Skip to content

Waterfalls and Showing Off

Last weekend on Sunday in Harrietville after the last workshop was done and lunch was over, we said good bye to lots of people who were leaving.  I met so many people and it was sort of sad to say good bye.  Though after all that, it was time to pack up the camera bad and get ready to drive to Bright and through to the road to Mount Buffalo.

I showed you an image of Lady Bath Falls on Tuesday, today I have some more of those images, though these are more of the falls.

Falling Before the Rocks

I absolutely love this image and I have now made it the wallpaper for my desktop.  I keep finding myself minimising everything just so I can look at it.  I find the colours stunning.  Though it was something I didn’t realise until I saw the images on the computer.

The Bottom of the PondThis image is very similar to the previous one, but I like how you can see those gorgeous greens in the bottom.  They are obviously rocks, but they are so wonderful.  You can see it wasn’t too deep, but it was cold.  The colours are so nice and relaxing.

I processed these images in pretty much the same way as I did the water images yesterday.  I have just used a single image, though they were all bracketed shots, and I did use one of those, though not the correctly exposed ones.  All the images were taken in raw and most of the processing was then done in Camera Raw in Photoshop CS6.

Falling Side OnI had to climb over some major rocks to get this shot. I was glad to have the tripod with me, stopped me from falling into the water a few times.  It is funny the things we do to get a good image.  My friend Teresa, also suggested using the tripod to gauge how deep the water was, that was a brilliant idea.

It looks so peaceful there, and I wish I could say it was.  I don’t know if I mentioned the thunder the other day.  It was hard to hear anything over the waterfall, but we could hear the rumble of thunder.  The sky got darker and we kept looking up.  It started spitting just as I was thinking, I’d done enough.  We decided to walk up a little higher, just to look, and that is when it came down.

As we walked back to the car it rained continuously.  I was glad I had my Tamrac Expedition 7 with me.  It has all the water protection I needed and I didn’t need to worry about my gear getting wet.  That bag has been fantastic and I am amazed at how much I can carry when it is on my back.

I also have some photos from the show and tell that the Hand Weavers and Spinners Guild held on Saturday night.  There was some wonderful work shown.  I didn’t know how much of it was done, but it was great to see it.

I took so many photos, so it was hard to choose a few, but I have put some together in a gallery for you.

I hope you enjoy them.  I will try and put more up on my facebook page, but it will take a few days.

118 Comments
  1. Very nice waterfalls 🙂

    April 14, 2013
  2. johnholding #

    Gorgeous waterfall shots.

    April 14, 2013
  3. These are exquisite images! Bravo!

    April 14, 2013
  4. Reblogged this on From Under the Pages and commented:
    From Leanne Cole Photography

    April 14, 2013
  5. The waterfalls are wonderful, Leanne. I love them all! 🙂

    April 14, 2013
    • Thank you George, hope you are feeling better.

      April 14, 2013
  6. gorgeous water falls…I understand why the top one is a favorite of yours!

    April 14, 2013
  7. I love waterfalls and these look great! Jealous!

    April 14, 2013
  8. amazing: both the spinning and the flowing

    April 14, 2013
  9. Marvelous, Leanne! You managed to capture the mist these waterfalls create & I know that’s difficult to do. Such stunning quality!

    April 14, 2013
  10. Wow! Love the waterfall shots! And the people shots are great too. Good to know how you processed these Leanne. I’ve only started experimenting with water flow and creeks in the last week. I learnt how to get the blurred effect. I still haven’t jumped off the proverbial cliff with RAW images and exposure blending. I’ve taken a couple of shots in RAW with exposure blending, but don’t yet have the software to process the images. I look forward to when I get to this stage. Meanwhile I’ll keep practicing and am so enjoying following and working with the light. Took some breathtaking sunrise and sunset shots recently when on holiday in Brooms Head. Don’t have a GND filter as yet, but I quite like just working with the light of sunrises/sunsets reflecting onto the landscape. Thanks again! It’s inspired me to get out in the next month and search out the more aesthetic waterfall spots around this area. 🙂

    April 14, 2013
  11. I’ve been taking more shots of creeks lately bu haven’t captured the effect of moving water as well as you have here. Beautiful.

    April 14, 2013
  12. I’d buy that wallpaper if you were selling it! Gorgeous! I love how smooth everything is.

    April 14, 2013
    • That’s an idea, maybe I should sell some wallpapers, I wonder how many people would pay for them. Any ideas?

      April 14, 2013
      • A Kiwi friend in Perth sells her photos on Red Bubble and gets a decent amount of hits. Maybe start there?

