Skip to content

Framing a View

On Thursday I had an opportunity to take the new 14-24mm lens out for a bit of test drive.  A friend and I went out to TarraWarra Museum of Art near Healesville.  She wanted to see the Jeffrey Smart Exhibition and I wanted to see it all.  I had never been there before, so it was lovely to finally get there.

TWMA-1As you are driving up to it, you can see that it is happily situated in a beautiful area.  The building is also quite amazing.

twma-2You start to understand the idea of framing in this building.  It is as if everywhere you look it is framing what is on the outside.  The windows and architecture make the most of the view.

The image above is a long corridor that runs down the side of the building and is parallel to the gallery.

twma-3This is taken inside the gallery part.  I was allowed to take this, but I was not allowed to take any images of the art work, so I had to be careful that you couldn’t see any paintings.  I was more interested in the building, so that suited me fine.

Whenever I see a window with a lovely view, I can’t help thinking of Elizabeth Bennett in Pride and Prejudice when she is checking out Mr Darcy’s home.

twma-4This is the courtyard where you first enter.  The gallery is on the right and on the left is the wine tasting and restaurant, will talk about that tomorrow.

Those cement square poles are there purely for decoration, but they add a new aspect to the courtyard and give it something of interest.

twma-5You can see more of that framing here.  The squares are all along the restaurant and courtyard and you can see out onto the pond and winery.  It was such a beautiful day on Thursday that it seemed perfect for these shots.

twma-6The pond looked so lovely and cool.  There were lots of birds swimming in it, and there a lot ducks in there with this photo, but they are on the other side and hard to see.  The water lilies were stunning.

twma-7This was taken behind the pond and you can see the gallery in the distance.  The gallery looks a bit blockish from this view, but it also provides quite a contrast to its surroundings.  You can see all the little windows in the side where the corridor is that looks out onto the pond.

I just wanted to keep taking photos, and I took a lot.  It would be great to go back sometime with my tripod and closer to sunset.  I imagine you would be able to get some spectacular sunset shots there.  The golden glow of the evening golden hour would make the sandstone building almost glow.  I will have to try that.  I wonder if I will need to ask.

The new lens was brilliant.  The photos are so crisp and clear as well.  I was a bit concerned about it only being 14 to 24, but it didn’t seem to matter.  The shots were still great.  I can’t wait to try it out on some other situations.

It was a good trip out there.  The Jeffrey Smart exhibition was good and my friend enjoyed it a lot.  I’m not a massive fan of his, but I admire his work.  It is a bit too bright for me.  I see his work and think I should love it, but it just doesn’t do it for me.  That’s fine as well.

If you are going to visit TarraWarra Museum of Art you should take your camera, believe me, you will want to take photos.

77 Comments
  1. mikew66 #

    Fantastic I think you are right being there at sunrise or sunset would look amazing as well

    March 16, 2013
  2. Truly incredible images…thanks for posting!

    March 16, 2013
  3. These are amazing photos. What a beautiful building. You really showed off its attributes with your photography. Well done!

    March 16, 2013
  4. Wow….love the contrasts Leanne!

    March 16, 2013
  5. Your photographs are excellent as always. Looks like great weather, too.
    Nice!

    March 16, 2013
    • The weather was perfect, after all the hot weather we have been having it was so nice to have a day that was nice to be outside.

      March 16, 2013
  6. gailkav #

    These are wonderful images.I am learning so much about framing shots from your posts.

    March 16, 2013
    • Really, I hope it is easy to follow.

      March 16, 2013
  7. These are beautiful. Loved the part about Elizabeth Bennett 😉

    March 16, 2013
    • Oh yes, it reminds me so much of her.

      March 16, 2013
      • One of my favorite books…along with Emma

        March 16, 2013
  8. Gorgeous. You really captured the presence that interesting architecture always has. It’s like the space is alive.

    March 16, 2013
    • What a lovely thing to say, thank you.

      March 16, 2013
  9. nice blog and photography….was delighted that you liked mine as well. Thank you!

    March 16, 2013
  10. Wonderful images…really show the beauty in, and the thought that must have gone into the architecture. And the light is perfect too!

    March 16, 2013
  11. Beautiful! Both, your photos and the museum. 🙂

    March 16, 2013
  12. Beautiful set. What a fab place!

