Skip to content

Chookas to Dolls

It has been a fantastic 6 to 7 weeks following the rehearsals for the play Summer of the Seventeenth Doll at Heidelberg Theatre Company.  As I sit here and write this, the actors should be backstage waiting for the curtain to open.  It should be happening now.  It is quite sad from my point of view, my work is done.

Here is the finished set.  How good does it look?  I love watching sets come together, and this one has been an absolute treat.

I am not going to talk until the end now, please enjoy the images from the final dress rehearsal.

The images are not in the order of the play, if you want to see what is where you will need to go and see it, haha.  You can book your tickets here.

I took so many over Sunday and Monday and I thought that today would be the only time I would show you some, but if you don’t mind I would like to show more and will do two more posts over the next two weeks before the play finishes.  I took over 1200 photos, so I feel you should see more.

I have also processed so many more from tonight, so you can see a lot more images on my facebook page.

To the cast and crew and especially Paul, thank you so much for allowing me to come and be part of your production, I can’t express in words how much I enjoyed it.  I wish you all the best for the next three weeks.  This is sad for me, because my time with the play is done.  I won’t see them anymore.

CHOOKAS.

41 Comments
  1. Looking great!

    September 13, 2012
    • Thank you, though I suppose, I just photographed it, always easy when what you are photographing is so good.

      September 14, 2012
  2. One question – what’s a chooka?

    September 13, 2012
    • I was wondering when someone would ask. Chookas is a theatre term and basically is their way of saying good luck, it is bad luck to actually say that, so in Australia you say chookas, or break a leg, though we say chookas.

      September 13, 2012
      • Thanks. I was having fantasies about obscure Australian marsupials.

        September 13, 2012
  3. You have certainly captured the spirit of the play with your smashing photographs, thank you for sharing them.

    September 13, 2012
    • Thank you, I tried to get lots of action and expressions. I still have so many more to go through. It was a pleasure sharing them.

      September 14, 2012
  4. Don #

    The images are so alive and I love the communicative elements in each image. Marvellous to look at Leanne. Thank you.

    September 13, 2012
    • I think that is one of the best things about photographing theatre, there is so much scope for that. They are busy performing. I really love doing it. Thank you Don.

      September 14, 2012
  5. sarahnegri #

    Thanks for the posts Leanne! Cant wait to finally see my bf Joel up on stage, and these pics just got me even more excited!

    September 13, 2012
    • I hope you don’t have to wait too long, he looked great. Thanks

      September 14, 2012
  6. Amazing photography! The spirit of the stage grasped and preserved in them…

    September 13, 2012
    • Thank you, that is a lovely compliment.

      September 14, 2012
  7. alexandraross #

    The set looks amazing! And great job with the character shots. I certainly want to take in the production just based on your pictures:)

    September 13, 2012
    • The set is amazing, I am so glad you have enjoyed the shots. I hope you took a look at the extra shots on the facebook page. thanks

      September 14, 2012
  8. So fun!

    September 13, 2012
  9. Wonderful set, and your images of it, too!
    Love the lighting design…the ‘sun’ coming through the ‘upstairs window’ onto the wall of the staircase is great.

    September 14, 2012
    • Thanks Marie, Derek the lighting designer did a great job.

      September 14, 2012
  10. Love your images, Leanne…so beautifully composed, and you caught the colors very well!

    The set? Wonderful! Lighting? Great! Costumes? Quite fine! Please pass along my comments to the designers, if you would?

    Thanks so for following this one through…and not to worry, I’m certain they are planning the next play even as I write this morning!

    September 14, 2012
    • Thank you 1000, I really do love photographing the plays. I might have to see if I can do it more. It really came together in a fabulous way.
      It was a pleasure, I am so glad you have enjoyed it 1000, oh the next play, I believe is cast and probably already rehearsing, they are doing Arsenic and Old Lace next.

      September 14, 2012
      • Arsenic and Old Lace…one of my favorites! That should be a lot of fun to follow, Leanne!

        September 15, 2012
      • I don’t know, I might see if the director is interested. I don’t want people to think I am going to do it for every play, I mean at the theatre. Though I have had a problem with a couple of people there and the facebook page, so I might not be allowed back, haha. NOthing I did, but people get so precious, and since they were precious, I decided to be precious my images. Only fair I thought.

        September 15, 2012
  11. Very, very impressive work – your photography and the theater company.

    September 14, 2012
    • Thank you, it always impresses me how professional the amateur theatre people can be, there really is nothing amateurish about it.

      September 14, 2012
  12. Fabulous shots, Leanne – you’ve captured the action beautifully. It looks like a really fun play – love the set.

    September 14, 2012
    • The set is pretty amazing, the director, Paul, is well known for his sets. Thanks Richard.

      September 14, 2012
  13. Wonderful. Bravo to you and the theatre company. How fortunate they (& we) are that you have the ability and interest to capture their production. I think you have created an art form from an artf orm – it has so many different layers – like unwrapping a beautiful gift 🙂

    September 14, 2012
    • Thank you EllaDee, what a wonderful thing to say. I really like that. I really do like photographing the plays. It is wonderful to try and capture the play in still images.

      September 14, 2012
  14. sweetwilliams #

    Wonderful pictures!

    September 14, 2012
  15. Jodie #

    Well done, Leanne. It’s been lovely having you around, and wonderful for us to get to see the work in progress through your eyes (or camera lens!). Now for us to do the play justice every night…. xx

    September 14, 2012
    • Thank you Jodie, I hope I didn’t get in the way too much. I had a great time, kinda sad that it is over for me now, and really just getting going for you. I’m sure you will do Olive very well, I have lots of confidence. I know you will all do it justice. I am sure it will just get better and better.

      September 14, 2012
  16. Paul #

    Thank you so much for taking all the photos, Leanne.
    It’s been great to get such a visual record of the show, and a pleasure to have you there each time. The early stages often get forgotten as things progress, and it’s wonderful to have your reminders of what it was like at the start. The sad part is, of course, that the show has to end on the final night, with the set deconstructed and the cast and crew moving on to other things—but it’s been a great experience, and all involved have contributed to what’s turned out to be (if I may say so) a memorable production, and one I’ll not soon forget.
    Thanks again.
    Paul

    September 16, 2012
    • No, thank you Paul, it was a pleasure and a delight. It is so true, it will end and people will move on, but there will always be the photos and hopefully they will help bring back the memories.
      It has been a great production to be a part of and I hope it is a huge success, it was great to finally work with you.

      September 17, 2012
  17. I’ll add to the kudos … it is not easy to capture the vibrance of a stage production with stills, but you’ve done it.

    September 17, 2012
    • Thank you cohn17, I love doing it and hopefully that comes out in the images.

      September 17, 2012
  18. Very nice shots Leanne.

    September 20, 2012
  19. The first two are probably my favorite and then I scrolled down and they are all amazing! I love the angles and the colors are really pretty in it 🙂 I always look forward to these posts of yours hahaha

    October 5, 2012
    • Thanks Amanda, it really came up well. I was so happy with how it all came out. 🙂

      October 13, 2012

Comments are closed.

