Skip to content

My Turn to Learn

Since I started this blog, I have been learning a lot.  Complex editing was a mystery to me just over a year ago.  I made an effort to learn and I have been so glad that I have done that.  I have slowed a bit with the learning, but I bought a magazine on the weekend and thought I would try one of the tutorials.  This is what I got.

The idea is to make a disc from an image.  I took a cityscape image and followed what I could of the tutorial.  I don’t know why tutorials are always written like you must already know what you are doing.  Some steps I had to guess, but I think it worked out okay.  I don’t know.  Not sure I love it totally.  Weird.

Another one, this one probably works better.  It is really strange.  I have seen them done before, but never attempted them.  I don’t know that I would do it again.  I did want to try some other things though.

I did this image of green lake when it was all dried up, it was taken with a compact camera and has not been assembled together very well, but I wanted to see what it would look like as one of these.  I don’t think it worked very well. I also don’t really like the line that happens where it is joined.  I do like the trees at the top.

This is the old shop in Woomelang.  Very strange.

This is one I did of the Woomelang cemetery.  It is also weird.

There are lots of tricks you can do in photoshop, doesn’t really mean you should do them, but I think it is good to do them at least once, to get an understanding of what can be done.  It is the same with your camera manual, you should read it, you should know its possibilites.  I like seeing what the possibilities of Photoshop are, then I know what can be done, and if I ever need something specific, then I know it can be done.  Always learning, that should be a motto.

I like teaching and I’ve decided that I want to do more with my blog.  I have seen other people doing it, so I want to try doing some lessons that people will be able to purchase and learn from.  I am not totally sure how this is all going to work at this stage, but I will be working on some basic skills for the beginner.

Another thing I want to try and do, is produce a small card that is like a checklist for the beginner. It will be a plastic card that will have a list of questions and instructions for people who are starting out and still learning how to use their cameras.  I will have it for sale on this blog at some stage, not sure when.  I came up with the idea for my friend who is overseas at the moment, it was a way for me to sort of be there with her and helping her.

I am just letting you know so hopefully you won’t mind when I start advertising them some.  I love doing this blog, but I need to find a way for it to earn some money, it is a terrible thing, but it is reality, unfortunately.

117 Comments
  1. I love this, its very cool, especially the skyline.

    September 18, 2012
    • Thank you Craig, good to hear.

      September 19, 2012
  2. Usually to get the best effect is simply turning around 360 degrees. Then You won’t have the problem with that “cut” in the middle 🙂 and the rest is postproduction

    September 18, 2012
    • I did that with a couple of them Matti, I could’ve done it with the lake one, but I liked the trees at the top. It was the first time doing them, not sure about doing them again, will see. Thanks for the advice, always appreciated. 🙂

      September 19, 2012
      • No try, no success 😉

        September 19, 2012
  3. Helen #

    Every teacher is constantly learning. The pictures look more like artwork than photography.

    September 18, 2012
    • I have heard that, I have never really considered myself a teacher, but I quite like the role, it makes me what to grow, if that makes sense. Thank you Helen.

      September 19, 2012
  4. your definitely right..learning is a continues process..and love those photos.

    September 18, 2012
    • Thanks Angela, I think the same about learning.

      September 19, 2012
  5. Don #

    Leanne, those images are superb. I love them. The one with the city lights looks as if it’s disappearing in to a black-hole. Very dramatic. It’s quite amazing what you’ve accomplish with photoshop.

    September 18, 2012
    • Thank you Don, they are very different to my usual work, sometimes you have to have some fun, and you never know what you might learn along the way. I like that description.

      September 19, 2012
  6. They look good and absolutely everybody should give things a try to see what can be done. Your learning has certainly paid off and sharing it is excellent. It is only right you should get paid for the professional progress you make through some means or another. You are not a charity!! People don’t have to buy – why should they object? I am 10 months into retirement and have learned more about my camera gear and processing in that time than in the previous 10 years. If you don’t progress, that’s a choice you make but for people who do want to move forward, like you, it is very rewarding when the knowledge breakthrough comes.

    September 18, 2012
    • Thanks Andrew, I couldn’t agree more with everything you have said. It is true, I’m not, though I don’t want to upset people either, but you make a good point, people won’t have to buy the lessons, so it will be interesting to see what happens. It is unfortunate, but my husband has given me a time frame and if I can’t make this work, then I have to find some thing else. Will see what happens. Learning is a great thing to do, and you must be so happy to have the time to do it now. Thanks again.

