Skip to content

Final Curtain for One As Another Prepares to Raise It

Summer of the Seventeenth Dolls has finished, and as I went down for the first rehearsal of Arsenic and Old Lace at Heidelberg Theatre Company I couldn’t help seeing the remnants of the previous play.

The de-constructed set is strewn all around the edges of the stage as the new cast start taking over and making the stage their own.  The furniture from the old play will be used for rehearsals as new furniture is found for the play.

Chalk on the walls is still there from the backstage crew so everyone would know where everything was.  I suspect what is written there was an in joke between cast and crew.  It will be washed off and there will be almost no trace of that play.

A new set will be built that will look something like that.  I was told by the director, Bruce Akers, that there is another revised edition, but I think it will look similar to this.  The new set will be built and it will devour the stage.

As the cast rehearse, learn their lines, learn their moves, the stage will belong to them.

The books will be put down eventually.

The moments of intimacy between characters won’t feel so strange and as the actors take on their roles, emotions, moves and expressions will start to feel more natural.

Throughout the whole process Bruce (director on the left above) will guide the actors through the whole process.  It will be his responsibility to make sure that the play is a huge success.

This sort of scene will happen almost every night.  The director will give notes and help the actors to be their characters.

Arsenic and Old Lace has started rehearsing at Heidelberg Theatre Company and as a few of you have asked, I am going to be following it.  I hope you enjoy the process once again.

I will be back next week, and I will learn everyone’s names and will introduce the cast to you.

I’m still in the Mallee, and spent some time today out photographing some places I’ve never been to before.  That was nice.  I haven’t looked at them yet.

24 Comments
  1. It was great watching that from beginning to end

    October 3, 2012
    • Thank you Alastair, glad you enjoyed it, I hope you enjoy it this time as well.

      October 7, 2012
  2. Christa #

    I used to manage Broadway shows so these photos bring back a lot of great memories!

    October 3, 2012
    • Wow, that must have been interesting. I am glad you are enjoying the images Christa. Thanks.

      October 7, 2012
  3. I really like following along with the plays Leanne, thank you for your efforts! Always like seeing you in my inbox. 🙂

    October 3, 2012
    • Thank you so much John, I worry that people might get bored, but it is good to know that you are enjoying the images.

      October 7, 2012
  4. Pat #

    It’s neat to see all the busy-ness that goes on in transition from one production to another.

    October 3, 2012
    • Thank you Pat, it can be interesting, it will be interesting to see it taking over completely from the previous one.

      October 7, 2012
  5. Best of luck to all of them! Most small companies do Old Standby plays and musicals to get the box-office numbers up, and maybe snag a few new regular customers in the process. It can be hard for actors and directors to make a well-known play their own, though…
    Hope you’re having a great time, and can’t wait to see what you bring back!

    October 4, 2012
    • Heidelberg is celebrating 60 years this year, so they decided to do 5 plays that had been very popular in the past. It has been a great success for them. Yes, it is great for me as well, I get to meet a whole new group of people, and I get to catch up with some that I haven’t seen in a while.

      October 7, 2012
  6. Yes! I love your play posts – you’re so good at capturing these people. Really looking forward to the next installment.

    October 4, 2012
    • That is good to hear Richard. Thank you, I am glad you like what I capture, it is a great experience, and I think following the play from start to finish means you get better at doing that.

      October 7, 2012
  7. How nice it is to see a play come to life. 🙂

    October 4, 2012
    • I hope you enjoy it Imelda, it can be quite interesting.

      October 7, 2012
  8. Looks to be a larger cast, Leanne, giving you the great opportunity to take even more photos (Yay!). Hope your time in the Mallee is gratifying, both photographically and personally…even if the weather seems to be hot as Hades!

    October 5, 2012
    • Yes, it is a little larger, so yes more opportunities. I am trying to decide when to go next. Thank you, the trip worked out okay, it was different to what I was expecting.

      October 7, 2012
  9. I like these images and posts, as it is something I would otherwise not get to see… although as one of my of my ideas about what to do with myself when I work less, I have had a passing thought about becoming involved in amateur theatre… we’ll see 🙂

    October 6, 2012
    • Be careful getting involved and take it slowly. It can be very rewarding, but it can also be horrible. I think if you have a definite idea of what you want, then it can be wonderful. I often see people wonder in, and they are so willing and they get so used up, then they leave within a couple of years. If you do it, I hope you enjoy it. I hope you enjoy the photos from this play.

      October 7, 2012
  10. So exciting!!! 😀

    October 12, 2012
    • It is, weird, one finishes and it is straight into another one. Thanks Amanda 🙂

      October 13, 2012
  11. You just have an amazing blog, you very talented person you
    🙂

    November 20, 2012
    • Thank you, that is so kind of you to say. 🙂

      November 21, 2012

Comments are closed.

