Skip to content

Rivers, Sunrises and Cities

Can I just start by saying that waking up at 4 o’clock in the morning is a lot easier than actually getting out of bed then.  I find I can wake up, but making myself get up is a lot harder.  However, I did do it, I met Suzzanna and then we drove into the city.  I am not going to lie, it was so disappointing.  When we got to the place I had taken photos of the previous week, it was exactly the same.  The sky was overcast, but the river was not smooth.  It was not good.

We decided to walk to the city and that is when it all changed.

The river was partially clear and the clouds put on a really nice scene in behind the city.  It seemed so crystal clear.  There was no smog around, it was a city waiting to be cleansed.

As we walked along we went under Princes Bridge and found the Yarra River very calm and still.  This has been what I have been waiting for.  A sunrise would have made it perfect.  It will happen if I keep going in, eventually.

The sun did come out, not quite where I was hoping it would.

This is what I was hoping for down the other end of the river, where we started.  The sun coming up and shining on the buildings.  More golden glow would have been nice.  It is almost perfect, but it does give rise to the idea that a great sunrise would make it even better.

The only real problem with this shot was how much rubbish was in the river.  It was so sad to see rubbish everywhere.  I don’t understand what is happening, we had the tidy up Australia campaign when I was growing up, where is it today?

Not long after these were taken it started raining, and it rained a lot.  We were lucky to have been able to get these images.  Though, after we ate breakfast and were heading back the sun came out in a most spectacular fashion.

All of these are HDR images processed in Photomatix Pro, then opened in Camera Raw in Photoshop CS6, and the final processing was done in Color Efex, then the filter Classical Soft Focus was applied.

Tamrac Expedition 7 Bag

I was really able to test the bag this morning.  It really was the first time I had taken it out on a field trip like this.  It was so comfortable to wear and very easy to use.  The tripod on the bag makes it heavy, but after our first stop, I had thought not to put it back on, but it was crazy carrying it, so it was attached to the bag again.  The bag is very easy to get stuff in and out of, and even when it started raining I wasn’t too concerned.  It was a very positive experience, and once again I would like to thank C.R.Kennedy & Co for helping me to get the bag.

99 Comments
  1. Great click!!

    November 18, 2012
  2. wonderful capture of reflections!

    November 18, 2012
  3. ag #

    With your skills Leanne, I’m surprised you didn’t add the missing sunrise yourself. No need for you to depend on Mother Nature like the rest of us 🙂

    November 18, 2012
    • Haha, I don’t like to cheat, well not much. thanks ag.

      November 19, 2012
  4. These are some of the best shots I’ve seen 🙂

    November 18, 2012
    • From me EllaDee? I was pretty happy with them too, thanks.

      November 19, 2012
      • From you… and elsewhere 🙂

        November 19, 2012
  5. Fantastic!

    November 18, 2012
  6. Those reflection shots really are great! I like the affect the overcast sky had on the mood of the picture. The original goal of my blog wasn’t photography, but I’ve recently been giving my shots a little bit of attention. I never realized how big of a difference it can make!

    November 18, 2012
    • Thank you danintakamatsu, I think the sky did add some drama as well. It is amazing what you can do to photos now. I hope you have fun playing with them.

      November 19, 2012
  7. What great pics, especially the second one. Sometimes those early morning shots give you some of the most amazing shots.

    November 18, 2012
    • I couldn’t agree more, I love the early morning for photography the most. Thank Mary.

      November 19, 2012
  8. Tricia's Blogs #

    I like all three, but the second image is spectacular!!

    November 18, 2012
    • Thanks Tricia, I think I have to agree with you.

      November 19, 2012
  9. Hi Leanne

    Worth the early rising. These pictures are spectacular. Is there something about the early morning that makes the reflections clearer? I know nothing about photography but I’m sure someone did say that to me once??

    Corinne

    November 18, 2012
    • Yes, most definitely worth the early rising. I think what makes the early morning really good for them is that the water is often very still, it hasn’t been moved around by the day. More chance of no wind. Thank you Corinne.

      November 19, 2012
  10. These are absolutely magnificent… award winning photos these… thanks for the share…

    November 18, 2012
    • Thank you Rob, that is lovely to say.