      September 19, 2012
      • Making something you love doing your income stream is something very few people can do and those that can are immensely fortunate. Unless you have the luxury of independent means your husband is probably right to put some boundaries around the project. Most people I know who are pros have got there over a long time and it is a second career for them. Some did it in their spare time and then found a niche they could exploit. Part of the challenge is always are you willing to do what sells rather than what you personally enjoy. The advent of digital photography is a blessing and a curse. It has opened up the medium to anyone who can afford a simple camera, from a phone to a Hasselblad. Creativity abounds . For those trained in darkroom techniques it means either continuing in film (hooray!!) or relearning new skills on a PC. But the essence of good photography hasn’t changed – to provoke a reaction in the viewer. And then commercialize that reaction into cash. It is far more competitive today than ever. I photograph birds for fun. 10 years ago it was definitely a minority interest. Now its big business and when I go to the hides they can be full before sunrise with people wanting the best seat. Some are hobbyists but many have a deep-seated passion to sell their work. Few will succeed. You are undoubtedly a good teacher and a good photographer. I hope you are one of the few. But even if you don’t at least you have tried and learned along the road. Most people underestimate the difficulty of running a successful business of this sort. Getting people to pay what something is worth is tough especially in these hard times. Whatever happens you could still hopefully offer your photography services in your spare time and rebuild in tandem with a job that offers regular income. Sometimes the breakthrough comes unexpectedly so don’t despair. Be optimistic and realistic. Good luck!

        September 19, 2012
      • Everything you said is so true, it is a very hard game to play and to win. Everyone wants to be professional photographers. I am not going to lie, I would like that too, but I have come to realise, that I like taking the photos that I want to take and don’t really enjoy the professional photographer thing of doing what the client wants. The thing I really enjoy is the computer and doing stuff on it and teaching other people. I really like the idea of trying some online courses, people seem to like the way I write and the way I do them, so I guess the next step is to see if people will pay for them. Time will tell.
        I can’t believe that about the bird and nature photography. How strange. I guess digital is so much cheaper than film, you can still pay the same amount of money for a camera, but that is where the expense pretty much ends. Doing film was expensive, I can remember being limited to 2 rolls of film a week, because that was all we could afford. Now I can go out and take 2000 photos and it costs me nothing.
        Thank you for all your support Andrew, I really appreciate this. I will try and stay optimistic and realistic. Good luck to you as well.

        September 19, 2012
  7. mkriegh #

    These are great. I believe in experimentation. Even if the results are not your thing, it informs the process, makes it a deep down part of you, eventually to be the seed of another idea or the think that takes you from good to nailed it. Trying new things gets us out of ruts too! Also, no reason why you shouldn’t monitize your bliss in some way. I like the idea of teaching. Don’t know if you are familiar with this website: http://digital-photography-school.com/ Might be some inspiration for what you want to do.

    September 18, 2012
    • What a great thing to say and so, so true, you never know what part of a process might help with something else. I really need to get back to the books and learn more. I do know that site that you mentioned, I’ve visited it before, I will take another look. Thanks mkriegh

      September 19, 2012
  8. It s very Funny , i like 🙂

    September 18, 2012
    • Thank you thierryjan 🙂

      September 19, 2012
  9. In todays world of visual excitment it is necessary for one to continually “Think Out Side The Box” there is nothing wrong with traditional photography but with todays availablability of quality products (cameras) we have become saturated with tradition to the point it is starting to fail to impress anymore, and you have again demonstrated that ability to reinvent your craft. 🙂

    September 18, 2012
    • You have made some really interesting points. Could make for a really good discussion, especially with all the talk to that digital is not real photography, or that you shouldn’t manipulate your images. I do really like what you have said, thank you. 🙂

      September 19, 2012
  10. ailenerhea #

    These.are.awesome 🙂

    September 18, 2012
    • Glad you like them, thank you ailenerhea 🙂

      September 19, 2012
      • ailenerhea #

        Anytime =) Keep posting your stuff to inspire others!

        September 19, 2012
  11. Freaky deaky! I am liking a lot!

