Skip to content

Down in the Dungeons

The first time I went to see the bluestone building for Deaf Children Australia I was taken down into the basement.  The basement was pretty much what you would expect it to be.  Dark, dingy, and dank.  It is in the basement where you start to see why the building needs restoration and saving.  However, there are other things down there as well.

Bath Time

There is a very dirty bath down there.  I would have said small swimming pool, but it is the bath.  Who wouldn’t like to have this as there main bath?  Though, it would cost a fortune to fill it with the price of water these days.

I was told that the girls would get bathed first, and the joke was, they would pee in the water and then the boys would have to go in the water after them.  Girl power.  I can’t imagine something like this happening now.  No way would a group of girls be allowed to bathe together like this now.  Nope can’t see it.  There would be some rule about OH&S that would say it was wrong and not allow it.  I do love the story.

The basement is quite dark, one of the lovely things about is that, while much of the space is used for other things, it hasn’t necessarily been renovated or changed.  The basement is pretty much how it would have always been.  So if you look behind the stuff that is dumped there, you get to see some of the original beauty of the building, like this bath.  It is very dirty, but it has been left pretty much as it would have been.

Relic from the Past

Can you believe it, I took some detail shots as well.  I have no idea what this was, a switch, a bell, who knows.  It is on the basement wall and is just left there.

On the Door

Another detail, this was on the door.  The work is so wonderful, and we suspected it was hand made.  It is such a beautiful piece of craft that has just been left on a door that almost no one sees anymore.

I like the basement and there are many stories down there, as there are with much of the building.  The only real problem is how dark it is, and how hard it is to photograph.  Some of the spaces are small, and because it is basically used as a storage area, there is stuff everywhere.  I hope to see the bare bones of it more.  I also might have to start using a flash to get some images for it.  The camera doesn’t cope well with the really dark areas.

I went back last Thursday and wandered around taking some photos.  I keep hearing stories and then I only remember part of them.  I would like to remember more, so I might have to start recording some with my phone.  I find the stories of the building just as interesting as the buildings, so I know you will like them as well.

As this is an organisation for the Deaf, they get a lot of their funding by donations, so if you would like to donate some money to Deaf Children Australia, then click on Donate Here.

40 Comments
  1. I think these are some of my favorites so far–especially the top image-

    February 27, 2013
  2. Amazing location. Great work!

    February 27, 2013
  3. Great photo of the door!

    February 27, 2013
  4. The three “Ds!” Dark, dank, and dingy. Love it.

    The odd thing and the beautiful thing on the wall.

    Fascinating.

    February 27, 2013
  5. Love this! What lens were you using down there? Obviously you had aperture wide open. That photo grabbed me on the wordpress page, totally my taste.

    February 27, 2013
    • I was using a 18-105 wide angle lens. The wider the better. Not sure about aperture, I think around f8 or f11.

      February 27, 2013
      • woh, I wouldn’t expect you to have enough light with that aperture. Cool

        February 28, 2013
      • I was using a tripod, that always helps.

        February 28, 2013
      • touché

        February 28, 2013
  6. Great photography, as always, Leanne. Maybe you should go back in with a flashlight, Mulder and Scully style, for some sci-fi style suspense!!

    February 27, 2013
    • that could be funny, might have to think about that, I have a little torch.

      February 27, 2013
  7. Nice series.
    I think the play of light on the shutters reveals that with their opening the place would be flooded with light.

    February 27, 2013
  8. You really do manage to locate some great places to work. D

    February 27, 2013
  9. mkriegh #

    Nice archeological dig;-) Nice photos too.

    February 27, 2013
    • Haha, it is going to be a bit like that I think, I never really thought of it like that, thanks for the idea.

      February 28, 2013
  10. Someone above mentioned using a flashlight and I agree. It could be a great lighting device used from the side to highlight your subject(s). I love that door plate! The apple branch on it is exquisite, and you captured it well!

    February 27, 2013
  11. Interesting location and story behind it. I like the rawness of the photos!

    February 27, 2013
  12. Hauntingly beautiful photos. What an interesting experience to visit the Deaf Children of Australia’s home.

    February 27, 2013
  13. Very interesting information and as always very well photographed.

    February 27, 2013
  14. Beautiful work! It’s almost as if it’s a haunted house or something!

    February 28, 2013
  15. …the first photo reminds me of scary movies … and I love that a picture can freak me out.

    February 28, 2013
  16. I think I could film a scary horror movie down there. Good report!

    February 28, 2013
  17. Once again, you NAILED it, Leanne. That bath is eerie. Reminds me of a back-boat tour we took of the Queen Mary (twin to the Titanic) that is permanently docked in Long Beach, California…there is a swimming pool in art-deco and I wished like a fish I had a camera to handle it. A-maz-a-zing. Thank you for brightening my day!!!

    February 28, 2013
  18. That would be fun to explore. I’m interested in hearing more of the history of that place.

    February 28, 2013
  19. indeed, this place look freaky, the first picture really shows that drama

    February 28, 2013
  20. So interesting…and somewhat spooky!

    February 28, 2013
  21. Oh man this place looks awesome!

    February 28, 2013
  22. This is very cool. Such a different space to work in. I like tha while you acknowledge the 3 x D’s, it’s the 4th D – detail you focus on and do best 🙂

    February 28, 2013
  23. My reaction to your photos is visceral, emotions words alone could never evoke. Great post!

    February 28, 2013
  24. lmarea3070 #

    How did you get access to this building? I love the pics, especially the pool. It’s quite eerie.

    February 28, 2013
    • I am working with them to tell the stories of the building and to photograph it. A long term project.

      February 28, 2013
      • lmarea3070 #

        A personal project or something that may one day be displayed?

        February 28, 2013
      • There is talk of maybe a book or catalogue at the end, but it is a long way off. I am doing it voluntarily with the hope that it will help get me some exposure.

        February 28, 2013
      • lmarea3070 #

        Sounds great! Good luck!

        February 28, 2013
  25. The bath shot is impressive

    February 28, 2013
  26. LBT #

    Somehow I missed when you posted this. I like the photo of the bell. 🙂

    February 28, 2013
  27. hrbrewerphotography #

    I love this! So informative – and you have captured what I think is the essence of the room, you have explored beyond what is plain to see 🙂 I love yours posts and this for me is one of my favorites!

    February 28, 2013
  28. Nice catch.

    March 1, 2013
  29. Haunting and beautiful shots Leanne 🙂 Love this style of yours! The blog is really amazing, thank you so much for sharing the stories with us

    March 2, 2013
  30. The first picture made me immediately think of a scene in the movie Ghost Ship – creepy!

    March 4, 2013

Comments are closed.

