Skip to content

From the Point

Today is Saturday, and I usually do a photo from the school, but I started processing the photos from Point Lonsdale and well, I couldn’t stop.  I really like some of the images and if you don’t mind, I would like to show some more.  Hopefully, I will have the school photo for you tomorrow.

The lighthouse with the jetty in front and the rocks.  I was a little disappointed that the sunrise wasn’t great, but the clouds were wonderful and maybe that is going to become my thing, moody landscapes, I do like them.

I moved further away from the jetty for this shot, and included the rocks to give it more of a story.  I have also tried to process it much the same way as I did the others, and I hope it does look softer.  I like that softness, almost dreamy.  I did something else and you might have noticed already, but I found the images quite cold, so I added a photo filter of orange, and then toned it down.  I just wanted to warm the image up a little, but not make it to unnatural.

This was one of the first shots that I took when I got down there.  You can see that there is almost no colour in the sunrise.  I have processed all these images as HDR images, and while I was doing it I upped the saturation levels to try and bring out as much of the colour as I could.  I don’t know how successful I was, but it does stand out a little.  I love the jetty, it is so nice, and I can’t wait to see it when they have finished working on it.

This was taken on the other side.  You can should be able to see a ship in the distance heading towards the docks at Melbourne.  It is right at the end of the jetty.  Except for the previous shot, all these images were taken with a neutral density filter. I wanted to try and slow the water down a little.

The last image for today, the jetty again, more colour in the sky and the rocks in the foreground.  They are the same rocks that were in the first image.  Again, the photo filter was used to warm it up and hopefully, as with all the images, they are softer.

I had so much fun taking the images, and I would really like to go back some time and explore it more.  It isn’t that far away, that it really is possible to do it.  Though, I would never do it before going and photographing a cycling event all day.

The images from Barwon Heads are great, well I like them, but you might have to wait for those.  I have so many images I want to show right now, and there just aren’t enough days.  I have a great stock of images right now.

Have been thinking about putting some of these on my website, people have really liked looking at them, so have wondered if others would be interested in purchasing some.  So if you are looking for something for your wall go to www.leannecole.com.au

91 Comments
  1. Jetties always make such lovely subjects, especially if you can capture a sunrise or sunset at the same time.

    Fabulous photos, Leanne.

    October 20, 2012
    • Thank you Marianne, that is so true. I love them.

      October 22, 2012
  2. That second image is beautiful – has a lovely calm feel to it.

    October 20, 2012
    • Thank you Noeline, I think that was the first one I took there.

      October 22, 2012
  3. Great images Leanne! I’m big on foreground in my pictures so the first and last images with the rocks and green algae are my favorites. I like still seeing the motion in the water, it goes well with the clouds. I don’t miss a colorful sunrise in these, moody works well!

    October 20, 2012
    • Thank you rocket2722, I can understand that, I can remember very conscious of that. I agree with you, I like the moodiness as well.

      October 22, 2012
  4. Great pictures!!! Especially I love first and last images…. Nice works!!!!

    October 20, 2012
    • Thank you Rexlin, I think they are among the favourites.

      October 22, 2012
  5. wow! v dramatic I just love landscape and sea

    October 20, 2012
    • I do as well, I love images with water, thank you so much fatblackcatjournal

      October 22, 2012
  6. I like what you’ve done to the photos… your composition is always so good.. that when I take similar photos I’m always thinking how would you compose it… I have taken so many photos at the sea, but they just lack that depth that yours have and I think its the jetty that gives it a scale… your photos are a lesson for me every time I look at them…

    October 20, 2012
    • What a lovely thing to say Rob, thank you so much. Believe me, I take a lot of photos that aren’t very good as well. I think we all do. Just keep trying, that is what I do. Composition is a very important aspect of photography and I think it is often something that people don’t give enough thought about.

      October 22, 2012
  7. I like the second one. I am not that avid of HDR (and do not know a lot about it technically to be honest) because it makes pictures sometimes look off to what my eyes (subjective!) see! But I love the way you framed the jetty in the second one, that indeed comes into the story and gives room and exciting monochrome shapes.

    October 20, 2012
    • I am with you on the way a lot of people process HDR, they do it so that it looks quite surreal and I don’t like that. I like them to look natural and I like it when people can’t tell that that is what they are. Thank you, that was one of the first ones I took.