        April 14, 2013
      • I have been having a look at Red Bubble, I’ve also started a shop on Etsy, I suppose it is a matter of putting them everywhere and seeing what works best.

        April 14, 2013
  13. 1annecasey #

    Stunning waterfall photos!

    April 14, 2013
  14. Absolutely something to show off! Beautiful.

    April 14, 2013
  15. Reblogged this on Bastet and Sekhmet and commented:
    Lovely waterfalls, aand a show and tell… fBeautiful as always.

    April 14, 2013
  16. It is a lovely falls. The second would be my favorite with the added spread of the green reflection and reduced glare on the water. Either is lovely. The vibrancy of the last makes the scramble worthwhile…really nice colors and that dark round rock is very interesting with the silky water.

    April 14, 2013
  17. Stunning photos!
    Can I ask you what kind of camara you are using?

    April 14, 2013
    • I was using a Nikon D300s. I had a 24-70mm lens on for the third image and a 14-24mm for the first two.

      April 14, 2013
  18. Leanne,

    Fabulous shots of the water fall, the colours, the composure, the serenity..beautiful. Ver nice work, these could be mistaken for shots of what heaven must look like!

    April 14, 2013
  19. These waterfall pictures are absolutely beautiful! There is actually a park near my place which I hear has spectacular waterfalls. I have been meaning to visit and take pictures if our weather would just clear and warm up. Your images are inspiring.

    April 14, 2013
  20. Liz #

    Beautiful Leanne. Lovely photos of great subjects.

    April 14, 2013
  21. Good pictures and post, Leanne – my favourite has to be the large, portrait format one – very striking, and beautiful colours. Adrian

    April 14, 2013
  22. What was I doing on Tuesday that I missed this this first time? It’s amazing!
    Oh, wait…I had a houseful of small children that day… 😀
    Love the colors in the gallery shots – so vibrant!

    April 14, 2013
    • Houseful of small children, that is understandable. You’ve seen it now. 🙂
      Thank you, the colours of that evening were very vibrant, it was fantastic.

      April 14, 2013
  23. Beautiful as always I must learn how to use my tripod lol

    April 14, 2013
    • You will be so happy when you do. You will be able to take some fabulous photos.

      April 14, 2013
      • Thanks always saw it as tying me down but you use yours a walking stick lol

        April 14, 2013
      • It is another tool, it can be a pain to use, but I wouldn’t be without mine and I hate it when I don’t take it with me.

        April 15, 2013
      • I have always shot from the hip as you can clearly see most times are a miss but those days when I remember to hold my breath and not let my chest get in the way I can get lucky 🙂

        April 15, 2013
      • I can do the same, but when you get down to a second, or longer, it is impossible. Funny how long a second can be. 🙂 I think I did a post on tripods once, a while back.

        April 15, 2013
      • I must catch up on your blogs I love learning new things but only from those I can actually see who have done it 🙂
        Seeing is believing 🙂

        April 15, 2013
      • if you want the post on tripods, try putting it into the search at the top, if you can’t find it, let me know and I will find it for you. 🙂
        Oh and thank you, lovely thing to say. 🙂

        April 15, 2013
      • Thanks for always being so kind and helpful I have never taken a lesson just love the memories I come home with 🙂 I will let you know if I can’t locate it thanks so much Leanne

        April 15, 2013
  24. These photographs look like paintings Leanne.

    April 14, 2013
  25. Great use of the tripod 🙂 Those waterfall shots are stunning, so tranquil and yet mysterious. They draw me in, and drift me off to dreams.

    April 14, 2013
  26. Some stunning shots there, that waterfall is breathtaking

    April 14, 2013
  27. Oh wow..what beautiful pictures..color and movement…maybe i am nuts but a sense of roundness and softness almost Rubenesque..there i am nuts but i find strange ways to describe things.Thankyou those shots have given me a color hit i needed after a day of dry woodland bush clearing 🙂

    April 14, 2013
    • Your not nuts, I love your description, thank you.

      April 15, 2013
      • You are most welcome 🙂

        April 15, 2013
  28. You’re an awesome photographer 🙂

    April 14, 2013
  29. ghoststoriesfiction #

    Thank you for liking my post ‘To walk a thousand miles’ And I’m glad you did because I have now found your beautiful work! Followed! I look forward to seeing more…

    April 15, 2013
  30. Lovely photos Leanne! My husband and I renewed our wedding vows at a waterfall on Kauai… near a volcano at the wettest place on earth a few years ago. I have fond memories of them. I love the softness of the water and the feel of the energy. Sounds like a great workshop!

