Skip to content

Taking in the View

This Saturday is my second class, we are going to be looking at Landscape photography.  I want to write something for them to take home, but I needed some images.  I don’t do a lot of landscape photography.  It has never really been my thing.  I don’t know why, but unless it has water, or some man made element, I have never been interested.

My daughter is learning to drive and so, she is always happy to drive me around.  I decided that a road trip was needed, so we went for a drive up to Kinglake and around the area.  So here are some landscape images for you today.

I took this image in an attempt to show how some landscapes can be very boring, but through my processing something happened, I love how I did the light in it.  It is something I need to work on more.

This image was left of the previous one.  When I used to ride my bike around this area I used to see this and I always  thought it was make a gorgeous photo, but now that I have finally gone and taken it, I don’t know that I still think that.  Perhaps it would have made a better painting.

This image was to demonstate how to look for things in the view that will make the image more interesting.

This was in the same area, but slightly to the left.  I took this image to be the boring one, but again, after I processed it, I was quite happy with it.  I would have shown the originals, but with the internet the way it is you will have to settle for these.  I hope that is okay.

I processed them all in a different way to normal.  I liked the different types, though all I really did was play with the curves and the photo filters, not much else really.  Can I just say, I love feathering.

Having no real access to the internet, well very limited access, has meant that I have had to find other things to do, and so I have been going though my books on Photoshop, and I am so happy, I  am learning so much new stuff.  I can’t wait to start using it.

The play I have been photographing opens tomorrow night.  I photographed the dress rehearsal the other night, it looks fantastic.  I finally got to see all of it, and I was getting so involved in the story, that I had to keep reminding myself that I was meant to be taking photos.  I have decided that I won’t show you any photos of the production until after it opens, so I will be putting photos up tomorrow night after the curtain opens.

However before then, chookas to the cast and crew.

36 Comments
  1. Its good that you are making yourself photograph a subject outside your comfort or interest zone. Even if you never take another landscape photo things have been learned. I have found photographing landscapes to be quite rewarding at times, though not my central theme interest. One thing I can tell you is that the atmospheric conditions are everything in landscape photography, especially if there is low drama in the landscape itself. Clouds and lighting can change a relatively flat and uninteresting scene into something pretty dramatic. You might want to take a look at the forest pictures of Josef Sudek if you don’t know his work. Poet of Prague they called him.

    September 12, 2012
    • I think that is very important and a great point to make. Atmosphere, and the conditions that are available really do make a landscape image. It is funny, I was writing about landscape photography for my class tomorrow and I realised that the rules of composition, the time you go out and take photos, are much more important in landscape photography that any other type. Thanks for you great comment.

      September 14, 2012
  2. petit4chocolatier #

    Gorgeous photos, and yes they would be beautiful paintings as well!

    September 12, 2012
    • Thank you, petit4chocolatier

      September 14, 2012
  3. I enjoy taking photos of wide vistas (probably has to do with my Prairie upbringing), but only one shot in 20 comes close to being what I want….Love the treeline…

    September 12, 2012
    • I think that happens to lots of us. Things seem good at the time. I think there has to be something in the image that grabs your attention. I like that treeline as well. Thanks Marie

      September 14, 2012
  4. Welcome back Leanne, love the country side and good to see you again. Wish I could attend your classes!

    September 13, 2012
    • Wouldn’t that be wonderful. Thank you Patricia.

      September 14, 2012
  5. These turned out quite well, Leanne, considering landscapes are not your (nor MY) favorites…but, isn’t lighting FUN to control? I have been using Photo Filters for quite some time, in very limited percentages, just to pump up certain colors…occasionally placing one color on top of the previous.

    Cannot wait for the pics from dress rehearsal!