      October 22, 2012
  8. Some really amazing images…

    October 20, 2012
    • Thank you so much, lawrenceez

      October 22, 2012
  9. Worth getting up for, I’d say!
    All the images are wonderful…love the mossy rocks in the foreground.

    October 20, 2012
    • Yes, it was most definitely worth it Marie. I am glad, there is nothing worse than going that extra mile and having nothing to show for it. Thank you. I love the mossy rocks, though they were a little scary, but I was just scared I would slip on them, haha. 🙂

      October 22, 2012
  10. thx for sharing….
    magdalena

    October 20, 2012
    • You are very welcome Magdalena, thanks.

      October 22, 2012
  11. Wonderful photos! The kinda picture I would love on my wall! 🙂

    October 20, 2012
    • Thank you, haha, you can buy yourself one, haha. So good to hear you like it. 🙂

      October 22, 2012
  12. Pat #

    Beautiful work!

    October 20, 2012
  13. Exquisite … I love your work. I love how you can make the ordinary, extraordinary!

    October 20, 2012
    • What a beautiful thing to say, thank you so much Tonya.

      October 22, 2012
  14. Ewa #

    Beautiful photos. And they really show the atmosphere of that place.

    October 20, 2012
    • Thank you Ewa, that is lovely of you to say.

      October 22, 2012
  15. These are fabulous! The first photo is so rich looking. You are so good Leanne!

    October 20, 2012
    • I don’t know about that John, but it was a great place to take photos, that always helps. Thank you.

      October 22, 2012
  16. I like the photos very much and I’am glad that you show us them. I like the ocean.

    October 21, 2012
    • I like the ocean as well Susanne, and you can assured that there will be lots more photos of it. Thanks.

      October 22, 2012
  17. What beautiful scenes you captured Leanne! Love the combination of elements.

    October 21, 2012
    • Thank you saymber, I hadn’t thought of that. Glad you liked them.

      October 22, 2012
  18. Beautiful set. The first one, of the lighthouse standing as a sentinel, compares very well with other lighthouse photos I’ve seen on the net. Very well done.

    October 21, 2012
    • Thank you David, that is so nice of you to say. I feel quite chuffed.

      October 22, 2012
  19. some lovely photos here – what software do you use for your HDRs as am currently looking at getting something…? THanks

    October 21, 2012
    • Thank you so much teamharman, I use Photomatix Pro, if you are looking for it, there is some information and link to it in the page called Software at the top.

      October 22, 2012
      • thanks Leanne – have heard a few people say they use that one – will look into it 😀

        October 22, 2012
      • I should also point out that there is code in the software section, so it you do decide to get it you can get a 15% discount.

        October 22, 2012
      • oo thanks 😀

        October 22, 2012
  20. Moody landscapes are most definitely [yet another of] your thing. All the images are fantastic but in image 2 you appear to have captured a slight reflection of the pylons in the foreground which for me gives it an edge 🙂

    October 21, 2012
    • Thank you EllaDee, I have been thinking of doing a lot more, I do really like doing them. That is pretty cool, glad you like it.

      October 22, 2012
  21. Love the way the jetty appears to be walking out to sea. Great, moody shots.

    October 21, 2012
    • That is an interesting observation Richard, thanks.

      October 22, 2012
  22. So. Absolutely. Stunning, Leanne!!! What a wonderful place for great images! The addition of subtly-used photo filters sure makes a difference, doesn’t it? I use them an awful lot, at times one color over the other…to give a bit of a ‘pick me up’ to whatever color I wish to emphasize.

    October 21, 2012
    • I haven’t used the photo filters much, but I think I will have to start doing it more. It is a great place to take photos, there are so many great places along the coast. Thank you 1000.

      October 22, 2012
      • Try them out, at relatively low %s…sometimes they give a much nicer look, as they change the shadows and highlights. Keep experimenting!

        October 22, 2012
      • I will 1000, thanks

        October 22, 2012
      • Excellent…and keep having fun, too!

        October 22, 2012
  23. lizphotography #

    Thanks for the “LIKE”!

