Skip to content

ReWorked Silos and Camera Arrivals

It comes around fast, these Fridays.  Fridays mean it is almost the weekend, and I can have more opportunities to go and take photos, though I could possibly do it during the week as well, just isn’t always easier.  This weekend is going to be exciting, two cameras arrived at my door today, but more on those later.

I posted this image the first time in September last year.  It was taken during a trip to the Mallee on the school holidays.  This image captured the late sun really nicely.  However, earlier this week I had a request for one of my of images and I thought about reprocessing it.  I wasn’t doing HDR images at this time, so I didn’t take bracketed shots, but you can do single image HDR’s, so I decided to process it that way.  Then I got a bit carried away.

This image was done as a single image HDR using Photomatix Pro.  I then processed in Camera Raw.  I am hoping that you can also tell that I cropped the image.  I wasn’t entirely happy with the way the silos were situated in the orginal.  I like this one more.  I also like how the HDR has brought out more detail and not so much of it is as dark.

Then I decided to see if I could accentuate the sunset, you know, put more colour in it.  I added another layer, applied the image, then using the gradient tool I added some sunset like colours.  I then used a mask to bring out the silos and the foreground.  I also warmed it up a little more.

It is weird, I look at it and I think this is weird, but I also find I can’t stop looking at it.  I like it, but I don’t know if I think it worked.  There is a surreal quality about it.  You will have to make up your own mind if you think I made it better or worse.

Arrivals and Changes

As I mentioned at the beginning, I had a parcel delivered today.  Inside were two Canon EOS cameras, the EOS 600D and the EOS 1100D, plus two lenses, a 18-55mm and the 18-135mm.  It was exciting.  I am still overwhelmed that I have been given this opportunity.  I have them until mid Novemeber, so that should be plenty of time to play with them and work out how to use them.

First impressions, not bad.  Once I charged the batteries and put them in, I found as I worked my way around them, without the manual, I was able to work out nearly everything that I wanted to know.  There were a couple of things I had trouble with, and was stumped, but as I played more, I worked most of it out.  There is always a way, and you really can’t do much damage by pressing buttons.  Mess things up, yes, but nothing permanent.  Tomorrow I will find the manuals and start to seriously go through what the cameras can do.

I would have liked to go out and take some photos but we have had one of those days of rain one minute, sun the next, and then rain again, and on and on.

I did manage to sneak out to my front garden in between showers and take a few photos.  I had to have a try.  I used the 1100D with the 18-55mm lens.  It was easy to use, and I wasn’t unhappy with the images, there are still some things to work out, but it was good.

I was surprised at close I could get, even after I put the camera back onto Aperture Priority.

The camera was very nice to hold in my hands, and the weight, while a lot lighter than my Nikon cameras, wasn’t too bad.  It would be a good camera and weight for people and I can understand why people like using it.   I will be using it a lot more over the next couple of weeks, and I will let you know how I go with it.

This leads me to something else that I have wanted to talk to you about for awhile.  I love doing this blog, but it does take up a lot of my time, which is fine, but it isn’t making me a living, and while I do make some money from the cycling events I photograph, it hasn’t been much lately.  I need to try and make this blog make money, unfortunately.  Which might mean going to companies and seeing if I can get sponsors or reviewing products.  I want you to know that I will continue to do the posts on photography as I always have, but there might be a second part to the posts, like I have done today, where I will write about things that I am trying.  I hope you will help me and continue to support my blog.  I also want to reassure you that I would never review a product that I thought was terrible or not very good.  I couldn’t do that, so if I do review something or tell you about products, then they will be ones that I like.

Enough on that.  I hope you have a very photographic weekend, I am hoping to.

55 Comments
  1. Would be delighted to hear your views on products if it can help make you some money.

    October 26, 2012
    • Thank you so much, I was really worried about talking about that.

      October 26, 2012
  2. AiM #

    I love my 600D with my 15-85mm.

    October 26, 2012
    • I haven’t played with that one much yet, but I will be over the weekend. Now I will know who to come to if I have any questions.

      October 26, 2012
  3. I’m looking forward to hearing what you have to say about your new cameras – now that I’ve purchased the Nikon D600 however I hope you don’t fall too head-over-heals for the Canons. I know you’re very, very busy … but I’ve got a stupid question for you – don’t feel like you have to go on and on with an answer – one or two words will be AOK with me. What’s the real difference between aperture priority and shutter priority? As far as I can tell – nothing. Let’s say you’re in aperture priority – you look and see 1/125 at 8.0 … OK, so you drop the aperture open a bit to 11 and you see the speed slows to 1/60. Now flip it to shutter priority … you see 1/125 at 8.0 … OK, so you slow it down 1/60 at 11 …. what the heck is the difference. Physics says … speed up aperture open … speed down aperture closed … I can see no difference in these automatic modes. I hope I don’t sound too stupid – but it seems like it’s one-and-the-same! Please tell me I’m not that stupid and dense! Have a great day – and congratulations on all the recent change and excitement! D

    October 26, 2012
    • I can’t see myself changing to Canon, I can’t afford to, and I still like my Nikon cameras. I have sent you an email about the other stuff.

