Skip to content

Day Tripping to Warracknabeal

As I stated yesterday, on Wednesday I met up with Marianne from the Wimmera Mallee Tourism Association.  We met in Warracknabeal, a place I had never been to before.  It took me almost an hour and a half to get there from Woomelang, but there were some interesting places along the way, and some places I knew I would have to stop off at on the way back.  I let Marianne decide what she would like photographed, and so I today, my photos are really for Marianne.

This is a statue that is in the middle of an intersection.  This is in the middle of a round-a-bout in the main street.  The building behind is no longer used as the council offices, but it has a distinct feel of being that.  I only needed one guess.  The statue is a dog atop a number of bags of wheat, one of the main crops grown in the area.

Marianne asked me to take some photos in the caravan park.  It isn’t a very pretty park, the facilities, I mean, but it is set in a very idyllic place.  It is right by the Yarriambiack Creek.

 The water looks great.  I would assume you can swim in it, I don’t know.

This is also the Yarriambiack Creek.  I couldn’t believe they call this a creek.  It looks more like a river to me or a lake.

This is a walking bridge over the creek.  The water looks so lovely, I just wanted to jump in.  It was hot the day I was here, I think I said yesterday, it was around 34 degrees, or 93 for those not using metric.  It was nice beside the creek.

This is where a lot of people go water skiing in the summer.  There are barbecues here, and would be a great place to spend the day in summer.

This was in another park.  It was a funny park.  It had this lovely bridge and a couple of places to sit, but not much else.  It was shame, it was a lovely spot.

There is the bridge crossing the Yarriambiack Creek.  It is much smaller here.  This park is across from the Caravan Park.  The water was so still, I loved the reflections in the water.

There are some of the photos that I took in Warracknabeal.  I didn’t realise how many I took.  I have so many to show you all.  It is going to take ages to show them all.  I hope they aren’t too pedestrian for you.

Question

I need a new camera bag.  I am looking for suggestions.  I have quite a bit of gear, and I want something that will fit most of it.  I did have a Lowepro, actually I still do, but I have outgrown it, and it is starting to fall apart.  I must say it is no wonder it is falling apart, I have had it for many many years.  Poor thing, it gets used a lot.  So I would love to hear what sort of bags you use.  I know I want a backpack, and I want it to have somewhere for a water bottle.

 

67 Comments
  1. A have for my litte ixus a patchworkbag – you can see those bags on dawanda. My big canon I have the most time in my hand- or bagpag. The bag I use just depends on the city tour or hiking. I haven’t a special bag for my camera.

    October 7, 2012
    • Thanks Susanne, I need something really robust, I have quite a bit of gear that I take out with me. I need a proper camera bag, but thank you for your thoughts on this. I must say the patchworkbag sounds interesting, would love to see a photo of it. 🙂

      October 9, 2012
  2. Such beautiful photographs, its wonderful to admire them 🙂

    October 7, 2012
    • Thank you so much squnches 🙂

      October 9, 2012
  3. More lovely photos Leanne. That water does look tempting.

    October 7, 2012
    • It certainly was on this day, it was hot. I wanted to jump in. Haha, thanks Carol.

      October 9, 2012
  4. What wonderful photos… lovely as usual…

    October 7, 2012
    • Thanks Rob, glad you like them.

      October 9, 2012
  5. I use a Lowepro if using big lenses but for my 4 days in Cambodia I put an M9 body, 4 lenses, an X100 and usual junk (cards, batteries etc) in a small Domke bag. It has the advantage it doesn’t look like a camera bag. If I’m using a tripod it’s usually strapped to a Lowepro.

    October 7, 2012
    • Do you know which Lowepro bag it is? I haven’t heard of Domke. I have a Lowepro now, the mini trekker, but it is a little small now. Also, no way of attaching tripod or holding a water bottle. Thanks Andrew.

