Skip to content

Country Markets

Yesterday, Saturday was market day in St Andrews.  I told you about it, or that I was planning on going.  I had never been before, and what a surprise it was.  St Andrews is a very small town just out of Melbourne, you get there by travelling North East out of Melbourne, and it is approximately 42 kilometres out.  It is almost at the base of Kinglake.

I knew that the market would be more arts and crafts than the Vic Market, but I wasn’t quite prepared for exactly how it was.  It was fantastic.  The people were so lovely, everyone was up for a chat, and everyone was so friendly.  I loved it and I know my girls did.  It was exactly how you would like a market like this to be.  I suppose I should show some photos.

This man was just there playing his accordion.  It was lovely to listen to.  I haven’t heard one being played for many years.  One of my aunties or uncles had one and played it, I seem to recall when I was a child, but it isn’t something you seeing being played very much any more.

This stall was at the top of the hill, and it had the best food.  You can’t see the raspberry Danishes that it had, so you will have to take my word for how good they were.  Both my daughters were trying to pinch some because they also like them.  I would go back just for them.

This is some of the bread they baked.  We got some olive bread, and it was good.  It didn’t last long.  We took it home and had it with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, very good.   I love that combination.  I would like to try more of their bread and next time will make sure that I get more.

This mirror was just sitting there behind the fence.  I thought it odd, but I am sure there is a purpose for it.  I got my daughter to stand on the side until I could see her reflection in the mirror.

I have included this image so you can see the setting.  It really is in the middle of some bushland, which helps to give it that country feel.  It is nice to see a market that isn’t so well defined, where stalls are all over the place in a haphazard way, adds to the artsy feel of the market.

Some people were just sitting around taking it in.  It helps that it was a beautiful sprint day.  After the cold wet winter we have had, spring fever has hit us a little bit this year.  We are all getting out when the weather is nice.  It makes a nice change.

I had to photograph these people enjoying the weather and their food on this amazing mosaic seat near the main hall.  I hope they didn’t mind me taking their photograph.

As I said earlier the people their were amazing and so friendly.  I came across quite a few people that were so nice to talk to.  My camera attracted a lot of attention, I really didn’t to ask if I could photos, most people saw the camera and wanted to talk to me about it.  It was nice, though I felt a little embarrassed about it.  It is a big camera when you put the battery pack on it and the good lens.  People automatically think you must be some great photographer, which I don’t think I am yet.  Still it did help break the ice and I was made to feel very comfortable taking my photos.

I do want to mention one person, I didn’t get any photos of him or his stall, but he was really nice and I am sorry I didn’t get an image for him.  He was in the main hall and my daughter purchased two tie dyed dresses from him.  So if you go, please go and say hi, he likes photography as well.

My daughters decided in the end, that it was much better then the Vic Market and they would much prefer to go back there then into the other market.  They liked all the arts and crafts stuff at the market.  I think that says a lot.

I need to mention something else.  I was approached by another blog who wanted to include one of my images on their site.  I agreed, so they would like me to mention them, interesting, so I am mentioning the site where you can go and see my image if you like, just go to Digi Photography Biz.

Tomorrow, another tutorial, looking at my still life’s and the black background.

97 Comments
  1. I love the accordion!

    September 23, 2012
  2. That was very intersting, words and pictures from the other side of the world. I like the picture with the mirror and your dougter, she looks like Schneewitchen (I don’t know the english world) with red hair.
    Greetings from Europe, Germany, Berlin is sending Susanne

    September 23, 2012
    • Thanks Susanne, my daughter certainly has red air. Glad you like the images. Nice to meet you.

      September 23, 2012
  3. Rhey #

    my dad has an accordion and plays it occasionally. They taught me to play it but i felt it was too heavy. It is true that you never see these played around anymore.

    I love country markets, the look and feel and the authenticity. We don’t have those in Dubai or even in Manila. But looking at pictures make me want to be there. So cool.

    September 23, 2012
    • What a lovely story, it is a shame you don’t see them much anymore, sad to think it may be a dying form of music.
      They can be wonderful and this one was a great example of one. If you come here you will have to see if you can get out there, you will love it.