      October 26, 2012
    • hey, sorry to barge in here, but I just taught a few clients about the differences between Aperture and Shutter priority, so while it’s still on the top of my mind…..There is a big difference between Aperture and Shutter priority , but “what type of picture are taking” might dictate whether you wanted to go Aperture Priority or Shutter priority. If you wanted a close up of a flower, and you wanted to focus on the colorful bit in the middle, and blur the the rest of the image/background, you would not pick shutter priority. You would pick Aperture Priority, dial in f2.8, as the fstop, this would create a “shallow depth of field”, allowing you to get an image that had a small portion of the flower in focus, and everything else blurry. If you want everything in focus, stay with aperture priority, but dial in f22 or f16 , and you will get an image of a flower with all the pedals in focus, and a large portion of the background in focus as well. If you wanted to capture a horse running and catch all hoves in the air, and you wanted the entire horse sharply in focus, you might go shutter priority, dial in 1/1000* of a shutter speed, this would “freeze” the motion. You need to have a specific goal in mind when using priority modes, then they will start to make scence to you. ( * light permitting)

      October 27, 2012
      • very good explanation. having learned on a manual nikon that is exactly the difference. it depends on what kind of photo you want to take.

        October 30, 2012
  4. Love your re-worked silo shot. Lucky you, my goodness – 2 fantastic cameras to play with! 🙂

    October 26, 2012
    • Thank you Zelmare, yes, I am very lucky, can’t wait to get out to play with them.

      October 27, 2012
  5. I will continue to be your fan Leanne, and I am envious to receive two cameras in a parcel… Christmas in October. Good for you and don’t apologize for making a living darlin… it is not a bad thing. I am a student and the more info I get from you the better! 🙂

    October 26, 2012
    • Thank you Patricia, that is great to read, I don’t want people to get annoyed but if I don’t start earning some money I will have to get a real job. I am looking forward to putting the cameras through their paces, should be great. 🙂

      October 27, 2012
  6. Looking fwd to more fantastic photos taken with the two Canons!

    October 26, 2012
    • Thank you, I hope they do turn out great.

      October 27, 2012
  7. Really like the re-work on the silos, Leanne! And the images from the Canon seem to be quite fine…must be some ‘good glass’, as I feel the lens is the most important part of the camera.

    I, too, consider to seek new ways to present an image…I call it ‘playing in Photoshop’. When I find I have some time, I really get into experimentation, just to see what can happen…and if I don’t like it, the viewer probably won’t either.

    Happy shooting this weekend…I’ll be in downtown Chicago today (cold!) to capture what I can…which isn’t hard to accomplish at all!

    October 26, 2012
    • Thank you 1000, I do like the silos, and I am really starting to like where the processing is going. I really agree with you about the processing, it is so important to just try stuff. See what happenes.

      I also agree about the importance of lenses, I have spent a bit of money on a couple, and do it when I can, not always easy, Nikon lenses cost a lot. Though they do hold their value which is fantastic.

      Has it started snowing there yet? I have been seeing posts on the reader about snow in quite a few places. I hope you had a great day.

      October 27, 2012
      • Snow may come in a few days…the main weatherman is predicting it. I’ve known him since his TV days back in my hometown of Milwaukee WI, and he’s been startlingly right about snow…so, we’ll see! I shall have pics of first snow up ASAP!

        October 28, 2012
  8. I agree with most everyone else! Share reviews away. The disclosure is always a bonus, and, who doesn’t need to earn some money? Thank you for sharing your photos and the different things you do with them! I love to read about it.

    October 26, 2012
    • Thank you, thank you, thank you, I was happy to read this, I will always be upfront, well try to be, where I can. I promise I will still be taking photos and I will take about the, try and stop me. Haha.

      October 27, 2012
  9. I have the Canon Rebel EOS T2i, but I got that one because I have an older Rebel and the lenses all would still fit the digital body.

    October 27, 2012
    • I haven’t heard of the Rebel, but so far I am pretty happy with the ones I have. I still need to check out the manuals for them, but it is fun just seeing what I can work out from them. It is funny you say that about the lens, that is always something I have loved about Nikon, it doesn’t matter what camera you get the lenses will always fit, so I am still able to use lenses I bought 15 years ago.

