Skip to content

Mezzanine with an Art Deco Flair

Dead on my feet, that is how I feel right now.  It was another early morning this morning to get up and head into the city to take some more photos of the Mezzanine floor of the  Manchester Unity Building.  I do love that first floor, it is reminiscent of shopping in a by gone time.

Shopping Strip Art Deco StyleThis is a row of shops, or were once shops on the mezzanine floor of the building.  They still look like shops, but now they are all offices for Smile Solutions.  I really like how it has all been restored back to the way it was in the 1930’s.  I can just imagine what stores would have been here back then.  Can’t you just see a lady all dressed up with best clothes, wearing a lovely hat, gloves and a bag to match?  Dressed special because she was coming to the city for the day.

I took this image last week.  I am not totally happy with it, but when I went back this morning I used the new lens, so I hope I got something even better, I will need to process it, but I’m sure it will be good.

Grand Father Clocks and Fountains

This is at the end.  You can’t really see them in the first image.  Unfortunately the lens I used last week was not quite wide enough, but I can tell you now, I did take this image again this morning and I got a lot more, so I’m really excited about processing this one again.  How beautiful is that clock?  I love the curve at the top.

Lighting the WayLast week when I showed you the image of the reception area, some of you asked about the light fixture.  I knew I had taken another image of it, and here it is.  It is so gorgeous.

Finding the DirectoryPart of the brief I was given was to get a good image of this area.  I know that this image has been accepted and did fill the brief.  I was really happy with this.  You can read every name on that directory, which took some working out.  I think I spent about 5 or 6 hours on this image.  Which is a long time for one image for me, but I think it was so worth it.  I just put a movie on the tv and work away.

I have only had a quick look at the images I took this morning, but hopefully will be working on them for the rest of the week.  I still need to get the fish tank one done, but hopefully I got the right image for it today.  A busy week ahead.

New Flash

I am thinking of buying another flash unit.  At the moment I have a SB600 and a SB900.  The SB900 can be used remotely, but not the SB600, so I think I might get the SB910 so I can take better still life images.  Though that leaves me with a flash unit that I don’t need any more   I am thinking of selling it on ebay, but not sure how much to charge for it.  I think I might try around $200 plus postage.  Does that sound fair?

48 Comments
  1. These pictures are stunning. Yes, I can imagine the ladies all dressed up to go shopping, as you describe. The elegance of a bygone era, thankfully preserved.

    I don’t know how you manage to do such detailed posts when you are tired!

    I like how you describe working for 6 hours on an image with a movie in the background. Yesterday, I worked for 6 hours on a drawing for my blog, trying all these different things. I listen to music when I work. (The blog post that I’m working on was supposed to go out today, it’s a new thing. But it will go out next Monday instead, as it needs more graphics. I plan to do an installment every Monday. It’s a huge amount of work but I like it. It’s different.)

    Once again, I love these photos. I like the chance to look at the world through your artist’s eye. It changes how I look at things. You are “influencing me.” I am a beginner at visual art. It’s pretty awesome to be following your blog!

    Nia

    March 19, 2013
  2. I love these photos!

    March 19, 2013
  3. twoscamps #

    That clock is beautiful and so are your photos Leanne! Most excellent.

    March 19, 2013
  4. Tricia's Blogs #

    Your dedication to your art is remarkable. What great interior architecture you chose. (I read your blog on my phone now, and when I tried to click Like it kept freezing up on me. So, Like!)

    March 19, 2013
  5. Amazing Photos

    March 19, 2013
  6. Beautiful building. I truely appreciate the lost art of true craftsmanship. I often wish I could go back in time just so I could see what different buildings were like in different eras.

    March 19, 2013
  7. Leanne, i wish we lived in the same country so i could take classes with you! The lighting on these pictures are stunning! I’m amazed with your indoor pictures. The way you manage light and colour. You get the right angles…what an eye!!!! Loved the light fixture, btw.

    March 19, 2013
  8. Wonderful images. I was transported back to the 1930’s. It would have been lovely to stroll and browse through the shops. I imagine there would have been a tea room where we could take refreshments 😉 I also loved the light fixture – I’m a sucker for Art Deco 🙂

    March 19, 2013
  9. amazing…

    March 19, 2013
  10. Exactly amazing photographs and place… Fascinated me dear Leanne, Thank you, I hope and wish you had a rest after them… Love, nia

    March 19, 2013
  11. suefloatography #

    What a fantastic place to photograph, amazing shots

    March 19, 2013
  12. lovely capture – thank you for making the effort

    March 19, 2013
  13. Love the chandelier – beautiful!

    March 19, 2013
  14. Definitely worth the early morning effort! Great pics! Rgds, Sam

    March 19, 2013
  15. I think the picture is great!!! Btw, thanks for likiing my post “Spring is the Time for Rebirth.”

