Skip to content

Prep Room Disarray

When I took this image, I really liked it, and every week, since I have been doing this, I get it out, look at it, then close it.  Today, I decided that it was time to just see what I could do with it.

Someone must have really hated Science when you look at this room.  It has been destroyed quite a bit.  I did really like the light coming through the windows.  It softened the scene quite a bit.  Though when you see the original you will be able to tell that I did darken this a bit.

To process this, it did begin as a HDR image that was processed in Photomatix Pro before being opened in Photoshops Camera Raw.  I do like the things you can do to images in camera raw.  I have also done lots of layering, blurred some layers and used masks to clear the blur away from some of it.  I opened the image up in Topaz Adjust to give it some diffusion, and make it softer, I contemplated making it warmer, but in the end, decided not to.  I did use the vignetting in Topaz though, but not too heavy.

I like the lighting in the edited version, I think it gives it more of an air of abandon than the original.

As I have done the last couple of times, I have also done a black and white version.

I have to say, I don’t like this one as much as I have liked others that have been converted.  I don’t think this one works as well.  I would prefer the colour one, perhaps because it isn’t a strong coloured image.

I also tried it with the sepia toning.

This works better than the black and white one, but I still think the colour is the best out of all them. I did the sepia with the photo filters.

Once I finish this series it is going to be good to try putting them all together somewhere, and taking a look at them.

Awards

I have been honoured with another nomination, the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

http://jiltaroo.wordpress.com/2012/10/25/a-belated-appreciation-of-a-lovely-award/

I would like to thank Jen very much for this lovely honour and nomination.  Thank you Jen.

72 Comments
  1. arnoldthearmadillo #

    The colour wins for me too

    October 27, 2012
    • That’s good to hear arnoldthearmadillo, thanks

      October 27, 2012
  2. walter #

    My choice, too. The first one is most impressive because of the color and the dramatic light. Well done!

    October 27, 2012
    • Thank you Walter, I agree with you.

      October 27, 2012
  3. For me the B/W rocks!

    October 27, 2012
    • Okay, that’s cool too, thanks Morten.

      October 27, 2012
  4. I like both the color and the sepia. I think the sepia is more dramatic.

    October 27, 2012
    • I think the light is sharper in the sepia, but I like the softness of the colour, thanks George.

      October 27, 2012
  5. neat neat neat!

    October 27, 2012
  6. Love the lighting in these photos.

    October 27, 2012
    • I was pretty happy with it as well. Thanks David.

      October 27, 2012
  7. For me the sepia one, please. It has the most drama in it, like an old b/w movie ( casablanca or the third man)

    October 27, 2012
    • Interesting comparison, thank you solaner.

      October 27, 2012
    • Yes! This is exactly what I thought about the sepia.

      October 27, 2012
  8. Color!!

    October 27, 2012
    • Couldn’t agree more, thanks ohiasia

      October 27, 2012
  9. poppytump #

    Colour for me this time Leanne ! I am rather partial to sepia tones, but I have to say the colour those coolish bluish (?) tints leads my eye into the picture and thro’ to the room beyond …. looks to me as tho’ Art on the Walls maybe won the day in the preservation stakes 😉

    October 27, 2012
    • I think so as well, it is good that so many like the colour, sometimes, you do an image in black and white and people just like it regardless. Thank you. 🙂

      October 29, 2012
  10. Not sure if you want another vote but number one for me, as well! Nice light. Thanks for stopping by my blog and clicking the Like button today. Or maybe it was yesterday. There sure is a story behind this photo.

    October 27, 2012
    • Of course, the more votes, the better. Thank you, glad you like that one. You don’t need to thank me for that, it was a pleasure.

      October 29, 2012
  11. I also like sepia tone the best.

    October 27, 2012
    • Thank you YellowCable, I think it is well liked as well.

      October 29, 2012
  12. I like the first image, and I also rather like the sepia one. Nicely done! 🙂

    October 27, 2012
    • I think if I counted all the votes, that is pretty much how the counting would go, thank you Zelmare. 🙂

      October 29, 2012
  13. Wow, that’s a really good shot! Makes a great place for a crime scene in a movie or a place in a mystery/horror movie.. XD

    October 28, 2012
    • I was told that someone was going to be a movie or show about homeless kids there, that would make sense too. Thanks XD

      October 29, 2012
  14. I loved what you’ve done with it… It’s almost like perfection. You magically reform a picture into something so pleasing to the eye. It’s a wonderful talent you have! 😀

    October 28, 2012
    • Thank you Keli, I think it is more about about experience, I have spent a lot of time trying out new stuff. I am so glad you love it. 🙂

      October 29, 2012
  15. I dearly love the colored version. The ways in which you’ve processed the original image are brilliant I think!

    October 28, 2012
    • What a lovely thing to say spree, thank you so much.

      October 29, 2012
  16. Because of the starkness of subject matter, I am drawn to the black and white. It makes me want to look deeper into the photo for details (this is good). Wonderful work. bill

    October 28, 2012
    • Thank you Bill, but I feel I should point out, that you are in the minority, it seems the colour and the sepia are far more popular, but I like that the image makes you look deeper,

      October 29, 2012
  17. saymber #

    The first thought that came to mind when I saw the first one Leanne was the scene in the Sixth Sense when all the sudden all the cupboards and drawers are open. I like the first version the best and then the sepia also. I can see why you wanted to revisit this photo.

    October 28, 2012
    • I haven’t seen that movie for a long time, I don’t remember the scene, but I get what you are talking about. I thought it was about time to see what I could do to it, and I am really happy I did. Thanks saymber.

