Skip to content

Webbs

I started working on an image, and I realised once I started that I wasn’t happy and what I needed to do was going to take a really long time.  I knew that I wouldn’t have that much time, so I had a rethink and had another look at my images from the weekend and today I am going to do something a little different.  Well it is not my usual post, though, having said that, I used to do them like this all the time.

Here is the bridge again, the Webb Bridge, I haven’t done anything clever or arty to it, well except for a couple of things.  I processed this to be a straight image.  I wasn’t sure the processing I’ve been doing would work, so I just wanted to show you more of the bridge.  This is one of the turns.

This is a little bit before the previous one and just up from the one yesterday, got that?

I thought this image might be better in B&W, I don’t know.  I have found it to be a very hard bridge to capture.

Again, I haven’t done much to these, I put them through Camera Raw, changed the second one to black and white, then did some gradient to both of them.  For these the bridge is the star.  It is interesting and quite different doing images like this.  I probably should do it more, but I always want to do more.

Short post today.  I have finally caught up with all your comments, sorry it took me so long.  I need to do some planning now, I have to find some things to photograph and work out some stuff.

81 Comments
  1. It looks like a very difficult image to capture, the building in the background draws my eye more then the bridge structure, which i guess was not the intended desire. It makes it difficult to appreciate the curves of the bridge. It does work very well in monochrome though, better than the colour version.

    August 22, 2012
    • I don’t know about either of them, I wonder if the weather conditions were all wrong, I wouldn’t mind going back another time or two and see if I can do it again.

      August 23, 2012
  2. It’s a fascinating structure, I can understand why you are so drawn to it. I think the red in the first image really helps to define its geometry. The black and white works too and I really get the sense of it being like a tunnel.

    August 22, 2012
    • Thanks Jennifer, it is a fascinating structure, I would really like to go back sometime, perhaps late in the day or early in the morning, not sure which.

      August 23, 2012
  3. Helen #

    The lines of this bridge are quite amazing. The black and white does work well.

    August 22, 2012
    • They are Helen, it is a very unique structure. It seemed better in B&W than colour, the sky seemed to blue. Thanks

      August 23, 2012
  4. Amazing who thought bridges can have the WOW factor 🙂

    August 22, 2012
    • They do some interesting walk bridges here in Melbourne, it is the normal bridges for cars that are so boring. These ones are like works of art.

      August 23, 2012
  5. The first one hit me, I loved it. Thank you, dear Leanne Cole, love, nia

    August 22, 2012
    • No, thank you, I am so glad you loved it. Thanks Nia

      August 23, 2012
  6. I like how you lead the viewer through the bridge in the second photo!

    August 22, 2012
    • Into the tunnel, or strange tunnel, thanks niktasmits

      August 23, 2012
  7. Personally, I am drawn to the second image for its abstract qualities. But nice work, as always! ~Jason

    August 22, 2012
    • You sound apologetic Jason, I am not sure about either image, I think they could be photographed so much better.

      August 23, 2012
      • haha, I guess I was a bit trepidatious since everyone else seemed to like the first one, better.

        One problem, as with all photos of architectural structures is, how do we make them our own? What part of the image is the architect’s vision and what part is our own interpretation of how it is seen through our lens? I guess that’s why I prefer the 2nd, as it shows more, it goes beyond merely what the designers constructed. I hadn’t seen this conundrum prior in my own work, but having looked at some others’ architectural photos, I can see the issue.

        As always, your processing style makes the images unique to you 🙂

        August 24, 2012
  8. Thank you for stopping by my blog and these are very interesting architecture.

    August 22, 2012
    • You’re welcome and thank you.

      August 23, 2012
  9. The bridge is captivating! Such a great subject and so much you can do with it. Love it!

    August 22, 2012
    • Thanks Robyn, it is an interesting bridge, I am looking forward to going back.

      August 23, 2012
  10. I love these. B&W for the second image is perfect. I creates a very moody atmosphere and it gives it a very abstract quality.

    August 23, 2012
    • That is great description of the image, I love it, thank you.

      August 23, 2012
  11. This has a very industrial almost steam punk feel to it. I’m not much for the particulars of photography but have always enjoyed taking pictures. Enjoying your posts and glad you came to visit my blog.

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you saymber, I am glad you found your way here, hope you continue to enjoy my work.

      August 23, 2012
  12. I love these Leanne! That first picture is really exceptional. 🙂

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you Zelmare, I think I knew you would :), that is great to hear.

      August 23, 2012
  13. Have you ever considered using a fish eye from a low angle?

    August 23, 2012
    • No, I haven’t, probably because I don’t have a fisheye. I did some images low, but they were hard to get, too many things in the way, and I wanted you to be able to see what was above as well.

      August 23, 2012
      • I do like what you did with the photos. Where is this located? I enjoy playing with my fisheye. This photo was taken at Texas A&M University. The insription is inside a 12′ high replica ring that graduates get. It came out cool.

        I’ll be back to view your photos, I enjoy your work!

        120513 Inside the Ring

        August 24, 2012
  14. Stunning shots, Leanne…and great work on a difficult image. The design of the bridge is so marvelous; you’ve captured it beautifully here in both, much moreso than the darkness of the image in your previous post!

