Skip to content

Flowing Down Around Bright

When I was first asked to go and run some workshops up in Harrietville for the Hand Weavers and Spinners Guild my first thought was, what me teaching, haha, then I thought, mmm, weekend in Harrietville, only have to run 3 workshops, 6 hours all up, then time to take photos, okay I’m there.  I have already said what a fantastic weekend it was and you will hear more specifics about it on the weekend.  I did get many opportunities to go out and take photos.  I haven’t really had time to go through them all and work on them, but I have done one for you.

The Lady of the BathOn Sunday afternoon, once all the sessions had finished, we drove to Bright and then start up towards Mt Buffalo.  On the way up are some waterfalls and at the bottom is this, Lady Bath Falls.  It is one of those falls you first see and go, wow.

I went to take photos, my friend Teresa drew, and my other friend Rhonda went for a bit of a hike.  We were all happy.  I scrabbled over rocks with my gum boots on and tried to protect my camera from slamming into the rocks as I went across them.  I found a new use for my tripod, very handy walking stick, stopped me from falling into the water quite a few times.

I did do a HDR image with this using Photomatix, though, I took 5 bracketed shots I only used the first 3.  It is hard to stop the water from going completely white.  I also found that the image was quite busy.  I liked the way you could see where the water went, but the rocks were distracting.  I tried to darken the rocks so they would blend in more and let the water stand out.  I hope you like that.

I took so many photos of running water on the weekend.  I had a ball with it.  I am looking forward to finding some time to work on them.  I have some more work for the Manchester Unity Building to do, and then off to the bluestone of the DCA tomorrow.  It is all happening.

Etsy

Almost forgot to mention, that I have two new postcards and they are now up on my photocart or you can look or purchase them from my Etsy Shop.

69 Comments
  1. Such a nice waterfall, I want to plunge in. Great colors.

    April 9, 2013
  2. Beautiful!

    April 9, 2013
  3. Very relaxing and refreshing to look at it.thank you .

    April 9, 2013
  4. beautiful photo!

    April 9, 2013
  5. sedge808 #

    very beautiful.

    April 9, 2013
  6. Beautiful photo. 🙂

    April 9, 2013
  7. Love the tones and textures!

    April 9, 2013
  8. lensaddiction #

    If you have a Circular Polariser at a pinch, but a neutral density filter is better, thats how you cut the brightness of the water and still having the flow effect. I have examples of using my variable ND filter here http://lensaddiction.wordpress.com/2013/01/11/catlins-photography-trip-part-3-mclean-falls/

    April 9, 2013
    • I was using a ND filter, but it won’t fit on my new lens, though I still seem to get that problem when using it. I think it is the HDR really, I just need to play more.

      April 9, 2013
  9. The picture looks great. I am yet to shoot a great silky water picture like yours – hopefully I can do it soon!

    April 9, 2013
  10. vivozhouphotography #

    Fantastic photo of a waterfall! Can’t wait to see the others!

    Also, I love reading about your process to getting to the end results of your photos. I’ve learned a lot!

    April 9, 2013
  11. A new favorite!

    April 9, 2013
  12. Q #

    Your photos are breathtaking! Will follow along to see more. I’m an amateur photographer who luckily got her hands on a 50mm f1/4 and am having the time of my life w it 🙂

    April 9, 2013
  13. gailkav #

    I love the wispy effect of the water. Quite stunning.

    April 9, 2013
  14. poppytump #

    Swooningly swooshy water . I love it …. can’t wait to see more Leanne .

    April 9, 2013
  15. The running water looks almost fog-like. Well executed.

    April 9, 2013
  16. Awesome!!!

    April 9, 2013
  17. Great photography!!! I always wanted to capture rivers or waterfalls with this kind of effect, but I’m not that good :-/

    April 9, 2013
  18. Very beautiful. I love the softness of the flowing water.

    April 9, 2013
  19. choppy123 #

    awesome photo 🙂

    April 9, 2013
  20. Just beautiful Leanne. I wish I could do one of your workshops 🙂

    April 9, 2013
  21. Liz #

    Really glad you’re busy. We were up at Bright in January – absolutely lovely part of the world.

    April 9, 2013
  22. Nice image, to help with the HDR processing, you could process the image not worrying about the water and then in your photo editor mask in the water from the exposure that looks best. If you mask it in carefully it should look natural. I hope it helps.

    April 9, 2013
    • I tried that a little, but it wasn’t working for me, but I may not have done it enough, maybe I should try it again, or not worry about HDR for these, they possibly don’t need it.

      April 10, 2013
  23. Nice picture!
    I am saving for an ND-Filter to shoot similar pictures. I like the picture, but I am not sure whether I would have created a HDR picture.
    Have a great week,
    Charlie

    April 9, 2013
    • Be careful getting a ND-filter, there are a lot of bad crappy ones out there, I speak from experience. The first ones I got gave everything a pink cast, not great. I also agree with your second comment, and have been thinking the same myself.

