Skip to content

Let Me Introduce You . . .

. . . to the cast of Arsenic and Old Lace, opening at Heidelberg Theatre Company on the 22 Novemeber.  What do you think, so today, I am just going to show you images of the cast and the roles they are playing.

Abby Brewster played by Sandy Green

Martha Brewster played by Wendy Drowley

Mortimer Brewster played by Andrew Pennycuick

Teddy Brewster played by Chris Baldock

Elaine Harper played by Theodora Neeve

Jonathan Brewster played by Andrew Van de Gumster

Dr Einstein played by Alastair Rice

Officer O’Hara played by Andrew McNess

Officer Brophy played by Colm Carthy

Officer Klein played by Ryan Purdey

Mr Gibbs played by David Dodd

Right, Bruce Akers Director and David Dodds, left, Production Assistant

That is everyone I have seen so far.  There are still 3 characters that I have not seen yet.  I am sure I will see them along the way.  Last night they were rehearsing the second part of Act II.  I am starting to see why it is so popular.  I have never seen the play, but I did see the movie once.

I decided tonight to show you individual photos of the cast as they are preparing for their roles, I hope you don’t mind this.  Next time I will do more rehearsal photos.

I spent most of today trying to organise my classes for next year.  It is exciting coming up with classes for Living Learning Nillumbik in Eltham for the first semester.  I have come up with 6 workshop type classes, hopefully they will work even better than the classes this year.  I am so thrilled they want me to come back and teach more.

38 Comments
  1. Das sind klasse Portrait Fotos, die “Modelle” sind so herrlich ahnungslos, dass sie fotografiert werden.

    October 11, 2012
    • Thank you Susanne. I did translate your comment, though google translator doesn’t do it very well.
      Vielen Dank Susanne. Ich habe zu übersetzen Ihren Kommentar, obwohl Google Translator nicht tut es sehr gut.

      October 13, 2012
  2. One of those guys looks like Bill Murray!

    October 11, 2012
    • Haha, he does indeed, wouldn’t it be amazing if it was.

      October 13, 2012
  3. Great portraits, Leanne, and a good way to begin this series.

    October 11, 2012
    • Thank you Marie, it seemed a good thing to do.

      October 13, 2012
  4. Christa #

    I love these theatre photoshoots!

    October 11, 2012
    • That is great to hear Christa, I hope you enjoy the whole journey.

      October 13, 2012
  5. Stephanie #

    Wow…these are such fantastic portraits….really very very nice

    October 11, 2012
    • Pat #

      Nice portraits!

      October 11, 2012
    • Thank you Stephanie, it is great to be able to do them. I love them.

      October 13, 2012
  6. Nice neutral lighting

    October 12, 2012
    • The lighting can be terrible, especially early on, thanks Peter.

      October 13, 2012
  7. Looking forward to more rehearsal photos. And, much luck with new class. You must be a very good instructor.

    October 12, 2012
    • Thanks David, I am looking forward to the classes, I am surprised at how much I like them. I hope you enjoy the rest of the photos when I do them.

      October 13, 2012
  8. Yes, another great set of studies. Really looking forward to seeing how their characters develop.

    October 12, 2012
    • I thought you might like these, thanks Richard, it is going to be a fun ride I think.

      October 13, 2012
  9. Lovely portraits Leanne.

    October 12, 2012
  10. I’m particularly fond of the capture and processing of Officer Klein. 🙂

    October 12, 2012
    • Thank you Josy, he was showing some action.

      October 13, 2012
  11. Great intro. Are the cast & crew happy you’re there recording the process in your wonderful style?

    October 12, 2012
    • Thanks EllaDee, you know I don’t know if they are or not. They say hello, but unlike other plays I’ve worked with, they don’t really stop and you don’t get much chance to talk to anyone.

      October 13, 2012
  12. I’m excited that you got invited back to teach. That sounds like quite an honor!! Great portraits.

    October 12, 2012
    • I was too Marsha, it is great as I do more classes they get more people. I like that. I don’t get paid to teach, I am doing it voluntarily, idea being they would help me to learn how to teach. But if classes become popular I might start asking to be paid. Thanks Marsha

      October 13, 2012
      • tchistorygal #

        It sounds like you are ready. My dad taught photography as a junior college in San Diego. I think he was paid on the basis of how many people came. He even was on TV once on a talk show about his class. I wish I had the video. Keep up the good work. You do work VERY hard, it looks like to me. AND it seems that you have quite a good following.

        October 14, 2012
      • Thank you Marsha, I try to do the best I can with the blog. I do have a good following which is nice. That is wonderful about your dad. I never thought I would like teaching, but I do. I’ve been writing some online courses as well that I hope to be able to sell like a book at some stage.

        October 14, 2012
  13. I watched the film (again) recently. I hope the cast find this fun. Nice portraits as ever.

    October 12, 2012
    • I wouldn’t mind seeing it again, saw it years ago. They have been having fun so far, trying to get all those people in the stage is quite interesting. Thanks Andrew.

      October 13, 2012
  14. Lovely! Arsenic and Old Lace is one of my favourite farces. Sandy Green has a look of Joan Plowright!

    October 13, 2012
    • I think it is a favourite with a lot of people. Sandy is lovely and I think she is going to be great as Abby. Thanks.

      October 13, 2012
  15. You’ve captured a fine-looking number of people, who are cast quite well, Leanne. I so look forward to this series on A&OL…it’s fun and light, and I know theatre-goers will love it!

    October 13, 2012
    • Thanks 1000, I am enjoying it so far, and I can’t wait to see how it turns out. I hope you enjoy what they do 1000.

      October 13, 2012
      • Another Thousand Words #

        Know I will! And…wishing I could see it LIVE!

        October 14, 2012
      • I think when you see the photos, if you know the play it will be like seeing it live, I might try something different for you.

        October 14, 2012
  16. Tooo groovy!! LOVE these, brilliant, and I oh so adore that play. Brilliant! What gorgeous captures, grand!!

    October 13, 2012
    • Thank you smilingtoad, that is fantastic to hear. I hope you follow on for further rehearsals.

      October 13, 2012

Comments are closed.