    March 16, 2013
  13. I love all the great angles! 🙂

    March 16, 2013
  14. I felt as I was there.

    March 16, 2013
  15. lovely post! that’s a gallery I’ve not heard of before (its been awhile since I’ve been home!), so thank you. you’ve captured it beautifully. J

    March 16, 2013
  16. What a great series of shots.

    March 16, 2013
  17. some really nice pics buddy! 🙂

    March 16, 2013
  18. mkriegh #

    Nice photo set. Isn’t the wide angle lens great! I have a Tokina 12 to 24 and love it, though I find it is a different kind of picture taking.

    March 16, 2013
  19. Nicely designed building. We could do with one here!

    March 16, 2013
  20. Liz #

    I want to go – fabulous building and what with you mentioning P & P I can just see Darcy emerging from that pond…..

    March 16, 2013
    • Let’s go together some time Liz, could be a lot of fun.

      March 17, 2013
  21. Some lovely shots here – I particularly like the fourth and fifth. The third would have been a winner for me if it was perfectly symmetrical – it cries out for it! 🙂

    March 16, 2013
  22. The second image and event the first are great and were attractive when I look to your work. A special effect was created by the small window on the left and the small clouds into it.

    March 16, 2013
  23. OOh, a 14- 24 lens. I would sooo love to use one of those! ~peace, Jason

    March 16, 2013
  24. mistymidnite #

    Outstanding perspective, what a beautiful place…especially for symmetry, just gorgeous!

    March 16, 2013
  25. Leanne – You really chased the light well in this series of architectural shots. Nicely done, as usual.

    March 16, 2013
    • Love the 5th one. That lens gives really amazing results.

      March 17, 2013
  26. hutchphotography2020 #

    Great article and photos. Thanks

    March 17, 2013
  27. Beautiful. Although that describes Healesville. On my only trip to your great country I was fortunate to have enough time to visit the Sanctuary there. 🙂

    March 17, 2013
    • I’ve been meaning to get back there, but it hasn’t happened yet. I’ve only been there once.

      March 17, 2013
  28. These are absolutely stunning! Each photo worthy of being in the museum as each one brough such a unique experience of it. Wonderful photography and story-telling!

    March 17, 2013
  29. dival #

    You capture the building and its surroundings quite beautifully in your images. I, too, can appreciate when an architect designs to the site as it maximizes the effect of the interior and exterior and the natural environment. I took a job at an architectural firm as a project coordinator just to be around the creative work flow. I enjoy your posts!

    March 17, 2013
  30. Good images, Leanne, especially the 3rd down! Adrian

    March 17, 2013
  31. I love the idea of an art museum being designed around a theme of framing- brilliant and beautiful, like your photos!

    March 17, 2013
  32. Who makes your camera and lenses?

    March 17, 2013
    • I use Nikon gear.

      March 17, 2013
      • Ah! Me too. What model camera? Nice shots, BTW!

        March 17, 2013
      • I use a D300s, what about you.
        I want to upgrade in the near future, but can’t decide to what.

        March 17, 2013
      • After years of Canon high-end, point-and-shoot cameras, I finally took the 35mm plunge with a Nikon 5100s. Big step up from what I had previously but not quite what you shoot. Still trying to figure everything thing out!

        March 17, 2013
      • Wow, I am surprised, people usually stick with the same brand. I’ve been using a Nikon camera for about 16 years now. My film camera was Nikon too.
        I got to play with the 5100 for a couple of weeks, looks like a great camera. It will take some time to work it, as any new camera does. Good luck with it.

        March 17, 2013
      • Well, I used to work for Canon so I had Canon point-and-shoot products (no lens investment). I also used to work for Minolta and had a film-based 700si (still no lens investment). Now I work for a company that sells Canon office equipment and most of my peers have Rebels with a couple of lenses. So, if I would have gone Canon when I stepped up to digital 35mm I would have had lenses to share. But, I’ve always wanted to try Nikon. And, with no existing lens investment, it was easy. Love the equipment, just don’t use it very well yet. You certainly have figured it out and your work shows it! I saw your seascapes in a separate post and thought they were really great. Keep up the good work!

        March 17, 2013
      • I can understand that, it is easier if you haven’t had the lens investment. I love NIkon, always have. You will get used to it, just takes time. Good luck with it.

        March 17, 2013
  33. Nice images. Love the sky gradients!

