Skip to content

The Point of Lonsdale

As most of you know I went away last weekend.  I went to Ocean Grove to stay with two friends who I have been helping learn photography, or to take better photos, not that I have to do much now, but I still get asked the odd question.  On the first early morning we went to Point Lonsdale.  I have to confess I love Point Lonsdale and it is fast becoming a favourite place for me to photograph. To the End 1It is the first time I have been back since this jetty was opened and now all the work is done on it.  It does have that new look, but I am sure it will age with the weather.

We were there for sunrise, but it wasn’t much of one, though the clouds got some good colour in them.  It was great to be able to work out onto the jetty and take photos and make the jetty the focus of some photos rather than trying to avoid showing the work being done on it.

Near the end of the post I am going to put a gallery with a number of images.  The images in this part are the reasonable straight images, meaning I have processed them basically, but the ones in the gallery have all been through Color Efex or Silver Efex and have been given treatments with those.

At the End 1The sun had come up a lot more and I was almost at the end here.  I love the light in this image, it could be morning or evening.  I have enhanced it quite a bit.  Behind me, the sky was full of clouds and the light wasn’t so good.

Back to the Point 1This is a image I strived to get for some time, one with the jetty and the lighthouse all in the same compositions.  I know the light house is in the middle, but I wasn’t sure exactly how to do this, and perhaps it’s something I will have to go back and try sometime.  I just to play, though I wonder if it wouldn’t be a better image when the sun is going down, it would go down behind the lighthouse somewhere.

Through to the Point 1

I was tying to be more creative with this one, what do you think?  I like the idea of the jetty framing the lighthouse, it almost becomes two images.  The nice clean lines of the jetty, then to the white lighthouse with a stormy sky behind.  You know, I like it.

I have the gallery for you now.

There are some interesting conversions there, take a look and see what you think.

Etsy and Red Bubble

I have been adding more images to both accounts, I hope you will all take a look at them.  I have been trying to work out which ones to put up, but am not quite sure, so if you have any ideas, then let me know.

Here are the links for both

Etsy Shop

Red Bubble

109 Comments
  1. The jetty framing the lighthouse is terrific. Lovely shot.

    April 23, 2013
    • Thank you Andrew, I liked it, but I wasn’t sure.

      April 23, 2013
  2. You have created some very nice effects with the Nik plug-ins and I really like your galley.

    April 23, 2013
    • Thank you, it is fun playing and seeing what you can do with different images. Glad you liked them.

      April 23, 2013
  3. Omg how beautiful! I wished I was there too!! Hugz Lisa

    April 23, 2013
    • Thanks Lisa, it is a gorgeous place.

      April 23, 2013
  4. Reblogged this on mkalefuller and commented:
    Beautiful sunset reel

    April 23, 2013
  5. Lovely photos.

    April 23, 2013
  6. Nice photos…beautiful sunset.

    April 23, 2013
  7. Beautiful shots, I really like the lighthouse. 🙂

    April 23, 2013
    • Thank you, the lighthouse is always popular. 🙂

      April 23, 2013
  8. love the composition and colors. Congrats!

    April 23, 2013
  9. Some lovely shots there indeed. Great stuff 🙂

    April 23, 2013
  10. These are stunning

    April 23, 2013
  11. Dawn is so delicate isn’t it? I really like your ‘straight’ images Leanne, although the comparison shots in the gallery are interesting. Diagonals win me over every time, so I love the drama of the framed lighthouse – still with a light touch! Philippa

    April 23, 2013
    • I don’t often do all those different ones, but I was playing with the images and thought why not. I don’t know that I like them anymore, but it can be interesting to play and to see what is possible. I like the framed lighthouse as well, thanks Philippa

      April 24, 2013
  12. All of these shots are excellent, Leanne. I especially like the framing of the lighthouse in the rails of the jetty.
    I have recently acquired the Color Efex plug-in but have not had the opportunity to play with it much. I can see from your photos it can produce different moods within the same file. Goon incentive for me to get back to work.

    April 23, 2013
    • That was one of the first things I noticed about it. It can be quite good at that. It is well worth playing around with it.
      Thank you.

      April 24, 2013
  13. Love the one where you framed the lighthouse.

    April 23, 2013
    • Thank you that is great to hear.

      April 24, 2013
  14. I LOVE the jetty framing the lighthouse. I work on a boat over the summers and that one took my breath away.

    April 23, 2013
    • Wow, that is fantastic, thank you Rebecca.

      April 24, 2013
  15. Beautiful images! Nik Software is a handy tool- I love to see the different effects and moods that you see and feel from each one. Thanks 🙂

    April 23, 2013
    • Thank you Cynthia, the software is very handy, great to play around with.