      November 19, 2012
  11. Great images! 🙂

    November 18, 2012
    • Thank you so much Richard.

      November 19, 2012
  12. I have very fond memories of this part of Melbourne – I spent a lot of Christmas holidays here as a child – and I’ve never seen it look lovelier. Simply beautiful.

    November 18, 2012
    • What a lovely thing to say Anna, it is a great part of the city. Thank you.

      November 19, 2012
  13. Sunrises are bog-standard. You got something better, less obvious, and just as luminous in a silvery kind of way.

    November 18, 2012
    • What a wonderful thing to say poetmcgonagall, thank you so much.

      November 19, 2012
  14. Lori Ono #

    Really enjoyed the photos. I was in Melbourne in April and adored the city. Your photos remind me how much I enjoyed it.

    November 18, 2012
    • That is so nice, it is a pretty good city, I really like it. Thank you Lori.

      November 19, 2012
  15. A very wonderful capture of reflections!

    November 18, 2012
  16. Oh Leanne, these photos are simply gorgeous. You didn’t need a sunrise after all. Carol.

    November 18, 2012
    • Thank you Carol, I am pretty happy with what I got, and there is still more.

      November 19, 2012
  17. Wow!

    November 18, 2012
  18. Pat #

    These are beautiful!

    November 18, 2012
  19. I love that I am able to see the reflection in the water. Beautiful shots Leanne.

    November 18, 2012
    • I was pretty happy with that too, thanks Colline.

      November 19, 2012
  20. Wonderful photos and reflections!

    November 19, 2012
  21. Beautifully done, Leanne. Well worth a 4am start.

    November 19, 2012
    • Thank you Andrew, yes most definitely.

      November 19, 2012
  22. simply lovely, Leanne! (your experience reminds me of a saying we have around here, and maybe everywhere, I don’t know – if you don’t like the weather, just wait 10 minutes. You waited it out, and did it ever pay off.)

    November 19, 2012
    • Thank you Spree, that is so true, it was also really good moving along a little, the photos were so much better.

      November 19, 2012
  23. Oh, Leanne, these are all so breathtakingly gorgeous!! Excellent processing, the reflections so pure…print the large one and frame it!!! Thanks for such a wondrous gift on a Chicago Sunday morning!

    November 19, 2012
    • Thank you so much 1000, I was so happy with the reflections, I also like that if you look closely you can tell it is really water. I am so glad you liked them.

      November 19, 2012
  24. Leanne, all 3 photos are FAB – love reflections in photos … and your’s a brilliantly clear. Top one is my pick .. because of the little riddle on the water … you’re very talent.

    November 19, 2012
    • I think a lot of it was luck viveka, the river was stunning. Thank you so much.

      November 19, 2012
      • Chicago … didn’t notice that until I had replayed. My favorite city .. but the photos was from the river where I never been yet – have a great Monday.

        November 19, 2012
  25. These are seriously stunning pictures, especially the second to last one. Wow! 🙂

    November 19, 2012
    • Thank you Zelmare, I think it is pretty good myself, was so happy with it. 🙂

      November 19, 2012
  26. The sky in photo #1, that’s very dramatic – a very exceptional shot. That river is unbelievable – to be that smooth and so reflective. Excellent shots.

    November 19, 2012
    • It is not very often you see the river like that, very early in the morning is about the only time, and even then it has to be very still. The sky was dramatic, I think because rain was coming. Thanks David.

      November 19, 2012
  27. What you’ve done with these photos is just magical. Did you spend much time post processing?

    November 19, 2012
    • Thank you Bella, though, I have to confess, I didn’t have to do a lot. It was pretty easy, if you see todays post you will see what I did to the second one. Thank you.

      November 19, 2012
  28. Absolutely stunning Leanne, the reflections (another of my fave things!) are gorgeous.

    Couldn’t agree more re the rubbish – plastic carrier bags are a BIG problem in the UK, they get everywhere, in rivers & up trees especially. So many people have no regard for the environment at all & it breaks my heart to see the mess some leave behind.

