Skip to content

Leanne The Explorer

My daughters decided they wanted to go to a new place for shopping today.  It was some place in the Docklands that the youngest had been to for a school excursion.  Well, they didn’t go shopping for the excursion, but they went to the Docklands.  They asked me to come along.  I was told to bring my camera so I could take photos.  It was an appealing option, I had thought of doing my post today on something random, so random you get.

I took photos of everything I could.  The girls were quite good and didn’t get too angry with me stopping to take photos.  It was a strange day with the weather, the sky was very cloudy but the sun was also out.

The image above is the Bolte Bridge and part of city link.  I have driven over that bridge quite a few times.  My GPS likes to take me on it when I am going to Geelong.  This was one of the first views you see when you are walking to the Docklands after getting off the train at Southern Cross Station.

Another thing I was promised, was that we would be close to the “really big Ferris Wheel, the one they are working on”.  What she meant was the Melbourne equivalent of the London Eye.

It did work for a while.  I have never been on it and I don’t know who much you can see from it, but disaster struck with it in 2009, the metal buckled, and the builders blamed our heat waves.  It is still closed, and as you can see it is being rebuilt.  Makes you wonder why it was built with steal that would buckle under our extreme temperatures.

You can see the wheel in construction stage here.  You can’t get too close to it, but I did the best I could.

It was great to explore a part of the city that I hadn’t explored before.  Especially with a camera.  I would really like to go back, but at a time that would be better for photography. It is a lovely area.

Of course, the real reason my daughters wanted me to go with them was so, when they ran out of their money I could give them more.  Oh well, having said that they were pretty good.  We had a great day.

39 Comments
  1. Fabulous pictures of the Melbourne ‘Eye’ Leanne. I love those steel structures against the moody sky and the fact that’s it’s under construction adds to the drama somehow. 🙂

    September 30, 2012
    • Thanks Chillbrook, I think the clouds really added to it. We do wonder if it will ever be finished.

      October 4, 2012
  2. An interesting post with excellent results. I love to take off on the spur of the moment and snap happily away. Sometimes the results are quite good and other times not so good, but I get so much enjoyment out of the experience. I’m glad you enjoyed your day. Thank you for sharing it. It’s nice to get to know our fellow bloggers in this way. Bless you.

    September 30, 2012
    • I am starting to really enjoy going to places I”ve never been before. It gives so many new opportunities and as you said, sometimes good, sometimes not so good. Thanks Lizzie Joy.

      October 4, 2012
  3. I like the moody sky. 🙂 And something different to see a big wheel under construction. 🙂

    September 30, 2012
    • Thanks Zelmare, 🙂 we are worried that it will look like that forever. When it was open it was only open for 41 days, not great. 🙂

      October 4, 2012
  4. I love to go Adventuring…my kids do, too…
    Really liking the photos of the Wheel. I hear NYC is getting one. THAT will look strange

    September 30, 2012
    • I never used to like it, but I am really starting to enjoy it now. I like finding new things to photograph.
      They seem to be cropping up everywhere, all over the world now.

      October 4, 2012
  5. Nice photos Leanne – they put my Docklands photos to shame! It is such a lovely place to visit, and so quiet too.

    September 30, 2012
    • Thank you William are you in Melbourne? I don’t know about that, it was a bit of luck. I think the good sky helped a lot. I was surprised at how quiet it was. I really want to go back, but I want to go early in the morning.

      October 4, 2012
  6. Nice shots of a scary wheel. Sounds like the heat was the scapegoat for engineering gone wrong. Just a guess. I hope nobody was hurt when the collapse happened.

    September 30, 2012
    • I think you might be right about that. I can’t believe the steel wasn’t good enough, perhaps cheap steal that wasn’t up to scratch. I don’t think so, I don’t remember hearing anything. Thanks John

      October 4, 2012
  7. Great shots, Leanne…and the clouds really ADD to all three images, especially the wheel shots. The steel was more than likely Chines-made…they do not seem to have the proper formulae; I’ve noticed this so many times.over the past 25 years or so. Hope no one was injured, and I doubt the heat was that extreme.

    Our own wheel here, at Navy Pier in Chicago, is quite old, and has survived many heat/cold extremes as it is built on a pier out over the lake. Even the highest winds off Lake Michigan have never done destruction such as I see in your shots.

    Hope you can spend the day enjoying Spring!