      April 24, 2013
  16. I love the *let’s frame the light house idea*. Can’t decide whether I like it better in BW or colour but wouldn’t mind hanging either up ^_^
    Great shots!

    April 23, 2013
    • That’s great to hear, I am so pleased I took it, or thought of taking it, I really like it to. Thank you.

      April 24, 2013
  17. What a beautiful place! I love lighthouses… Great post.

    April 23, 2013
    • They do seem to be very popular, thank you.

      April 24, 2013
  18. Reblogged this on Diary of the boy with the snood and commented:
    These are special!

    April 23, 2013
  19. beautiful pictures!! 🙂

    April 23, 2013
  20. I like the first one in the post, with the Jetty going off into the distance. The only thing I would have done differently would be to crop a little off the left side so that it is more balanced. 🙂 But I’m a little bit weird like that.

    Great work, as always! 😀

    April 23, 2013
    • It’s funny how we all do things differently, I was getting to concerned that it was too central. I don’t mind the odd angle, but that is me, 🙂 Thank you.

      April 24, 2013
  21. The glamour glow photos are nice, it softens them and makes them rich looking.

    April 23, 2013
    • I don’t mind that one either, it is a nice preset, I might try it some more. Thank you.

      April 24, 2013
  22. love all of these Leanne, but I think the jetty framing the Lighthouse is particularly interesting…I always think the dark sullen clouds add a nice dimension to a photo…

    April 24, 2013
    • I have to agree Heather, I would go with clouds like that over a blue sky with nothing any day. It is good that people like that one of the lighthouse, I was hoping I wasn’t made and be the only one that did. Thanks.

      April 24, 2013
  23. Beautiful photos of my favorite place in the world. You’ve made me homesick, thankyou for these!

    April 24, 2013
    • How wonderful is it? Sorry I made you homesick, but I just looked at your blog, you are seeing some amazing places. I love Point Lonsdale, Thanks

      April 24, 2013
  24. Beautiful photos Leanne. I love both compositions of the lighthouse, though in colour I prefer where the lighthouse is the main focal point. I do like the lines and perspective of the jetty rails though. This one I think (rail perspective & distant lighthouse) looks amazing in monochrome! I also like the polaroid transfer effect on both images. And of course, I just love jetty shots like these. 🙂

    April 24, 2013
    • I think that is why I love going to Point Lonsdale, you get both, the jetty and the Lighthouse, not many lighthouses have jetty’s nearby, so it is great to be able to do both. Thanks for all your thoughts on the images Kerry.

      April 24, 2013
  25. Quite a beautiful place, and I like the picture in a picture idea with the jetty framing the lighthouse. Just perfect!

    April 24, 2013
    • Thank you Marsha, I am so glad you like that one too, I think it is my favourite.

      April 24, 2013
      • I like frames. My dad always taught me to try to frame pictures with trees, or whatever is handy. I don’t know if that advice still holds true, but I like pictures that have that added interest when possible. Although some of my favorite pictures of yours are the ones inside of the board room. Those pictures are yummy! 🙂

        April 25, 2013
      • I think it can be true Marsha, you can still frame things, people don’t do it so much anymore, but I think that has more to do with other things. You should try it and see if it is better.
        I have to admit, I love the boardroom photos as well, they are among my favourites as well. Thanks. 🙂

        April 25, 2013
      • I do try to frame things whenever I can. Mostly I use trees, but railings work well, too! 🙂

        April 25, 2013
      • Cool, it can really give added value to the image. 🙂

        April 25, 2013
  26. Lighthouse – Polaroid Transfer, is my pick of this fantastic bunch … I wish I could have you as my mentor too. Lucky girls. What a lovely spot to let a camera work.

    April 24, 2013
    • That is great to hear Viveka, someone else liked the Polaroid transfer as well. I hadn’t thought of being a mentor for them, but I suppose I am. Someone else asked me recently to mentor them, it is a great idea, we jsut have to work out how to do it over the internet and I have to work out what to charge.

      April 24, 2013
  27. Great pictures & scnery. LOVE the one of the walkway – looks like it goes on forever!

    April 24, 2013
    • Thank you RoSy, It does seem like that doesn’t it. I couldn’t wait to get on it and take photos.

      April 24, 2013
  28. I spent a year here as a kid 30 years ago and your photos bring back many wonderful memories. I still remember the fog horn from the light house keeping me awake on foggy nights!

    April 24, 2013
    • I hadn’t thought of fog horns, I have thought about fog and how wonderful it would be to get it there. How wonderful to have lived, I am so glad the photos brought back memories for you, thank you.

      April 24, 2013
  29. WOW! These were great! I got really sidetracked on thoughts while looking at these images. Just lovely.

    April 24, 2013
    • I hope they were good thoughts 🙂
      Thank you

      April 24, 2013
  30. Beautiful pictures, Leanne, gorgeous stuff! Adrian

    April 24, 2013
  31. Pat #

    Beautiful edits.

