say, thank you so much. 🙂

      August 22, 2012
  13. Northern Narratives #

    I love the photo of the dresses.

    August 21, 2012
    • Aren’t the dresses great, glad you like the photo. Thanks

      August 22, 2012
  14. orchid #

    wow, great concept Leanne! i always love to see the action behind the curtains.. good job on capturing those moments 🙂

    August 21, 2012
    • Thanks Orchid, I think the more I do this, the more I see what else I can do. 🙂

      August 22, 2012
  15. Lolz , the 4th pic from the end really made me laugh , so much happens on the Backstage …
    nicely captured , pics are worth thousand words …
    😀

    August 21, 2012
    • That is part of the play and if you ever see it, you will see Barney carry in Emma. You do see some funny stuff backstage though, it can be a lot of fun. Thank you. 🙂

      August 22, 2012
  16. Man how I miss the theater.

    August 21, 2012
    • You must go back then, haha, 🙂

      August 22, 2012
  17. paperportraiture #

    Ohh those dresses! The blue one is so pretty. i thought it was your wardrobe at first and I was about to offer you my right arm for them hahah just kidding =p thanks for liking my post by the way. Backstage is super fun! Putting a show together is cool because it feels great when you see people enjoying it

    August 22, 2012
    • Those dresses are wonderful. It was a pleasure visiting your blog and thanks for coming to visit mine in return. Backstage is always fun and exciting.

      August 23, 2012
  18. Gigi Galore #

    Wonderful! 🙂

    August 23, 2012
  19. What a wonderful blog you’ve got here. Had to follow! Backstage is where it happens.. K

    August 25, 2012
    • Thank you so much, hope you continue to enjoy it. It really is, backstage is fantastic. Thanks.

      August 25, 2012
  20. HAHAHA Awesome! It’s coming along! Can’t wait to see more 🙂

    August 26, 2012
    • It really is, hard to believe it opens in just over two weeks. 🙂

      August 29, 2012

Comments are closed.