    March 17, 2013
  34. Yes, sunrise or set would be great for the architectural shots. But these are really great.

    March 17, 2013
  35. I was there last year and saw the William Cook exhibit. Beautful area. My friends live in Sylvan somewhere in the middles of nowhere 😉

    March 17, 2013
  36. Striking pix – I’ll have to check out this museum next time I’m in Vic

    March 17, 2013
  37. Such a modernistic and visionary building this is! You’ve done such a wonderful job capturing it. Do you shoot full frame or APS-C?

    March 17, 2013
    • I have never heard that term before, APS-C, I had to look it up, but that is what the D300s is, I want to get a full frame camera, hence getting the lenses that will work wonderfully on one, but I have got the money yet. It will be my next big photographic purchase.

      March 17, 2013
      • Crop sensor aka APS-C. Full frame..got it. For my crop sensor I need to go lower to 10-22 to get the same result as your new lens. Humm..maybe you can pretend it got stolen!

        March 17, 2013
      • Haha, I can’t now, they might read the blog. I was thinking of dropping it once, but I just couldn’t bring myself to do it. I am happy to wait, it is wider than the other one I had, so that good, it was more for the glass quality, so I am happy with that so far.

        March 17, 2013
      • That’s super ! Isn’t it fun to work with really great glass?

        March 17, 2013
      • Oh yes definitely. I got the 24-70mm 2.8 last year and I can’t get over how clear the images are from it. they are just beautiful.

        March 17, 2013
      • Oh duh…had to read again, so you too have a crop sensor. So yes..because of it, you’ll need to go down a notch too. Love the crispness and the DOF options with these

        March 17, 2013
      • I do that all the time. You work with what you have, but I am excited about getting a new one, just can’t decide between the D800 or the D4. I better start making a lot more money first.

        March 17, 2013
      • You are certainly well on your way. You can also do real estate photography for the short term for easy money. You’re a pro!

        March 17, 2013
      • I have thought about doing Real Estate, need to work out some prices and then perhaps start approaching some agents. I would feel more confident now that I have the new lens as well. The money would be nice too.

        March 17, 2013
      • You are past ready for it. Surely you know someone who knows someone. I’m sure the first one will be happy to work with you in getting started in the biz. Good luck!

        March 17, 2013
      • I’ve thought about approaching one to do some stuff for free so I could build a portfolio, or maybe approaching a builder, I just have to get through the Manchester Unity stuff first, it is all coming to ahead right now. I have lots of images to work on.

        March 17, 2013
  38. Beautiful photos!

    March 17, 2013
  39. Truly amazing shadows. Their length and the angles convey a feeling of depth and interest. Thanks for the architectural shots.

    March 17, 2013
  40. I love it all – the place, space, architecture, and the images.

    March 17, 2013
  41. I’ve been wanting to go and see the Jeffrey Smart exhibition, but it’s just such a big treck from here. At least now I’ve seen a bit of the famous building! And I know to take my camera when I do go there – thanks, Leanne!

    March 17, 2013
    • Yes, definitely take your camera.

      March 17, 2013
  42. Inside of a building, from the windows to see the nature world always hits me… Your amazing photographs once again made me to think this… So beautiful. Thank you dear Leanne, love, nia

    March 17, 2013
  43. Hello, Leanne! Always great to be back at your site and reading up and viewing your latest masterpieces and tricks and techniques. I definitely liked the one re: “Making the World go Round” – great to know.

    Many thanks for taking a look at some of my images from earlier this year: “Taking Flight”, “Big Fish”, and “First Snow”. Ok, now back to looking at more of your posts!

    March 18, 2013
  44. Niel de Vries #

    Amazing building! And such spacious shots that 14-24 delivers! Nice usages of the shadows!

    March 18, 2013
  45. Fantastic photography and some excellent tips! Thanks, Sam

    March 19, 2013
  46. Thanks for stopping by my blog and for the like.

    I love the darkness in the contrast in your pictures. It adds so much drama and intensity.

    March 22, 2013
  47. Very cool building.

    March 27, 2013
  48. Were these taken on the 60D? These are just amazing! Love how you framed some of them 😀 The halls going to the sunlight, just gorgeous!

    March 28, 2013
    • No, they were taken with usual camera and the new lens 14-24mm. I was one of my times out with it.

      March 28, 2013

Comments are closed.

