Skip to content

From the Outside and Across the Corner

Over the last year I have taken so many images of the Manchester Unity Building and when I got the new lens I had to try it out on it as well.  I can fit so much more into the image than I could with my previous wide angle.  The image quality is just amazing.

From the  CornerCan you believe those clouds are the ones that were there, I haven’t done anything to them really.  I did add some gradient to the sky.  I wanted to darken it a little.  I did try doing something else to the sky, but it just didn’t work, so I went back to the original and started again.  I think I started this image about three times all together.  I love the colours of the building and how they came out.  This was taken just as the sun was going down, but we didn’t get a real sunset.

Trying to work out what to leave in the image was hard. There are so many wonderful details.  I ended up leaving in heaps of them.  I am hoping that your eye starts with the lights around the first floor and then it shoots straight up to the tower.

In ContextThis was taken about an hour and half later.  It was dark and the lights of the city were on.  I liked how you can see the statue of Burke and Wills and the tower of the Town Hall.  The lights at that top of MU building look fantastic and I tried to get some shots of just it, but I was getting too many light spots, reflected light and it made the image look so messy.  You can see some in this one as well.

The clouds in this were pretty amazing, and I think it was the wind that caused that, it getting pretty windy by the time I did this image.

I don’t do this enough, go in at night and take photos.  Partly because I don’t like doing it on my own, and also because I am usually too tired, but I think I will try to do more.  You get to see a whole heap of different things and that is always good.

74 Comments
  1. Freaking beautiful! The building’s colors just explode against the street and the sky. The cloud formation is perfect. You got this one nailed.

    March 26, 2013
  2. Wow, amazing photo!

    March 26, 2013
  3. And that second one… very London feeling. Maybe it’s the big clock, lol, but it just has that feel. Another great pic.

    March 26, 2013
  4. Great photos!

    March 26, 2013
  5. Brilliant photos. That Manchester building is one amazing piece of architecture!

    March 26, 2013
  6. beautiful

    March 26, 2013
  7. Nice, Leanne. What is the new lens?

    March 26, 2013
    • I knew I should have said, it is a Nikon 14 to 24mm 2.8 lens, very nice.

      March 26, 2013
  8. mikew66 #

    Really Great the clouds and sky really draw your focus
    Mike

    March 26, 2013
  9. twoscamps #

    The”heaps” of detail are truly amazing! Great photo!

    March 26, 2013
  10. Magnificent!

    March 26, 2013
  11. Beautiful – congratulations on the new lens. My eyes did go from the street level and then straight up to the tower – I read that after I looked at the picture, so you got the desired affect. Awesome!

    March 26, 2013
  12. Love the dramatic sky on that first one. And long exposures are my Achilles heel. Yours look amazing. I’ve been itching to take the camera and tripod out at night but I’m usually too exhausted after work to do anything.

    March 26, 2013
  13. ladyjemini #

    These are fantastic!
    Night photography is my favorite.

    March 26, 2013
  14. I also like night city photography – but feel safer with someone – preferably a photographer or someone with a lot of patience 🙂

    March 26, 2013
    • Oh yes, with someone that doesn’t mind you saying, just one more, over and over again. I have to admit that didn’t happen with my on Sunday night. 😦

      March 26, 2013
  15. Gorgeous!

    March 26, 2013
  16. yosport28 #

    Love the Color in these. You nailed the composition. Great work!

    March 26, 2013
  17. Wow Great 🙂

    March 26, 2013
  18. Love these, The skies are truly amazing,

    March 26, 2013
  19. These are gorgeous! What an amazing building. Really love that last one with the clouds. Just amazing.

    March 26, 2013
  20. Liz #

    Its been ages since I’ve been in the city at night. I still get excited when I do go though – there’s something about the lights and the buildings that you have captured really well here.

    March 26, 2013
  21. Folks say that it all you’ve got to say in a comment is, “Nice job,” or, “Nice photo,” or, “Really nice image,” you should probably just hit the like button and be done with it. But … I can’t help myself Leanne … Nice job … Nice photo … Really nice image! I love the night shots – looking forward to being able to try some of these myself. Problem is … I don’t live anywhere near a big city! Anyway … have a great day … I hope it’s cooled off a bit DOWN THERE! D

    March 26, 2013
    • Thanks, that is great to hear, I just hope it is the one they want. Nice stuff is great, can be boring too, but if you find somewhere interesting it can be fantastic.
      It certainly has cooled off some here, thank goodness, winter is certainly on its way and the leaves are starting to change.

      March 26, 2013
  22. I know what you mean regarding your first comment … don’t you love it when you know you’ve got a great subject … and you know it’s gonna translate into a nice picture … you just stick your eye to that finder and get into the groove. The outside world seems to melt away and it’s just you and the subject – you kinda get tunnel vision. And, when you think you’re done you begin to back away and … ah, ha … there’s yet another angle you need to capture. That being done, you look at the monitor and … there it is … a great capture. Don’t you just enjoy being a photographer sometimes! D

    March 26, 2013
  23. I like wider angle of view lenses as well – until I purchased my newest, I felt constrained in getting my vision of a scene rendered. Hey, you can only step back just so far…

    March 26, 2013
  24. Really nice shots!

    March 26, 2013
  25. Gorgeous pics!

    March 26, 2013
  26. Spectacular photos!

