Skip to content

In Through Here and Up There

Through the Front DoorIt was back to the bluestone this morning that is the home for Deaf Children Australia and this time it wasn’t to meet anyone or to find out anything, it was purely to take photos.  I was allowed to roam around and just take images of anything I wanted.  I mentioned the other day that now that I had been there a few times I was starting to see what I wanted to take.

The image above is the front door.  I was allowed into the section, but I wasn’t allowed to go through the front door to the outside.  The entrance is too dangerous and you might get hit on the head by falling debris, which is something that they need to fix up.

You can almost see how the floor has been worn out by the number of people who have walked through that door.  I was watching a DVD that is about the bluestone and its history and in it, it mentioned that the students were not allowed to use the front entrance.  I am sure they came through it when they first arrived, but perhaps that was the last time.

Another thing that was mentioned was the basement and how scary they thought it was.

Up From the BasementI had never seen these stairs before.  The more I go, the bolder I get and I have been going in further to places to check them out.  I found these stairs down one wing.  I don’t know if they are original or not, but it was a dark little corner that I found them in.

My daughter came with me today, she wanted to drive, so I asked her if she thought the basement was scary.  She said no.  I suspect kids today are too used to scary movies and really weird things, that something like a basement wouldn’t be scary.  However, the kids that used to board here would tell one another ghost stories, and I am sure dared each other to go down there.  I will have to watch the DVD more, but don’t worry I will tell you about it.

Some of these places are really hard to photograph and I think I’m going to have to be more creative with what I do.  I have the time now to work on it more and I want to try and do more artistic style images.  I know some will work and some won’t.

I have a lot of photos to go through, so a lot of work to do and I know I have enough images for a while.  Some I will have to go back and do, others will be fine.  It is interesting doing this sort of work.

Remember, if you would like to donate then Donate Here.

Trips Away

I just thought I would tell you about my next trip away.  I am off to Ocean Grove on the Victorian coast, not this weekend, but the following one.  I am going away with a couple of friends, should be great.  We booked our trip with a new family business and were so happy with the service.  Ocean Grove and Barwon Head Stays were fantastic, when I was trying to find accommodation so many other places wouldn’t respond to my emails, and Ocean Grove and Barwon Head Stays were very quick.  Once I found them, in no time at all my accommodation was booked.

It is going to be good to spend a couple of days down at the beach again.  I am looking to forward to a whole weekend that is about nothing but taking photos.  The best kind if you ask me.

38 Comments
  1. I love those blue and white hexagon tiles in the entry. It’s the quiltmaker coming out in me!

    April 10, 2013
    • I love floors like that, there are many here in Victorian homes. I have heard the floor is original and been there for as long as the building has.

      April 10, 2013
      • I’ve taken lots of photos of tiled floors on our travels, with the thought that one day the designs might make a lovely quilt. I haven’t actually done anything with them yet, but I have the photos when I get around to it.

        April 10, 2013
      • One day you will get around to it.

        April 10, 2013
      • I think it will be a retirement project Leanne!

        April 10, 2013
  2. Love the stained glass entry and tile flooring – lovely!

    April 10, 2013
  3. I love the contrast between the stain glass window and the view through the open door. Lovely.

    April 10, 2013
  4. Jayden #

    Thank you for visiting my blog. Though I must say, your work is utterly amazing. Your work is visually stunning and.. Im just lost for words. Wonderful work. 🙂

    April 10, 2013
  5. I love those mosaic floors – we see a lot of them in od French buildings, too…but that glimpse of the gardens through the open door is what makes the shot for me!

    April 10, 2013
  6. The door windows and flooring are fabulous, I hope the place is restored to full glory. Wouldn’t it make a great hotel or bed-n-breakfast? 🙂

    April 10, 2013
    • especially in this dark gray wordpress layout

      April 11, 2013
  7. The entryway looks so exotic from that angle–I think it’s the Mediterranean blue. I hope you have lots of time to continue to study it.

    April 10, 2013
  8. Nice pix – as always – thanks for sharing.
    Have a fun & safe trip!

    April 10, 2013
  9. The second photo is very hunting .. love the way the light sips through the dark.
    You know my passion for doors .. by now – so the top photo is just what I love .. and I love the away the light shows the tiles in the floor … excellent photos both, Leanne.

    April 10, 2013
    • You know, I think you are the first person to mention that second photo.
      I am glad you like the door.

      April 11, 2013
      • I think it is because it was so hard to see it .. at first – I had to look twice .. and then all the structures showed themselves. First glance it was just a black photo.

        April 11, 2013
  10. that door and floor are beautiful!

    April 10, 2013
  11. i love the blue of the floor and the red of the stairs. and really nice visual storytelling

    April 10, 2013
  12. Quite a spectacular entryway, Leanne…fun to photograph, too, with the lovely stained glass, tall door, fine tile work…and that beautiful ‘outdoor’ landscape!

    The staircase is a bit creepy…if not for the window, it would surely be worse! Nice treatment, though, and I certainly hope the entire building is restored properly!

    April 10, 2013
    • It is a great doorway, I wish I could go out through it. I know I will be able to, but not right now.
      I am glad you found the staircase creepy, that is what I was going for.
      I’m not sure how much is going to be restored, guess I will find out over the next 3 years.

      April 11, 2013
      • It all depends on funding, of course…but I think you are able to bring the building to the attention of more potential donors by displaying these images on your widely-viewed blog! Kudos for that!

        April 11, 2013
  13. I am afraid of basements. Old school. 😉

    Love the front door. So much color. This whole building has so much color. I’ve never seen any building like it. It’s very individual.

    Your vacation sounds perfect. Enjoy!

    April 11, 2013
    • We don’t really have basements here, in old buildings like this yes, but not really in homes. Basements are part of tv shows and movies for us.
      It is a great building, and it fun wandering around it. I need to do some more images of the outside.
      Thanks Nia.

      April 11, 2013
  14. Bea

    April 11, 2013
    • That was supposed to be beautiful! Lol. Thanks for the visit. 🙂

      April 11, 2013
      • 🙂 I thought that might be the case, thanks.

        April 11, 2013
  15. Oh my goodness! What beautiful pictures Leanne… 😀 That first one is just beautiful, but I love the dark and mysteriousness of the stairs…

    April 11, 2013
  16. i love the contrast between the beautiful door and the blue tiles vs. the basement steps leading to who knows what?

    April 11, 2013
  17. abandoned buildings always seem so rich in photographic material. I often try to imagine how it might have felt to the occupants and try to bring that out in my photos. You seem to have a trove of possibilities there.

    April 11, 2013
    • This building isn’t abandoned, it is still being used, though not for its original intention.

      April 11, 2013
  18. I think the stairs look scary! The door is amazing, though. Have fun on your trip! 🙂

    April 12, 2013
  19. Love that first shot – you’re right about the floor – it’s seen some action. Have a great trip – totally agree with you about that! 🙂

    April 13, 2013
    • Thank you Richard, I love floors like that. I also saw another staircase where you can see years of wear.

      April 13, 2013
  20. Beautiful glass above the front door. The “in the front door but not out” has an eerie tone.

    April 13, 2013
  21. what a gorgeous door…sounds like the children were relegated to the back door! A trip to the beach sounds wonderful…

    April 13, 2013
  22. I’m so happy you get to take this trip 🙂 I can’t wait to see what you capture while you’re away!

    April 16, 2013
    • I am a bit excited about it as well. I love going away just for photos. They are the best trips.

      April 16, 2013

Comments are closed.