    September 18, 2012
    • Hahaha, thank you so much.

      September 19, 2012
  12. The cemetary almost makes it look like a planet of death.

    September 18, 2012
    • Is that good or bad, interesting idea, I think I want to work on that idea some more.

      September 19, 2012
      • Perhaps I’m just a bit morbid, but Planet of Death is good.

        September 19, 2012
      • Okay, I can deal with that, thanks.

        September 20, 2012
  13. Liz #

    I really like the top 2 – a lot of fun and an interesting perspective.

    September 18, 2012
    • I suspect those two worked the best, thanks Liz.

      September 19, 2012
  14. I think they look great! One looks like the top of R2D2 from Star Wars, the cemetary is otherworldly looking.

    September 18, 2012
    • Thanks John, I think if I was going to do more, I would probably do more of the cemetery, they couldn’t be interesting.

      September 19, 2012
  15. I want to learn this too!! looks great!! Thnaks for posting!

    September 18, 2012
    • A few people have said that, so not next Monday, but the one after I will do a tutorial on it, can you wait that long?

      September 19, 2012
  16. Very well said, Leanne. And the photos came out great too. I love traditional photography, but with technology progressing, I think it is important that our craft should too.

    September 18, 2012
    • Thank you Gracie, I totally agree, glad you think the same.

      September 19, 2012
  17. Reblogged this on shafiqah1 and commented:
    This photo is unbelievable! 😀

    September 19, 2012
  18. Christa #

    What a fascinating tutorial. That skyline disc is breathtaking!

    September 19, 2012
  19. You always inspire me to try new things with my camera and in Photoshop. I’m having a wonderful time, glad you were here! 🙂 Keep doing the great job, and go for it on posting things to sell!

    September 19, 2012
    • Thank you, what a wonderful thing to say, I never thought I could inspire people, it is so fantastic to know that I do. I will have to give it a go.

      September 19, 2012
  20. When the student is ready… that would be me!
    You have inspired me more than any other person blogging and don’t apologize for charging for your tools.
    I love the disc thing, I want to read an article on how to do it at some point, when I am ready.
    I am so glad your internet is back up and you are here again, I missed you! 🙂

    September 19, 2012
    • Thank you Patricia, what a great thing to say, so kind of you, thank you so much. I think I will do a tutorial on the disc thing in a couple of weeks. I am so glad it is back to normal as well.

      September 19, 2012
  21. Tricia's Blogs #

    Strange, I never heard of such a thing, but it’s very interesting! (my camera broke so I can’t take any pics until I can get a new one!) ~tricia

    September 19, 2012
    • Oh, Tricia, how devastating, shame you don’t live closer, you could have borrowed one of mine. I hope you don’t have to go too long without one.

      September 19, 2012
      • Tricia's Blogs #

        Thanks Leanne. I really was upset not having it today, because the SPACE SHUTTLE flew right over my head and I had no camera (used my iphone3 but it was not a good pic). Oh well, I have the memory of seeing a piece of history anyway, but wish I could have recorded it on my new camera (only 2 months old) which did have a wee bit more zoom and lots more megapixels than my old old one.

        September 22, 2012
      • Yes, you have your memory. There have been photos everywhere on the internet, and whenever you see one, you will remember that you saw it as well, and those photos will be like yours and the ones you would have taken if you had a camera. I hope you can get your camera back on warranty, only two months old, that is terrible. I would be lost without mine, and I hope you have yours back soon.

        September 22, 2012
  22. Loved these!

    September 19, 2012
  23. this is AWESOME!

    September 19, 2012
  24. Wow!!! This is amazing!!!

    September 19, 2012
    • Thank you so much Patricia

      September 19, 2012
  25. It’s great to learn new things – thanks for sharing.

    September 19, 2012
    • Yes, Martina it is always great, and a pleasure to share, thank you.

      September 19, 2012
  26. When I saw the first two images the first thing that popped into my head is how much they made me think of one of my all time favorite movies Bladerunner. If you’ve ever seen it, there are landscapes like this.

    September 19, 2012
    • I have seen Bladerunner, though, and I don’t understand why, it is never a movie that I can remember. I will have to watch it again. For me they remind me of the movie Dark City, have seen that one?