      October 27, 2012
  10. I am always interested in new products and ideas. And your photo processing is very inspiring Leanne.

    October 27, 2012
    • Thank you Jane, I hope I can write reviews, but I suppose it will just be me talking about my experience with them. I am so happy you like my processing, I am quite proud of that.

      October 27, 2012
  11. It’s completely natural and obvious that you’d like benefits yourself from all your fine and inspiring work with the blog here! And that’s fine just to provide the premises for us avid readers. Maybe you know that I use EOS 60D (got it last year, earlier I used the Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ8, which was my first digital camera!). It could be fun if you also got tested 60D?! (and maybe 6D, which was the camera that I wanted to have but could not afford!)

    October 27, 2012
    • It would be nice, I don’t know if they will lend me anymore, it will probably depend on these and what I do with them. It is going to be an interesting couple of weeks. I am going to take them to the market tomorrow and see how they go. I do hope I can get some benefits from doing the blog. People seem to really like it, so it would be good. Fingers crossed. Thank you Truels.

      October 27, 2012
  12. The silo photos at sunset are exceptional. They capture the farm/rural way of life quite nicely.

    Glad you’re finding your way around the Canons. I’ve always felt Canons have been easy to learn. Read the Quick Start Guide and you’re ready to go. And, if you do product reviews here, that’s fine with me. From reading your tutorials, I would say your product reviews or whatever else you may will be of greater value.

    Have a good weekend of photographing!

    October 27, 2012
    • Thank you David, glad you liked the image.
      I didn’t get the quick start guide, but I have been able to work out heaps already. I got just the cameras, the lenses and the rechargers. I even had to find some memory cards, but that is okay. I know I can find the manuals online. That is really nice of you to say that about the product reviews, I don’t want them to control my blog though, and my photography and what I am teaching and learning will always be number one.
      I will thank you and you as well.

      October 27, 2012
  13. No problem with you doing reviews. Thats how we all find out about products.
    Keep up with your blog and make money for yourself. Most of us wish we could be doing the same!

    October 27, 2012
    • Thank you Paul, I haven’t made any yet from it, but I hope I will in the future. I do hope you do all benefit, I have started approaching companies. I do want to keep doing the blog.

      October 27, 2012
  14. Those lilies jumpped off the screen at me… great commendation for Canon. The silo’s – you see sunset, I see the after glow of a nuclear explosion…

    October 27, 2012
    • I like the way the lilies were placed, all the different heights. I like your interpretation of the silos EllaDee, I hadn’t thought of that. Thank you.

      October 27, 2012
  15. Great photos and re-word, Leanne. I am a Canon shooter, so I say have lots of fun with the new cameras.

    And don’t worry about the reviews, they are perfectly fine. I like reading reviews from time to time, it helps me make a better decision when I am in the market for stuff. If it helps pay the bills, why not, right?

    Happy shooting 🙂

    October 27, 2012
    • Thank you Gracie, glad you like the rework. I have been so surprised at how many people are Canon users.
      Glad you won’t mind the reviews, not sure if they will happen, or when but I don’t want to change how I do the blog too much.
      Thanks Gracie, hope you are out taking lots of photos with your Canon this weekend.

      October 27, 2012
  16. I like those industrial photos but the flowers are beautiful too. 🙂

    October 27, 2012
    • Thank you Dennis, glad you like them. 🙂

      October 27, 2012
  17. Great shots, Leanne – interesting differences between the Nikon and Canon. I’m very interested to read your product reviews – I trust you to be honest and it could be really useful.

    October 27, 2012
    • Thank you Richard, I will always try to be honest, I think that is important, though I wouldn’t review something if I didn’t like it. There are certainly some differences between the two brands, though I also don’t know if part of that is because I have a higher end Nikon, whereas the Canons are more low end.

      October 27, 2012
  18. Leanne, I so much want a good camera. I have been taking all my shots with my cell phone. I know you like my photos, just think what I could do with a good camera, so if there is anybody who wants to pass on a good canon or Nikon, used is fine, this artist could use one. In the meantime happy shooting, love your work. Mele Willow

    October 27, 2012
    • Don’t forget that a good camera doesn’t mean you will take good photos, if you have to know what you are doing, if you are taking good photos with your phone, then I would say you will take good photos with a better camera. Good luck finding a camera, you never know. I would recommend looking for a used one, might be a good start. Good luck.

      October 27, 2012
  19. No worries Leanne – you have to make a living and if it involves doing the thing you love…well hell! Go for it! I’ll still come by 🙂 Got to get my drawing tips!