    April 15, 2013
    • Oh wow, how wonderful, I hope you got some good shots of it as well, that’s the photographer in me. Haha.

      April 15, 2013
  31. Gorgeous shots as always, Leanne!

    April 15, 2013
  32. Some absolutely stunning photographs, Leanne. I’m so glad you stopped by my blog. Thanks for visiting and liking my post on Dora Maar. 🙂

    April 15, 2013
  33. Wonderful waterfall shot!!!

    April 15, 2013
  34. The waterfalls take my breath away. I noticed the light green in the submerged boulders right away, before I read your comment on it.

    I like the gallery too. It is uplifting to see the pride in the artisan’s expressions and I always like being around artists and people creating things, even if I am just virtually “around” them.

    The blurred water looks like velvet in some of the photos and in the last one it looks like some kind of other-worldly glowing substance. Very nice.

    April 15, 2013
    • Thank you Nia, being around creative people is always good for the soul I think.
      The waterfall was so gorgeous. I was stunned when I got the photos on the computer. Of course, I could see some of it on the camera, but it was a bit an excitement time, I don’t often get really excited, but I was excited about these and couldn’t wait to put them on the computer.

      April 15, 2013
  35. Oh, I love the waterfall photos 🙂

    April 15, 2013
  36. Very, very pretty waterfall pics. I can see why you’re switching back to your desktop view.

    April 15, 2013
    • I have it on all my computer things now. LOL

      April 15, 2013
  37. Lovely pool photos!

    April 15, 2013
  38. Strikingly gorgeous images, Leanne…and I so love all the different colors! You’ve achieved a very exciting effect, working the water, too!

    Happy to hear the Tamrac is a great bag…I always fear the camera getting wet.

    The weavers/knitters image sparkle so, not only with your only talent of getting great images, but the fact that these ladies really love doing what they do certainly shines through their eyes and smiles!

    April 15, 2013
    • Thank you 1000, I was really happy with them.
      The bag has been fantastic and so comfortable to wear. It really looks durable too.
      The ladies were having a ball, so it was easy to do.

      April 15, 2013
      • How privileged you must feel to have been a part of this group, Leanne…and to have had fun shooting, too!

        April 15, 2013
      • It was a great opportunity and a lot of fun. It helped that they were going somewhere that was just gorgeous. I am not sure about teaching, but I had to say yes to Harrietville.

        April 15, 2013
  39. Absolutely incredible! So serene and the colors are soothing and brilliant at the same time. Your work is wonderful.

    April 15, 2013
  40. Oh, Leanne! The colours in the landscape shots really are amazing! That green is something else. I’d be looking at it all the time too 🙂

    April 15, 2013
    • It is so nice to get shots like this sometimes. I am so glad we went there.

      April 15, 2013
  41. Fabulous waterfall images, Leanne.

    April 15, 2013
  42. Sylvie #

    Please check it out, Leanne, and choose the one you like! 😉
    http://sylviesfashionsecrets.com/2013/04/14/wow-lots-of-awards/

    April 15, 2013
  43. These are A-MA-ZING photos Leanne! Thanks for climbing up there…

    April 15, 2013
    • It was a pleasure, so worth it.

      April 15, 2013
  44. Sea Play Photography #

    beautiful shots! I love the waterfalls. Now if I could just find something like that around here 🙂

    April 15, 2013
    • Thanks, there is nothing like that around me either, unfortunately, I had to travel 4 hours to get to it. Mind you I went for other reasons and used it as an excuse to go there. 🙂

      April 15, 2013
  45. the waterfall pics are exquisite!!

    April 15, 2013
  46. Oh Wow! These waterfalls are amazing Leanne. The effect that you give to these images are so unique.

    April 15, 2013
    • I don’t know about that, I don’t really know what I am doing with images like this, of course having a place that begs to be photographed helps.

      April 15, 2013
  47. Stunning photos, just beautiful! I love the way the water looks almost soft. Magic! ~ Sheila

    April 15, 2013
    • Thanks Sheila, I worked hard to get that effect, actually it is the first time it has really worked.

      April 15, 2013
  48. Man i love your shots with waterfalls!

    April 15, 2013
    • Thank you, I must try and do more.