      September 23, 2012
      • Rhey #

        hopefully someday 🙂

        September 24, 2012
  4. OMG, such a nice food ! My salivary glands are going nuts!
    I like your photos so much , but i dislike the watermark that you put in them. They seem a bit more opaque ! Fortunately, these images are free of them 🙂

    September 23, 2012
    • The food was great, really good. I would go back just for that.
      Unfortunately we live in an age of people taking what they want with no concern over who it belongs to, I’ve had the argument before about the watermark, it stays, I’m sorry if you don’t like it, but it is necessary. I have had too many stolen and at least if they are, the water lets people know who it belongs to.

      September 23, 2012
      • I agree ! but may i suggest to make it a bit more transparent so that it does not ruin the essence of image,especially darker ones.I was able to spot the nice difference in today’s post.
        Although i am just a casual photographer, i hope to start doing the same in near future.

        September 23, 2012
      • I make it as transparent as I can, it disappears if I do anymore, and I adjust it for each image, so I change the opacity until it doesn’t disappear. There is a point when it I go any further, then it there won’t be any point having it there as well. I also try and put on the image so it doesn’t interfere too much, but it is always going to. You should see the watermark I put on my cycling photos.

        September 23, 2012
  5. Great images. I love country markets, and you have captured the essence of them. The accordian player looks like he belongs to another time & place.

    September 23, 2012
    • Thank you EllaDee, that is so nice of you to say. The man playing the accordion certainly does look he belongs in another time.

      September 23, 2012
  6. I really like the mirror picture with your daughter in it.

    September 23, 2012
    • Thank you YellowCable, I quite liked it as well.

      September 23, 2012
  7. A good day with your girls, afun market that you want to go back to, and a comfortable place to take photos? Sounds like a winner to me!
    Were there any photographers there, selling prints of their work? I sometimes see them around here – there’s a woman who does seascapes who gets a booth about once a month at our market….

    September 23, 2012
    • It was a great day and a lot of fun.
      No, I didn’t see any there. There often are though, I have see them at other markets. I don’t know if they sell many photos.
      Thanks Marie.

      September 23, 2012
  8. great photos, looks like a good market, the bread looks lovely.
    Mike

    September 23, 2012
    • Thanks Mike, it is a great market and the bread we had was so nice.

      September 23, 2012
  9. Ed #

    I have to say the mirror shot is very cool and creative, excellent eye..:-))

    September 23, 2012
  10. I love this market!!! Must go again soon. The Daylesford market is lovely too and as for Daylesford…what a magnificent place. ave you been there?

    September 23, 2012
    • Yes, you should, it is so good. I haven’t been to the market in Daylesford, though I have been there, been there a couple of times. My daughter also loves it there.

      September 24, 2012
      • Such a beautiful place. My ex husband just got married there. Was a lovely wedding at the convent gallery.

        September 24, 2012
      • My daughter wants more information on the market in Daylesford, when is it on and where is it.

        September 24, 2012
      • I’ll see what I can do.

        September 24, 2012
      • http://www.dscr.com.au/market.php. Here is the link to the Daylesford market. It is on every Sunday 8am to 3 or 4pm. Jen

        September 24, 2012
      • Thank you so much for this, we will check it out and I am sure as soon as we can we will go.

        September 25, 2012
  11. I love markets like these – they are always a good day out.

    September 23, 2012
    • They are great Colline, thanks.

      September 24, 2012
  12. Val Bridge Digital Photography Biz #

    Crystal clear shots Nandi…and great image narrative…the accordian is especially detailed…and as previously said, mirror image sorta nailed that one… captures the imagination…

    September 23, 2012
    • Thank you Val, it was a lot of fun.

      September 24, 2012
      • Val Bridge Digital Photography Biz #

        Have no idea why I called you ‘Nandi’ Leanne….my head is everywhere.. 😉

        September 26, 2012
      • Haha, I know that feeling. 🙂

        September 26, 2012
  13. This is SUCH a treat for the senses, Leanne. Thanks for this!