    October 21, 2012
  24. thefashiondream #

    Wow!:)

    http://www.theashiondreambyfc.wordpress.com

    October 21, 2012
  25. Chaotiqual #

    Reblogged this on chaotiqual and commented:
    Awesome! (I’ve just spent a week with 26 Year 10 students from across the state and that word was used heaps…so I’m going with the flow! 😉

    October 21, 2012
    • Yes, that word is used a lot by kids, thank you Chaotiqual. 🙂

      October 22, 2012
  26. I love the dramatic and the mood of the lighthouse. All the photo’s are fantastic but the lighthouse, well I kept going back to that one. Very nice work! So, love what you do with edits.

    October 21, 2012
    • I like that one best too I think, which is why I put it first, Thank you so much Still Times, that is great to hear.

      October 22, 2012
  27. arnoldthearmadillo #

    Very nice set here 🙂

    October 21, 2012
    • Very good to hear, thank you. 🙂

      October 22, 2012
  28. Tricia's Blogs #

    Like them all, especially the final photo! Gorgeous! 🙂

    October 21, 2012
    • Thank you Tricia, that is great to hear. 🙂

      October 22, 2012
  29. I have nominated your blog for Beautiful Blogger Award. If you want to accept the award check my blog, http://frombraintobrush.com/2012/10/20/the-beautiful-blogger-award/

    October 21, 2012
    • Thank you so much, I have left a comment on your blog.

      October 22, 2012
  30. Wow! Gorgeous colors!

    October 21, 2012
  31. Love these. And though I’m relatively new to taking lots of photos, I’ve used P’shop for years now to ‘up’ that saturation to match what my eyes saw when the light was not perfect. Thanks for sharing!

    October 21, 2012
    • I love photoshop and I sometimes wonder if that is the main reason I take photos, I’m sure it isn’t and it is just part of the process, but it is a part I love very much. Thank you.

      October 22, 2012
  32. reneeboomer #

    Beautiful photos. Stunning! I love, love lighthouses. Always have. Thanks. Have a great weekend. 🙂 Renee

    October 21, 2012
    • I think lighthouses are very popular, as I am beginning to see. Thank you so much reneeboomer, I did have a great weekend, I hope you did as well.

      October 22, 2012
      • reneeboomer #

        Your photos are breathtaking. 🙂

        October 23, 2012
      • Thank you, 🙂

        October 25, 2012
  33. Breathtaking images of the jettys! Again, the dramatic panorama of the clouded skies take good images and make them great!

    Tina and I are going to the Oregon Coast for our wedding anniversary next week. I hope to find a little time to capture some of nature at its best. 🙂

    October 21, 2012
    • Thank you Veronica, the cloudy skies turned out to be a fantastic thing, and I was so happy.
      Happy anniversary, I hope you find some time as well, I look forward to seeing what you do.:)

      October 22, 2012
  34. You are so skilled with your camera. I love the warm colors of the last photo. Is that what the photo filter achieves?

    October 21, 2012
    • Thank you rosie, years of experience I hope. Yes, I think it was made warmer by the photo filter, it can help a lot.

      October 22, 2012
  35. Glorious photos – you did really well with the light available 🙂

    October 21, 2012
    • Thank Andrew, that is great to hear.

      October 22, 2012
  36. Beautiful photos. I

    October 21, 2012
    • Thank you so much minxmist.

      October 22, 2012
  37. Each and every last one of these is really nice. Beautifl infact. Great.

    October 22, 2012
    • Thank you so much Dave, that is so nice of you to write. 🙂

      October 22, 2012
  38. wonderful photos, thank you for sharing

    October 22, 2012
    • Always a pleasure, thank you poojycat. 🙂

      October 25, 2012
  39. My favourite is the first sunrise shot. I love the colours in the sky. I would like to make a quilt with those colours one day – it’s been on my to do list for a long time.

    October 22, 2012
    • I hope you do it Carol, that would be great, the colours are lovely. Thank you so much.

      October 25, 2012
  40. I absolutely love the second shot!!! There’s just something there…

    October 23, 2012
    • Thank you Zelmare, I was worried it might be too stark, but it has been really well received.

      October 25, 2012
  41. Just breath taking Leanne 🙂 These are amazing!

    November 3, 2012
    • Thanks Amanda, I was happy with them. 🙂

      November 5, 2012

Comments are closed.

