Skip to content

The Forever Student

How many ways can I say that some posts are going to be about me learning a new trick in Photoshop, or even with my camera.  I find learning new tricks can be a hard thing to do.  You have to devote time to it, and then you need to work out what to do, then after you have done it, then you have to see if you can apply it to you own work in a meaningful way.  Today I was going to go through the magazine that I bought and see if I could do something else, but I couldn’t find anything that I wanted to try, sad really.  There was one thing that I have wanted to try for a while, so you are getting the images from that.

Reflections, or rather fake ones.  I have seen them done, and I am pretty sure I have seen images with them and I have wanted to try doing some, so I did a search on the internet to see what I could find.  I found one, which I can’t access from this computer so will try and do it on the other computer later. So I have remembered and here is the link to the site, click here.

If you know Flinders Street Station, then this image is going to look weird to you, I don’t know if it really works, but when I first tried doing an image it was the first one I found that I thought had any chance of working.  I have had this idea in my head for a while for a series of images similar to this, so learning how to do this was important.

I think the second attempt worked better.

This image was taken across the Yarra River, so there was already water there, though I did get rid of the river so I could do the reflection.  This one doesn’t seem so strange and could be real.

The tutorial I followed was okay, and I managed to do it, but there were problems with it, some of it didn’t work the way I thought it should and I had to modify some.  I think if I was going to do it again, I would look for other tutorials, or look at quite a few and see what they all say.  It might be nicer to do that.

Eventually with the work I am doing I would like to be able to create my own reality in some way, not sure how, but I also know that right now I don’t have the skills but slowly I am learning.  One day soon I will be able to do it.

51 Comments
  1. www.macuisineetvous.com #

    Very nice photos
    Benoit
    http://mesphotosetvouswordpress.com

    September 25, 2012
  2. You missed the bit where it says … then you have to try and do it again LOL

    September 25, 2012
    • No I didn’t miss that, I will be trying it again and again, I think. Haha.

      September 25, 2012
  3. Reblogged this on shafiqah1 and commented:
    We should ALL be “Forever Students” there is so much to learn, I get excited just thinking about the endless possibilities for discovery! # Nerd Alert 😉 And this Photo is wonderful!

    September 25, 2012
  4. Wonderful idea! And thanks for the tutorial link.
    I think you did a fine job on these 2 photos, although I agree, the second one works much better than the first, more realistic, so to speak.

    I have to say though, I love that deep blue sky on the first image.

    September 25, 2012
    • Thank you Gracie. I didn’t really try for realism, just wanted to try out the technique, now that I have I am beginning to think of other possibilities, which is how I work. The sky in great in the first one, that was a very early morning shot.

      September 26, 2012
  5. WOW! I am speechless… Great shots. Thanks and Love, nia

    September 25, 2012
    • Thank you Nia, nice comment.

      September 26, 2012
  6. Wow, it’s amazing and very beautiful ! You are so good at processing your photos Leanne. I love your work. I like to learn new tricks too and with Photoshop there is always something new to learn ! I also really like your tutorials, you’re very good at it

    September 26, 2012
    • Thank you, I’ve spent a lot of time on learning, and still have a lot of learning to do. Yes, there is always something new to learn, thank goodness, I think I would get bored otherwise. Haha. I am glad you like my tutorials, I really enjoy doing them.

      September 26, 2012
  7. saymber #

    The sky in the first one reminds me of being in London’s Picadilly Square at night.

    September 26, 2012
    • I’ve never been there, but thank you, nice compliment saymber.

      September 26, 2012
  8. Love the reflections in both. Keep trying and remember that failure is a key ingredient for creativity.

    September 26, 2012
    • Thanks Jen, I’ve had plenty of those, the failures, I suppose that is how we learn.

      September 26, 2012
  9. Hmmm … I don’t know about making a reflection. I guess it’s okay if it makes a so-so image better.

    September 26, 2012
    • These were done for fun David, but I have seen done for art that have been stunning, but I think you need to know when and how to do them. You won’t see me putting them in all my images, but I might think differently about taking some images to see if I can do it.

      September 26, 2012
  10. Little Brown Tomato (LBT) #

    Oh Leanne, that first photo is WOW!

    September 26, 2012
  11. Ok, I’ve never seen Flinders Street Station in person, so it doesn’t look at all odd to me. I think it’s really cool, in fact. 🙂

    September 26, 2012
    • Thank you Marie, I thought it might be the case, I did think it could look like water slowly creeping in like a flood, might try some thing like that next.

      September 26, 2012
  12. You keep producing the goods Leanne.

    September 26, 2012
    • Glad you think so, thanks.

      September 26, 2012
  13. I think the reflections are brilliant.
    Laurie @ Pride in Photos

    September 26, 2012
    • Thank you Laurie, really glad you like them.

      September 26, 2012
  14. Jack Brewis #

    Lovely Poat Leanne.

    September 26, 2012
  15. Jack Brewis #

    Um, post, sorry. New iPhone.

    September 26, 2012
    • Haha, I didn’t even notice until I got the second message, our minds do see what they think is there.

      September 26, 2012
  16. Now, this is FUN, Leanne…and learning should never, EVER, stop! Great job with these reflections…a major hurdle, indeed!

    September 26, 2012
    • Thank you 1000, I totally agree about learning. I hope it never stops.

      September 26, 2012
  17. Wow!

    September 26, 2012
  18. sweetwilliams #

    I think they both turned out great!

    September 26, 2012
    • Thank you, glad you liked both

      September 26, 2012
  19. Both photos were well done.

    September 26, 2012
    • Thanks for that YellowCable.

      September 26, 2012
  20. Great photos! I understand what you mean about trying new techniques…devoting the time is always a challenge for me. Thanks for all the tutorials!

    September 26, 2012
    • It is for me as well. I have so many things to do and try. One day I might achieve everything, then there will be something else that is new. Your welcome, thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment.

      September 26, 2012
  21. ccaddey #

    I know what you mean about learning new things all the time, I’m only really new and this but I’ve started finding a whole bunch of interesting effects and tricks you can do with my camera and photos during any editing. Beautiful pictures though! Really enjoying having a look at your blog.

    September 26, 2012
    • It is a lot of fun, digital photography, I love it and I love seeing what else I can do. Good luck with your work. Thanks for stopping by.

      September 26, 2012
  22. I think you did a good job. I’ve seen this in some tutorials and have been thinking about trying it out myself, but there’s just not enough hours in a day to get everything done….

    September 26, 2012
    • I know what you mean. In the end it didn’t take too long to do, if that helps. I hope you get a chance one day. Thanks Cardinal.

      September 26, 2012
  23. It’s inspiring to follow your journey.

    September 26, 2012
    • I really like the Flinders Street train station.

      September 26, 2012
      • I love that image, I love the colours in it, thanks.

        September 26, 2012
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you.

      September 26, 2012
  24. Liz #

    I like the Flinders St image – I can imagine it raining a lot and it being reflected on the wet bitumen. Fun thing to do.

    September 28, 2012
    • Thanks Liz, I wasn’t sure, but I like what you have described.

      September 30, 2012
  25. I love working on reflections! So much fun 🙂

    October 10, 2012
    • It was really great creating them as well, I am looking forward to try it some more. Thanks Amanda 🙂

      October 11, 2012

Comments are closed.

