Skip to content

City, From This One and Then That One

As I said yesterday, I went into the city yesterday morning to take some photos of the Yarra River and some of the bridges that go over it.  I was using my tripod, so I could keep changing cameras, between my Nikon D300s and the Canon EOS600D.  I wanted to see how each camera would perform.

I have been planning on going into the city to do some photos like this, well this scene, but not these conditions for some time.  I was hoping to get a lovely morning, you know, lovely sunrise, lots of colour and maybe a few clouds.  This is what I got, clouds, no sunrise and rain.  Yes, it rained.  Not heavily, but there was a gentle mist.  Not the whole time, but intermittently.

The above image was taken with the Nikon.  I have not done a lot of processing.  It isn’t a HDR image, and beside a little work in Camera Raw, I haven’t done anything else to it.

They were taken some minutes apart, which accounts for some differences.  The sun is trying to shine through this one.  It has created some lovely colour on the water.  This one is zoomed in more as well.  I didn’t think enough about this comparison.  I was feeling very rushed with the weather and since the Canon is not mine, I really didn’t want it to spend to much time out of the bag.

I don’t know that I think one image is a lot better than another, though I feel more drawn to the image taken with the Canon, but that could have a lot more to do with the composition and how the water looks.

I did go further down the river to the Punt Road Bridge and the Nylex Silos.  I have been wanting to take some photos of those for some time.  Again, the image from the Nikon first.

I like the combination of bridges, river and silos in this.  I will admit I added some photo filters to this, and the Canon image.  I wanted to add some warmth to it as it was early morning.

The compositions are fairly similar in both of these and it is easier to compare them.  As I did with the previous images, they were processed in Camera Raw and nothing else.  Except for the photo filters, which, as I already stated were done exactly the same for both images.

I prefer the Nikon image with these two.  The only thing that is disappointing with the Nikon image is the water.  A rowing boat went through as I was taking the images with the Nikon, and by the time I had the Canon on the tripod the water had become still again, well as still as it could.

The Canons are to go back this week.  I find I am quite sad about it.  I have enjoyed using them.  Out the two, the 1100D and the 600D, I do prefer the 600D.  I like how it feels when you hold it to take a photo, and, which has surprised me, I have found it really easy to use.  I think the problems I have had in the past were more due to my feelings towards Canon, and perhaps I never really gave them a fair chance.  I know now that if someone came to me with me, I would be able to help them.

I think one of the most outstanding changes is my attitude.  I think if I were buying a new DSLR now, I know I would look at Canons range as well as Nikon’s.  I think I will always favour Nikon, I do like their lenses, but I like Canon as well now.  It is too late now to change, if I was inclined to.  I have far too much Nikon stuff, and it would cost me too much money to replace it all.  I will have to continue with Nikon for now, but I would like to keep an eye on Canon and what they have coming out.

Lesson

This for me, if you are taking photos in the rain, remember to check the end of the lens for wet spots.  If you don’t you come home and find horrible spots all over your image.

Another one for me, when you go out, check all the settings on your camera at the start.

43 Comments
  1. I with lenses came with little windshield wipers 😉
    I couldn’t choose between the second set of images, but I like the canon version of the first one – because of the lighting and composition more than any discernment I can make about nikon vs canon

    November 11, 2012
    • I wish they did too, or a little light that flashed when they were wet. haha 🙂
      I think the same as you, it is hard to know. I am sure some people could really tell the difference, but I couldn’t, well except for some aspects. Thanks Heather.

      November 16, 2012
  2. Good morning, Leanne. I’m still using a compact camera, but as I progress I would like to buy a DSLR. I was out walking by a lake in N Wales last week, and a man walked past with a camera. I asked him what camera he was using and he said a Canon 600 and that he could thoroughly recommend it. And now you mention it too. Synchronicity!! I know which camera to buy now. Thank you.

    November 11, 2012
    • That is so funny Lizzie, I love my DSLR and you have so much freedom and the ability to try some amazing things. I am not going to lie, I loved using the 600D, I think it would be a great camera for you.

      November 16, 2012
  3. Love these shots, particularly the second one from the top 🙂

    November 11, 2012
    • Thank you Vibeke, the best elements really came out for that image. I am going back this Sunday morning, so maybe I will get that sunrise. 🙂

      November 16, 2012
  4. Love the ending result. Nice work.

    November 11, 2012
  5. Hi Leanne,

    I have done a similar test comparison between Nikon and Canon. My primary camera is a Canon 7D but before buying it I rented a comparable model Nikon.

    The main thing I noticed was the Nikon images had edge to edge sharpness and Canon images tend to be a bit soft on the edges. But my choice in the end was the Canon I simply found the controls and menus easier to use.
    Thanks for all your great photos and software tutorials – Steve

    November 11, 2012
    • You know I think it all comes down to what you like and what you are used to. When I first chose Nikon it was because someone I knew had just purchased a Canon and had a lot of trouble working it out. I didn’t want that, and I found the Nikon easy. Digital is a completely different thing. Though, I wanted another Nikon and I have always loved mine. I would say that now I am not sure what I would get.
      Thanks Steve.

      November 16, 2012
  6. Always a topic of discussion: Nikon vs Canon. I’m a longtime Nikon DSLR shooter but have found the Sony NEX mirror less cameras are quite cable of challenging the amateur to advanced amateur DSLRs. Choices, choices!

