Skip to content

The Farm in the City

On our number plates for our cars it used to say “Victoria, the Garden State”.  Melbourne was quite famous for its gardens and I suppose it still is.  We do seem to have them everywhere.  Another thing we seem to have lots of is children’s farm.  I know of at least three not far from me, Collingwood, Bundoora and Edendale at Eltham.  I was charged with taking some photos for Living Learning Nillumbik last year, and while I was at Edendale I took some images of the farm for myself.

GoatsThe goats are one of the first things you see.  They are very cute and you can pat them through the fence.

milking a cowThis is a cut out of a cow and it has teats that you can milk.  Great idea for children who might be afraid of the real thing.  I am sure something comes out, but I don’t know what.

Chicken  ScratchingsThis looked so cool in the heat of the day, the chooks talking to one another under the shade of the tree.  I think you can go into some of these places and see them, but you have to be very careful of the gates.

NurseyThere is a nursery for Indigenous plants that you can buy for your own garden.  I must confess I didn’t go into it to check out the prices, but I am fairly certain they would have been very reasonable.  I suppose it is a normal thing for a farm to sell plants.

ReceptionThis is the outside of the reception building.  You can see what a beautiful day was in the reflection of the window.  The building is quite new and I love the way it has been done.

Main BuildingYou can see the reception area off in the distant on the right.  Te butterfly on the building has been made from recycled items.  It’s really good.  There are a few pieces of art work that are made out of recycled items.

I do love this building.  I don’t know what the wood is, but I am pretty sure it is made out of some sort of gum tree.  The red is very distinctive in it.

The farm is not huge, but it does now have a cafe, and you can see under some lovely trees and enjoy a coffee or a bit of lunch.  It has improved a lot since my children were little and I think if I had small children now I would spend quite a bit of time there.  It is free, which makes it even better.

I imagine the inner city farms have come about to help city kids understand about farms and the animals on them.  It does seem strange as I grew up on farms and was around animals all the time, that when I was younger I couldn’t understand how city kids didn’t know milk came from cows.  Even recently I saw a program where someone was asking city kids questions about farms and they had no clue.

If you like farms and animals, it isn’t a bad place to take photos either.  There are some interesting things to photograph.  I have got some interesting shots from there in the past.  Though picking a day when there aren’t a lot of people around is a good idea.

Tomorrow is the Marysville Challenge, and I have been given the task of photographing it.  It is a recreational cycling ride.  It will be interesting to see Marysville and how it has developed since it was decimated by the Black Saturday fires in 2009.  I was there a couple of years ago, but it will be nice to see how much has changed since then.  It is in a lovely area, so I might try and get some scenic shots as well.

As I will be doing that, I will have to do my post for tomorrow ahead of schedule, no idea what yet, but I am sure I can come up with something.

28 Comments
  1. leo brady #

    Great idea for a city.

    March 2, 2013
  2. This is my favorite line today:
    “I am sure something comes out, but I don’t know what.”
    You have a dry sense of humor that totally cracks me up.
    Good luck with tomorrow’s post. I’m trying to dream something up for mine, as well!! I’ve learned from other bloggers you can just go outside and take pictures. I think I’ll do that.

    March 2, 2013
  3. Lovely garden state! Have a lovely (creative :-)) weekend…
    Dina

    March 2, 2013
  4. Nice pictures, Leanne – I particularly like that huge butterfly! Adrian

    March 2, 2013
  5. These are beautiful and colorful pictures. I do hope you are getting paid for all these photographic expeditions. I went up close to the platform to take on of the pictures I took yesterday of the Supreme Court Justice. I crouched on the front riser in front of 200 people or so in the audience. It was all I could do to stand up, and I didn’t do it quickly or gracefully! YIKES!! I admire the fact that you get such great photos every time. I could never make it as a professional. Oh well… I can enjoy yours. I love the header, by the way! 🙂

    March 2, 2013
  6. My word, those chooks look plump and healthy!

    March 2, 2013
  7. What an adorable farm!! I wish it were nearby. We have a lot of little farms everywhere here though and they are just as cute. This post has inspired me to make a trip to one soon 🙂

    ~Chelsea @ LPBA
    http://www.lebeaupinson.wordpress.com

    March 2, 2013
  8. Nice pictures, well taken too, but i love the picture of the two hen most.

    March 2, 2013
  9. Lovely shots!!! Butterfly is awesome!!!

    March 2, 2013
  10. Great farm – love the cow milking idea!

    March 2, 2013
  11. I love them goats – beautiful photograph!

    March 2, 2013
  12. Lovely pictures Leanne. I’ve never been to the Collingwood Farm but there is one in Doveton called Myuna Farm. It’s very famous in the area. Schools go there for excursions and it’s very busy at the weekend.

    March 2, 2013
  13. For us northern hemisphere-types…what the ducks is a “chook”? I came across this adorable term in an Australian recipe a few weeks back (from locavore foodies in Sydney) and had to smile. 🙂 Does it refer only to female or is it for chickens or poultry in general?

    March 2, 2013
    • I think it refers to anything we call a chicken, or a domestic chicken. Not roosters, so it must be just female.

      March 3, 2013
      • Right & upon further reflection, think the Brits also use the term…so it’s not a North vs. South thing at all. Wonder what they say in Canada?

        March 3, 2013
  14. Very nice pictures and story about this farm for children. I teach in a large urban, inner city neighborhood. When I found donors to revitalize our school garden, students were thrilled to help. They spend little time out doors because of safety. I was taken back by their lack of experience when a few students were very concerned about worms in the potted plants’ soil. They wanted to know where to throw them away; were trying to be careful to take out any “bugs” from the soil before planting! So these kind of experiences are so valuable.

    March 2, 2013
  15. What a great resource to have for the children. Nice photographic opportunities too!

    March 3, 2013
  16. Pat #

    It looks like a lovely, well-run establishment.

    March 3, 2013
  17. Great pics, animals pose the best… Melbourne is a beautiful city. I was lucky to visit in 2000 and see it near Christmastime. Much to do in the city and around it. Still got my didgeridoo 🙂

    March 3, 2013
  18. looking forward to your next pics!

    March 3, 2013
  19. I looked briefly at the cow picture and thought, “My goodness, she’s overplayed the photo editor on that one.” My apologies for even thinking it.

    March 3, 2013
  20. hahaha..I thought that the cow was real..nice photos !! regards

    March 3, 2013
  21. Looks like fun… you had me thinking with the cut out of a cow… Great shots 🙂

    March 3, 2013
  22. Martin X #

    The fighting chickens are great (well, they *look* like they’re gonna have a fight – the way they’re staring each other out!) and that fake cow… oh, that’s a cool farm. I hope it’s milk that comes out of those udders…

    March 3, 2013
  23. I am not a big lover of animal farms/zoos – I am vegetarian and am against animal prisons – however, suburban farms such as this I am hoping can educate kids as to the value of animals and the meaning they can bring to our lives… and images such as yours contribute to this concept so… yay!

    March 4, 2013
  24. Funny, i was looking at the photo of the cow and thinking it didn’t look real, then I read your caption…

    March 4, 2013
  25. A great post, Leanne!! I recently did a photo shoot at a horse farm/stables; of course, it’s about the horses, but I found so much more as I walked through stables, got to know the dogs who “manage” things a bit, the students, the teachers, the barn, the track.

    May 5, 2014
    • Thank you Laurie, animals can be great subjects, especially if they have some personality.

      May 6, 2014

Comments are closed.