    October 27, 2012
    • Thank you saymber, I hope I hope I can make it work. I have to find companies that think my blog would be worth using to advertise there products. haha, the drawing tips, I hope I didn’t talk out of turn. 🙂

      October 27, 2012
      • No Leanne, you didn’t talk out of turn! 🙂 You mentioned, I accepted, you gave.

        October 28, 2012
  20. Nice work!

    October 28, 2012
  21. I love your processing on the silos photos, I love its surreal effect. 2 cameras and 2 lenses, wow ! Have fun with it and looking forward to see these pictures !

    October 28, 2012
    • Thank you Inspired and pretty, glad you like it and yes, it is pretty amazing, and great fun using them.

      October 29, 2012
  22. Tricia's Blogs #

    Somehow I missed this post of the reworked silos, new cameras, and flowers. My internet is intermittent and so slow sometimes, and I just give up trying to get on the web. So when I read your actual post from today (10/28) about going to the market and trying out the new cameras I knew I had missed something and went back to find where you wrote about that. So here I am on a past post.
    Fun to try new cameras! And I LOVE the flower closeups, especially the white ones (lilies? I am not good with remembering flower names).
    As for needing your post to help earn some income, thanks for disclosing that and I support your endeavors and will still read your blog 🙂
    Good luck!

    October 29, 2012
    • Internet can be a blessing and a pain, that is what I find these days. I was glad to see that you worked it all out. So I did get a couple of cameras so I could learn how to use Canon cameras. I feel very privileged that they trusted me with them.
      I am with you on the flower names, I know the most popular, but that is about it. Glad you liked them.
      I will always disclose it when I can, and if I am being given some money for something, though I might just review things as well, just to tell you about stuff, or things I think you might like.
      Thank you so much Tricia, I appreciate the support. 🙂

      October 29, 2012
  23. With the reworked image of the silo, I prefer the original, there is a sharpness to the image and it has for me more focus. I also don’t really like the idea of processing a single image as a HDR as it really is not a HDR image. You could just use the shadow and highlight adjustment to adapt the midtones and get a greater range of contrast in Photoshop. The second image for me it looks washed out.

    In relation to canon cameras the ones you have been lent are basic models and are easy to use with out some of the fuss from the pro versions. I have found Canon more user friendly out of the box compared to when i used Nikon cameras but i have invested so much in my Canon kit, like i guess you have in your Nikon one it would cost a lot to change now.

    October 29, 2012
    • I use the reworked posts to try stuff out, and sometimes it is good to just have a go. When I took the original image it was before I had started doing HDR images, and I know you can process them as a single image, so it is nice to experiment and see what happens. I actually like the way the shadows came out in this one, though others I’ve done haven’t worked so well, I like doing that kind of thing, and it seems to be something that people who follow my blog like as well. I don’t know about the final image, but there is something I like about it and one day I will figure out what that is, it is one step in my evolution as a photographer.

      I asked Canon for basic models, I asked for low end cameras that hobby/amateur photographers were most likely to buy. Since the people who ask me for help tend to come under that heading, it was important to try out cameras that they would most likely use. I have not found them user friendly in the past, but getting these ones has shown me that they are, I just need to apply logic to looking at the camera. It is also good being able to have the time to really go over them and see what they do and play, which is not something I have been able to do before. I do love my Nikons, and I have invested a lot of money, especially in lenses, so I can’t see myself being in a position to change anytime soon. Thanks.

      October 29, 2012
      • I can understand the need to try something new and experiment with an image. To find new techniques and to practise your skill using an old image can be good for this. IMHO on this picture it didn’t work and that is the nature of the beast.
        If the image was sharper and had more clarity or midtone contrast to separate the tones and colours to give it more definition it may help the rework.
        In the end art is subjective and this is how i see the image.

        I like following your blog and look forward to what you post this week.

        October 29, 2012
  24. It’s going to be great to hear your thoughts on different products and if that is profitable for you then even better! Good luck. Carol.

    October 29, 2012
    • Thank you Carol, it is going to be interesting doing some. I don’t want to do the same as other people, but would like to do it from my point of view, how I find it to use. I hope it does help others,

      October 30, 2012
  25. Leanne it is Augusta,Georgia Photo Festival Week here and I am taking several classes over the week. One of the classes I’ll be taken is a class with a Nikon instructor. I’ll be asking him about the D600 vs D700 Fx. That class is on Thursday evening 6:00Pm to 9:00Pm EST. Maybe i’ll have some answers for myself and anyone else

    October 30, 2012
    • That sounds great mhdriver, I hope you will do a post on it, and please let me know when you do, I would like to hear what they had to say. I am having so much trouble getting answers from them myself.

      October 31, 2012

Comments are closed.

