Skip to content

On the Sidelines

While I come away from an event with lots of photos of the cycling, my eye never stops looking and I am always looking for other things to photograph.  Going to the Bay Crits was no different.  I thought today I would show you some of the images I took before and after the cycling.

When we first went to Geelong on New Years Day we got there very early so we, my husband and me, went for a walk along the beach.

Keeping GuardI first discovered these guys, well ones like them, last year when I was photographing the crits.  They are all along the beach and depict many different things.  These guys are all lifeguards.  They are great sculptures and seem very appropriate on the edge of the beach.

Ferris Wheel

Not a unique view of a Ferris Wheel, but still a fun one.  Can’t be original all the time.  I wanted to take some photos of it, and there aren’t a lot of Ferris Wheel around to do that.

Williamstown Toward the CityThis last one was taken at Williamstown after everything was all done.  It was around 4 in the afternoon and the bay was looking so peaceful and very calm.  It also looked very cool.  After it being so hot all day, it was so lovely to look out on this.  Very tempting to just jump in.  I didn’t, I had my camera, but it did look nice.  So much blue.

It has been so tiring the last few days.  With the cycling and then the heat, it takes a lot out of you.  I was hoping it would be gone right now, but then I see it is going to be hot on Monday again.  Not good, it is my birthday then and it will be too hot to do anything.  The Bureau of Meteorology are telling us that we can expect a lot this summer.  We are in for a long hot summer, record temperatures.  I hope that doesn’t mean we will top the 47C (116.6F) that we had a few years ago.  I also don’t want to experience bush fires, or have another massive one.

Notes for Learning Your DSLR

Recently I told you that I had some notes almost ready for purchase on how to use your DSLR.  They are now available on my website.

If you would like more information about then I have created a page under Learning Photography at the top or click here.

I have created the Learning Photography page as a directory to all my services and classes.  I hope you will check it out.

JUNSJAZZ IMAGES & INSPIRATION

I should have done this a long time ago, but things have got behind.  I was featured in an article in Junsjazz.  I hope you will click on the link above and take a look.  I have noticed that the new issue is out, so take a look at that as well.  It is always great to see people who want to support us artists.  Thank you Junsjazz.

35 Comments
  1. An early happy birthday Leanne! Stay indoors and sip something icy. Be well!

    January 5, 2013
  2. great photos !

    January 5, 2013
  3. Very well 🙂

    January 5, 2013
  4. Wonderful Photographs

    January 5, 2013
  5. Just saw your photos and I was amazed! 🙂 More please! 🙂

    January 5, 2013
  6. Those guards look so serious, must be a serious job ^^.

    January 5, 2013
  7. Loved the Ferris wheel! A happy pre-birthday to you Leanne!

    January 5, 2013
    • I always refer to these shots as the spaces in between.

      Happy Birthday! Stay Cool.

      January 5, 2013
  8. … my eye never stops looking and I am always looking for other things to photograph.” I know this feeling soooo well!

    I love the first shot. Wonderful 🙂

    January 5, 2013
  9. Reblogged this on chaotiqual.

    January 5, 2013
  10. I love visiting the beach at Geelong and checking out the bollards.
    Have you noticed all the ones with rabbits at their feet?
    Cheers,
    Laura

    January 5, 2013
  11. A little sunshine would not go a miss here right now! Love the Ferris wheel, would look great as a moody black and white. Wishing you a happy birthday when it comes!

    January 5, 2013
  12. Very much like that central photo, Leanne – it might well look good in mono! Adrian

    January 5, 2013
  13. Hi Leanne, wish I could send you some of our cool weather. I enjoy these story book photos!!

    January 5, 2013
  14. As always, great shots from another outstanding photo shoot. Keep ’em coming.

    January 5, 2013
  15. sjophotography #

    Really like that Ferris Wheel. I think ill go check it out myself when its not 35+ degrees.

    January 5, 2013
  16. Those lifeguard sculptures sure look interesting.

    January 5, 2013
  17. Great lifeguards 🙂
    I wouldn’t mind swapping a bit of your sun and heat for the eternal grey skies we seem to have in England at the moment ….

    January 6, 2013
  18. wonderful shots as always…keep cool and hopefully the weather doesn’t create any issues!!!
    Cheers

    January 6, 2013
  19. Nice shot of the marina.
    A long hot summer sounds like a summer of tall, cool drinks. Have a Happy Birthday!

    January 6, 2013
  20. I like the lifeguards

    January 6, 2013
  21. I have nominated for : “Blog of the Year 2012 Award”
    More details on the link
    http://adolfovianaphotography.wordpress.com/2013/01/05/blog-of-the-year-2012-award/
    Great Job!

    January 6, 2013
  22. Lovely!

    January 6, 2013
  23. Happy Birthday! Love the ferris wheel shot

    January 6, 2013
  24. Leanne, terrific post. You have a fun writing style and I like that you are interested in shooting cycling scenes and various other things during those events as well. I am an aspiring journalist and have been doing amateur photography with a point-and-shoot camera for a few years now, with the goal of publishing my photos with articles. I have often seen photos in local papers that left more than a little to be desired, and I want to learn how to take quality photographs. When I get the money I plan to buy a Canon DSLR. I need to learn more about cameras and what I can do with them, so it’s a good thing I found your Blog. 😀

    January 6, 2013
  25. The ferris wheel — amazing!!!

    January 6, 2013
  26. You are amazing!!!!!!!!

    January 6, 2013
  27. Ferries Wheel is one amazing shot. Great pic

    January 6, 2013
  28. Enjoyed your photos Gelong is a great place for photography the botanic gardens are wonderful, take your camra there. I agree the composition made the ferris wheel shot outstanding.

    January 6, 2013
  29. I love those four sculptures!!!
    Happy New Year, Leanne.

    January 7, 2013
  30. Well, Merry Birthday to YOU, Leanne! 25 again, yes?

    Great captures, and love the Ferris Wheel shot! The ‘lifeguards’ are so amusing, I had to giggle (just a bit!) when I saw them, though I know an artist put many hours into creating them! The bay is so very lovely, and the blues so very different from those here at MY lake! Glad you took these and weren’t too tiresd out to do so, because AU is such a faraway place…and I know I’ll never get there! So, thanks, and have a very happy day–sure it’s over by now, and you don’t feel even one minute older, yes?

    January 7, 2013
  31. I love the lifeguards! There is so much Life to guard…

    January 7, 2013
  32. 47C …. that is hot and more hot – I would stay indoors, would manage that heat at all. 20 years ago .. no problems, now .. it was 44 in Chicago when I was there in July – up early and back early to the hotel again.
    I pick the wheel shot … as my favorite.

    January 7, 2013
  33. Not going to lie – I’m a little bit in love with the beach sculptures. They’re adorable!

    January 9, 2013
  34. I love the Ferris wheel photo! You’re right, not many out there these days.

    January 12, 2013

Comments are closed.