      October 29, 2012
  18. I agree – the color works best… I think because it makes the disarray more jarring. the b&w and the sepia just look older. It’s a cool shot.

    October 28, 2012
    • I hadn’t thought of it like that Marie, but I do like your thinking. Thank you.

      October 29, 2012
  19. Ooh it’s kind of a spooky photo! Love the first one followed by the sepia tone. This room went through quite a bit! Great job! 🙂

    October 28, 2012
    • It really has been through a lot, can’t help thinking that someone who really hated science must of done this. I think you preferences are the favourites, thanks.

      October 29, 2012
  20. Ohhhh… The color is so much better on my laptop than it was on my phone. I like the color best too, I think. Well done.

    October 28, 2012
    • That is great to hear SSS, I think the colour is the most popular, thank you.

      October 29, 2012
  21. I like the colour and B&W, but I’m not sure about the sepia in this case. Great image.

    October 28, 2012
    • Thank you Richard, not many have liked the black and white one, so it is interesting that you like it.

      October 29, 2012
  22. the colored one is a winner for me…its very cinematic photo!!!

    October 28, 2012
    • Thank you very much Pavlos.

      October 29, 2012
  23. hutchphotography2020 #

    All 3 are really nice. I, too, agree with you on the color.

    October 28, 2012
    • Thank you Hutch I am glad you like the colour one as well.

      October 29, 2012
  24. Before I even read your comment under the B&W conversion, I thought, hmm I like the colour better. There is a softness of both colour and shadow/light play that really appeals to me in the colour version.

    October 28, 2012
    • I was really happy to read this, that is great, I like what you like about the colour, it is the same reasons I like it. Thank you.

      October 29, 2012
  25. I agree, I like the colour. It’s subtle but lend the feel there was an entity, force, energy in the room but has left… in a hurry. The sepia conveys a more subtle sense of abandonment, and the B&W is clinical. The original reveals its utilitarian reality.

    October 28, 2012
    • Ooooh, I like what you said about the B&W, sounds like the right description, exactly. I like your description of the energy as well, it is really good, it could have been something like that, thank you EllaDee, I always like your comments.

      October 29, 2012
  26. I like the first picture best. No great reason, but I prefer the color in this case. i prefer the dark to the light because it is such a dar subject – who wants to see classrooms become this?

    October 28, 2012
    • I think the colour is just more appealing Marsha, that is what I think, I think the dark gives it more a feeling of being left. I don’t think anyone likes to see a classroom like this. Thank you.

      October 29, 2012
      • What happened? They just left everything to be vandalized?

        October 29, 2012
      • They closed the school and I think, it was vandalised after that. I have heard they are planning on demolishing it.

        October 29, 2012
      • You find the most interesting places to photograph. I would love to be one of the lenses in your camera bag to see how you get into all these out of the way places. So interesting. What ever happened to your daughter’s scary story on the bridge?

        October 29, 2012
      • I try to, I think a lot of it is luck. I do like finding them, and they are great to visit. I don’t know what happened to her story, she probably moved onto something else.

        October 29, 2012
  27. This reminds me to a video game I once played. It was called “alone in the dark” and was an amiga and pc dos game. I had to explore a house which has been abandoned to find out whats happened there. It was such a great game! The style of the scenes there were similar to your photos. Really, your photo is cool! Nice abandoned and somewhat dark style!

    October 28, 2012
    • I remember Amiga computers, my husband had one when I first met him, a really good games machine. Wow, I love the comparison, that is so good, thank you so much Dennis. 🙂

      October 29, 2012
      • Yea amiga was fun. Its extreme where we are at today, Hardware and graphics improved so much over time. Back to your photo… it could really inspire survival horror game genre developers 🙂 I would like to travel trough such a scene in a game and find out whats happening in that house 🙂

        October 29, 2012
      • Thank you Dennis, it would be really cool to have my images used. Yes, computers have improved a lot, they have come so far from where they were 25 years ago.

        October 29, 2012
  28. I agree. The colour version works best.

    October 28, 2012
    • That is really good poetmcgonagall, thank you so much.

      October 29, 2012
  29. Go figure; I like the B&W. I think it’s because the blacks add both punch and a little mystery for me. Thanks for the 3 different post treatments too Leanne. Nice one.

    October 28, 2012
    • Yeah go figure, haha, I think one of the wonderful things about doing them in the different ways is to see who people react to them and what they like, of course, people don’t always agree with me, and that is what art is about, people liking different things. Thank you Distan.

      October 29, 2012
  30. You began with an excellent image for ‘playing’, Leanne! I find the final color image more compelling…by virtue of the ‘almost-but-not-quite’ pastel colors, it totally reinforces that feeling of abandonment! Wonderfully done!

    October 29, 2012
    • It was a great image for this, and I am so glad I finally did it. I agree, the colour image after the processing is much better, and for the reasons you said. Thank you so much 1000,

      October 29, 2012
      • Both of us have been having ‘growth spurts’ in our processing…I’ve worked an image, now I just have to go back to my notes so I can explain what I did. Your work keeps nudging me into different areas, so thanks!

        October 30, 2012
      • Thank you 1000, it is great to have people who keep pushing you, you have done that for me as well. I’ve learned a lot from you.

        October 31, 2012
  31. The B&W mono conversion works really well…it emphasises the light and adds contrast.

    October 30, 2012
    • I think you are only the third person that has liked the B&W one, very interesting. Thanks Mark.

      October 30, 2012

Comments are closed.