      April 15, 2013
  49. Show off…. (just kidding) These are fantastic! shots. I love the way you played them up and made them look even more magical…. or, well, it looks that way to me 😀

    April 15, 2013
    • Haha, you know it never occurred to me that the title might imply that I was showing off, silly of me really. I did play with them a bit, not a lot, but a little. I love them, and it has been good to see that everyone loves them too, well I think they have. 🙂

      April 15, 2013
      • 😀 They’re beautiful to say the least…

        April 15, 2013
  50. ohhh myyy!!! how did take photos of those waterfalls? Great shots!!!!

    April 15, 2013
    • They were long exposures, the longer the better.

      April 15, 2013
  51. Joanna will appreciate the images of the guild. The second row, middle shot, shows a very beautiful shawl indeed. Nice, crisp, images. I’m sure the guild was tickled with them. D

    April 15, 2013
    • Yes, she would have loved to have been there I think. I think they did like the photos.

      April 15, 2013
  52. Love the waterfall pictures… Stunning!

    April 15, 2013
  53. Loved the art. Peaceful. Thanks!

    April 15, 2013
  54. Oh my, these are stunning! I can see why you have them as your wallpaper. Although, I think I would blow one up and hang it in my gallery! (BTW, I love how you’ve put your watermark in the falls)
    What shutter speed did you use? Other settings? ISO?

    April 16, 2013
    • Oh Darla, I have no idea what my settings were, I was using a tripod, so the ISO would have been 100, possibly f11 and the shutter, well the slowest I could get it, I think for these it was around 8 seconds. I am on the wrong computer to look. Sorry. Haha, glad you noticed the watermark, I thought I was being clever. Thanks Darla, I suppose I should start taking more notice, huh.

      April 16, 2013
      • No problem, I can barely remember what I shot and how from day to day. I wish we had some falls in OK so I could try this, but alas, we are landlocked! 🙂

        April 19, 2013
      • Haha Darla you sound like me. I know I’ve taken heaps of photos lately, but I can’t remember of what.
        We don’t have any falls around us either, and I only get to do them if I go away. I love doing them though. They can be so beautiful, they can also be horrible and boring, but that is less likely. Thanks 🙂

        April 19, 2013
      • These were definitely not horrible or boring! LOL
        We have a small fall in the Arbuckle Mountains, which look like mole hills to most people – they aren’t very big. And most of them fell over millennia ago. Or else God just put them here on their sides just to make us go – hmmmm. 🙂

        April 22, 2013
      • That is great to hear Darla, I hope you photograph yours. I would love to see some photos of it. 🙂

        April 22, 2013
      • I may just make that a plan for this spring/summer! You’ve inspired me. Although it is nothing as stunning as your falls. We are, after all, not called the Great Plains State for nothing.

        April 22, 2013
      • I look forward to it Darla.

        April 22, 2013
  55. Absolutey stunning photos! Looks like it was a great shoot in a beautiful locale.

    April 16, 2013
    • It was a great place, such a shame it is so far away.

      April 16, 2013
  56. The waterfall shots are stunning.

    April 16, 2013
  57. These are very nice, great work

    April 16, 2013
  58. Great shots! Did you need to use a ND filter to take the waterfall shots? I found that it was sometimes possible to do that kind of shot without a filter, when the sky is overcast, and the falls are in the shade…

    April 17, 2013
    • I used one for the long shot, but the first two no. I have a 14-24mm lens and it is very wide and my filters won’t fit on it. But I found when I changed to it it had become overcast enough that I could still get the time I needed, so all was good.

      April 17, 2013
  59. Such a beautiful place Leanne! Love the fun shots below too 🙂

    April 17, 2013
    • Thanks Amanda, it is a beautiful place. I would really like to go back. It was a funny night, I am glad you can see that in the photos. 🙂

      April 17, 2013
  60. wildlife4me #

    I love your waterfall photos, I am just learning how to do those.

    April 17, 2013
    • Isn’t the effect wonderful. Thank you

      April 17, 2013
  61. Love those waterfall images… such rich and deep tones.

    Could I ask where are these waterfalls actually?

    April 17, 2013
    • The waterfall is at the bottom of Mount Buffalo near Bright in Victoria. If you want to find them, ask a local.

      April 17, 2013
  62. Wonderful shots.

    April 21, 2013
  63. I know it is a waterfall, I know it is big, but when I look at these images I can’t help imagining it is really really small, like as if it was a mini waterfall. Can a waterfall be cute? If yes, this one is.

    April 24, 2013
    • This is just the bottom of it, it is part of a very large falls, that falls in bits and pieces everywhere, this part is probably the nicest and the part that gets photographed the most.

      April 24, 2013

Comments are closed.

