Skip to content

Birds of a Feather Under one Aviary

Continuing on from yesterday, I thought we might have a look at some Australian birds that are in a giant aviary at The Melbourne Zoo.  Again, it isn’t a place I normally go when I visit the zoo.  I suppose it is something about native animals that we just think, ahh, we’ve seen them all before.  True or not, I was very glad to go and look at them.  I do want to say that todays post is for George, she wanted to see more Australian birds and asked if I could photograph some, so George, I hope this is what you were looking for.

Bird 1

Eclectus Parrot – Female

I have to admit 2 things here.  One, some of these are not very good. and are a bit out of focus.  Photographing the birds was harder than I thought it would be.  Using the camera zoomed out all the way to 300mm introduces camera shake.  Perhaps what I should’ve done was increase the ISO, which would have enabled me to get a faster shutter speed.

The other thing is that I really don’t know what these birds are.  I know they are Australian, but I don’t really know much else about them.  So if anyone does know what some or all are, then please let me know and I will put the names in underneath each one.  I suspect the first one is some sort of Rosella, but that is about it.

Bird 2

Eclectus Parrot – Male

I believe this one is also a Rosella, though not really sure.  It was a funny bird, it was a bit further away and when I started photographing the first one, it flew to a closer branch, obviously wanted me to take its photo.  It was very funny.

Bird 3

Major Mitchell Cockatoo

This one just sat there very quietly.  I don’t think it was trying to get anyone’s attention, but it caught mine. It looked so lovely just sitting there.

Bird 4

Blue Faced Honey Eater

This is one of the ones that isn’t quite in focus.  The bird was moving around so much.  It would be so nice to get a lend of a 500mm lens to try some photos like this.  It would be good to do them at the zoo.

Bird 5

Royal Spoonbill

I had to show you this photo, this bird looks part platypus, I would love to know what it is.  Of course, there were signs up at the zoo about all the different birds, but I didn’t really take any notice.  If I ever go back, I will for sure.  I loved the hair style, how beautiful does it look?

Bird 6

Red Tailed Black Cockatoo

I have no idea what these are and the photo is not great of them.  I think they are some sort of Cockatoo, but I don’t really know.  They were so lovely and they just sat here, looking pretty.  I was disappointed with these, I might have been too close, which is a big problem with the large zoom lenses.

Bird 7

Pied Heron

I liked the way this one just stood there.  Again, no idea what it is.

The zoo can be a great place, unfortunately yesterday was packed with people, which also meant lots of people with small kids and prams.  I don’t have a problem sharing space with them, but little kids these days seem to lack manners, or their parents just let them run wild.  People stop in doorways with their prams so you can’t get past them.  I brought my girls up to be aware of people around them and to respect them.  They were never allowed to push in front of people, or get in other peoples way.  It just seems that those sort of manners are not taught anymore.  Klara got very annoyed when kids would push her out of where she was standing.  She hates prams and how slow they go, and won’t get out of the way.  It is interesting visiting public places with Klara.

Going to the zoo is always a good experience, next time we will go mid week.  I do love the Melbourne Zoo and would recommend a visit.

Photographing at the zoo, it is hard because what lens do you use?  I wanted wide angles and I wanted close ups.  I think if I was to go again, I would make a decision, either one or the other.  In the end yesterday I pretty much stuck with the telephoto lens.  I was enjoying the close ups.  Maybe next time, I will use the wide angle more.

The New Blog

It is taking me longer to set it up than I thought. I haven’t had a whole lot of time to work on it, but I have decided to give you the link, then you can see how it changes.  I will post my blog posts in full on both blogs until I am happy with the new one.  I think you can subscribe to it now, though many things aren’t working on it yet.

blog.leannecole.com.au/

So take a look, and if you know how to do some of the stuff, like how to get a “like” button that isn’t part of facebook, please, feel free to let me know.

I am not sure about the theme and I think that will change when I find one I like.  So patience please.    I need to follow my own advice there.

71 Comments
  1. The colors so intense. Nice expressions on their bird faces, too.

    January 27, 2013
  2. Beautiful birds Leanne, the colors are fantastic! The new site looks much better, the Suffusion theme is nice too. You are doing really well!! 🙂

    January 27, 2013
  3. I am so impressed by these photos. They are so lovely and the photos are stunning!

    January 27, 2013
  4. These are truly beautiful feathers! Wow, amazing.

    January 27, 2013
  5. aklanta #

    Nice snaps…

    January 27, 2013
  6. dianacv2013 #

    They’re beautiful, I love the colours!

    January 27, 2013
  7. The first image is better than you give it credit for. The pose combined with the branch gives the photo motion and balance, and the expression is riveting. Sometimes the subject just has to cooperate, and photography becomes luck, combined with a gift for seeing. I think it’s unconscious sometimes–the image is just there and you take it. Lovely.

