Skip to content

Mallee Sunlight

What to do today?  I decided that today I would show you some more images from the Mallee.  I went through some images, but decided to show some from the day I spent with Ted and Keith.  It was such a great day and I saw lots of things that day that I wouldn’t have seen otherwise.  This was a wetland that Keith showed us.  It was around the back of a dried up swamp.  I loved the colour of the algae growing in it.  I know you aren’t supposed to like it, it is not good, but it looks so lovely.  It is also so nice to see lots of new trees growing every where.  There has obviously been lots of rain and the trees are trying to grow back.

This was taken on the 40 acres that Keith has allowed to go back to nature.  These sheep were in paddock next door.  I tried to do some different processing with these images, doing similar things to what I did with the photos from Point Lonsdale.  I am not sure if it worked.  I do like this image of looking through the trees to the sheep.  It is interesting having the trees on either side as framing.

For those who have been following my blog for a while this image was taken around the back of the shearing shed in Woomelang.  By the time Ted and I got back to Woomelang the sun was setting.  We stopped at the shearing shed to take some photos of the sun setting.  It wasn’t a spectacular sunset, but there was some colour in it.

I loved the images from this day, and there were a few places I really hope to be able to get back to one day.

I have an interesting day today.  I had my first video chat on facebook and then on Google+.  I was talking to Carole from Keeping Up With Carol.  It was wonderful to have a face to face conversation with someone from so far away.  We chatted so I could help her with one of my tutorials.  It was really good.  Like I said I had never done that before, and it was a good way to communicate and see what she was doing.  We discovered on Google+ that she could change the video so I could see her screen and then I could see what she was doing.  I suppose that means that I could do the same, show people what I am doing on my screen.

It is cold here today, summer seems shy this year and doesn’t want to appear too soon, I hope that it a good thing.  I hope you had a new experience today.

45 Comments
  1. Great shots.

    October 16, 2012
  2. I really like the fence’s (last photo) that one is A1 to me..great lines and curves! Good work!

    October 16, 2012
    • Thanks Rick, I think that is my favourite as well.

      October 17, 2012
  3. I love the leading lines and contrast between the tall grass and metal fences in your 3rd image down. The repetition of lines and geometric shapes a visual interest to the photo accented by the orange / yellow colors in the sunset. The image has a timeless quality to it.

    October 16, 2012
    • I am not very good at describing images, you do it really well. Love you description of the third image. I really like that one as well. Thank you so much for that.

      October 17, 2012
  4. Really liked the last image … of the sunset. Joanna has always remarked about the clarity of air and atmosphere in the southern hemisphere. She said that skies and landscapes were always so brilliant. Keep ’em coming! Congratulations on your online video chat! Have you ever tried Skype? That’s what Joanna uses to communicate with our girls and she likes it very much. D … PS: Thanks for your attentions at Pairodox – comments from a real (and talented) photographer are quiet specal.

    October 16, 2012
    • Oops … I meant … quite special … not ‘quiet.’ Sorry.

      October 16, 2012
      • I had never thought of that, I live here, so I see it all the time, and i haven’t done much travelling. I know we have big skies, I think that is because it is flat here, most of it is. I will do what I can Dave. I have done Skype once, but don’t know a lot about it. You don’t need to thank me for the attention, I believe in supporting those that support me.
        Thank you for you support of my blog.

        October 17, 2012
  5. Love these images! Farm – like, and that’s close to my heart! 🙂

    October 16, 2012
    • Yes, very rural Australia, glad you like them Zelmare, and I can understand why. 🙂 Thank you.

      October 17, 2012
  6. I have enjoyed your pictures but I don’t really like your “nature” pictures as much as your other pictures: buildings, bridges, people… Not quite sure why. The picture with the sheep was the most effective in this post.

    In Adelaide we are expecting some warm days at the end of the week, so Melbourne will probably feel a bit more like summer soon. 🙂

    October 16, 2012
    • Helen, I know exactly what you are talking about. I am not usually a big fan of “nature” images myself, you don’t have to worry, my site won’t be overtaken by them.
      Yes, we usually get the same weather as Adelaide. Mind you, I don’t mind the cooler weather, I hate the heat of summer. It is so tiring. Thank you. 🙂

      October 17, 2012
  7. Wonderful photos in this post (as in so many of your posts). I especially loved the last one. Subtle sunset colors with the mix of fences in the foreground. Thanks for “liking” my photos so frequently. I’m especially grateful for your likes because of the kind of skill you have as a photographer.

