Skip to content

Places, House Lights Down, Open Curtain

Arsenic and Old Lace now showing at Heidelberg Theatre Company.

The dress rehearsal was great, and everyone who goes to see it is going to be well entertained.

This is probably going to be my last post on this play.  It will finish in three weeks and I think they will be playing to packed houses each night.

Photographing this play has been different to the last two.  Every time I went down I felt like a stranger, someone intruding.  I know I wasn’t, but the experience was nothing like it was for Summer of the Seventeenth Doll.  I got to know that cast and felt like I was part of it.  That didn’t happen this time.  I really didn’t get to know anyone really, I was just the person at the front taking photos.

I do wish them the best for the run of the play, though I know it will be well liked.

This is my last play for sometime now.  I won’t be doing the next play, though Joan Moriarty is directing the second play, and I think I will photograph hers.  I would really like to.  I think Joan is fabulous and her plays are always lots of fun.  I have worked with her many times, and she has said it will be okay.  She will be directing August: Osage County by Tracy Letts.

62 Comments
  1. wonderful photos even though you didn’t get to know anyone 🙂

    November 22, 2012
  2. I love your stage photographs, there is no one like you, you are doing great job, I enjoy so much. Thanks and Love, nia

    November 22, 2012
    • Thank you Nia, that is a lovely thing to say.

      November 27, 2012
  3. johanstellerphotography #

    nice kind of nostalgic colors

    November 22, 2012
    • Stage lighting, does it every time. thanks.

      November 27, 2012
  4. this play looks like fun…

    November 22, 2012
  5. Love the set – and you’ve captured it so well!
    Osage County is a great play…you’ll enjoy watching that one come together, too.
    Sorry I’ve been away this week – it’s a Holiday here, and more than a little bit crazy 😉

    November 22, 2012
    • The set turned out really well, so happy to see how it looked.
      It is a great play, Osage County, I saw a professional production of it a couple of years ago, I was enthralled right through, loved it.
      I hope everything is slowing down a little for you, miss hearing from you. 🙂

      November 27, 2012
  6. Lovely photographs. I can see clearly the expressions on their faces and i am almost waiting to hear their words.

    November 22, 2012
    • Thanks Colline, that is a great thing to say.

      November 27, 2012
  7. these photos are really good! They looked so perfect I’d initially thought you painted them!

    November 22, 2012
    • Wow, that is a great thing to comment, thank you so much.

      November 27, 2012
  8. Leanne, thanks for letting us participate through your great photography. And how I would have loved to see the play. Ciao, Carina

    November 23, 2012
    • Thanks Carina, it is going really well from what I have heard, glad you have enjoyed the journey.

      November 27, 2012
  9. Pat #

    You did a beautiful job with these photos!

    November 23, 2012
  10. I love Arsenic and Old Lace, but August: Osage County was the bomb when I saw it.

    November 23, 2012
    • I totally agree with your whole statement. Thanks Andra

      November 27, 2012
  11. Great looking set and clothing! I appreciate being able to see this play up to now, thank you!

    November 23, 2012
    • It is a great set and the costumes are great, they usually are. I am so happy that you have enjoyed it John, thanks.

      November 27, 2012
  12. petit4chocolatier #

    I love the theater photos! Love the set, furniture, and clothing. Especially the reddish suit and red pages in the book!! Brilliant : )

    November 23, 2012
    • The touch of red is brilliant, I wonder if they noticed it. Thanks petit4chocolatier

      November 27, 2012
  13. Fantastic, you got such great moments!

    November 23, 2012
    • I think seeing the play a lot beforehand means that you are ready for those great moments, Thanks

      November 27, 2012
  14. The first top photo it looked like a doll house – know very little about the play – but the photos from it gives a real theatric atmosphere. You have really caught all the dullness in the seating – and I think that’s what the reality were at that time. Great job, Leanne.

    November 23, 2012
    • Thanks viveka, it is great photographing something like this.

      November 27, 2012
      • Great shots …

        November 28, 2012
  15. A very nice set of photos.

    November 23, 2012
  16. Great photos! This looks such an interesting and exciting job, I had no idea people take photographs of theater productions, love them 🙂

    November 23, 2012
    • I wouldn’t call it a job Rosie, I just do it for fun, but I suppose there are people that do do it for a job. It would be a great job. Thanks

      November 27, 2012
  17. How wonderful – I think these are my favourites of your play photographs! Shame it’s the last for a while, but looking forward to the next.

    November 23, 2012
    • Thanks Richard, this one has been different, I am looking forward to the next as well, though I am looking forward to the break as well.

      November 27, 2012
  18. great pics!!