    November 19, 2012
    • I think many of us like reflections, I love them too, and these were so good to get.
      The rubbish is a pain, young kids these days, I believe, are so used to having mum and/or dad cleaning up after them that they don’t care, I remember a kid throughing some rubbish on the ground and when told not to he said by someone gets paid to pick it up, unbelievable. Thanks

      November 19, 2012
  29. I love how you captured the reflections of the buildings in the calm water. They are Beautiful pictures.

    November 19, 2012
    • I was really happy with the reflections too sweetpurerity, thank you so much.

      November 19, 2012
  30. Hi, thanks so much for stopping by my site – your work on here looks stunning!

    November 19, 2012
    • You’re very welcome and thank you so much.

      November 19, 2012
  31. petit4chocolatier #

    I like every single picture!! Stunning!

    November 19, 2012
    • That is great to hear, thank you petit4chocolatier

      November 19, 2012
  32. I really admire your commitment – hope you get the shot you want soon. In the meantime, these are beautiful. The light you’ve captured is so hard and bright – it’s like steel.

    November 19, 2012
    • I hope so too Richard, we are planning another trip in, it has to happen eventually. I like that description, like steel, thank so much Richard.

      November 19, 2012
  33. Wow! I would love to learn how to get this out of some of my pictures. Stunning.

    November 19, 2012
    • I have to admit Kimberly it wasn’t really hard, the original images were so good it helps a lot, it also helps that the conditions were really good. Thank you.

      November 19, 2012
  34. I love the reflections in the water. Amazing how the water could be that still.

    November 19, 2012
    • I love the reflections as well, it was so cool how still the water was. Thanks

      November 19, 2012
  35. Nice work! You skirt just on the edge of overkill with post processing, but stay safely this side! I like the BW work particularly.

    November 19, 2012
    • I had a lecturer at uni that used to say you had to be prepared to f*** up an image to learn what to do, and I think it really works with this, I have done the overkill and now I am starting to tone it down, thank you.

      November 19, 2012
  36. gorgeous pics! you make melbourne look absolutely stunning!

    November 19, 2012
    • Thank you, it is pretty easy, Melbourne is a nice a city.

      November 19, 2012
  37. Enjoyed the photos! That second one is especially good. Thanks for sharing Melbourne, Australia with us. Beautiful city.

    November 19, 2012
    • Thank you Debbie, I am so glad you have enjoyed the photos of Melbourne,

      November 19, 2012
  38. Is the building reflected on a river a composite photograph?
    The river is beautifully too much.
    Since I only know the dirty river in Osaka in Japan, I will think so.

    November 19, 2012
    • No, that is really how the river was, it was so still, just before a heap of rain hit. It is pretty dirty but they do do a lot to keep it clean. Thanks

      November 19, 2012
      • Thanks you for replying quickly. I see. It is wonderful.

        November 19, 2012
  39. Fantastic reflections!!

    November 19, 2012
  40. Stunning shots, beautiful city!

    November 19, 2012
  41. Nice!

    November 19, 2012
  42. It’s getting so that I recognize Melbourne automatically…thanks for the introduction to your city. These shots are just so perfect 🙂

    November 20, 2012
    • Thank you Marie, I love my city, and I love taking photos of it. I am glad you are enjoying the photos. 🙂

      November 23, 2012
  43. great shots

    November 20, 2012
  44. Well interpreted and well captured, love the images. Very well done.

    November 20, 2012
    • Thank you Derek, happy to hear this.

      November 23, 2012
  45. Wow these are just gorgeous! I love the first one, i love how you still have see everything clearly, but there’s that softness added that just makes it breath taking 🙂

    November 20, 2012
    • Thank you Amanda, I was really happy with the shots as well. It was great to get something after what initially looked like a disappointing morning.

      November 23, 2012
  46. bjhayward #

    Reblogged this on bj hayward images and commented:
    Prepare yourself for some stunning images…

    November 20, 2012
  47. These are just fantastic shots, Leanne! Wow! The reflections are just beautiful. Love reading your posts.

    November 21, 2012
    • Thank you Paula, I was so happy to see the river so still, I didn’t really think it was possible. Oh, I am so glad to read you like reading my posts, thank you.

      November 23, 2012
  48. Makes me want to travel! Nice, surreal photos. Very dreamy.

    November 23, 2012
    • Thank you Marc, it is certainly a great place to visit.

      November 23, 2012

Comments are closed.

