Skip to content

BackDoor

There is no denying the fact, I am running out of my stock of images.  I will either need to go back up to the Mallee for more, or I am going to have to start going into the city more for images.  I do still have plenty of images, but not really ones I want to work on for here.  I did manage to find another one from the Mallee and have processed it for today.

Remember the shop in Woomelang?  I told you about the house that was next door to it, the clothesline and swing, well this is the back door to the house.  The building on the left is the bathroom, and where those bricks are, you walk in there to enter the house.  It is very dark and dank, I wouldn’t have liked to have lived here, I like my home to be full of light.

I had to redo certain parts of this a few times, the blurring that I normally do just wasn’t working and I had to keep redoing it.  I got there in the end.  I also wanted to try and draw some more light to the doorway.  In the original the area around the door is the darkest area in the image.  I probably did too much vignetting, but I do actually like it.  I like the way your eye, or my eye, goes to the back entrance.

It isn’t a very attractive entrance way.  I have seen worse, but not much.

Method

  • Photomatix Pro – 3 image HDR
  • Image processed with camera raw
  • Details drawn out
  • three different layers of blurring of masking were applied.
  • The image was darkened with curves, then using the lasso tool an area around the entrance was selected and lightened.
  • The image was opened in Topaz Adjust and vignetting applied.

I have also added some new images to my website in a gallery called Abandoned, the images are all for sale,  though I wanted to also say that while the images do have watermarks on them on the website, the images that are purchased do not.

Here are a couple of the images you will find there.

I hope you will go and take a look at them.

33 Comments
  1. Little Brown Tomato (LBT) #

    Leanne, I had never visited your art gallery before – what a treasure trove! And your image here is another masterpiece.

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you LBT, glad you enjoyed the gallery.

      August 24, 2012
  2. Stephanie #

    So moody and there’s so much visual tension in them….very nice…..

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you Stephanie that is fantastic to hear. I like that.

      August 24, 2012
  3. Don #

    I kind of feel a combination of mood here – the light and shadow invokes it. Marvellous image.

    August 23, 2012
    • Thanks Don that is interesting. I hadn’t though to it like that.

      August 24, 2012
  4. So very, very cool. I wish you lived next door so you could give me a tutorial (in person) covering all that you do. I still am clueless about layers and how to use them. I use GIMP and Photomatix. There are things I’d like to do … but have no idea how to … so I’m stuck executing the few routines that I do know. I’m in awe of your abilities. Nice images … nice art. D

    August 23, 2012
    • I am going to do my next tute using GIMP, I think it is important to use software that is free as well. It can be hard moving on from it, and it does get more complicated, but you will get there, it all takes time. Thank you.

      August 24, 2012
      • Great … be sure to include discussion of layers what they are, what they can do for you, and how to use them (a tall order I know … sorry!). D

        August 24, 2012
      • I won’t be doing layers just yet, there seems to be a need for some really basic stuff, but layers will come eventually.

        August 24, 2012
  5. Dank isn’t in it! Great image, Leanne.

    August 23, 2012
    • Thank you Richard, that is great.

      August 24, 2012
  6. Abandoned places always have a really interesting feeling and your work captures a lot of emotions. There is bittersweetness in the decay of somewhere that memories were made.

    August 23, 2012
    • You are right, they are interesting, I am glad you like the emotions that I try and capture in them. Thank you so much.

      August 24, 2012
  7. Wonderful shot

    August 23, 2012
  8. The original shot is quite depressing; though lighter, there is nothingness. Your process of emphasizing the doorway helps, but I would not enter under any circumstances (probably catch some disease!). I do like the look…just feel the vignetting is a little heavy on the lower right For the sake of balance).

    August 24, 2012
    • I did enter, I wanted to know what it was like inside, curiosity really got the better of me. It wasn’t bad, just unloved really. I also wondered if it was ever loved, or was just always seen as functional. Thanks 1000.

      August 24, 2012
      • It’s always interesting (to me) to see how others live or lived….and whether or not they loved their environs.

        August 24, 2012
  9. Alice #

    Ghosties of abandonment–historic and hopeful. The occupied dwelling no-so-hopeful. Great contrast and fun to see what light can do to a photo.

    August 24, 2012
    • Thank you Alice, I love playing with the light, especially now that I have learned how important it is.

      August 24, 2012
  10. Wonderfully done, Leanne!

    August 24, 2012
    • Thank you Gracie, glad you like it.

      August 24, 2012
  11. You’ve given this back door a dignity and story it never had… I can hear it saying in a raspy voice “I could’ve been…you know… I could’ve been… a winner… if only…”

    August 24, 2012
    • I think you are so right EllaDee, it does seem like a “I could’ve, if only..” Now no one loves it, no is really going to ever love it again, it will either just fall down, or will be pulled down. I will drive up to my mums one day and it will no longer be at the end of the street.

      August 24, 2012
  12. Leanne, have you ever looked at Tony Kuyper’s Actions as part of the workflow? He has quite a lot on luminosity masks (http://goodlight.us/writing/luminositymasks/luminositymasks-1.html) and I have started using them recently. There is always a risk of over-using some of these tools but you can create some very nice effects.

    August 24, 2012
    • Hey Andrew, no I haven’t looked before, I have since getting this, looks interesting, he uses GIMP, I will try and check it out more in the next week, thank you for sending it to me.

      August 24, 2012
  13. this is what I love in photography you are able to transform images into masterpiece, u’re gallery is remarkable, love it…

    August 26, 2012
    • Thank you, it is a great thing about doing it, I love being able to manipulate them

      August 29, 2012
  14. Hi !

    The only thing I can say:

    – WOW !!! WOW !!!! WOW –

    I say it, better in my native language:

    OBERHAMMERMEGAKRASSGEIL ! ! !

    Greetz from Germany – lichtbildwerfer

    August 26, 2012
    • It looks very impressive in your own language, thank you, thank you and thank you.

      August 29, 2012
  15. Francina #

    I went over to look at them all and they are all stunning. I do like the atmosphere you created,in these photographs . Beautifully done.
    Ciao, Francina

    August 29, 2012
    • Thank you Francina, I do enjoy creating them, and I like that atmosphere a great deal.

      August 29, 2012

Comments are closed.