    January 27, 2013
  8. Beautiful photos.

    January 27, 2013
  9. What does increasing the ISO do? I really need to read the instruction book for our camera some more.

    January 27, 2013
  10. It is amazingly hard to take good photos of birds, even in an aviary; I think you’ve done really well. I think that the pick bird you call a Rosella is a Major Mitchell Parrot (which is actually a cockatoo) an the black cockatoos are Red Crested Black Cockatoos.

    January 27, 2013
  11. WOW! These images are incredible! I like ALL of them! 🙂

    January 27, 2013
  12. Beautiful pictures as always Leanne! The pink cocky is a Major Mitchell Cockatoo and the “platypus” looking one is a Royal Spoonbill… my favourite is the guy in the navy blue judicial robes! .. I wonder what kind of bird he is?

    January 27, 2013
  13. These are very good, Leanne. Don’t beat yourself up just yet. 🙂
    A lot of us seem to be photographing birds lately and yours are some of the best I’ve seen. 😀

    January 27, 2013
    • I agree! Awesome pictures. I love how it even seems like you can see into a birds thoughts!

      January 28, 2013
  14. Nice set of photos!!! Super!!!

    January 27, 2013
  15. I love the last shot! Wonderful!

    January 27, 2013
  16. That 2nd bird, the green one, is awesome, great shot 🙂

    January 27, 2013
  17. Wow I think they are great pictures. Now I know that I am not the only one who has trouble with the camera shaking when I use the 300 lens. I really thought it was just me!!! You did a great job on birds. They are hard to take. Your comments about kids is really funny to me because when we took pictures of the Bronze Lady, we had one you gal on a skateboard that just wanted to be in every picture. Finally Leslie gave her the teacher look waved her hand and said in a firm voice, “Just go.” The girl did. 🙂

    January 27, 2013
  18. Very well documented . Beautiful photos of beautiful birds ! Lucky you to be able to see all this .

    January 27, 2013
  19. Hi, Leanne, I like the colours and feathers of the Bird… Greeting from Berlin sends Susanne

    January 27, 2013
  20. You are most assuredly a talented photographer!! Beautiful work!!

    January 27, 2013
  21. Hi Leanne, the first and second image are of the same species they are both Eclectus Parrot. originally when first discovered they were thought to be different species until it was discovered that the Green one is the male and the red one is the female. They are native to Australia and there are subspecies found through out some neighbouring Pacific Islands…….The fourth image is a Blue Faced Honey Eater……The sixth image is of Red Tailed Black Cockatoo……The final image is of a Pied Heron.

    January 27, 2013
    • Thanks for all the names, I have put them on there, plus the ones other people had said.

      January 27, 2013
  22. poppytump #

    What a great post so glad George put in an request ! I can imagine it was tricky with movement, people, and other conditions but I can’t find fault with these 🙂 just lovely to see these beautiful birds so close up .Thanks Leanne. I think you should take Klara to the Zoo again 😉

    January 27, 2013
  23. excellent clicks

    January 27, 2013
  24. Ted Ryan #

    The first bird is actually a fmale eclectus parrot. The second curious bird who wanted to get into the shot after the first one, is the male of the species. The third one is a blue faced honey eater. The fourth is indeed a Royal Spoonbill. The fifth a Red Tailed Black Cockatoo and the sixth and final one…has me stumped. It’s some sort of water bird but I can’t make it out. No prize for me!

    January 27, 2013
    • Hey Ted, I was told the last one was a Pied Heron, lucky there were no prizes. Thank you.

      January 27, 2013
  25. Beautiful shots of the feathery friends! I’ll definitely visit your new site too! 😀

    January 27, 2013
  26. Why is it that mammals have to be generally either grey or brown, yet birds can be every colour of the rainbow – as you have captured them here so well.

    January 27, 2013
  27. brightly-colored bird!

    January 27, 2013
  28. Thanks for naming all the Birds, they are beautiful.:)

    January 27, 2013
  29. These are beautiful!

    January 27, 2013
  30. Beautiful photos-I love the vibrancy of their colors-

    January 27, 2013
  31. Really wonderful images here, Leanne! It’s so great the birds ‘posed’ so nicely for you! Also glad you got help with the names, because I know very little about birds, especially those native to AU.

    Zoos are difficult sometimes, what with all the glass causing reflections, or the wires from the cages that mess up a good shot. But…most they’re a pain because of very RUDE people! It’s strange that the animals are more polite than the humans, isn’t it? It’s the same here in Chicago where we have a small zoo (Lincoln Park Zoo) and a larger one out in the suburbs (the Brookfield Zoo–which I’ve never visited…yet!). People seem to be becoming ‘nastier’ every year!

