Skip to content

Adrift on the Dunes

Last time I was up here I wanted to photograph some sand dunes I had heard about, do you remember.  We went to Patchewollock, and drove out the road we thought they were on, but couldn’t find them anywhere.  It turns out, we didn’t go far enough.

We went to the Pine Lodge up there, (at some point will give details on their place) and was given directions to Snowdrift, which is what we were looking for.  This is at the bottom.  I did have visions of doing some sunset shots from the top, but in the end decided today to just find it.  It got very cloudy as we were driving out there, and in the end, I wasn’t too concerned about the lack of a sunset.  These clouds were so cool, I loved them and I tried to make the most of them.  After being there, I’m not sure sunset shots would work the way I hoped, so I’m not disappointed.

This was taken at the top of Snowdrift.  It was a really hard climb and not one for the unfit (me) or the sick and dying.  Once we got to the top we could see for miles.  I liked the tree stump and those amazing clouds, so I took this one really low.  Took me a few shots to get it.

I also took a series of images going all the way around, and will attempt to put those together for you at some point.  I was so happy with how these and some others turned out.

I am going back home tomorrow.  I am looking forward to that, and I am looking forward to spending more time on my photos from the last few days, and catching up on blogs.  I am so behind on blogs, and comments.  I am going to be very busy the next few days.

51 Comments
  1. To be honest I,m rather pleased you didn’t get the sunny day you were hoping for.Finding it rather refressing to see these dunes on a stormy day instead, and can imagine it must have been great watching those clouds rolling over them..:-)

    October 5, 2012
    • Thank you coast72, I must admit I loved seeing your comment, I was a bit worried what people would think. I was actually really happy as well with the clouds. Though if I turned another way they were not so good, so getting this was fantastic.

      October 8, 2012
  2. Great sky. Well captured 🙂

    October 5, 2012
    • Thank you EllaDee, it was a great find.

      October 8, 2012
  3. Amazing shot with the clouds – the gods were smiling on you!

    October 5, 2012
    • They certainly were, I was disappointed on the way there, but when we got there and I saw those clouds, I was very happy, thank you.

      October 8, 2012
  4. Pat #

    Gorgeous skies. They add a bit of drama to the pictures.

    October 5, 2012
    • Thank you Pat, I thought that as well.

      October 8, 2012
  5. Gracie #

    Oh my, the sky on these photos are amazing!

    October 5, 2012
    • Thank you Gracie, glad you like it.

      October 8, 2012
  6. i love these pics … its a shame your email address has to be written across them.. i assume its necessary to stop others hijacking your work but it detracts from the photos

    October 5, 2012
    • I try to make is less distracting, but the problem is if I make it any less distracting then it isn’t worth having. It is an unfortunate thing, but watermarks are necessary. Great to hear you like them, thanks.

      October 8, 2012
  7. I like these shots. Dramatic skies.

    October 6, 2012
    • Thank you Cardinal, that is great to hear.

      October 8, 2012
  8. Wonder why there’s a dune out there. Geology, love it! Great photos!!

    October 6, 2012
    • I know, we wondered the same thing, it is so weird, just there on it’s own. Thank you.

      October 8, 2012
  9. Oh, Leanne, these are stunningly breathtaking! Those clouds were such a wonderful gift for you and your lens, weren’t they? And…the monochromatic look seems perfect for such an amazing place–have never seen anything like it here, ; there are many dunes along Lake Michigan. Waiting, patiently, for more!

    October 6, 2012
    • Oh yes, they certainly were a gift 1000. These ones are so weird, it sits there and there are no more. If you climb to the top then you can see for miles, but you don’t see more sand dunes. I found it really strange. I really want to go back and do some more exploring.

      October 8, 2012
      • Another Thousand Words #

        I just love strange clouds!

        October 9, 2012
      • Me too.

        October 9, 2012
  10. what a great shot! very dramatic skies…
    2 thumbs up!

    regards,
    Mel

    October 6, 2012
  11. Great job. I love the way the sky and shore seems to pull the eyes to their junction. Lovely clouds and great colors…

    October 6, 2012
    • Thanks Keli, you probably can’t tell from these photos, but it isn’t the shore. This sand dune is in the middle of no where and there is no water around it at all. It is so weird. The clouds were great, thank you so much.

      October 8, 2012
  12. These are stunning! ~ Lynda

    October 6, 2012
  13. Love these, Leanne – there’s something unmistakably Australian about them.

    October 6, 2012
    • I hadn’t thought about that Richard, I suppose they are, thank you.

      October 8, 2012
  14. A very nice reward for a difficult hike.

    October 6, 2012
    • Thanks David, yes, definitely a great reward.

      October 8, 2012
  15. What a great place! I think dunes are very hard to walk up. I about died doing it once, and I wasn’t ancient either. Clouds are spectacular. Love the coloring. 🙂

    October 6, 2012
    • I hear you, I almost died as well. Thank you Marsha, good to see you here and not in spam.

      October 8, 2012
      • Yeah! and I notice that you saw my post Ligo Circle of Appreciation, so I won’t inform you with another comment. I really do appreciate how you visit so many bloggers because that is quite an encouragement to all of us. 🙂 (Not to mention you have a great blog!)

        October 8, 2012
      • Thank you Marsha, and thanks for it.
        I don’t know what to do with them anymore. I get nominated quite a bit and I haven’t done anything with any of them, I can’t remember everyone who has given me one and if I acknowledge them now, I know some people will get upset because I didn’t mention them. I hate leaving people out. So now I just say thank you, and congratulate them and leave it at that. Does that sound like a cop out?

        October 9, 2012
  16. Leanne, I love this place – and the sky and clouds are so amazing!

    October 7, 2012
    • Thank you Truels, it is an amazing place, I think the sky and the clouds really made the image.

      October 8, 2012
  17. These are not average sand dune photos! The ambiance is powerful. And, the surreal feel is really striking in the composition of the second one. Trade sunshine for these clouds any day! 🙂 Successful trip, Leanne. 🙂

    October 7, 2012
    • Thank you George, I think you are absolutely right, I was extremely lucky. Even luckier still because I almost didn’t go. My daughter wanted to go for a road trip, so we went.

      October 8, 2012
  18. Beautiful!!

    October 7, 2012
  19. Great skies Leanne

    October 9, 2012
    • I think the sky made the day, thanks Mark.

      October 9, 2012
  20. Beautiful

    October 9, 2012
    • Thank you simplycontemplating

      October 9, 2012
  21. Great clouds!

    October 16, 2012
    • They made the shot I believe, thanks. 🙂

      October 17, 2012
  22. really nice shot…and love your posts ..you are an amazing photographer Leanne…very talented…I am enjoying your blog 🙂

    April 12, 2013
  23. Beautiful shots Leanne – don’t underestimate your landscape abilities!

    February 1, 2014
    • Oh thank you Robert, I must admit I did enjoy doing these shots, I especially like the ones where you can see for a long way, and there is just one tree.

      February 1, 2014

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Weekend Wanderings – National Parks Lighting Up | Leanne Cole PHOTOGRAPHY

Comments are closed.