    September 13, 2012
    • I love controlling the light, gives me a sense of control. I think that is why I love digital and why I could never go back to film, or the way it was with film. I do that at times what you described with the colours, fascinating. Thanks 1000

      September 14, 2012
      • Same here…will not go back to film! With all the tiny bits of burning and dodging I do now…hmmm, those would have been next to impossible in the dark room. As a former Lighting Designer, lighting IS to be controlled…I have seen so much poorly-executed lighting design, especially in ballet. One fellow in particular could make a five foot tall, 105 lbs. ballerina look as if she weighed 170 lbs.!

        September 15, 2012
      • You are so right, lighting is so important. It took me a long time to understand this, but I think through my arts degree and working in the theatre, I have grasped it. Photography is all about lighting,
        That poor Ballerina, did she realise what had happened?

        September 15, 2012
  6. photos are all good but to me the vignette in the first two is a bit too strong. take the second one: i know the idea is to concentrate the view on the water but is more to see after, on the hills, the hills have very good details and can add to the image. can wait to see the photos from the play.
    p.s. it’s crazy what’s happening with your internet, why don’t you change the provider or the plan that you’re on?

    September 13, 2012
    • Nah, the first two are just boring, I was trying anything to make them more interesting. I like the third one, if I’m honest, that is by far my favourite.
      It is crazy, but that is how it is here. We can only change our plan if we won’t to pay a lot more money. We don’t have a lot of options where we are unfortunately. Though I did ask my husband to find out how it would cost to get our quota doubled. haha, thanks

      September 14, 2012
  7. Vicki #

    in agreement also that lighting is everything.. I think the cattle in the second photo adds a lot to it.

    September 13, 2012
    • I think you can tell it isn’t something I do a lot. I was hoping the cows would add something. Thanks Vicki

      September 14, 2012
  8. Doesn’t it work the other way round sometimes? That you thought you had a great picture and then, at home, it suddenly becomes boring… Well it works this way for me, though;)

    September 13, 2012
    • Oh yes, that happens all the time, too much really. I was hoping to get some boring photos to show in my class, and I did, believe me, and it wasn’t really hard, haha. Thanks

      September 14, 2012
  9. Nice shots from a drive around. Looking forward to your theater photo set.

    September 13, 2012
    • Thanks David, wasn’t too bad, I hope you have seen the theatre shots now. I was really happy with them.

      September 14, 2012
  10. Thanks for your liking! Amazing photos you have and I have really enjoyed taking part in your tutorials. 🙂
    All the best
    /Meggie

    September 13, 2012
    • You’re welcome Meggie, I am so glad to hear you enjoyed the tutorials, Thank you. 🙂

      September 14, 2012
  11. Absolutely LOVE the stunning photography and how you display it in your blog. Because of that, I’ve nominated you for the “Very Inspiring Blogger” Award – my post will publish on Friday 9/14/12…

    September 13, 2012
  12. Nice to see some fine landscape shot from you 🙂 (says one who mostly shoots nature and landscapes)

    September 13, 2012
    • Haha, I don’t know about fine, but thanks anyway. I should try and get some better ones, I am surrounded by some wonderful landscapes, and beautiful scenery. Thanks Truels.

      September 14, 2012
  13. hutchphotography2020 #

    Nice set of images. I really like 3 and 4.

    September 13, 2012
    • Thanks Hutch, I think I prefer those two as well.

      September 14, 2012
  14. Lovely pics Leanne! as you’ve probably gathered by now, I do like taking landscape pics, and yes, they can be boring, which makes it a bit of a challenge to get a good one. 🙂

    September 13, 2012
    • You take wonderful landscapes Zelmare. I have seen some of yours, they are stunning. Maybe one day, landscape photography will grow on me,Thanks 🙂

      September 14, 2012
  15. Ed Spadoni #

    Love the photo of the stand of trees.

    September 13, 2012
    • Thank you, I think that is my favourite as well.

      September 14, 2012
  16. I love your landscapes 🙂

    October 5, 2012
    • Thank you Amanda, I am thinking of doing more. 🙂

      October 11, 2012

Comments are closed.