    September 23, 2012
  14. So nice the way the market is in the open country like this. The mirror with your daughter, very nice idea! 🙂

    September 23, 2012
    • I like the setting as well, it gives it a lovely atmosphere. I was happy with the mirror as well. 🙂 Thanks John.

      September 24, 2012
  15. Pat #

    I looks like a great event. I love your shot of the accordion player.

    September 23, 2012
    • Thank you Pat, it was great.

      September 24, 2012
  16. What fun! It’s nice to go on a virtual field trip! Although photography delicious food that we can’t try…. LOL!

    Keep putting your copyright on your photos! As a retired teacher who had to teach students about copyright I think you are spot on for “branding” your pictures. Very easy to see past, doesn’t impede enjoying the photography.

    September 23, 2012
    • You will just need to come to the market one day. LOL
      I do normally, I didn’t for these because they are just fun ones and I wan’t too concerned about them. I agree with you though, I will do it on the images that more important to me. Thanks.

      September 24, 2012
  17. What a marvelous tour, Leanne! The images of beautiful breads…olive bread w/olive oil and balsamic has made me very hungry this morning! The mirror shot is exquisite…your daughter, beautiful, reflected in a mirror in the middle of nowhere (it seems) should be a prize-winner!

    Thanks so for this beauty of a presentation…it Sunday morning here, and I’ve time to really enjoy your post!

    September 24, 2012
    • Thank you so much 1000, it was a great place to visit, I am glad you enjoyed it through the photos and the commentary.

      September 24, 2012
  18. Christa #

    The shot of the pastries is just amazing (and looks delicious!)

    September 24, 2012
    • Thanks Christa, they did look delicious and the one I had was amazing.

      September 24, 2012
  19. I like your photography style. It is also amazing to see the changes that can be made to a photograph. Great work.

    September 24, 2012
    • Thank you so much monsterlogic, that is great to hear.

      September 24, 2012
  20. Tricia's Blogs #

    I love the photos of the accordian man and your daughter in the mirror (kind of Alice Through the Looking Glass fantasy feel to it). ~tricia

    September 24, 2012
    • Thank you Tricia, I love that description. I will have to tell her.

      September 24, 2012
  21. rynnasaryonnah #

    The market looks/sounds lovely!

    September 24, 2012
  22. Ohhh Leanne thank you for taking me along with your daughters to this! I haven’t been to one in so long. The accordian is gorgeous and I was transported to Germany looking at him. The bread and baked goods added pounds to my waistline just looking and drooling. The picture of your daughter in the mirror is magical to me – something I could imagine in a fairytale or something. You sound like me when you go out in the world – I love talking to people about their crafts and hearing their stories. Often I go home and write them down – you do it with photos! So important to record these people because so often they don’t record their own stories and they get lost in time.

    September 24, 2012
    • Thank you saymber, I love how you described your reaction to my post. Thank you for sharing that.

      September 24, 2012
  23. A day at the market – how wonderful. At best I only spend a 1/2 hour or so at ours. Buy local! Those breads look devine.

    September 24, 2012
    • That is a shame, the markets here are so engrossing, well some of them. The bread is fantastic, I will definitely be getting more next time. Thank you.

      September 24, 2012
  24. The baked goods at the market are very tempting. I would go back just for them too, especially for the danishes. The mirror effect, very cool.

    I agree with you about how people react when they see someone carrying a camera with a big lens. When I carried my 35 mm SLR kit to my niece’s university graduation a few years ago, it attracted a lot of interest.So much, the event security gave me a pass onto the arena floor.

    September 24, 2012
    • Oh yes, the baked goods, will definitely be going back for them. Glad you like the mirror image, my other daughter wouldn’t do it.

      It is strange, have a big camera and you must be good, that is another reaction I get, like the camera is in control of it. Haha. Lucky for you to get a phtoographers pass, that must have been cool.
      Thanks David.

      September 24, 2012
  25. Fantastic set of images!!!

