Skip to content

Tulips in Spring

It has been a busy day and I was thinking of doing some new images, but in the end, had a look at the tulips and decided that there was one that I might be able to make a lot better.

I am going to show you the original to this one, it will help demonstrate what I have done to it.  You should be able to see the composition from last week in this one.  I like the way the tulips are going down instead of up.

The processing was really very simply.  I did darken the background,like in Monday’s Tutorial, but I also widened the image.  The tulip on the far right I think you can see that here, how the tulip is licking the side of the image.  I didn’t like that, so added a whole new piece to the side of the image.  Quite an interesting process, and now my first time doing it.

A slight blur was added to the whole image, though it was removed for the actual flowers.  I also added some detail to the image as well.  Other than that, I didn’t do a lot.

I do think this one works a lot better than the last one I did.  I don’t know why I didn’t use this one then, but I am very pleased I went back to look at the images.

Melbourne had a beautiful spring day today, it was so warm.  I hope it isn’t an indication of the summer we are going to experience.  Hope the world was warm and happy where you were today.

52 Comments
  1. We are beginning to feel a little chill in the air here in Toronto. 🙂
    As always, I enjoyed looking at your image.

    September 27, 2012
    • It was raining and horrible here today, so spring is here with its unpredictable behaviour. Thanks Colline.

      September 28, 2012
  2. I never even would have known you could add a piece to extend the edge…you teach me something new, every day. 🙂

    September 27, 2012
    • I have to admit it is a new thing with photoshop, well it was shown with the latest version. It is pretty cool and not the first time I have used it. Thanks.

      September 28, 2012
  3. love what you did with this.

    September 27, 2012
  4. it adds more drama to the image when the tulips are drooping. lets out some symbolism. nicely captured!

    September 27, 2012
    • Thank you Virgillo, I think the same. I love them drooping.

      September 28, 2012
  5. This summer was a scorcher. Had several days of 100 degrees. Odd but cool the tulips are going down, nice work too. 🙂

    September 27, 2012
    • Tulips will do that when they haven’t been treated well. I am hoping that because it is almost October and it is still cold, not much great weather that we might not have a really hot summer. We live in hope. Thanks John

      September 28, 2012
      • Oh, I see. I forget though that the seasons are reverse from here in the northern hemisphere. Amazing isn’t it! I see by the time that you are a day ahead of us too, or about 14 hours. Wow!

        September 28, 2012
      • Yes, John, different seasons and different time zones. It is a little strange, but we get used to it. The time thing can be strange. You will get used to it too. Haha. So when you are freezing in the winter, and everywhere there is snow, if you get it, we will be boiling hot and wishing the rain would come.

        September 30, 2012
  6. Pat #

    Your new edit really makes the tulips ‘pop’.

    September 27, 2012
    • Thanks Pat, I think I agree.

      September 28, 2012
  7. Yes, like the new edit – nice feeling of isolation.

    September 27, 2012
  8. Mike #

    Love tulips, they look good against a black background.

    September 27, 2012
    • Thanks Mike, I love the background as well.

      September 28, 2012
  9. Absolutely gorgeous re-working, Leanne, and so very much more ‘mysterious’ bordering on ‘sad, lonely tulips’ wishing they were back in the garden among their peers (Haha!).

    Seriously, learning to extend an image is a great feat…bet it gave you quite a bit of satisfaction, yes?

    September 27, 2012
    • I really think these tulips wish I hadn’t bought them. I did everything to make them do that.
      It was easy extending it when the image is just one colour, though I have done it before, but can’t remember what for. Nice process and good option. Thanks 1000.

      September 28, 2012
  10. Just a note to remember: The ‘negative space’ (here, it’s the black) is just as important as the ‘positive space’ (the tulips), and you’ve balanced that extremely well!

    September 27, 2012
    • I was tempted to crop it, but I couldn’t bring myself to it, I really like the negative space as well. Thanks again.

      September 28, 2012
  11. A lovely image. Tulips are one of my favourite flowers, they herald the beginning of spring here in the UK. Sadly, a long time until we shall see them again.
    Corinne

    September 28, 2012
    • It is the same here Corinne, when they come out you know warmer weather is on its way. Sorry you will have to wait a long time to see them. Thanks

      September 28, 2012
  12. Don #

    Adding a piece! That’s quite something. Never knew you could do that. Lovely image.

    September 28, 2012
    • It is pretty cool, I don’t know if it is a new thing with Photoshop CS6 or could be done before that, but it was something I saw for CS6. Thanks Don.

      September 28, 2012
  13. I’m sorry- the weather up here is REAL autumn now: Rain. Rain. And more rain. – – – But I’m glad you will have spring and summer soon 🙂
    And me – I will get a little warmer reading your fine blog here….. And i have put you on my blogroll, so even more people may do the same 😉

    September 28, 2012
    • We had that today Truels, thunder lightning and lots of rain. Definitely not summer weather. I will have to remember to put some hot weather images up for you. 🙂 Thank you for putting me on our blogroll, that is so nice of you. Thank you.

      September 28, 2012
  14. A good idea, I have not thought of adding or expand an image.

    September 28, 2012
    • It is, I don’t know if it would work with every image, but it was great in this image. Thanks

      September 28, 2012
  15. Wow, haven’t been here in awhile but you posted some more beautiful photography

    September 28, 2012
    • Oh thank you, glad you liked what you saw, I hope that means I’m getting better.

      September 28, 2012
      • I like them they are really good and you are welcome

        September 29, 2012
      • Thanks

        September 30, 2012
  16. Widening the frame made a lot of difference. Lovely work as always. 🙂

    September 28, 2012
    • Thank you Imelda, I think so as well.

      September 28, 2012
  17. Beautiful and clever. For a moment I was confused that you were working with tulips. Then I realized that our seasons are reversed. I have to subscribe, now – just to see lovely non-snowy pictures for the next few months.

    September 28, 2012
    • Yes, our seasons certainly are different, I like to see snow when it is really hot here, and I post summer if I can. I hope you won’t be disappointed, I will see what I can do to make you feel warmer with images of our summer, thanks.

      September 28, 2012
  18. Love what you have done with this photo. It was great to begin with but now it is really great and very striking.

    September 28, 2012
    • Thank you so much, I think extending it really helped.

      September 28, 2012
  19. Gorgeous! 🙂

    September 29, 2012
  20. ¡Que belleza de toma!

    September 29, 2012
    • Thank you so much ManoliRizoFotografia
      Muchas gracias

      September 30, 2012
  21. Okay, you hit gold here! I LOVE this image. There is no comparison with the original. Your artist’s eye is phenomenally good, Leanne. Expanding the background and darkening it transformed the entire image. The difference is dramatic. 🙂

    September 30, 2012
    • Thank you so much George, I have to admit I was really happy with this as well. It was certainly better then the one I showed the previous week. 🙂

      September 30, 2012
  22. petit4chocolatier #

    Excellent work! I am going to reblog your link on my reblog page!

    Kindly,
    judy

    September 30, 2012
    • How lovely of you, thank you so much Judy.

      September 30, 2012
  23. bysaramattar #

    reminded me of my wedding tulips ,, loved the shot !!

    October 1, 2012
  24. Stunning!

    October 6, 2012

Comments are closed.