    November 11, 2012
    • There are so many choices. It is a big topic, which is better. I am not going to go into it, I don’t know, I think we all have our preferences. You buy them for different reasons. I don’t know much about Sony cameras. Thanks Ed

      November 16, 2012
  7. Pat #

    The second image is really nice. As you mentioned, the sun breaking through creates lovely color on the water, but I also like the way it makes the dark sky appear to be just hanging over and ready to blanket the whole scene.

    November 12, 2012
    • Thanks Pat, it certainly did have all the best of the elements working towards it.

      November 16, 2012
  8. I am amazed that I am able to see differences in the pictures. Before I would have said that all cameras take the same thing – now I know better 🙂

    November 12, 2012
    • haha, I know what you mean Colline, I am amazed as well, I mean, that I can see it. 🙂

      November 16, 2012
  9. I prefer the Canon shots. Interesting. Maybe it’s just a matter of personal preference. When I went to buy my first advanced camera I tried out both Nikon and Canon. To my eye the Canon took the superior photos. I was comparing a Nikon D5100 to Canon’s advanced point and shoot the SX40 HS (which has the powerful zoom lens on it). The point and shoot beat out the DSLR by far on quality. I was Shocked! and Sold. Nice write up Leanne, as usual. :O)

    November 12, 2012
    • Thank you Beedie, it is my understanding that you buy Canon for the camera, and you buy Nikon for their lenses. if you aren’t going to use their really good lenses then there isn’t much point, if that makes any sense.

      November 16, 2012
      • Yes! Makes total sense :O) Thank you Leanne.

        November 17, 2012
  10. saymber #

    I like the 2nd picture best Leanne – the golden reflection of light on the water reminds me of Venice for some reason.

    November 12, 2012
    • I think it was the best image, and the light was the best for that image. Thanks Saymber

      November 16, 2012
  11. Lovely images!

    November 12, 2012
  12. Excellent write-up on comparing the Canon and Nikon brands. I like your photos very much as well. The stillness of the water is quite impressive.

    November 12, 2012
    • Thank you David, glad you like it, I do feel a bit of an amateur doing this, but it was a great opportunity.

      November 16, 2012
  13. monkeyfacekim #

    Amazing photos!

    November 12, 2012
  14. infinitewhite #

    Thank you for taking a look at my blog. I can’t help noticing you take great care when you craft you photographs. They are beautiful.

    November 12, 2012
    • You are very welcome. I do take a lot of care and I really enjoy my craft. Thank you so much.

      November 16, 2012
  15. Leanne, I like the Nikon images better. They seemed less sharp. It’s amazing how just a few seconds can change the picture. Both sets are beautiful.

    November 12, 2012
    • Thank you Anne, it is very weird what a difference a couple of minutes can make.

      November 16, 2012
  16. I really appreciate you taking the time do do these comparisons. The Nikon clearly shows a difference in color saturation from my view. I have the Canon 7D and love it due to the size, weight and fit in hand for a lady. Don’t need to feel like I’m heaving a kettlebell for a camera.

    Laughed on the water spots thing. I did the same thing when i went down to Annapolis after Hurricane Sandy. Forgot my lens hood. 🙂

    November 12, 2012
    • I think it is always going to come down to personal preference. I like my Nikons and have always been very happy with them. Though, I was surprised about the Canons. It was a fun thing to do, I don’t know if it achieved much, but it was a good thing to try.
      Water spots, I even had my lens hood on, haha, even worse. I hate it when I make stupid mistakes like that.

      November 16, 2012
  17. How interesting. I have the Canon 600D & I love it. I used to use a Nikon film SLR which for it’s time was also a very good camera but the Canon is great – I really need some new lenses though & that’s a whole other kettle of fish!!!

    November 12, 2012
    • It is a whole other kettle of fish. I had never considered Canon before, I don’t know what I would do now, if I had to make the choice all over again. Thanks

      November 16, 2012
  18. To me there doesn’t seem that much difference between the two cameras – I’d probably choose the Nikon over the Canon, because of the second shot (which is great, by the way).

    November 13, 2012
    • I think I am with your on this. I love Nikon, and will probably be always swayed more that way. Thank you Richard

      November 16, 2012
  19. From my point of view, both cameras seem to perform very well, Leanne…though the colors seem to be a bit ‘truer’ with the Nikon. Wonderful shots, though…very glad you could present them!

    Thanks also for the ‘Lesson’…I have been guilty of both, and have ended up having to ‘clone’ out raindrops on the lens, AND shot in totally the wrong setting, making for an extra half-hour’s work in Photoshop making color corrections!

    November 13, 2012
    • I have to agree, I think they both performed well for what I was doing. It was nice to be given an opportunity to do it.
      Yes, the “Lesson” I need a check list for myself sometimes. I should make one. I hate it when you stuff up an image just because you forgot to look at the ISO or the aperture.
      Thanks 1000

      November 16, 2012
  20. All great images, but for me, the 2 Nikon photos seem to possess depth & clarity the Canon photos although the colours and light are great, don’t.

    November 13, 2012
    • Thank you EllaDee, it is strange comparing images like this. I have had fun with the Canons, but I think I will stick with Nikon, I have put too much money into them. I would love to get that second image again, but with much better light.

      November 16, 2012

Comments are closed.