    September 24, 2012
  26. I really like the accordion player picture. 🙂 There is a timeless feel to it. 🙂

    September 24, 2012
    • He reminds me of someone who should be in the past, thanks Imelda.

      September 24, 2012
  27. icastel #

    Glad to see you took your camera! Nice post

    September 24, 2012
    • Yes, I am glad I did as well. Thanks

      September 24, 2012
  28. Hi, thank you for the like! Great photos!! – Steve

    September 24, 2012
    • You are welcome and thanks Steve.

      September 24, 2012
  29. Looks like a fabulous day! Great captures. Thanks for sharing! Robyn

    September 24, 2012
  30. Looks like a fun trip! I LOVE the picture of the man playing the accordion! The colors – especially the blues are amazing. And he looks so traditional – pipe and all!

    September 24, 2012
    • Thank you joleneybean, he did look good, I took so many photos of him.

      September 24, 2012
  31. How much would you charge by the hour (or by the picture) to critique my pictures? I need help! lol

    September 24, 2012
  32. This looks like my kind of place! Would love to spend a morning there, browsing and eating some fresh baked bread. We also love Italian loaves, heated in the oven until the crust is crisp, and then broken and dipped in balsamic and olive oil. Yum!!! 🙂

    September 24, 2012
    • You come to Melbourne Zelmare and I will take you out there. I must try that, heating the bread up, sounds wonderful. Thanks 🙂

      September 24, 2012
  33. OMG, how absolutely cool!!! Great pictures, they totally convey the spirit of such markets! Where my mother is from – former Austrian Hungary – those are very popular and a ritual unto itself, sadly in Montenegro they are not and i miss them terribly! Thank you for reconnecting me with a piece of my soul that is , by its own choice, forever in country markets! ❤

    September 24, 2012
    • YOu are so welcome, Thank you also for sharing your story. I love markets, but I have to admit I don’t go to them very often. I am usually too busy on the weekends, but would like to go to them more. Thanks again.

      September 24, 2012
  34. oh that looks like a simply wonderful market!

    September 24, 2012
    • It is and a great market to visit. Thanks.

      September 24, 2012
  35. Liz #

    I really must try St Andrews market – I’ve never been and I love the sound of it.

    September 24, 2012
    • Oh yes Liz, you should, I think you would love it. It is so much fun, your kids would love it too.

      September 25, 2012
  36. How cool that the market is just out in the country, not neatly organized on city streets. If I knew of a place near where I could get breads and pastries like that, I would go back too! Lovely presentation.

    September 25, 2012
    • It is cool Heather, it is a beautiful setting and very different to most markets really. I really want to try some other breads, I wonder if it would be possible to go back this Saturday. mmm. Thank you Heather.

      September 25, 2012
  37. Wonderful, I love going to markets!

    September 25, 2012
    • Each market can be different in its own way, they are great, thanks.

      September 25, 2012
  38. Little Brown Tomato (LBT) #

    LOVE these! So much culture in them. 🙂

    September 25, 2012
    • Thank you LBT, so good to see that you like them. 🙂

      September 25, 2012
  39. great photos of all kinds of subjects in one post – think the bread one is my favourite!

    September 25, 2012
    • Thank you teamharman, what a nice thing to say. I know the bread was my favourite, haha.

      September 25, 2012
  40. Such unique photos! I am in LOVE with your blog.

    September 25, 2012
    • Haha, what a lovely, wonderful comment, thank you so much shananicolephotography

      September 25, 2012
  41. Nice photos. Thank you for sharing.

    September 25, 2012
    • Thank you and it is never a problem.

      September 25, 2012
  42. ¡Que precioso viaje mediante tus fotos!, abrazos

    September 26, 2012
    • Thank you, glad you enjoyed the market through the photos.
      Gracias, me alegro de que haya disfrutado el mercado a través de las fotos.

      September 26, 2012
  43. That picture of your daughter is so pretty 🙂

    October 9, 2012
    • I thought it was an interesting portrait. Thank you. 🙂

      October 13, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. sunshiny | the hour of soft light…

Comments are closed.

