Skip to content

Workshops and Running Water in Harrietville

As I have already told you, last weekend I went to Harrietville for the Hand Weavers and Spinners Guild to present some workshops.  I went so I could do three workshops, or teach, I suppose is the right way of saying it.  My workshop was to show people how to photograph their work and then how to put it on the computer so they could edit it some.  It was pretty basic stuff, but that is all they needed.  I did two workshops on Saturday and when the second one finished a little early I went for a walk with Jan and we took photos of the other workshops.

scpeople-8781There was a workshop on Hand Spindles.

scpeople-8798Any colour you like, a workshop on dyeing your yarn and fabric.

scpeople-8810How to choose a fleece for spinning.

scpeople-8895You could learn how to do Lace Knitting.

scpeople-8919When there were no workshops, and those who didn’t want to go to them, this is what you could see everywhere.  There were small groups, and there were big groups of people just sitting around spinning, weaving and knitting.  They were out the front on the lawn, out the back under the verandah, right out the back under the pergola and inside in the common rooms.  People were talking everywhere and working.

We stayed at the Mountain View Holiday Retreat which is a great place to stay.  They cater for camps and very large groups.  All our meals were provided with our accommodation and I wasn’t disappointed at all.  The couple running it, Hillary and Michael, were friendly and very helpful.  It was a good place to stay and I understand why the guild goes back there every year.  Hillary was also great for information on where I could go to take photos.

After the workshops were done for the day on Saturday and I had finished taking photos of everyone I went for walk around the Ovens River.

Around the BackThe river is very full and running quite fast.  A couple of weeks ago the river flooded and flooded much of Harrietville.  You can’t tell on the road, but all along the river you can see where is happened.  This part also flooded, but it wasn’t as bad.  I remember the river as being lower and thought I would be able to walk to the other side in some places, but it was too fast and too deep.  Though, it running fast meant I could get some great images.

In the above image I was standing in the river with my tripod.  I had my gum boots on, they have been a fantastic purchase, the best $20.

Over the LogThere was a log over the river and it created this lovely waterfall.  It was very small, but it was a nice find.

From Behind the LogThis is from the other side of the log.  I liked the lines of the water.  The leaves in the water help create the effect and are like the start of the line.  This was the very last image that I took along the river.  It has started raining, so I was really happy to have got this shot.

I did take bracketed shots with all of these, thinking I would do HDR images, but in the end I just worked with one image.  It was good having the bracketed shots though, I didn’t always use the one that was exposed correctly.

It was nice to get some good photos, well, I think they are, on the weekend.  I like them.  Overall it was a great weekend.  I really thought I would be bored at times, but I wasn’t at all.  There were always people to talk to and new things to find out about. I should have taken my knitting though, doesn’t matter, I don’t think I missed out on anything.

40 Comments
  1. Those river photographs are seriously amazing!

    April 13, 2013
  2. gorgeous photos….not sure which Victoria..BC, Canada or Australia or some other gem

    April 13, 2013
    • It is Australia, the state of Victoria.

      April 13, 2013
  3. Great photos Leanne! The log dam is a great find, it has created a nice pool behind it. I really like the effect you create on the water’ surface too. The link you posted to the hotel you stayed at has a great photo of the valley, beautiful place and snow capped in the distance.

    April 13, 2013
    • It is more known as a place to go in winter, and is located near a place where it snows. It doesn’t snow in many places in Australia

      April 13, 2013
  4. the water shots are amazing…wonderful movement and color…I’ve a friend who spins wool from her alpaca’s fleece, it is interesting to watch her

    April 13, 2013
  5. It would be wonderful to be able to take such lovely photo’s.

    April 13, 2013
  6. Love the water shots especially!

    April 13, 2013
  7. so encouraging to see people enjoying old fashioned activities like knitting and spinning.
    I also love your photos of the water.

    April 13, 2013
  8. What lovely images,i myself must get on to someone to teach me to spin..have sheep have wheel have no idea! i love Harrietville had a wonderful school camp there many moons ago.Your pictures really inspire me to take photography courses (time is always against me). Thankyou also for liking my Seagull with Attitude pic…i still wonder how he is 🙂 i look forward to seeing more of your work .