      April 10, 2013
  24. Gorgeous!

    April 9, 2013
  25. Love the tones and textures.

    April 9, 2013
  26. ciao! just dreamy. would be great to see before and after…evolution 🙂
    thebestdressup

    April 10, 2013
  27. Stunning!! Your photograph of this beautiful place gives it a mystic and eerie feel, love it!

    April 10, 2013
  28. I would love to be there! It is gorgeous. 🙂

    April 10, 2013
  29. Eydie #

    Gorgeous!!!

    April 10, 2013
  30. Wow!

    And I love how “It’s all happening.”

    April 10, 2013
  31. gorgeous Leanne…water always appeals to me….

    April 10, 2013
  32. Lovely photo Leanne. It’d be great if you entered the Digital Lightroom Photo Competition – http://www.digitallightroom.wordpress.com. It’d be really nice to get support from photographers such as yourself for this worthy project – to showcase the best photography out here in the blogosphere!

    April 10, 2013
    • I followed the link, but there is nothing there, is it new?

      April 10, 2013
  33. Beautiful, Leanne! I attempted something like this in Vancouver and here in Colorado a while back with waterfalls and creeks, but all of my pictures came out way underexposed. Thanks for inspiring me to try again.

    April 10, 2013
  34. Beautiful

    April 10, 2013
  35. Lovely! Thanks for the encouragement of our photo blogging!

    April 10, 2013
  36. Hypnotizing! I love this…

    April 10, 2013
  37. I liked this and are looking forward to the others, apart from the technicalities I loved the composition, how the lines of the water made that s- curve in the middle made the picture both alive and dreamlike! Inspiring!

    April 10, 2013
  38. This is lovely. I’ve tried to get that effect with waterfalls but not as successfully as you have.

    April 10, 2013
  39. Gorgeous! Love these.

    April 10, 2013
  40. Stunning image, Leanne…absolutely! Love your treatment of the rocks and water…definitely ‘worthy of the wall’!

    April 10, 2013
    • Thanks, I’ve been doing some others and trying some different things, so I hope you like them as well.

      April 11, 2013
      • Living so close to the lake, I always love water shots! Your rocks are much older than any of ours, therefore add more interest…and intrigue!!!

        April 11, 2013
  41. This a place where the water sprite, I think he called that .. the man with the violin that lure us all to magical dance that drives us insane and elves will .. come to. Very enchanting – stunning photo.

    April 11, 2013
    • Thanks Viveka, get ready though, a lot more to come yet, I was working on more photos last night and I know I won’t be able to decide which ones to use. They get better, well I think so, so I hope you will, but you will have to wait until the weekend to see them.

      April 11, 2013
      • I think that was the amazing thing about that photo .. that I had to look twice. Maybe slightly lighter, but not much .. because then the light behind the door will get lost, but I’m looking forward to you adjustments.

        April 11, 2013
  42. Nice!

    April 11, 2013
  43. luxaeternaimaging #

    Leanne, this photo is fantastic! The contrast between the rocks and water works well, especially with the detail on the rocks in the forground. I just picked up my first natural density filter two weeks ago and haven’t had the oppertunity to use it yet… soon 🙂

    April 11, 2013
    • Sounds like lots of fun for you. 🙂

      April 11, 2013
      • luxaeternaimaging #

        Indeed 🙂

        April 11, 2013
  44. Great shot! I love the rich dark tones.

    April 11, 2013
  45. Well Done Leanne! I wouldn’t change anything 🙂

    April 11, 2013
  46. I love the contrasts between the water and the rocks… the texture even looks different between those two. Very nice! 😀

    April 11, 2013
  47. Orsacora #

    What a beautiful capture! The textures are so rich!

    April 12, 2013
  48. That’s a stunning photo Leanne!

    April 12, 2013
  49. It’s a wonderful shot, Leanne. I really like it that you darkened the rocks and retained some of the colour in the water – it really lifts the image. Great.

    April 13, 2013
    • I wanted to attempt to make the rocks look wet, I know that hasn’t happened, but they were competing with the water too much.

      April 13, 2013
  50. Reblogged this on William L Huffman and commented:
    Great tips

    April 13, 2013
  51. Wow! This is so amazing

    April 15, 2013
  52. Just lovely.

    April 21, 2013
  53. I really dislike this kind of shot when the water looks like cotton wool rather than water – so often the case. I think you’ve got it about right – it still looks like water!

    April 29, 2013
    • You had me confused there for a second. I like the marshmallow look, gives the a water sense of movement, so I am glad you are happy with what I got, thanks.

      April 29, 2013

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Flowing Down Around Bright | Creativity Untamed
  2. What Do We Learn | Alastair's Blog

Comments are closed.

