Skip to content

Stand

We have used up our internet allowance for the month, so we still have it, but it is very very slow. It is really annoying.  What makes it so annoying is that countries like a Australia don’t seem to have this problem, but we are so behind.  Behind in many things.  Normally I would use my phone, and connect to the internet on that, but Optus have decided to do some upgrading or something, I can’t get anything on the internet on it.  I went out this morning and took some photos at a football stand.  The stand always seem to loom tall and empty.  I am sure it gets used, but not often.  I like how empty it was, but I really like the shopping trolleys at the front that have just been left there.

I took lots of photos and will process more, not sure about this one, but will continue working on more.  I am off to the theatre tonight, so hopefully photos of the play, one week from opening night.

As I said, my internet is not great at the moment, so please excuse me if I don’t get to see your blog, or answer your comments as quickly as I would like.  It should be back to normal in 10 days, so I think we have a long 10 days ahead of us.

Just a quick post because I don’t know how long it will take to upload.  Fingers crossed.

42 Comments
  1. Very odd. How does it work? Does everyone get a fixed quota, or can people pay to get more?

    September 5, 2012
    • Some people do, it depends on where you live. We get a set quota and we have used it all. Oh well. It will be back to full strength on the 15, so not too long, but in another way, way to long.

      September 7, 2012
  2. Great work, as always.

    September 5, 2012
  3. That is very old fashioned – most home packages are unlimited but mobile accounts often have fixed access.

    September 5, 2012
    • That is available in some areas but not where we are, unfortunately. One day we will catch up with the rest of the world.

      September 7, 2012
  4. Ah, the intracacies of internet plans. I agree re the discarded shopping trolleys. 21st century detritus.

    September 5, 2012
    • I know, these plans will be the death of us I’m afraid. Thanks EllaDee

      September 7, 2012
  5. There are places in the US like that, too. Lots of them. The only good thing about living in the Smallest State in the Union is that we got wired for high-speed early on…
    There was an abandoned stadium we used to drive past when I was a kid…I wish I had photos of it now. There’s something eerie about a large structure like that with no one in it.

    September 5, 2012
    • It is the opposite here, I think the rest of Australia doesn’t know we exist here.
      I think the stand can be interesting, but it isn’t quite there yet. I know what you, I often regret places I didn’t photograph. Thanks Marie

      September 7, 2012
    • Where in RI are you? We are in Uxbridge, about 3 miles outside Slatersville.

      September 8, 2012
      • I drive through Uxbridge at least once a month, on the way to see my daughter in Spencer. Pretty town…what I can see from 146, anyway 😉
        I live down in Portsmouth, just north of Newport…far, far away, in New England terms…

        September 8, 2012
  6. Liz #

    Perhaps you just need to change your provider, or your plan, I have never used up my allocated amount, or at least not to my knowledge and from your experience it sounds like I’d know if I had.

    September 5, 2012
    • Yeah, we can’t quite work out what is happening. We have upped it and it still keeps happening. My husband is planning on putting a counter or something or another to try and figure out what is happening to it. YOu would definitely know, it is so slow.

      September 7, 2012
  7. …. but it´s only the 5th of the month!

    September 5, 2012
    • ugh, that sucks! Where on earth is this?

      September 6, 2012
  8. Something about the perspective and lighting reminds me of a piano 🙂

    September 6, 2012
    • That is an interesting description, thanks Heather. 🙂

      September 7, 2012
  9. I don’t know if it is my screen but the image looks really dark and i can quite make out the details in the subject as the highlights in the center contrast so strongly with the shadows of the boarder.

    With you internet it must be a bummer. We had a monthly plan like that before we got cable and it was so annoying at the end of the month.

    September 6, 2012
    • It is dark Ben, but I ran out of time and couldn’t quite get it the way I wanted. I was also feeling too stressed out about the internet.

      September 7, 2012
  10. Alice #

    You capture the ordinary in an extraordinary way. Thanks for making us pause and see.

    September 6, 2012
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you Alice.

      September 7, 2012
  11. For some reason this picture looks like a piano and old sheets of music. How can you not be sure of it? It’s an amazing picture…but to me nothing like it’s meant to be. I’d rather look at a piano anyway.

    September 6, 2012
    • Haha, that is too funny, thank you, I love your description.

      September 7, 2012
  12. Sorry to hear about your net woes, Leanne. Glad you could post the picture of the stadium though – great work.

    September 6, 2012
    • Thanks Richard, it is a pain, but if I am patient I can still do some stuff, though looking at peoples blogs takes forever and ever.

      September 7, 2012
  13. Slow internet is the pits for sure and I understand….from the times of dial up…omg yank the cord out of the wall so frustrating! Hang in there!

    September 6, 2012
    • Thanks saymber, I only have 7 days to go and then it will be back to normal again. I hope.

      September 7, 2012
  14. I love the contrasts here, Leanne — seeing this makes me miss watching footy!

    September 6, 2012
    • Oh no, I don’t really watch it myself, but I love all the grounds. Thanks

      September 7, 2012
  15. The heavy contrast and dark sky leave me with that eerie feeling of abandonment…coupled with the shopping carts (as we call them), the eeriness is heightened. So very lonely-looking, Leanne…I give you a lot of credit for taking this one!

    September 6, 2012
    • Thank you 1000, I was a bit worried that it was too dark. Glad you like it, though it isn’t totally abandoned, but I was hoping it would look as though it was.

      September 7, 2012
  16. Slow Internet can be so frustrating. Great photo.

    September 6, 2012
    • Incredibly frustrating, thank you.

      September 7, 2012
  17. Oh, I think there is lots of potential for the football stand photo. I like the ambience of it for sure.

    September 6, 2012
    • Thanks Sheila, it is a little too dark and there was a heap of graffiti inside under the roof, but it is a good start, I’m looking forward to do some of the others.

      September 7, 2012
  18. I have rural internet – it’s high speed but it will throttle down if I use up my quota. I tend to find wifi hotspots towards the end of the month 🙂 Love your photos!

    September 6, 2012
    • That is exactly how it is for us. I could do that, but I using the time to catch up on some other stuff. Thank you. 🙂

      September 7, 2012
  19. Ooo that looks really good 🙂

    October 3, 2012
    • Thank you Amanda, I think I might have over done it a little, but there are possibilities, thank you. Lovely to have you back.

      October 11, 2012
      • wannabephotographer87 #

        I know!! I’m so happy to have time for blogs again 🙂 You bring me joy 😀

        October 12, 2012
      • Oh thank you, I say as a blush appears on my face. haha, 🙂

        October 13, 2012

Comments are closed.

