Skip to content

Facelifts

Where has the day gone?  Driving practice (for my daughter), appointments and rehearsals tonight, has meant not a lot of time for myself.  I had intended to do another post today for me learning.  Then I thought I didn’t have enough time.  Then I decided that I would give you an image that I had taken the day I went shopping with my daughters.

We caught the train in and got off at Southern Cross Station.  This station used to be called Spencer Street Station, but about 10 years ago they decided to give it a facelift.  They built a wavy roof over the top with windows in it.  It is quite amazing.  I wasn’t sure about it at first, but it is quite unique.

I have caught trains through this station many times, can I repeat that, many times, but I have never got off the train there before.  In fact my daughters had to show me how to get out and how to get back in.  It was a nice experience being led around by my daughters.

As I said, I had intended todays post to be about me learning something, and as I opened up Photomatix to process my image, I realised that I wanted to try some things, so I processed this image a little differently to the way I normally do.  So I did learn some stuff.  Really all I did was play with the sliders and I tried moving some in different ways to the way I normally do.

I also processed this image the way I normally do, and it was disappointing.  It was not very bright and the colours didn’t come out as much as I wanted.  I am not usually a fan of saturating the colours, but it really seemed to work for this.  The colour of the roof seemed better in the first one as well.

I think I need to start playing with this sort of thing more.  I tend to get complacent with my techniques and I don’t think that is good.  Learning is good, trying new things is good, it all leads to growth and better photographs, and that makes me very happy.

As I said before I am off to the theatre tonight, looking forward to seeing how the set is progressing and how the actors are getting along.  Hope you are looking forward to it as well.

36 Comments
  1. nettrobbens #

    I nominated your blog for the new Reality Blog Award! Congratulations! This is a “no rules Award” and you can find the details here at http://nettrobbens.com/2012/10/10/happy-dancing-reality-blog-award/. Decide what you would like to do based on time and other considerations as there are no rules.

    October 10, 2012
    • Thank you so much for the nominating, I have left you a comment.

      October 11, 2012
  2. An interesting image with all the lines and curves.

    October 10, 2012
    • Thanks Colline, it is an interesting cover for the train station.

      October 11, 2012
  3. What a cool building! I love that ceiling!
    Have fun at rehersal – can’t wait to see the pics tomorrow (or the next day…)

    October 10, 2012
    • Thanks Marie, it is pretty cool.
      Rehearsals were good, hope you get a chance to see the photos.

      October 11, 2012
  4. A really nice roof, contours are good!

    October 10, 2012
    • Thank John, it is rather amazing.

      October 11, 2012
  5. You have beautiful photos on here. I love the mix of urban and wilderness settings.

    October 11, 2012
    • Oh, thank you, what a lovely thing to say, glad you like what you see.

      October 11, 2012
  6. A very unusual roof.

    October 11, 2012
    • It is indeed David, thank you.

      October 11, 2012
  7. Excellent processing for an interesting architecture, Leanne! I love the photo.

    October 11, 2012
    • It was an interesting process for me, I learned a lot from it, and of course having an outcome that people love is even better, thank you Gracie.

      October 11, 2012
  8. Richert Manjarres #

    Wonderful lines and curves on the ceiling. Great image. Sounds like excellent bonding time, as well. 🙂

    October 11, 2012
    • Thank you Richert, it certainly was, on all counts.

      October 11, 2012
  9. Umm that is awesome architecture!! I like the train station.

    October 11, 2012
    • It is one of our main train stations, so it seems appropriate for it to be special, and it certainly is, thank you.

      October 11, 2012
  10. Love the colours in the top image, Leanne. Yes, looking forward to the theatre…

    October 11, 2012
    • Thank you Richard, that is great to hear. I hope you enjoy todays post then.

      October 11, 2012
  11. Fantastic ‘facelift’, Leanne…what a gorgeous, welcoming station! Really love the ‘pumped up’ saturation here…it does make this image ‘read’ well, more like a painting, as the eyes is drawn around to the varying colors and tones. Quite a success, I feel, so…Kudos!

    October 11, 2012
    • I was really happy with the pumped up colour as well, it really helps with this one I think. I love what you have said about it as well. Thank you so much 1000

      October 11, 2012
      • Another Thousand Words #

        As always, you are very welcome…I am so very happy I found your site, and all that it offers!

        October 12, 2012
  12. Southern Cross station is particularly difficult to capture properly, but you did it well.

    October 11, 2012
    • What a lovely thing to say Mirella, thank you so much.

      October 11, 2012
  13. Great organic effect, I felt like I was looking at the inside of a giant arthropod 🙂

    October 11, 2012
    • Very interesting comment EllaDee, I like what you said. 🙂

      October 11, 2012
  14. Leanne

    You are such a doll! You come over and “like” my posts with the photographs and I am in such awe that someone who is a professional photographer would do that! Let alone the fact that I don’t have any nifty programs to play with (seeing this post of yours makes me wish I did 😆 )!

    So, I wanted to say THANK YOU !

    KK

    October 11, 2012
    • You really don’t need to thank me, I like visiting other people and seeing what they are doing, I like to encourage others, it is one of the things I love most about WordPress is the community and how supportive it is. So thank you as well for visiting me. 🙂

      October 11, 2012
      • knowledgeknut #

        Well, thank you. But I will still get a huge kick out of seeing your gravatar on my posts!

        KK

        October 12, 2012
  15. It kinda looks like a roller coaster ride.. how unique though.

    October 12, 2012
    • It does doesn’t it, It is quite amazing. Thank you Sashi.

      October 13, 2012
      • Sashi #

        Yes it does. I wanna ride a roller coaster now, lol. X)

        You’re welcome Leanne!

        October 15, 2012
  16. Wow that’s weird looking lol

    November 3, 2012
    • Haha, it isn’t that weird, it is a very curvy roof, like the wind was blowing it.

      November 5, 2012

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Happy Dancing: Reality Blog Award « NETT ROBBENS, Writer …Aspiring Romance Author

Comments are closed.

