Skip to content

Sheeps Day Out

On Wednesday I met up with Marianne from the Wimmera Mallee Tourism Association.  She told me a sheep sale was on and would I like to go and take some photos.  It was something different, so why notThe sheep sale was on in Warracknabeal.  It was an interesting process.   They go from lot to lot and people bid on the sheep per head.  I was so surprised at the speed of it.  It all happens so fast.  It was so hot and dusty.  I think they are going to be in for a hot summer up there.

The sheep were looking very happy, no idea of course what is going to happen to them.  I got some photos of them going up different sections as well.  I will show them another day.

I am home now and my blog will resume following its usual schedule as of Monday.  I will continue showing photos from the Mallee, but will only do it once a week from now on, unless I find other days I have nothing to show.  This way my stock will last a lot longer.

I don’t know if this is going to work, but I hope if you press on the above, you will get a much bigger image and will be able to see the full 360 view that you could see from the top of the sand dune that I showed you yesterday.  You might need to click on the size of the image to get another view.  I should have made it bigger, sorry.  I just put it together quickly so you could see view from up there and how strange it was.  It was a long drive home.

It is nice to be back and I am slowly going through all the photos I have taken.  I can really edit them now.  I will catch up on all your comments over the next day or so.

 

33 Comments
  1. AiM #

    Different world! I can’t wait to move up to Emerald next year.

    October 6, 2012
    • It is so nice up near Emerald, the countryside all around there, it would be wonderful to live there as well, I must take another trip up there one day. I hope you love it AiM.

      October 9, 2012
  2. Paul #

    Warracknabeal was my first teaching post, and I was there for three years, Leanne. Lots of red ants crawling over red dust— my first image of the place on my arrival! Have you been to Wyperfeld National Park (I don’t recall, sorry) or, quite a bit further south, Mt Arapiles?
    Paul

    October 6, 2012
    • I have been to Wyperfield National Park, I went there for a day trip when I was child and we were living at Birchip, not much recently. I did go there this time, the sand dunes are there. I want to explore it more, but I think I need a 4WD, all the sand is scary. I haven’t heard of Mt Arapiles, you have peaked my interest, I will have to go and find out more now. Thanks Paul. I hope you are enjoying your break.

      October 9, 2012
  3. Glad you’re home!
    The sheep sale must have been something… 🙂

    October 6, 2012
    • Thanks Marie, I keep thinking of things I wish I had taken photos of, haha. Next time.
      The sheep sale was strange, it was all happening so fast, and then they seemed to be communicating in a different language. Very weird. 🙂

      October 9, 2012
  4. Love the photos. How did the sand dune come to be where it is? Thanks for visiting my site too 🙂

    October 6, 2012
    • Thanks John, I have no idea how the sand dune got there, it really is a mystery. They are quite strange. I imagine the wind, perhaps something underneath caught a lot of sand in a dust storm. I’m just guessing.

      October 9, 2012
  5. I may not reply on every post, but I want you to know I continue to follow and so love how your blog is evolving! It helps keep life in perspective, there is so much more to our world than what we see outside our own doors!

    October 6, 2012
    • Thank you Bonnie, I am so glad to hear from you and I understand how hard it is to always comment, I am glad you like where the blog is going, I am really happy with it, though sometimes I worry that I have created a monster and if I will be able to keep it up, but I am learning a lot and it makes me keep learning, so I love that. Thank you for the catch up.

      October 9, 2012
  6. How interesting to be at the sheep sale. Would love to see more photos of it.

    October 6, 2012
    • It was interesting, I will have to show some more one day. I got some great images of the sheep, haha, thanks Colline.

      October 9, 2012
      • Colline #

        Look forward to it 🙂

        October 9, 2012
  7. Livestock sales can go real fast, especially when ranchers are rebuilding their stock. Other times, it can be awfully slow.

    That’s a nice 360-degree panorama.

    October 7, 2012
    • Yes, they can be fast, this one was, they just went from yard to yard and there was no mucking around.
      Thanks David, it was a bit rough, but gives you an idea of what it was like.

      October 9, 2012
  8. Yes, very interesting shot. It’s about forty years since I was at a livestock sale.

    October 7, 2012
    • Pretty much the same for me I think. They are interesting, the dirt, the noise, the sights. We weren’t there long, but it was great for photos. Thanks Richard.

      October 9, 2012
  9. your country is beautiful, it must be a joy to photograph…

    October 7, 2012
    • It is lovely, scary and fascinating. It is so big, and I want to photograph it all, but I am stuck at home right now, one day soon. I want to start taking small trips, that will be great fun. Thanks

      October 9, 2012
  10. The sheep sale photo is such an iconic Australian image. The livestock sales are an interesting place to visit. I had a job when I left school where from time to time, I’d have to work at the sales. I like the panorama. Very clever 🙂

    October 7, 2012
    • Yes, I suppose it is, I hadn’t thought of it like that. I really wanted one where there was engagement by the people, I thought the hands up helped that. I did take some close ups but I haven’t put them on my computer yet, I forgot about them. Must do that.
      That would have been interesting, working in a sale yard, I must admit I haven’t been to many. I saw some McLeod’s Daughters and wanted to photograph them, though it was nothing like what was on the show.
      The panorama, very roughly put together, but I hope you get an idea of what it was like, Thanks EllaDee.

      October 9, 2012
  11. sedge808 #

    So Oz.

    October 7, 2012
  12. miss your works, L! x

    October 7, 2012
    • Oh, thank you, what a lovely thing to say.

      October 9, 2012
  13. Sort of what my world is about now – only cattle instead of sheep! Dust and heat and animals… 🙂

    October 8, 2012
    • Yes, you have been putting up some great images, I love seeing them. Lots of dust, heat, animals and the ever present flies. Thanks Zelmare. 🙂

      October 9, 2012
  14. Love the monochromatic look of ‘the panorama’, Leanne. Now…get editing more! (Haha!)

    October 9, 2012
    • I’m saluting haha, That is what the country up there is like, not much colour. I did take some photos of lot of dead trees, but I haven’t edited them yet, they are on the list. Thanks 1000.

      October 9, 2012
  15. Images of sheep are always appreciated. Wish I could have been there to watch the action. D

    October 10, 2012
    • That’s good to hear. It was quite good and really interesting to see it all happening, thank you. 🙂

      October 11, 2012
  16. Wow that was cool 🙂

    October 16, 2012
    • A very common site in the country, thanks Amanda. 🙂

      October 17, 2012

Comments are closed.