    Will visit the new blog today, and Bookmark it! Exciting times, eh?

    January 28, 2013
  32. Lovely sharp images. I particularly like the detail in the first image.

    January 28, 2013
  33. Such beautiful birds! Can’t wait for it to warm up a bit here, so we can go to the zoo…

    January 28, 2013
  34. These ar much better, than the photos in your post.

    January 28, 2013
  35. Your blog is stunning, I always look forward to new posts and I wanted to award you the Liebster award before but I knew how popular you are with awards but this time I really mean it when I say your photography is inspiring and you deserve every award there is so I awarded you the Inspiring blog award. The blog cover on your new site is just amazing, it looks like from a scene of Harry Potter but somewhere in New York 🙂

    January 28, 2013
  36. beautiful birds…love them all, even if you find tiny faults in them! 😉 checked out your new site…looks great…as for the like button I think it has to do with the theme you chose…some themes have the like button some don’t & I don’t know if there is a plug in for it?

    January 28, 2013
  37. twoscamps #

    Thanks for taking us to the zoo! Your photos are excellent and I really enjoyed becoming acquainted with Australian birds!

    January 28, 2013
  38. Beautiful birds – Great pix!

    January 28, 2013
  39. petit4chocolatier #

    So beautiful!

    January 28, 2013
  40. Beautiful photos Leanne, just gorgeous colours! Thanks for visiting my blog http://hellomistermagpie.wordpress.com/ Laura x

    January 28, 2013
  41. Stunning creatures all

    January 28, 2013
  42. What fabulous photos – and what amazing coloured birds you have down under. Pleased you like my photos of the more muted colours of nature over here in England.

    January 28, 2013
  43. Pat #

    What beautiful birds! Nice captures.

    January 28, 2013
  44. You are a truly fantastic photographer. Thanks for stopping by and liking my post!

    January 28, 2013
  45. Beautiful!

    January 28, 2013
  46. dominikanita #

    Beautiful birds and photographs

    January 28, 2013
  47. phrenzel #

    A color explosion, lovely

    January 28, 2013
  48. Your photos are fantastic! I have taken pictures of bald eagles, swans and herons that I will be posting in the future. Thanks for liking my post.

    January 28, 2013
  49. But you have such awesome birds in Australia. The aviary would be one of the first places I’d hit at the zoo there. Your captures are wonderful – they are so colorful!

    January 28, 2013
  50. Fabulous photographs! You are very talented. 🙂

    January 28, 2013
  51. Beautiful images of gorgeous birds! Love them all- especially the pied heron and the parrot-which reminds me of Trinidad where I see them flying around almost daily! You captured them (the parrots) beautifully!

    January 28, 2013
  52. shots are truly great I love every angle of the photo…

    January 28, 2013
  53. The trouble with zoos is all that wire fencing , well disguised gal

    January 28, 2013
  54. Your photography is stunning. The colors are rich and full of depth. What amazing work. I didn’t even read your blog to be honest–I plan on reading later but your pictures have excellent composition and POP! Please look at my blog LIKES IN LIFE and leave criticism et al. :You obviously have a lot of experience. and I would value any advice

    January 28, 2013
  55. Fashionicia #

    The colors of the birds are so amazing; as well as the way they’re captured. Great work!!

    http://www.fashionicia.wordpress.com

    January 29, 2013
  56. What can I say about this???? … Exceptionally photos. Hard to make a pick today .. with nice feathers like this, but I go for the Pied Heron, one stunning bird.

    January 29, 2013
  57. I love these shots! You got the colors to really look amazing and it looked like they were all posing for you 🙂 I’m checking out your new blog now!

    January 29, 2013
  58. jumpingpolarbear #

    Just amazing colors!

    January 29, 2013
  59. LOVELY photos and sharing! Thank you!!

    January 29, 2013
  60. nice!

    January 29, 2013
  61. The Rosella bird is called the Eastern Rosella. You did a nice job, I have been trying to capture this bird but he has been so elusive. It is rather difficult. In fact all your photos are wonderful

    January 29, 2013
  62. drapp #

    Magnificent photographs of majestic birds!! 🙂

    January 30, 2013
  63. drapp #

    Magnificent photographs of majestic birds!! Love them all!!

    January 30, 2013
  64. 75% of these are awesome! It’s hard to get good photos of things in cages. Stop being so hard on yourself!!

    January 31, 2013
  65. I’ve always loved birds, and these shots are gorgeous!

    February 1, 2013
  66. the colors on the birds are fantastic! beautiful!!!

    February 1, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. One Lovely Blog Award « Musings of a FlutterbyBear
  2. Very Inspiring Blogger Award!! | Jayden Miller Photography

Comments are closed.