      September 19, 2012
      • I’ve seen Dark City too (not one that sticks for me lol but it’s been a long time since I saw it). Bladerunner came out in the 80’s so it’s understandeable if it’s not one that sticks for you but I think if you revisit it you will get a lot of ideas for some wonderful pictures to take and edit. There is talk of a sequel…fingers crossed.

        September 20, 2012
      • We have Blade Runner on DVD and I’ve watched it several times, I really like it, but whenever I try and think of what it is about, nothing comes, it is so strange. I will have to watch it again to see what you mean. Thanks

        September 20, 2012
  27. Very interesting – I think the non-urban images work best – love the old shop in Woomelang and the cemetery!

    September 19, 2012
    • For me, I think, the most interesting is the cemetery. Thanks Richard.

      September 19, 2012
  28. Wow! I’d love to learn how to do this.
    /Camilla

    September 19, 2012
    • You are not alone, I will do a tutorial on it in a couple of weeks. Thanks.

      September 19, 2012
  29. Richert Manjarres #

    I hadn’t seen these before and I’m very thrilled. Love the cemetery. 🙂

    September 19, 2012
    • They are very strange, but a lot of fun, thanks Richert.

      September 19, 2012
  30. I like the disc idea. Thanks for liking my experiments with iPad’s PhotoBooth app.

    September 19, 2012
    • Thank you and you are welcome.

      September 19, 2012
  31. Really intriguing. Makes me want to try it! Which magazine?

    September 19, 2012
    • I am not sure which one, sorry, it was one for Photoshop and for advanced stuff. I thought I might do a tutorial in a couple of weeks on it. Thanks

      September 19, 2012
  32. I like this effect, like looking into a kaleidoscope. I’ve always believed in having as many skills as possible – there’s always something to learn, then you have the option to pick and choose, but if you never learn…

    September 19, 2012
    • Too, too true EllaDee, I hadn’t thought of it like that. It was a lot of fun trying something completely different, I think I am going to have to do it a lot more often. Thanks EllaDee.

      September 19, 2012
  33. Claire O'Brien #

    You are a born teacher, as well as a very unusually good artist. The two don’t often go hand in hand. More luck for us!
    Thank-you for all of it: the art, the sky, your eye, the patient, respectful lessons, and the suspense of your next unexpected dramatic adventure in Photoland.
    And thank you so much for dropping by my beginning little blog..and for liking it, no less.
    Yr Yankee fan

    September 19, 2012
    • You are so kind Claire, what a lovely thing to say, thank you so much. I do enjoy teaching. Thank you so much.
      It was a pleasure visiting your blog and welcome to the world of blogging, I hope you find it as rewarding as I have.

      September 19, 2012
  34. This is just great! I was not aware of this concept until you shared it with us. There is so much more to photo artistry than the camera can capture. So much to learn. thanks again.

    September 19, 2012
    • There really is a lot to learn, I hope I never stop. I have seen this done before, and thought I would have a go at it. Glad you liked them, thanks Memory Catcher.

      September 19, 2012
  35. imagesbyerin #

    They look great. I tried this a little while ago. The trick is trying to find a feature at either end that will blend together to make it seamless, one tutorial I read suggested copying a small part from one end onto the other to try and make t blend better. But these are a great first effort! Better than mine turned out. 🙂

    September 19, 2012
    • I can understand that, and I tried to find some, but to be honest, I did it quite quickly, just wanted to have a go at it. I think that would work better, what you said about the blending the end. I can imagine there would be a lot of things you can do. I am sure yours were good too, we are always our own worst critics. Thanks Erin.

      September 19, 2012
  36. Love the second one!

    September 19, 2012
    • I think that one has by far been the most popular. Thanks Sciencelens

      September 19, 2012
  37. hutchphotography2020 #

    These are awesome. I really like the second one. A friend of mine recently did one with angular shapes and a similar process. Great work, Leanne. I appreciate your boldness in taking the next step.

    September 19, 2012
    • Thank you Hutch, I think there are lots of possibilities, I might have to try more. Thanks about the next step, will have to see if it works. Time will tell.

      September 19, 2012
  38. Go for it Leanne!

    September 19, 2012
    • Thank you, I will, hopefully get something new up today. Thanks for the support.

      September 20, 2012
  39. Fun stuff, Leanne…this is where a simple photograph becomes a piece of ART!