    August 23, 2012
    • I think the previous image was about using the structure for something else, whereas these images are about the structure and showing you as much of it as I can. I think there is a difference, though I think I am only starting to understand it, actually responding to comments is really helping me to understand. I just realised that as I answer yours, so thank you.

      August 23, 2012
  15. i love architecture, photos and architectural photos – these shots are amazing – nicely done.
    lj innes

    August 23, 2012
    • I quite like it too, and I like it in all different states, from the new to the abandoned and derelict. Thank you

      August 23, 2012
  16. Tricia's Blogs #

    What an interesting structure. I like how you have photographed it.

    August 23, 2012
    • Thanks Tricia, it is quite amazing. I am so glad I found it.

      August 23, 2012
  17. I have nominated you for the Liebster Award. Consider that nomination and conferring seem to be, in this context, identical, I could just as easily say that I’ve given you the Liebster Award. Okay, I’ll say it. You got it. Check it out. http://teepee12.wordpress.com/2012/08/22/liebster-blog-award/ You deserve it.

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you so much, I’ve left you a message on your blog.

      August 23, 2012
  18. I like it a lot!

    August 23, 2012
    • That’s great to hear, thank you.

      August 23, 2012
  19. That’s incredible work ❤

    August 23, 2012
  20. Wow that bridge is amazing! Great shots! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Your black and white shots are amazing!

    August 23, 2012
    • It is isn’t it, I love it. It was a pleasure visiting your blog and thank you for visiting mine and the kind comments.

      August 23, 2012
  21. I love the b&w and movement in the second photo! That bridge has earned its place on your blog 🙂

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you Heather, it is a great bridge. I think the B&W one is better as well.

      August 23, 2012
  22. A complex and very interesting net structure that can’t really be contained by strong vignetting. The gradient works very well. The way the patterned building interacts with the bridge structure…. like a moire effect… is very appealing, so I prefer the second version. Another good’un Leanne.

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you John, I wasn’t so sure about them. When I looked at them after I took them, I didn’t get a “oh wow” feeling when I saw them, but they are interesting and hope to go back.

      August 23, 2012
  23. Webbs Bridge is an interesting structure, and you’ve captured and worked [minimally] the images extremely well. These remind me of Escher drawings 🙂

    August 23, 2012
    • I like that comparison, I love Escher, his drawings are so good, maybe the person who designed the bridge had the same thought. Thanks

      August 23, 2012
  24. spiderpaw #

    I love this place. I love these shots. I could spend all day here.

    August 23, 2012
    • What a nice thing to say, thank you so much.

      August 23, 2012
  25. iamrising #

    The top one sucks you in, holds your hand, and pulls you through it. You are a master of your craft!

    August 23, 2012
    • What a great description, love it, thank you.

      August 23, 2012
  26. Wow! Stunning photos!!

    August 23, 2012
  27. wow… love these shots. well done!

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you, that is fantastic.

      August 23, 2012
  28. Joe #

    As always, WELL DONE!
    Unfortunately, and fortunately, I have personally moved my site (joeiscrazy.wordpress.com) to http://www.joeiscrazy.com. I made one last post before moving so people could keep track if they would like. Hopefully I can obtain a little more feedback on some of my photos, as well as some of the other topics I cover.

    ZOMBIES!

    Again, great photo as always and I can assure you that even though I have moved on from the .wordpress.com, I will still be following your blog. Well done and thanks for some future ideas.

    Joe
    http://www.joeiscrazy.com

    August 23, 2012
  29. That is a sick place you have found to play with! Loving it! Just so sad it’s so far away from where we sit. 😦

    August 23, 2012
    • It is a fantastic place to go and take photos. Maybe one day you will find yourself here. 🙂

      August 23, 2012
  30. I like these very much!

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you George, I am really pleased that you like them.

      August 23, 2012
  31. Really great photos – like it

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you very much hellboy2503

      August 23, 2012
  32. I love this type of picture. osm pic….

    August 23, 2012
  33. Love the graphic quality of the second image – it has the look of an early photo-montage.

    August 24, 2012
    • Thank you Richard, I like that description.

      August 24, 2012
  34. Fascinating! The bridge itself is really neat, but the 2 images, in different ways, capture aspects that draw the viewer in, wanting to know and see more. Well done.

    August 24, 2012
    • Thank you Alisa, I hope you will see more and will learn more, I don’t know about specifically on the bridge.

      August 24, 2012
  35. Wow, love the structure of that bridge! It just inspires photos from so many different angles.

    August 24, 2012
    • It is funny how a structure can do that, make you want to photograph it. I think you have to do it then. Thanks Heather.

      August 24, 2012
  36. Nice photo’s

    August 24, 2012
  37. Liz #

    I really like these – where’s the bridge?

    August 25, 2012
    • Thanks Liz, The bridge is on the Yarra, or over it, down past the Exhibition building, and past the DFO.

      August 29, 2012
  38. Love the second one 🙂

    August 28, 2012
  39. These photos are so compelling, Leanne! I really love the Webb bridge in Melbourne. It is such a beautiful structure and it seems that it can convey many different moods with the different angles and varied lighting.

    August 28, 2012
    • It is a great structure, I have seen lots of photos of it, and what you said is so true. Thanks Steph.

      August 29, 2012

Comments are closed.