    April 24, 2013
  32. I love these! Great angles! All the pictures, I kept gravitating to the silver efex ones! I just love how it makes them look 🙂

    April 24, 2013
  33. 1annecasey #

    Just beautiful!

    April 24, 2013
  34. Another top-notch gallery. If I had to choose a favorite treatment, it would be the Color Efex – Bi color with the Silver Efex not far behind. Especially like those lighthouse images.

    April 24, 2013
    • The bi-color one was an interesting one to play with. I see photos with magenta and think how lovely they are, but never think to apply it to my own images, I might try some more. Thank you David.

      April 24, 2013
  35. Thank you for these great images! You have all my favorites: lighthouse, the shore, sunset… beautiful!

    April 24, 2013
    • That is wonderful to hear. Lighthouses always seem so popular. Thank you.

      April 24, 2013
  36. Love the gallery – I have to get to grips with this software

    April 24, 2013
    • Thank you, I don’t know if they still do, but they did have video tutorials on the website that help you work it out.

      April 24, 2013
  37. Dear Leanne,

    What do you focus on when you take shots like these?

    Thanks,
    Svetlana

    April 24, 2013
    • What an interesting question Svetlana. I have had to think about this. I guess I have an idea of what I want to take, and I try to get that, I wanted the sides of the jetty, but I don’t always like the scene shot from my height. With the lighthouse I was trying to focus on getting it, and the jetty and what would be a good composition. I took many photos, and this was probably the best. I hope that answers your question.

      April 24, 2013
  38. Lovely, all of them – but I do think the shot of the lighthouse through the railings gives it an extra dynamism

    April 24, 2013
    • Thank you, that is wonderful, great to hear.

      April 24, 2013
  39. These are gorgeous pictures. I love lighthouses. I have to say I was drawn to your post because you mentioned Ocean Grove. I thought it was Ocean Grove, NJ, where my husband proposed to me. I had to look up Ocean Grove, Barwon Coast to find out about the Ocean Grove you mentioned. 🙂 I’m so glad I checked out your blog since your photos are so beautiful.

    April 24, 2013
    • I had no idea that there was another Ocean Grove, how wonderful. I love the reason you found my blog, thank you for telling me, I love stories like this. 🙂

      April 24, 2013
  40. These are all quite stunning images, Leanne…and I can’t help but think, if it had been later, say mid-day, the same shots would have much less exciting atmosphere about them. It’s great to come back and find you’ve done some excellent work, isn’t it?

    April 25, 2013
    • Yes, mid day would have been terrible, it was sunny and there were no overcast skies then, so you would have missed out on that drama.
      It can be wonderful. I was really happy when I saw the images on the computer then as they came together as I was working on them.

      April 25, 2013
      • Love it when everything just ‘comes together’ so magically!

        April 25, 2013
      • I just wish it happened more often. Haha. I hate it when you get up early to go and take photos and the weather is just crap.

        April 25, 2013
  41. Wow! I love all of those, but the perspective of the first one really gets me. I’ve been inspired, and think I’ll be toying around with it soon.

    April 25, 2013
    • Yes, do, it is a lot of fun the stuff you can do with it. Thank you.

      April 25, 2013
  42. I love your creatively-framed lighthouse photos. I recently photographed some lighthouses in North Carolina, but my shots were not as beautiful and dramatic as yours.

    April 25, 2013
    • Oh I am sure they were, we are all our own worse enemies. I do love lighthouses. thank you.

      April 25, 2013
  43. I like the way the white paint on the jetty and the lighthouse glow in the first combo you did there and I love the one where you framed the lighthouse in the jetty.

    April 25, 2013
    • Thank you Nia, I was a bit worried about the white paint, that it was too white, too fresh, but it did seem to work. I love the framed lighthouse as well, I was very happy with that image.

      April 25, 2013
  44. Jen #

    Beautiful photos—I have to say, the first is my favourite. It’s just about perfectly symmetrical save that umbrella in the distance. Very appealing and contemplative.

    April 25, 2013
  45. Beautiful. Especially the fourth. Now THAT’S depth of field!

    April 25, 2013
  46. That second shot is an absolute killer! Brilliant. I absolutely love the lighting in it.

    April 26, 2013
  47. I really love the first picture, the point of view and composition work so well together. And the colors make you wish you were right there.

    April 28, 2013
    • What a great comment, thank you.

      April 28, 2013
  48. hi leanne, you have been busy. Love your images, didn’t realize you were a photographer. Beautiful work

    April 30, 2013
    • I try to keep busy, yes, I am a photographer, and thank you.

      April 30, 2013
  49. Beautiful

    May 6, 2013

Comments are closed.