    November 23, 2012
  19. Superb series of images, Leanne…nicely crisp! You certainly captured some of the finest moments, too. Fun stuff!

    Please, if you are able sometime, pass along my compliments to the designers and painters…the costumes, lighting and scenery look fantastic (I was hoping they’d do something with those bland walls…and they did!).

    There ARE times, though, when you just have to be ‘the photog’ because of, possibly, personalities?…so,don’t feel badly…please?

    Have a lovely weekend…and ‘go nuts’ with the D5100!!!

    November 23, 2012
    • Thanks 1000, though I wonder if I should have taken some of the yellow out. I don’t know.
      I will pass it along if I can, though I won’t be down there for a while, perhaps they will read your comment.
      I don’t know what it was, it was strange. I had a bad experience with a director a few years ago, I got all the blame, and I have noticed that the way I get treated is very different now. It doesn’t matter, I don’t really want to be too involved, so that is good. Thanks again.

      November 27, 2012
      • Sometimes, no matter how nice and unobtrusive you can be…those petty types of people can really be frightening, Leanne…they are so ‘power hungry’ when they direct, which they’re often not very good at. I’ve been through the same type of thing…and usually just walk away (while flipping them the bird in my very visually-thinking mind Haha!).

        November 28, 2012
  20. You’ve captured beautifully the depth, light, colour and detail of the set. The images look super-real to me and like postcards from decades prior.

    November 23, 2012
    • I like that description EllaDee, thank you.

      November 27, 2012
  21. I have nominated you for Sisterly Love Award 🙂 – http://poojycat.wordpress.com/2012/11/23/sisterly-love-award-big-yay/

    November 23, 2012
  22. Live theatre is such an intimate sharing of emotion as we all enter the illusion and become part of the play. A delightful collection of scenes above. Thank you too for all your visits.

    November 23, 2012
    • That is so true, it is a very intimate thing, especially when emotions are being played on the set. I am happy you have enjoyed the photos, thank you.

      November 27, 2012
  23. Great set of photos. I love Arsenic and Old Lace. The lighting is great did you have to enhance it? Often theater lighting is mostly from above leaving the eyes in shadow, making it difficult to balance the highlights and still bring out the eyes. I know the intruder feeling. The last performance I photographed was a music/dance cabaret. I was at the back of the theater, and my wife kept getting after me because she thought my camera and the stabilization in the lens were too noisy. Fortunately, I got lots of great shots over my wife’s protests, because, as it turned out, all the videographer’s equipment got stolen out of his car after the show, so my photos are the only images of the show.

    November 25, 2012
    • That was really lucky. I didn’t have to do anything for the lighting, it was great, they had lights at all different angles. Thanks Timothy.

      November 27, 2012
  24. Veery nice! The effects are great as well!

    November 26, 2012
  25. Beautiful photos of this wonderful stage. Looks like a very entertaining play. Excellent photography skills! Thanks for the like on my blog. 🙂

    November 26, 2012
    • It is a very entertaining play Jenna, very funny. Thank you.

      November 27, 2012
  26. Lovely shots, nailed every aspect

    November 29, 2012
    • Thank you so much integrityimagery

      December 7, 2012
  27. I’ve seen that movie so many times I could put captions under each photo hahaha! Really great moments captured, I just love them 🙂 I’m sorry the play wasn’t as fun as the last and the people didn’t get to know you this time. It really is a shame when you have so much fun doing something and when you go back to it, it just isn’t the same. I hope that next one you were talking about maybe doing is more fun for you. But they are great Leanne 😀

    November 30, 2012
    • It happens Amanda, Bruce directs differently to the last two directors I worked with, it wasn’t unpleasant, just different. I love that first bit you said. I think the next one, if I do it will be good, I love the director and she is a lot of fun. 🙂

      December 7, 2012
  28. Fab photos! You have captured the characters well. I wish I lived closer so I could see the play.

    November 30, 2012
    • Thank you ljr3, I think it has been really well received.

      December 7, 2012
  29. Wow, you caught the expressions of the actors in a wonderful way!

    December 3, 2012
  30. Theodora Neave #

    Hi Leanne,

    I love your photos and commentary! Thank you so much for taking them. I’ll make sure I’m more open and chatty next time 😉

    Best wishes for your blog and hope to see you again on set soon,

    Theodora (Elaine Harper)

    December 10, 2012
    • It was a different experience working on this, there was no chit chat, not that it was bad, just different. Bruce was so involved all the time, it was work work work. I hope the run went really well.
      Thank you so much Theodora, maybe I will see you down there for another play one day. 🙂

      December 11, 2012

Comments are closed.