      October 9, 2012
      • Andrew #

        My biggest LP simply says Photo Trekker on it. It is very old. The newer one is the Pro Runner AW 450. The Domke is the F6. I do like the Pro Runner. Very versatile and can attach securely my tripod. It has a waterproof cover that goes over it and can be tucked away when not in use.

        October 9, 2012
      • Thanks Andrew, I will take a look and see what I think.

        October 9, 2012
  6. Stephanie #

    Love the bridge and the reflection

    October 7, 2012
    • Thanks Stephanie, I like that one as well.

      October 9, 2012
  7. Beautiful photographs. Bridge’s photo with shadow was great. Good one..

    October 7, 2012
    • I love bridges, they can be so interesting, thanks Rexlin.

      October 9, 2012
  8. Ed #

    Excellent shots! As for camera bags I have 2 I have Tamrac Expedition8 for storage and I use my Tamrac Velocity 10x for the field, this is a fantastic bag with tons of space for my big lenses and an extra camera body and lots of small places to store extra goodies. The best thing about the Velocity is you can swing it from your back to the front for quick access to your gear, any Q’s just ask..:-)

    October 7, 2012
    • Thanks Ed, I haven’t heard of Tamrac, I will have to look them up. It is such a hard decision. Do you know a web address for them?

      October 9, 2012
  9. Thanks for enlarging my world. Encountering these place names for the first time is enchanting, but the photos give them body (not at all what I would have imagined). Now, for that barbecue?

    October 7, 2012
    • Thank you so much Jnana, I hope you have been enjoying the journey. The names are something, they can be so strange.

      October 9, 2012
  10. Lovely photos, the water is so beautiful.

    October 7, 2012
    • Thank you Aine, I think it was great because even though it was hot the water was so still.

      October 9, 2012
  11. Love the bridge over not so troubled waters 😀

    October 7, 2012
    • Definitely no troubled water, thank you Patricia, 🙂

      October 9, 2012
  12. Pat #

    The trees along the creek are so lovely.

    October 7, 2012
    • Thank you Pat, they are so nice. I love how they are reflected in the water.

      October 9, 2012
  13. Love the way you were able to bring out the drama of the shadows and trees especially in the wooden walkway over the water, beautiful.

    October 7, 2012
    • Thank you Pamela, that is great to hear.

      October 9, 2012
  14. Check out the Kata line …kkeith

    October 8, 2012
    • thanks kdkeith, I’ve sent them an inquiry telling them what I want, but I haven’t heard anything back.

      October 9, 2012
  15. saymber #

    I’ve used a back pack a time or two lol. I have had very compartmentalized bags before when I was in Europe and did a lot of traveling but with a point and shoot…just a little camera case now. I would say just think about your typical outing and what you use everytime and then find a bag that those things fit in best and are most accessible. Not much help on names for you.

    October 8, 2012
    • Thank you saymber, I know sort of what I want, just something a little bigger than what I have, and something that is new. Mine is too old and falling apart.

      October 9, 2012
  16. The first shot of the bridge is excellent, thanks for sharing your adventures.

    October 8, 2012
    • Thank you Ed, I was really happy with how that came out. Thanks for reading and looking at my adventures Ed.

      October 9, 2012
  17. Nice shots. How do folks water ski on the crick? Must be rather shallow? Can’t help you on the bag choice, all I use is a tiny little bag that holds the camera and the battery charger. I do have a bit larger bag though, it’s very simple with few extra storage pockets. The bags are not cheap either are they…

    October 8, 2012
    • I think it is probably a couple of metres deep, would have to be deep enough for the boats. I am surprised that people would, mustn’t be much room on it. Thanks for trying about the bag, it is tough, and you are right they are not cheap.

      October 9, 2012
  18. What nice parks. Beautiful reflections on the water.

    October 8, 2012
    • It is great how they create them and maintain them, thank you.