    September 19, 2012
    • It is fun, sometimes it is important to do some of the fun stuff. Thanks 1000.

      September 20, 2012
  40. hmmm ,interesting… I would like to experiment with this tutorial! This reminds me a bit of ceramics in that once you put it in the kiln its up to the kiln god! Then when a piece comes out its not what you were expecting, but other people love it! So… I like the tree image, even though you are ‘iffy’ I look at it & see a manipulation of the environment & the lines suggest a segmentation/dividing up of the environment – which is what we humans do… So, if I were to view this in an exhibition setting I would interpret it as a comment on the environment, further heightened by the fact it is in a circle: ie the earth, worsd, universe, etc.
    Anyway, enough arty ranting!!

    September 20, 2012
    • I love the arty rantings Dawn, I like what you have said, it is an interesting process, and I have been thinking of other ways of doing some of this stuff. I am going to do a tutorial on it in a couple of weeks, so I will look forward to seeing what you do with it. Thanks Dawn.

      September 20, 2012
  41. Oh, these look gorgeous – I especially like the cemetery! I’m not sure how difficult this is in Photoshop (which tends to have a steep learning curve), but there’s an iPhone app that does this effect for you in seconds. It’s called Tiny Planets, and I’ve played around with it a couple of times. There’s also a Google+ page called Little Planet Panoramas that you might want to check out (although it’s not updated very frequently). It’s a fun effect!!!

    September 21, 2012
    • They are pretty easy to do actually, I don’t have an iphone, my husband is anti apple is everything and I’m not allowed to have anything. He hates them with a passion and I have to say I kinda agree, their business ethic is pretty bad. Anyway I digress, It is a fun effect, but for me, that is all it is, it was fun to do and something different, but I don’t think I will be doing too much of it. Maybe for fun every now and then, anyway, thanks.

      September 21, 2012
  42. I like how you ended the post by a simple but effective message of making people explore the possibilities instead of ignoring them. I myself believe in it and have been doing that since the day I started designing/photographing. Not a bad job with the pictures but I am pretty sure you can do something better if you explore more. Try it with night long exposures too. They might give you some lovely results like the one here: http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151043205774822
    All I can say is keep trying for the best. This is not a bad technique and not many photographers process images this way. Would love to see more of it.

    P.S. Can you provide me the link to this tutorial too? I would like to try it myself 🙂
    Thank you.

    September 21, 2012
    • Haha, I probably could do better and have considered the different things I could do, but to be honest, it was just for some fun and to try something a little different. I might have another go at it, and do have some ideas, but it isn’t something I want to include in my usual workflow. Thanks for the link, that image looks amazing.
      I can’t give you a link, I saw it in a magazine, that wasn’t very good at describing the steps and I had to guess some stuff. I will do a tutorial on it in a week or so, so you can see what I did. Your way is probably heaps better.
      Thanks

      September 21, 2012
      • Thanks a lot! I’ll be waiting for the upcoming tutorial 😀

        September 21, 2012
  43. This looks awesome, thanks for stopping by my blog, yours is fabulous 🙂

    September 21, 2012
    • Thank you, and it was a pleasure. 🙂

      September 21, 2012
  44. Wow, what a great way to look at things!

    September 21, 2012
    • Thank you, it is rather interesting.

      September 21, 2012
  45. George Vagabon #

    Our lives are never ending circles, and you’ve captured that essence.

    September 22, 2012
    • Wow, what a great way of seeing it, thanks George.

      September 22, 2012
  46. The idea creating these circle photos is nice, I think the results can be very surprising and creative in this perspective.
    Is it possible to make this in Photoshop Elements 9? (I have been offered this program from a friend, who did not use it).
    And btw: Do you know if Photoshop Elements 9 allows creating HDR images? (that is a thing I would like to try soon!)

    September 22, 2012
    • Thank you Truels.
      I don’t know if you can do it in Photoshop Elements. I will do a tutorial on it soon, and you will be able to see if you can do it. I have tried to see if I can get a copy of it, but had no luck so far.
      I don’t think you can do HDR images in PSE, I think only CS5 and CS6 allow you to do them. I would recommend getting Photomatix Pro though, if you really want to do them. That is what I use. There is also a coupon code on this blog up under Software and you can get a 15% discount. I think it is about $100 normally. I think Elements is quite good and probably good enough for most things that people do. Good luck.

