Skip to content

Arsenic with Canons

Last night I went back down to Heidelberg Theatre Company to see how rehearsals for Arsenic and Old Lace were going, and as the Canons are going back tomorrow, I wanted to see what they were like to use for photographing theatre.

This is on the wall out the front of the theatre.  It has turned out very strange.  I took this image with the EOS1100D.

I used the 600D for the photos that I am going to show you now.  I have to say that, while the 1100D is a nice camera, I really did prefer using the 600D.

It was great to see that nearly everyone has their lines learned and now they are moving into their roles.  The show is becoming very fluid and I found myself laughing out loud quite a bit.

The two aunts work off each other so well, and they are so cute together.

They are starting to use props a lot now, and the costumes are being fitted and worn.  Some are wearing wigs, and some wigs are being discarded.  Too funny.

More and more actors are there now, especially as the show is being run right through.

The Director has moved to the back of the auditorium and gives his notes to the cast after each act from there.

The cast listen to the notes to work out what they can do to improve, while the backstage crew start working on what they will need to do for the show as well.

I really enjoyed the play last night.  It is my first time seeing it from start to finish and it was a real treat.  There is lots going on and plenty to be entertained by.  I don’t know how sales for the tickets are going, but if you haven’t booked and are in Melbourne, I suggest you get in quick.

As for the cameras, like I said, they are being picked up tomorrow.  They have been great to use.  I would have loved to keep the 600D. Though I am curious to see what the other high end cameras would be like.  I have to say, if I were buying a kit for the first time now, I really don’t know what I would choose.

The Canons are very versatile, though, and photographing the theatre wasn’t great for them.  It can be done, as you can see, but there was a lot of noise that I had a hard time getting rid of, and they were very sensitive to movement.  I think that has more to do with the lagtime of the shutter, as my Nikon D300s has a fast shutter, and there is almost no lagtime.  If you wanted to shoot theatre, I think you would need to get a better camera.

On the plus side, for most of what I had the cameras for, they were fine.  They were very easy to use and carrying them around was lovely as they are light.  I would really recommend them to anyone who would like to start taking photos with a DSLR.

Nikon are, apparently, going to be sending me a camera as well.  A D5100, which is their equivalent to the 600D. It will be interesting to see what it is like after the Canon.  Though, I have to say, I have even considered selling my Nikon gear to try and buy the Canon. I will see what happens.  I would like to have the Nikon D800 though, but it’s too much money right now.  I need someone who would like to sponsor my blog, and pay me to advertise them or sponsor posts.

55 Comments
  1. Always love looking at your photos . Alesia

    November 15, 2012
    • Thank you Alesia, that is good to hear.

      November 16, 2012
  2. dafarmer #

    Wonderful set of photos Leanne!!

    November 15, 2012
  3. I use Nikon and wouldn’t dream of using Canon. But I know Canon users that the same about their choice too. Each to his own. I guess you’re doing the right thing experimenting with the different bodies to see which one you prefer 😉

    Kim*

    http://www.travelphotographyblog.wordpress.com

    November 15, 2012
    • I was given a wonderful opportunity, and I was very biased against Canon, but I don’t think I would be now. I was surprised with them. I think I will always be a Nikon person. Thanks Kim.

      November 16, 2012
      • Gotta love Nikon glass 🙂 Kim*

        November 19, 2012
      • Oh yes, it is very good. 🙂

        November 21, 2012
  4. Duuuude! :P. I wish I had the D800 as well. But… i’ve been stuck with my APS-C Nikon D60 for the past 4 years, and probably will be stuck with it for the NEXT 4 years :). Have to push the technology I DO have, to its limits.

    November 15, 2012
    • Yes, I know what you mean, but it is nice to dream and to want new gear. I like trying new stuff. I will keep trying to get it though. I hope you have a chance to try a new one one day. Thanks

      November 16, 2012
  5. I loved seeing the actor’s faces as they listened so intently to feedback.
    If I were wealthy, I would be your patron, but alas, I’m just another out-of-work reporter. I’ve got a big mouth, though, and I will do my best to spread the word: if any artist deserves a sponsor, you most certainly do!