      October 9, 2012
  19. I’m no help with the camera bag…Hubby has bought 2 in the last year, and isn’t crazy about either of them. Mine’s a Nikon P500, so no lenses to change…
    I love the water photos today. Funny about calling that a ‘creek’ – when I lived in Florida, every body of water bigger than a rain puddle was called a ‘lake’. Up here, even the great big ones are ‘ponds’…and a tiny trickle of running water can be a ‘river’… Go figure!

    October 8, 2012
    • Thanks Marie, the camera bag thing is hard.
      I know what you mean about the water. Further down, it is dry and there is no water in it. I think it is dammed or something. It was the perfect day for photographing it.

      October 9, 2012
  20. Love how you’ve captured the water in these. Great shots. I was going to suggest Lowepro (I love mine – it’s a large-ish rucksack, with an outside net pocket for drinks containers, room for two SLRs and lenses, a compartment for a 15″ laptop, and room for my lunch!), but maybe this is not big enough?

    October 8, 2012
    • Sounds pretty good Richard, do you know which one? Sounds like it is what I need, or the next one up. Can you attach a tripod to it?
      The water was great and the sky was perfect for them. Thank you Richard.

      October 9, 2012
      • Richard Guest #

        Sadly, you can’t attach a tripod, although there is a snap down pocket you could try to tuck it under. I think the model is a Fastback 250. You probably want the next one up as you say.

        October 9, 2012
      • They have so many bags, I wrote to them to ask for help, but got nothing back. Though I would ask for a suggestion, perhaps I should try again.

        October 13, 2012
  21. I enjoyed these images of Warracknabeal. I agree, that water is a fantastic medium for reflective shots but I love the sculpture of the dog on the wheatbags best 🙂

    October 8, 2012
    • YOu are the first one to mention the dog EllaDee, it was an interesting day photographing the town. The time wasn’t ideal, but now that I know more about it, I might go back another time. Thank you EllaDee 🙂

      October 9, 2012
  22. Matt #

    Great photos! You really have an eye for photography.

    October 8, 2012
    • What a lovely thing to say Matt, thank you.

      October 9, 2012
  23. Reblogged this on Lendemain and commented:
    Such beautiful photograps its wonderful to admire them 🙂

    October 8, 2012
  24. Beautiful shots… I love bridges, trees & reflection pictures. You’ve covered all three. Thanks for sharing! 😀

    October 9, 2012
    • I certainly have, it was a great day for doing all three, thank you Keli 🙂

      October 9, 2012
  25. I’ve got a Lowepro Fastpack 250 – that’s got room for a laptop and waterbottle.

    October 9, 2012
    • Thank you Mark, I will have to check it out. Does it hold a tripod?

      October 9, 2012
  26. A very beautiful park, Leanne…and those trees are gorgeous! All the color here seems a bit subdued, which really enhances the overall contrasty look. That statue is fun…they must be really proud to produce wheat in that area! Great work, this!

    October 9, 2012
    • It is a very muted landscape up there. When I first started taking photos, I used to do it all in black and white because I couldn’t handle the brown, but I am slowly getting over that and now I make the most of it.
      I think they are very proud of the wheat in the district. It really is a crop area. Thank you 1000.

      October 9, 2012
  27. I am very fond of the Clik bags. They are built for adventuring about and are very well constructed. As someone who breaks just about everything I touch, I have yet to damage one of my Clik bags!

    October 9, 2012
    • I haven’t heard of Clik bags, do you have a web address for them Derrick, wouldn’t mind taking a look. Thanks for the information.

      October 9, 2012
  28. Michael Brooks #

    Lovely range of shots – thank you!

    October 14, 2012
    • Leanne Cole #

      Oh thank you, glad you like them Michael.

      October 14, 2012
  29. Love the perspective of the bridge.

    October 20, 2012
    • Thank you, that is good to see naomimgruer

      October 25, 2012
  30. What a fun and pretty place to go! I like the water shots the best I think 🙂

    October 20, 2012
    • Thanks Amanda, it was different, though I was only there for a couple of hours, would like to go for longer another time. 🙂

      October 25, 2012

Comments are closed.