      September 22, 2012
      • Thanks for your answer, Leanne! I will try PSE 9 this winter. And If I feel like doing more than that, I will get Photomatix. And use your code, if it is still cheaper when sent to Denmark 🙂
        And thanks (again) for all your work here on your blog – inspiring us amateurs and beginners!

        September 28, 2012
      • Yes, you should see how you go with it. I have heard it is quite good. Should do most things you would want to do. See how you go with it. Good luck.
        Denmark is gorgeous. I haven’t been to many place OS, but we lived there for 7 months when my daughter was a baby. It is peaceful. We were in Fredrikberg.

        September 28, 2012
  47. Interesting this blogging game Leanne – I have just reviewed where my photographic energy is being expended and for what return – Facebook Page has gone (quiet successful) G+ has gone too prescriptive as too how images should be submitted in order meet with the communities requirements (I see myself as a provider). I have seen your likes on several of my images (blog LSS Lathail) and recall coming around your blog on several occasions (we also passed on Digital Photography Biz), your posts must take loads more energy than mine (writing as well as photo’s) but then that’s is why you have 5000+ followers. Then I read your comments alomg the lines of “this must pay in practical terms comment” and I completely got it. So I did some maths and realised you are getting 1 like per 33 people versus my one like by 10. That leads you to ask what is a like worth – answer very little beyond an appreciation of your art. Unless the traffic move’s on towards the sales link that is. But that’s not art is it? For me you hit on the head – this type of blog takes time and considerable costs (travel, kit etc) which you would struggle to factor in to the maths. So I understand exactly where you are coming from when you say “it is all very well wanting to be a pro photographer ” but it has to “pay” it’s way.

    This too is my aim but I have a military pension as a starting wage – which will allow me some flexibility – but blogging has given me the confidence to do so – I will achieve professionalism – it may take some time but I will get there (A pro photographer said some nice things today – and that is enough for the mean time)….. You have fabulous blog Leanne and I hope it brings you success happiness and the reward you deserve. Regards Scott

    September 24, 2012
    • Hey Scott, I am a bit confused about your comment, sorry. So you don’t think it is worth trying to make money, or you do. Or do you think I don’t have a snowballs chance in hell of succeeding, not really sure. I have found that people like how I write, and I think and hope that is going to be my ticket, whether it comes from this blog or other sources.

      With the advent of the digital age, it seems that everyone is trying to be a professional photographer. I am realising that that isn’t going to happen the way I had hoped it would. There are so many people,millions really, who have a camera and think they can take fantastic photos. I had a look at your site and you do take stunning images, but are they so much better than other peoples and how will you make money from them. That is the dilemma we are all facing. It is a tough, tough market, I will probably end up in a coffee shop making coffee.

      I do love writing, so for me, that is the direction I would like to go in. I also like the idea of teaching, and would love to combine both. The feedback I get from my blog would suggest that that is a good direction for me. People like my technical writing, and find it easy to understand, so perhaps that is the direction I should go. I haven’t fully figured it out, but it will come to me eventually.

      I do want to address one thing you said, “Unless the traffic move’s on towards the sales link that is. But that’s not art is it?” At art school the first thing I was taught, is that you have to treat it as a business, otherwise how can you keep doing it, so unless the traffic does move to the sales link, then there can be no art.

      Thank you Scott for you though provoking comment, really made me think.

      September 25, 2012
  48. As always, a truly fascinating post Leanne, thanks for sharing. Strangely I quite like the graveyard image. That said, i’m of to give this a bash and try to figure out how to do this:-)

    September 25, 2012
    • I will be doing a tutorial on it next Monday if you can wait that long. Thank you.

      September 25, 2012
  49. #2 = yes, excellent.

    September 26, 2012
    • Thank you neverphoto

      September 26, 2012
      • Hi, it’s really cool. Sorry again about my other post. I hope I didn’t offend. It was really poorly written and came off overly critical. I feel bad about it.

        September 27, 2012
      • Forget about it, no problem at all. I completely understand.:)

        September 27, 2012
  50. WOW! That’s really amazing 😀

    October 9, 2012
    • Thanks Amanda, a bit of fun really. some tricks. 🙂

      October 9, 2012

Comments are closed.