    November 15, 2012
    • I love seeing their faces as well, I love to capture the emotions they are expressing.
      What a lovely thing to say Claire, I hope you can help, that would be wonderful. I have some ideas, but I need to do some more planning. Thank you.

      November 16, 2012
      • Sure, take your time. I can’t make the promises I used to be able to make, since I’m not a staff reporter anymore. All I can promise is a good chance. I’m pretty cocky though – I worked for six newspapers over 15 years, won six journalism awards (four of them major) and was a finalist for a national Ethics in Journalism award .I still do some freelance work. I write regularly for one national blog, but unfortunately, you’d have to be Mexican-American in order for me to profile you there! Hmm… we just have to come up with an angle (I know, I know – the media is disgraceful.)
        When (and if ) you’re ready, just email me at claireobrien23@gmail.com – it’s actually not that hard to come up with angles. The disillusioning truth is, there’s always an angle. The encouraging truth is that the authenticity of YOUR work will always transcend the apparatus of the media.
        I’m not being a saint, so don’t worry! Any journalist would recognize the professional advantages of publishing a story or series featuring your photos. But of course only you know what’s best for yourself.

        November 17, 2012
      • Thank you Claire, I have sent you an email.

        Wow, your list is very impressive. I’m honoured that you would want to help me.

        November 21, 2012
  6. Seek out a second hand D700, probably the best bet for you. Easier on the pocket for sure. The D800 would tax your computer speed/space etc when processing.

    November 15, 2012
    • I might have to think about that. I am not too concerned about the second part, though it is something to consider. Thank you.

      November 16, 2012
  7. Its always fun working with a cast backstage as thats where a lot of the magic happens(:

    November 15, 2012
    • It is also where the fun happens as well. Thanks.

      November 16, 2012
  8. I actually use a Sony, but I always enjoy reading what photographers write about cameras. The pictures are really nice – seems like a fun play 🙂

    November 15, 2012
    • I haven’t had much to do with Sony cameras. I am glad you enjoy it. The play is turning out really well, I think the audiences are going to love it. Thanks

      November 16, 2012
  9. Excellent shots (as always) – love the last one – it’s so full of drama.

    November 15, 2012
    • Thank you Richard, glad you like them.

      November 16, 2012
  10. I too use Nikons now for the past 30 years and would not dream to change – never. The only problem I have is that due to an accident 8 years ago I start finding it a bit difficult sometimes to lift my D200 with a telephotolens so husband has to come to the rescue. He now bought me small Nikon (have not seen it) I can carry in my pocket and use when my right shoulder ‘freezes’. And when I do win the lottery, Leanne I would sponsor you, for all the good advise you give. Good luck!!

    November 15, 2012
    • They can be very heavy, someone asked me yesterday if they could feel how heavy it was. I do get very sore hands at the end of a long day of shooting. Thank you so much, I am thinking about options and there are a few, just have to get them to work.

      November 16, 2012
  11. Nice photo set.
    I love my D5000 (Wish I could afford the 600 or 800 but so it goes). It is a tough versatile little camera. The 5100 is an updated version. I bet you’ll like it!

    November 15, 2012
    • I am about to get a loan of a 5100 from Nikon, so I am looking forward to seeing it and finding out what it would be like. I would like the others as well. Thank you so much.

      November 16, 2012
  12. This play looks like it’ll be fun. And yay for Canon!

    November 15, 2012
    • I think the play will be John, and I am so surprised how many Canon fans I have, haha. Thanks

      November 16, 2012
  13. The logo on the theatre is neat…I don’t think it’s an odd shot. But, I haven’t seen it in person 😉

    November 16, 2012
    • Thanks Marie, I think it looks odd because it looks like it is indoors when it is actually on the outside wall.

      November 16, 2012
  14. Looks like fun!

    November 16, 2012
  15. It must be getting to closer to opening night. Nice set of photos.

    November 16, 2012
    • Yes, it is, opens next Thursday. Thanks David.

      November 16, 2012
  16. You’ve accomplished so much, I don’t have much trouble seeing sponsorship/funding working it’s way toward you. These images have a nice warmth, depth and light about them.