    I’m also really curious about your video chat experience using Google +. I’m going to look into it.

    October 16, 2012
    • Thank you Carla, I think that one is turning out to be the most popular. There is no need to thank me for the likes.
      Google+ video was great, we had a little trouble to start with, but we sorted it out.

      October 17, 2012
      • Hi Leanne,
        I’ve also just read your post on photographing graffiti and found it such an interesting discussion. I’ve often reflected on the difference between documenting someone else’s art and creating our own art. And then there’s the whole question of when is photography art? Which is one that I continually explore and bring people into conversation about.

        I never have enough time to write about these things, though, so I appreciate your exploring these issues on your blog. Thank you!

        October 17, 2012
      • I have that conversation as well, when is it just an image, and when does it become art, and how do you decide if it is art or just a photograph of something your saw. They are very interesting points.

        October 17, 2012
  8. Loved the photos and the post.. thanks…

    October 16, 2012
    • Pat #

      Beautiful rural images. I really like the last one, with the haphazard fence line and the colors of sunset in the sky.

      October 16, 2012
      • Thank you Pat, I really like that one as well.

        October 17, 2012
    • Thank you Rob.

      October 17, 2012
  9. These are stunningly processed, Leanne..you’ve taken a wonderful-looking countryside and made it even more beautiful! Love the chiaroscuro effects, which totally draw the eye into and around the images. Your ‘great’ days truly are GREAT!

    October 17, 2012
    • Thank you so very much 1000, they are really lovely words. I hope this means you like where my processing is going.

      October 17, 2012
  10. The last shot is just wonderful…the dry grass and the rusty gate, the orange sunset and silhouetted trees…Love it!

    October 17, 2012
    • I love that one as well, I processed it a couple of times before I was happy with it. Thank you Marie.

      October 17, 2012
  11. Great shots! I love that last photo, the composition is spot on.

    October 17, 2012
    • Thank you Gracie, it is always good to hear when people like my favourite.

      October 17, 2012
  12. Lee #

    Thanks for providing great information along with your photos.

    October 17, 2012
    • Not a problem Lee, it is good for me as well. Thank you.

      October 17, 2012
  13. I love the last shot Leanne — looks like a painting with that hint of vibrant color in the distance. It’s nice and cool here today – overcast. Did one new thing today – bookmarked a recipe blog lol. Such an exciting life lol.

    October 17, 2012
    • Thank you, I love that one as well, took me a while to be happy with it. Glad you like the cooler weather. I know what you mean about exciting lives, haha.

      October 17, 2012
  14. These are great – it’s always a pleasure reading/ seeing your posts, Leanne. That last shot is stunning!

    October 17, 2012
  15. beautiful!

    October 17, 2012
  16. Amazing shots! Keep it up!

    October 17, 2012
    • Thank you, will do my best.

      October 17, 2012
  17. I enjoy touring another part of the world, thanks to your excellent photographs and blog.

    October 17, 2012
    • Thank you rutheh, glad you are enjoying the trip.

      October 17, 2012
  18. By the way, I don’t like Skype very well. We have tried it with four of us, and one of us is always getting knocked offline. Google plus might be a real answer. I know Adobe has an expensive product that works well for conference online classes. I had a conversation with John Trampush, the president of Alaska Council for the Social Studies. It was amazingly clear, but there were just 2 of us. He assures me that he can use it for up to 200 people! If you get going on online classes, you might want to get some friends together and try some of these first. It would be really fun!

    October 17, 2012
    • Isn’t everything from Adobe expensive? haha. That sounds interesting. It could be good to do something like that, I know doing it on line yesterday was great, then we could both see what was happening. I will have to think about it some more, my mind is going full blast. thanks Marsha

      October 17, 2012
  19. I love how your shots are so signature 🙂 If I saw your shots somewhere else I’d know they were yours

    November 3, 2012
    • People say that, but I am not so sure myself. Haha, Thanks. 🙂

      November 5, 2012

Comments are closed.