    September 30, 2012
    • I thought it had happened because of the extreme heat that we had a one particular day, we did have a record breaking hot day that year, the 7th of February, that was also the day now known as Black Saturday, where we also had the worst bushfires ever, but apparently it happened before that. I have no idea where the steel came from, but it was obviously not designed for the Australian heat.

      I think the destruction you see is where it was taken apart and the steel is being replaced. This wheel will be the same sort of thing as the London eye, with little cabin like things to travel in. Who knows when it will be finished.

      Thanks 1000, I’m up at my mums place and it is hot, it is too early for this heat, I don’t like it.

      October 4, 2012
      • We also had a very warm Spring here in Chicago, with temps in the 80s (Fahrenheit) in March!

        October 4, 2012
      • I need to work out an easy way of converting fahrenheight to celsius and Vice versa it has been around 34 degrees celsius here

        October 4, 2012
      • Found one for my phone so around 93

        October 4, 2012
      • That seems correct…and very hot, too hot, as Spring is just a bit over a month old…drink plenty of water, OK?

        October 4, 2012
  8. Wonderful shots, so vivid with the clouds behind there.

    October 1, 2012
    • Thank you Vibeke, I was so happy with those clouds.

      October 4, 2012
  9. They are building one of those ferris wheels in Las Vegas right now. Hope they’ve learned their lesson and will use steel that can withstand our summer heat than can run upwards of 115 degrees. And those skies you were lucky enough to capture really make the shots. Very dramatic!

    October 1, 2012
    • I am sure they will do a better job with that one, We were all shocked that it happened here. Too weird. The heat is the same here. I think almost 47 degrees celcius is our record. Though with the way the climate is going, they reckon it will get even hotter here, and I imagine it will be the same there.
      The skies were brilliant, it was great to have them.
      Thanks Paul.

      October 4, 2012
  10. Love that second picture! It’s great that your girls didn’t mind your camera work. Where we live it’s very rural, which suits my nature-loving personality very well. I take my camera with me almost all the time (and often regret it deeply if I forget), and my husband is so patient about all the random pull-overs and stops we make.

    October 1, 2012
    • I have to confess the girls only tolerate the camera and they so because when I am with them they get more stuff. I love the urban and haven’t had a lot of luck with rural, but I am trying to change that. Thanks Heather.

      October 4, 2012
  11. For not being able to get too close, those ferris wheel shots seem to be very close. Excellent shots.

    October 1, 2012
    • Because it is a construction zone, it had a barrier all the way around it, so I was restricted by that. Maybe once the wheel is finished and the barriers are removed I may be able to get even closer. Thanks David.

      October 4, 2012
  12. How lovely that your girls are thoughtful enough to remind you to bring your camera. They are obviously proud of what you do.

    October 1, 2012
    • I wish it was, but seriously all they cared about was whether or not I had my purse and credit cards. Haha, but then again, while I had those with me they were willing to put up with me taking photos. Thanks.

      October 4, 2012
  13. Great pictures! I love spur-of-the-moment too!

    It is too bad about the ferris wheel… I bet the view is amazing!

    I love the sky in all of these… it really sets the mood and makes for great images. What are the two tall columns for, on the bridge? I don’t see cables on them.

    October 1, 2012
    • Thanks Veronica, I am starting to like them as well.
      I think the ferris wheel view would be amazing, though I have no idea how long it will be before we find out.
      I think the sky really made the images, it really added some drame. The two columns on the bridge, just decoration I think. They have lights that flash on them at night. No real use though.

      October 4, 2012
      • Definitely! I think if the sky had been anything else, the images wouldn’t have been nearly as dramatic. Your timing was perfect!

        October 4, 2012
      • I think it was more luck, so I was feeling very lucky.

        October 4, 2012
  14. Gabriel | 加百利 #

    awesome shots and a lovely share!

    October 1, 2012
  15. I love the subtle colours, esp the last image. It’s almost black and white but as if a tinge of primary colour has seeped through. The “break in the wheel” is understated terrifying…

    October 5, 2012
    • Thank you EllaDee, I really like the way you have described the image, and the break is a bit scary.

      October 9, 2012
  16. That sounds like a fun day! That looks amazing! Great shots of it

    October 12, 2012
    • Thanks Amanda, it was a great day. 🙂

      October 13, 2012

Comments are closed.