    November 16, 2012
    • Thank you EllaDee, I hope you are right, I really want to continue doing the blog, so it would be good to get some. I am glad you like the photos as well.

      November 16, 2012
  17. I love Canon…so I can’t really speak without prejudice☺ Your shots will be amazing no matter what you shoot with girl!
    Laurie

    November 16, 2012
    • I know what you mean Laurie, I used to be the same about Nikon. Thank you so much, what a lovely thing to say.

      November 16, 2012
  18. I’ve enjoyed your Canon reviews, Leanne. Interesting about the noise and slow shutter release. In your Nikon collection do you have any that have a CCD sensor that you would recommend? I’m currently using a Canon G12 but would like more clarity for my orb photography. The CMOS sensors aren’t as sensitive to orbs.

    November 16, 2012
    • Oh dear, a technical question, I have no idea. I have two D300s, so you might have to check that out. I bought the cameras because they were best I could afford to do cycling. Most cheaper models are not always good. Sorry not any help here.

      November 16, 2012
      • Thanks for considering anyway!

        November 17, 2012
  19. These are great photos, Leanne. You’ve really caught the interactions between people.

    November 16, 2012
    • Thank you poetmcgonagall, I like doing that.

      November 16, 2012
  20. Hi, I have nominated you for the REALITY Blog Award! Congratulations! Here’s my post: http://losflamingos.wordpress.com/2012/11/16/reality-blog-award/ 🙂

    November 16, 2012
    • Thank you very much, I have you a comment on your blog.

      November 16, 2012
  21. Didn’t catch much evidence of ‘noise’, Leanne…but the colors are certainly saturated (more than real life?). Worklights ARE harsh things…wish you could have the 600D for dress rehearsal, under decent stage lighting…THAT would be the true test, wouldn’t it?

    Looks as if this cast is quite perfect, and oh, how I wish I could be there for opening night!!! Also, I’m anxious to see a more finished version of the set, which really is a fine design for this production (as far as I can tell!).

    November 16, 2012
    • I did quite a bit to reduce the noise in photoshop, I have been learning about that. Yes, it would have been good, but alas, the cameras were packed up this morning, and were picked up by a courier, they are on their way back to Sydney now.

      I think this play is going to be very special. The main characters are all very strong actors and they are going to make it a fantastic evening for everyone who sees it. I am also anxious, I’ve been told it won’t be grey, so that is good. Not long now to find out. Thanks 1000.

      November 16, 2012
      • Well, Leanne…Christmas IS coming! Might not be a bad idea to start penning a ‘Wish List’, leaving it in very conspicuous places, of course!

        November 17, 2012
      • I like that idea, not sure it will work I live with people that don’t take hints. Haha.

        November 21, 2012
  22. eduscrawl #

    I’m an Olympus user myself, and have tended to ignore both canon and nikon althought I have family members who use, and swear by, both brands! Your title caught me – good one- and the photographs made it worthwhile. I was looking at full frame cameras and I confess its canon that attract me more. The photos look great on my screen so whatever noise there was you have managed to remove without significantly degradint the images, congratulations on that. I always enjoy your theatrical posts so please feel free to post more of them *s*

    November 17, 2012
    • It is such a funny argument, Canon vs Nikon, I think it is just taste. I liked the Canon, but I will always be a Nikon person I think. I have spent too much money on my gear to change now. It was good to try out Canon, though it would be good to try one that is not entry level, see what it is like, a real comparison to what I have. Maybe I should ask. I have been learning how to get rid of the noise, it seems to be working. Thanks you.

      November 21, 2012
      • eduscrawl #

        the Nikon v Canon argument seems to crop up on every photography forum, almost as if it has to. You’d think no one else made cameras!

        November 24, 2012
      • It certainly is a controversial one, I think you buy each for different reasons and you are right we forget about Pentax, Olympus, and Sony, and I am sure there are others.

        December 3, 2012
  23. Looks like so much fun! Love the expressions you got!

    November 18, 2012
    • It can be Amanda, thank you.

      November 21, 2012

Comments are closed.