    April 13, 2013
  9. Lovely pictures! Looks like a nice escape. 🙂

    April 13, 2013
  10. What fun. I would have loved to gone with you. That looks amazing. I’ve never woven anything, but it looks like the ladies were having a great time. You do the most interesting things, Leanne. What a great life, huh? 🙂 Love the pictures, as usual. I’m going to quit saying that because you can just take it for granted that I think you are a fantastic photographer. I’m going to have to think of something more creative to say from now on!! 🙂

    April 13, 2013
  11. Liz #

    When we were in Bright in January there were fires near Harrietville so we couldn’t visit which was a real shame as it is a lovely place isn’t it? I really enjoyed your photos from the guild. My mum used to spin and it is one of my abiding memories of childhood. The wheel going while she yelled at footy games on the telly.

    April 13, 2013
  12. mkriegh #

    This is one of my favorite posts ever. A really nice group of photographs and some people! I struggle to shoot people so I appreciate the fact that you did. Good work. Thanks for sharing.

    April 13, 2013
    • Haha, I know, people, I do actually shot people quite a bit, but I don’t tend to put them on my blog, maybe I should do more.

      April 13, 2013
  13. Your long exposure images are really lovely.

    Sincerely,
    Julia

    April 13, 2013
  14. Loved the shots of the river. Great use of natural light.

    April 13, 2013
  15. Hey just wanted to let you know we nominated your blog for an award. It is a pretty neat idea. Love your blog
    http://makingitdaily.wordpress.com/2013/04/13/kristen-r-blog-awards/

    April 13, 2013
  16. what an amazing and cool experience on so many levels )

    April 14, 2013
  17. Wow… Seems like fun… I want to take a photography class… I just would like better quality pics… Love your photos…

    April 14, 2013
  18. Very nice river shots. I like how the blur of the water in the little waterfall.

    April 14, 2013
  19. What neat workshops to photograph. There is so much going on. Love that people take advantage of their downtime and hang out and work on their projects. The river photos are spectacular.

    thanks for stopping by Not Dabbling in Normal to check out my post today.

    April 14, 2013
  20. Wonderful photographs!

    April 14, 2013
  21. In my opinion, the workshop was fortunate to have you documenting them. I am sure the picts will be “gladly “used by them. And including those stream photos was just icing for us viewers.

    April 14, 2013
  22. Beautiful. I think you should make postcards of the river shots.

    I did a blog post on weavers of Peru, if you want to see that:
    From alpaca and insects to textile arts: Peru

    April 14, 2013
  23. Someone standing in a river, deliberately, has to be a fisherman or a photographer! One can get really cold doing that, gumboots or not.

    April 14, 2013
  24. Spectacular river images, Leanne, as was the light! Certainly a ‘right spot. right time’ moment—thanks for sharing it!

    April 14, 2013
    • It was, I thought sunshine would be good, but the ones that I have with it, just gave me bright spots where I didn’t want them.

      April 14, 2013
  25. I am amazed by your pictures! Congratualtions!!!! You have an imense talent 🙂 Best Wishes

    April 14, 2013
  26. beautiful work

    April 14, 2013
  27. More lovely shots! I’m glad you’ve got your gum boots.

    April 15, 2013
    • Haha, those gum boots are brilliant. They live in my boot, so I always have them with me. They are easy to get on and off and I don’t care if they get muddy, that is what they are for. If they get a hole or something, then it will only cost me another $20. Can you tell I love them?

      April 15, 2013
  28. Truly, your photography is so outstanding. And 14,000+ followers? Wow ! How do you do it?

    April 15, 2013
    • I spent a lot of time on the internet, trying to find people, I work quite hard at it, it helps a lot with getting noticed. Well I hope it does. One day. Maybe. haha

      April 15, 2013
  29. This all looks very familiar to Joanna and me. Nice to know the are spinners and weavers guilds ‘down under.’ Nice image of the supported spindle … I know from personal experience that it’s tough to get a good picture of one being used. D

    April 15, 2013
    • Yes there certainly are, I have to admit, it was hard and it took me quite a few shots to get it, but I was very happy with what I go.

      April 15, 2013
  30. Wow these are so fun I love the first shot and then those last couple are breath taking!!

    April 16, 2013
    • Hey Amanda, wonderful to be hearing from you again today. Thank you.

      April 16, 2013

Comments are closed.