    March 26, 2013
  27. Both photos are fantastic!

    March 26, 2013
  28. the bloggers soliloquy #

    Wow, incredible images.

    March 26, 2013
  29. ❤ your photos. The buildings so cool and the architecture.

    March 26, 2013
  30. Eye catching! I can’t believe the cloud formation and the building..It almost seems like I can see every brick. Awesome shot

    March 26, 2013
    • I loved that show, I remember the hotel, it was really cool, ha, so was Angel.

      March 27, 2013
  31. I have come to love this building–both inside and out-I truly love the top picture–the clouds are amazing-sounds like everything *clicked* for you with these shots-

    March 26, 2013
  32. OUTSTANDING photographs! I love these a great deal!

    March 26, 2013
  33. I like both and the effort

    March 26, 2013
  34. Ok, stop it. Stop it right now. Are you trying to make me like all of your posts? This. Is so unfair. Stop being so amazing.
    All right, I’ll shut up.

    March 27, 2013
    • Well I can try, but is that what you really want. I like to please my followers. haha. 🙂

      March 27, 2013
  35. Had to do the double “Like”. 🙂

    March 27, 2013
  36. I LOVE these Leanne! Beautiful work. You’ve inspired me to make sure I get out there and get some night shots again 😀

    March 27, 2013
  37. As you rendered it, that building looks like something out of Batman,

    March 27, 2013
  38. that first photo…wow!

    March 27, 2013
  39. PK #

    Amazing images and color Leanne! I have to now start saving for that lens. May I ask, you said you enhanced the photos a little. What software do you use typically? I hope I’m not asking a trade secret. I’m very new to photography and don’t use anything other than the enhancing options my MacBook Air offers. Any thoughts would be very appreciated. PK

    March 27, 2013
    • No asking that isn’t asking for trade secrets, haha, I primarily use Photoshop CS6, and sometimes I use Topaz Adjust, but I also use Nik software as well. This image was done with CS^.

      March 27, 2013
      • PK #

        Thanks so much!

        March 27, 2013
      • Photoshop Elements is pretty good too and a lot cheaper.

        March 27, 2013
  40. I like both… the first one because the building catches my eye first then the sky, but the clouds in the second one are really amazing to have just become that way by themselves… so I kinda key in on the top of the building and the clouds first in the second one… but that’s just me… 😀

    March 27, 2013
    • That all sounds fair enough. You have described what I think as well. 🙂

      March 27, 2013
  41. Thanks for liking my post. I’m always curious about who those “likes” are and I’m always delighted when I find a really great blog. Beautiful photos! Philly has some great architecture, including old abandoned sites — I suspect you could do it justice if you ever were to visit.

    March 27, 2013
    • I might have to put it on the list then.

      March 27, 2013
  42. Two awesome photos … but I like the last one because it brings life to the photo .. not just a building – there is loads of beautiful buildings .. make the building more alive.

    March 27, 2013
  43. my goodness Leanne…these are stunning, and yes the clouds are amazing!!!

    March 27, 2013
  44. Wow, great! I love night photography-can’t wait until the nights get a little warmer 🙂

    March 27, 2013
  45. Not sure if I missed what new lens you got but these images are wonderful. I like the top shot best because of the pseudo halo effect in the skyline it sets the stage so well for this night shot.

    March 27, 2013
  46. Hi, good news!

    I have nominated your blog for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award.

    The rules of that award are at:

    http://mphocus.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/httpdearkitty1-wordpress-com/

    Congratulations!

    March 27, 2013
  47. I love pictures of imposing but aesthetically pleasing buildings shot against a good sky – and this one is perfect! There’s all that mundane human activity – lights, restaurants, etc. at the bottom of the picture, then all those vertical lines of the building converge to a point that tells you to look at the great big universe up there.

    I am glad you didn’t change the clouds in any way!

    March 27, 2013
  48. I liked it so much I rushed to tell you that – I saw your second para only now! You’ve capture the feeling so well that I read it in the pic before seeing your written words!

    March 27, 2013
  49. This is great photograph. Thanks and Love, nia

    March 27, 2013
  50. absolutely amazing!!!

    March 28, 2013
  51. I agree I like the the first picture. Those clouds projects the building with a powerful effect of might and foreboding. Almost like being in one of Alfred Hitchcock’s movie. Cool!

    March 28, 2013
  52. 1annecasey #

    Wow – these are really extraordinary photos!

    March 28, 2013
  53. Really fantastic photos.

    March 28, 2013
  54. lawsonsotherdog #

    nice site, thanks for peeking into my world

    March 30, 2013
  55. What a beautiful building – I must find it!

    March 31, 2013
    • Do you want a hint of where you will find it

      March 31, 2013
      • Yes, please, although I don’t get to Melbourne often enough!

        March 31, 2013
      • It is on the corner of Swanston and Collins Street, take a look the next time you are in Melbourne, unfortunately the inside is not open to the public, but the outside is pretty outstanding.

        March 31, 2013
  56. This is absolutely breathtaking, both the building and your photography.
    Thank you for sharing, and I cannot wait for your new photos.

    April 1, 2013
  57. I love that first photo. Absolutely beautiful!

    April 4, 2013
  58. Oh my gosh the sky in the second shot is so creepy! I love it!

    April 6, 2013

Comments are closed.