    March 19, 2013
  16. This post is just awesome…. And the photos are just stunning and the angles on them are really cool.. As they say on this side of the ditch…. Orsome!!!!

    March 19, 2013
  17. Oopps sorry for the double comments.. My wordpress is just playing up

    March 19, 2013
    • I didn’t even notice, I will delete one of them, no problems.

      March 19, 2013
  18. These are stunning shots. As an art director for many years, I realise how difficult it is to make such perfect images. The camera picks up everything, most of which the eye filters but the camera ‘sees’ and the lighting must have been very difficult to balance. I can imagine you spent hours on these. Really impressive. One of my friends is doing a project called hidden London, which is all about spaces we can’t normally have access to. The shots are a similar sort of challenge. He’s called Dazeley if you want to check out his fine art site and the hidden project which includes some mages of inside Battersea Powerstation you might like. Best, Nicholas

    March 19, 2013
    • Thanks Nicholas, I would love to check it out. Sounds like my sort of thing.

      March 20, 2013
  19. Wonderful!
    Maybe we can follow each other? x

    March 19, 2013
  20. Mornin Leanne – what a lovely place! As I was looking at the pictures (love the clock too btw!) I felt like I was in what could be more a museum than shopping center. In reading I think that was in the back of your mind too. I like how you captured small details of the place (light fixture etc).

    March 19, 2013
    • Morning to you too. I am bad at getting details, but it was good to do it this time.

      March 20, 2013
  21. Wow – these are lovely.

    March 19, 2013
  22. the light with those shelf shapes and the blue in the middle is gorgeous! I really like it.

    March 19, 2013
  23. I love the warm tones. What a stunning building and wonderful photos!

    March 19, 2013
  24. Gorgeous! Love art deco 🙂

    March 20, 2013
  25. I love the emptiness of the stills very nice. On the SB600 that sounds about right but if you want to really sell it fast go for $185 🙂 I just sold mine in 20 minutes at that price. At $200 there are many choices. Cheers.

    March 20, 2013
    • Thanks for the heads up, I will do that.

      March 20, 2013
  26. Such beautiful work, thank you for sharing this. I love the nostalgia, and enjoyed so much reading your observations and the reasons certain details captured your imagination. Thank you for bringing back an age too often pushed to the back of our consciousness.

    March 20, 2013
  27. Leanne, I have to say that you are very inspiring and motivating for someone like me who has photography in her soul and loves nothing more, other than my beautiful family, than to journey out on a personal photo challenge. Your writing paired with your dedication and memorable, detail, rooted taled photos are fantastic. I am honored and really appreciate that you enjoy my amateur photos.

    March 20, 2013
  28. Photos are amazing and the lines in between reveal the whole story.
    Very authentic, I must admit.

    Gia

    March 20, 2013
  29. These are fantastic Leanne-I love the colors and the light. Beautiful work-

    March 20, 2013
  30. Amazing shots!!!

    March 20, 2013
  31. Cynthia #

    I don’t know anything about pricing, I’m afraid, but these shots are beautiful. Glad you were able to share that image of the light fixture.

    March 20, 2013
  32. paulscribbles #

    Thanks for the like. Room for another one in the challenge if you are interested. PAUL

    March 20, 2013
    • Thanks for the invite Paul, it sounds wonderful, but I have so much work at the moment, but maybe in the future.

      March 20, 2013
      • paulscribbles #

        No worries.

        March 20, 2013
  33. Jennifer #

    Beautiful photos…..I’d love to visit there and see it in person!!

    March 20, 2013
    • I think a lot of people feel the same way, it is unfortunate that it is privately owned and a business operates there, so people can’t just go and see it anymore.

      March 20, 2013
  34. Russell Cavanagh #

    Gorgeous interiors. Nice shots!

    March 20, 2013
  35. Jen #

    Beautiful photos—love the one of the lamp. It is gorgeous. I’m glad to hear the building has been restored, but it’s too bad people can’t wander in to check it out. Such loveliness was meant to be enjoyed by the public!

    No idea on the flash, though. Being a Canon girl and all. 😉

    March 20, 2013
  36. Love the art deco stuff, so cool!!

    March 20, 2013
  37. This is such a beautiful building. Your photos really do it justice.

    March 20, 2013
  38. hutchphotography2020 #

    Beautiful work, Leanne.

    March 21, 2013
  39. Your work is always so inspiring. I always feel guilty that I don’t comment on blog posts more using ‘being tired and busy’ as an excuse/reason but I am going to make a concerted effort to show my appreciation more! Thanks for sharing your work…….Ian

    March 21, 2013
  40. So beautiful Leanne – sometimes I think I was born in the wrong era. I got my engagement ring made at Perelberg Jewellers when they were still in the building and would love to visit again one day – lucky you!

    March 22, 2013
    • Yes, I have been very lucky, it is so lovely working on the images, and to have seen it for real.

      March 22, 2013

Comments are closed.

